13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

::V5::Scorpion-Thread::V5::, Today's Topic: Captive Breeding

akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 09:45 AM

453 posts

since we are on the discussion of mites how about if we do it in a scientific way.

first is where does the mites comes from?
what are the factors contributing to the mites infestation, humidity, availability of food,from outside(for wc specimens), type of substrate, temperature that are involved, amount of scorpion(for communal setups), etc,etc,etc.

preventing the mites to infest is the way to go compared to treating the problem after it have gotten out of hand.

glad to report that my WC scorpions have no mites on them after a close inspection that is done once in a blue moon.

my only problem is ants and flies.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 02:59 PM

453 posts

update on scorpling seperation day 5:

another 3 died. 1 was actually dead for sometime already but i didn;t notice it.

so left only 5.

update on mother giving birth day 4:

the mother is in the hide and occasionally comes out for a drink in the water dish. gave a slightly killed meal worm and she ate it.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 03:18 PM

453 posts

looks like an L.A.

about the same size too.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 03:23 PM

453 posts

i don;t know why but when i spray teh enclosure the scorpion will snap at the water droplets.

really funny to watch as they try to pinch the water that is coming from the sprayer.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 03:47 PM

453 posts

it should be tomorow. 2 weeks since the birth.

but i'm giving a few more days for it.

only 1 i saw has the potential of molting to 2 instar the rest are still very plump.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 04:00 PM

453 posts

preservation formula?

the resin or the alcohol preservation formula.

lol the preservation vat is filling up fast with specimens

akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 04:42 PM

453 posts

happy bday rafiqos.
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 08:42 PM

453 posts

that is only 1/3 of my tank hyorinmaru.

that is a really small tank.lol.

but will they mate in public??

do you like to have sexy time in public?

akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 09:18 PM

453 posts

if only i was in kl.

you guys can bring the scorpions, i can bring 1 of my planted full decor enclosures.

haih.when am i going to get back to kl???
akagidemon
post Jul 24 2009, 09:54 PM

453 posts

i'm doing a new enclosure. a full planted one.

i'm experimenting with the potting soil. want to see if it is good for the moss and the grass. u know just to give a natural feel to it. but a big drawback is

you have to put the enclosure in the sun everyday if not the plants will die but it put a risk to your scorpions dying because of the heat.

so i'm planing to use it at exhibition only. if there are any in sibu.

akagidemon
post Jul 25 2009, 11:36 PM

453 posts

i only have 1 question for you lester?

how do you make your scorpions eat until they are like tennis balls?

i tried power feeding but the scorpions are uninterested.
akagidemon
post Jul 25 2009, 11:40 PM

453 posts

different subspecies mating with each other?

i will try to mate my longi with spinifers, we see if can or not.
akagidemon
post Jul 25 2009, 11:50 PM

453 posts

aaaah.

it is like eating is a way to release stress for the scorpions.

i'm going to try it on my longimanus. see if the same results is repeated.

akagidemon
post Jul 25 2009, 11:58 PM

453 posts

updates.
1 instar scorpling separation.

it look s like my prediction on the success rate is proving to be true. i am certain that only 1 will make it to 2 instar.

second brood update.

since the meal that i gave her yesterday, the mother is not moving much. just staying inside the hide.

on a lighter note.

i have 2 pupeaing super meal worms and 1 in advance state of morphing. can see the wings on it already.
akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 02:55 PM

453 posts

i hate it when my predictions comes true

a macro shoot of the lone survivor

akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 09:06 PM

453 posts

well just look in the bright side.

now i have a lot of preserved 1 instar that can be used for research or to give to that museum that aros was talking about.

Added on July 26, 2009, 9:10 pmi still have to wait for it to molt to 2 instar which i think will be an even greater challenge for me.

Added on July 26, 2009, 9:48 pmdoes anyone know what is the time interval does a scorpling molts from 1instar to 2 instar and so forth.

i'm getting alot of blanks answer from the interweb.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: Jul 26 2009, 09:48 PM
akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 10:14 PM

453 posts

don;t feel sorry. just imagine the data we can get if that little fellow survives.

a full captive born and care by human scorpion.

Added on July 26, 2009, 10:33 pmi have a great name for the little fellow if he makes it to 2 instar

his or her name will be

vitalis which is Latin for "able to survive".

This post has been edited by akagidemon: Jul 26 2009, 10:35 PM
akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 11:36 PM

453 posts

not a DSLR.

just a Canon Ixus 860is.
8 megapixel only.

Added on July 26, 2009, 11:38 pmthis model. user posted image

This post has been edited by akagidemon: Jul 26 2009, 11:38 PM
akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 11:42 PM

453 posts

hmmm. because i was looking at the calender i presumed that little fellow was born on th 11th of july. now it is the 26th of july. that is almost 2 weeks already and he don;t show any signs of a premoult. but he is very active. scampering here and there in the container.
akagidemon
post Jul 26 2009, 11:50 PM

453 posts

where did you actually found this specimen lester, in the wild or in your house??

Added on July 26, 2009, 11:53 pmthey look the same. maybe they are the same.

i don;t know. not an expert.

p.s: FYI all of my pictures in here of the scorpions are taken using that camera. very cheap . got it for less then rm1000.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: Jul 26 2009, 11:53 PM

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:06 AM