21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

How to get started to invest in property?

Backkom
post Jul 16 2009, 02:17 PM

421 posts

jasonhjk: thanks a lot for your sharing, bit of "censorship" won't hurt there. And the Ongkl blog is good =)

Was not aware of Villa Ros before, have only did a bit of homework on Pulai View, Prima regency (lots of homework), straits view and kip park...

Pai
post Jul 16 2009, 02:28 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

@lwb,

lucky you, at least you've got someone to teach you something. Us mere mortals will have to rely and what we learn ourselves and the kindness of internet strangers..... wink.gif

on specifics, one can always copy & paste, but few more questions is all it takes to unravel the whole BS..... ;p
Phoeni_142
post Jul 16 2009, 02:36 PM

753 posts

Pai brother - what more questions do u need to ask? The BS is already evident for everyone to see.

Oh well - people that are not specific also have their uses. I enjoy reading their "chicken soup for the soul" posts. Gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling.

Jason - elegantly and beautifully done. Specific smile.gif And your censorship is kinda cute, but justified lah....
suiteng
post Jul 16 2009, 02:45 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jul 15 2009, 11:30 AM)
Free advice is always the most expensive advice wink.gif

QUOTE(lwb @ Jul 16 2009, 11:48 AM)
"free advices are usually very costly.."
.. there's some point to it.

that's why i don't name my examples.. it's a different way of learning, the principles are more important that explicit illustration (accompanied by figures to substantiate.. folks who have high gullibility and vulnerability would look closely for these.. and more so, from a stranger?!? what's the level of authenticity of it?!? what if i'm just a goofball who knows how to work some fancy figures and impress some "wooo,... waaa"?)
Thanks for elaborating my post and being a role model for all to see wink.gif
Pai
post Jul 16 2009, 03:23 PM

3,318 posts

@phoeni,

I always give ppl benefit of the doubt kua........ wink.gif.

@Backkom,

chief, u play in JB oso? you got time to manage props in diff state?
Backkom
post Jul 16 2009, 04:06 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jul 16 2009, 03:23 PM)

@Backkom,

chief, u play in JB oso? you got time to manage props in diff state?
Sigh, long story... forced to move to JB because of work... so have to do homework lo...
Anyway this Prima Regency is really something interesting, price 100-110k, rental basic unit RM 700, fully furnished RM 1000...

I was so amazed when I first found out about this... (imagine my 200k condo in PJ only getting me 1k also...)
Pai
post Jul 16 2009, 05:24 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 04:06 PM)
Sigh, long story... forced to move to JB because of work... so have to do homework lo...
Anyway this Prima Regency is really something interesting, price 100-110k, rental basic unit RM 700, fully furnished RM 1000...

I was so amazed when I first found out about this... (imagine my 200k condo in PJ only getting me 1k also...)
thats above 10% yield, very impressive... smile.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 16 2009, 05:29 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 02:17 PM)
jasonhjk: thanks a lot for your sharing, bit of "censorship" won't hurt there. And the Ongkl blog is good =)

Was not aware of Villa Ros before, have only did a bit of homework on Pulai View, Prima regency (lots of homework), straits view and kip park...
Hehe.
The censor part are only the location and agent contacts.
It's really amusing seeing someone giving bad advice, phoeni and I knows that. cool2.gif
When you meet some other agents or investors whom lied and don't admit their mistake.
It's time to kick them out of your team. Their advise is the worst you can hear.

I can spot free advice that are worthy of hearing once my experience level goes up. wink.gif

Here is the raw picture.
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/8524/saleprice2.jpg

Here is another ongkl blog about JB's apartment.
Best and worst apartments/condominiums of year 2008 in Johor Bahru

Added on July 16, 2009, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Jul 16 2009, 02:36 PM)
Jason - elegantly and beautifully done.  Specific smile.gif And your censorship is kinda cute, but justified lah....
I always look up your post when buying property.
What get me going is knowing you went out to look for properties with your Mrs.
Which I have been slacking when starting out.

So when is the next one coming up? thumbup.gif

Added on July 16, 2009, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 04:06 PM)

Prima is near Giant and Tesco.
The shop houses nearby are still close though.
Maybe I am wrong about the shops because I only passes by there at night.

So are those staying there working in Singapore or working nearby?

This post has been edited by jasonhanjk: Jul 16 2009, 05:38 PM
Backkom
post Jul 16 2009, 05:44 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 16 2009, 05:29 PM)

Added on July 16, 2009, 5:38 pm

Prima is near Giant and Tesco.
The shop houses nearby are still close though.
Maybe I am wrong about the shops because I only passes by there at night.

So are those staying there working in Singapore or working nearby?
Mostly working in singapore or pasir gudang smile.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 16 2009, 05:56 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 05:44 PM)
Mostly working in singapore or pasir gudang  smile.gif
No wonder the high rental.

So far I have only notice 1 Prima unit being auction, shouldn't the price be higher?
Or we are not referring to the same unit? hmm.gif

Ref No: PAHJ2383(1)

Auction Date: 24/06/2009
Auction Place: Suite No. 1602, 16th Floor, City Plaza, Johor Bahru
Auction Time: 3.00 pm
Property Description: three bedroom apartment
Land/Floor Area: 1050 Sq. Feet.
Property Address: #03-02, Block 7 (Wembley Court), Prima Regency Service Apartment, Jalan Masai Baru, 81750 Masai, Johor darul Takzim.

Reserve Price (RM): RM 140,000.00
Backkom
post Jul 16 2009, 05:58 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 16 2009, 05:56 PM)
No wonder the high rental.

So far I have only notice 1 Prima unit being auction, shouldn't the price be higher?
Or we are not referring to the same unit? hmm.gif
Ref No: PAHJ2383(1)

Auction Date: 24/06/2009
Auction Place: Suite No. 1602, 16th Floor, City Plaza, Johor Bahru
Auction Time: 3.00 pm
Property Description: three bedroom apartment
Land/Floor Area: 1050 Sq. Feet.
Property Address: #03-02, Block 7 (Wembley Court), Prima Regency Service Apartment, Jalan Masai Baru, 81750 Masai, Johor darul Takzim.

Reserve Price (RM): RM 140,000.00
Me talking about studio units smile.gif
560++ sqf only, so far only heard of 2 auction units but both were called off sad.gif
Phoeni_142
post Jul 16 2009, 07:36 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 16 2009, 05:29 PM)

I always look up your post when buying property.
What get me going is knowing you went out to look for properties with your Mrs.
Which I have been slacking when starting out.

So when is the next one coming up?  thumbup.gif

You flatter me, kind sir. tongue.gif I am not worthy of that compliment.

To be honest, I have been "dormant" for the last 4 or 5 months. Work has been bad....But i'm sure everyone goes through that pain as well. We still do go out on most weekends to scout around.

The next deal we want to close has to be done right. There is no margin for error, due to the larger numbers involved. As such, we've been awfully stringent.

Good to know u did well in your last deal. Congrats bro.
TSsdas86
post Jul 16 2009, 09:36 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 16 2009, 02:16 PM)
More than 50% are in bad area. Searching auction property is not 1st of the 6 step. blush.gif
Thanks for the tips. Today I bought Azizi Ali "How to pay off your house loan in 5 years or less". It is a good small little book. smile.gif

I also notice that those listed in TheStar Classified is not that good.
Dyong
post Jul 16 2009, 11:15 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 05:44 PM)
Mostly working in singapore or pasir gudang  smile.gif
A possible dilution when the new bunch of Service Apartment completes in 3 years time.
Mayland Austin/ Plenitude/ Auntin Heights etc...

Backkom
post Jul 16 2009, 11:18 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ Jul 16 2009, 11:15 PM)
A possible dilution when the new bunch of Service Apartment completes in 3 years time.
Mayland Austin/ Plenitude/ Auntin Heights etc...
Totally agree with you... If I'm not wrong, Mayland Austin's entry price is in the range of 100k?
One thing I like about Prima Regency is that their JMB seems to be quite strong...
lwb
post Jul 17 2009, 11:46 AM

1,504 posts

that's why i said you're probably smart.. probably smarter than mudflap phoney.. i noted that there're emotional usage in alot of his output content..

even when he goes to the point of "learning from me".. probably this mudflap dawg is looking for a new mastar?

emotions are a stickler to good investor. kudos to you should you know how to ask the right questions.. i learnt that one finds more doors to open, that way.

my insight to properties is not solely on the physical properties alone.. there're just too many info that i'm not at liberty to disclose here as i will violate the trust of my colleagues/institution/industry..

there's a financial cookie trail one can follows.. asking the right question will lead you to the next cookie on the trail.

yes.. it's probably wise to styrofoam-pack all that i've said as b.s.. because i'm not looking for favors, support, praises, etc. here. but i can offer a way of due dilligence (not as to which property.. but the why,how, when..) an antithesis to an inflated assumption perhaps?

This post has been edited by lwb: Jul 17 2009, 11:48 AM
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 17 2009, 01:20 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Jul 16 2009, 07:36 PM)
You flatter me, kind sir.  tongue.gif I am not worthy of that compliment.

To be honest, I have been "dormant" for the last 4 or 5 months.  Work has been bad....But i'm sure everyone goes through that pain as well.  We still do go out on most weekends to scout around. 

The next deal we want to close has to be done right.  There is no margin for error, due to the larger numbers involved.  As such, we've been awfully stringent.  

Good to know u did well in your last deal.  Congrats bro.
The bigger the number, the longer time needed to put the deal together.
Once all the due diligence is done, the likelihood it will go wrong will be low.
I bet it feels just like going through your first deal, that type of nervous and anxious feeling. nod.gif

At the area I am concentrating, interestingly the rental went up.
With less buyers in the market, I am actually having fun shopping.
Since last month, 3 Sri Akasia apartment auction that I have interest in, were call off.
The owners pay the bank 1 day before auction date.
They believe after the recovery, price will go up.
Their sentiments is a good indication for me even though I didn't manage to play landlord and evict them. sweat.gif

My first deal didn't went too well, I make the mistake of agreeing the seller to transfer the tittle directly to me from the developer's bank. Saving the seller a few thousand.
Till today I have not get the keys.

Last month I just have my agent install a few AC (and other installation) to jack the rent up to RM800.
So starting from this month, I get RM200 and the owner gets RM600.
It's interesting how much one can learn by doing deals. blush.gif

Added on July 17, 2009, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 16 2009, 05:58 PM)
Me talking about studio units  smile.gif
560++ sqf only, so far only heard of 2 auction units but both were called off  sad.gif
If you can get the 1050 sq ft apartment for RM140k, that would be a steal.

Works out to be RM133 per sq ft.

560 sq ft for RM110k would get you around RM196 per sq ft.

Looking at the sq ft is important for comparing / analyzing deals.

Do you know how much is the rent for 1050 sq ft?

This post has been edited by jasonhanjk: Jul 17 2009, 01:26 PM
shchoy
post Jul 17 2009, 02:50 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 01:20 PM)

Added on July 17, 2009, 1:26 pm

I agree that the amount you pay per sq ft is important.

I usually go to iProperty.com.my to check out the surrounding property $ per sq ft brows.gif
It gives me an idea what's the market rate like in an area

-removed, you already had your blog in your signature-

This post has been edited by b00n: Jul 17 2009, 11:19 PM
Pai
post Jul 17 2009, 06:13 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 01:20 PM)

Jason, in many instance, studio will always command more in rentals psf and selling price psf. Do a research on the following development then you'll know :

1. Pantai Panorama
2. Tamarind at Sentul East
3. Amcorp mall
4. Kampung warisan

SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 17 2009, 10:58 PM

1,068 posts

Huh, interesting.

Studio unit trend is picking up among young professionals.

21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0275sec    1.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:06 PM