Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 03:13 PM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, If you're on an unlimited plan, it'll just be RM99 under GPRS services. Anything more than that, they'll tell you the usage, as in 7000kb and charge u RM35/RM70 for it depending on whether your data cost is 0.5sen/kb or 1sen/kb @mannequion, It's capped at 3GB - isn't that what's stated on the chart?! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 21 2009, 03:14 PM
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 03:18 PM
Fanaddict!
@soonwai, Unless she hangs out at this forum she's probably not going to even know the difference if U put your phone down. If she notices just tell her you swap the old one for new lah; not like you're going to get into loads of trouble doing that  @TuX, For navigation, yes I believe u will be using data services.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 03:29 PM
Fanaddict!
@mannequion, The one on Post #2 of this thread
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 03:52 PM
Fanaddict!
@mannequion, Er.. the RM99 Unlimited plan offered by Maxis is also capped at 3GB  Just that not many people know it or think so that's all so it really makes no difference. Also, nokia2003 has mentioned over and over again 250MB is more than suffice.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 05:44 PM
Fanaddict!
@victorchew, It's the same except for iData U will need to be contracted for either 12/24 months.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 08:48 PM
Fanaddict!
@cksia, Yes that should be right.
@ah1, oOps.. I missed your question earlier. Yes, there's no data usage information on the bill.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 09:42 PM
Fanaddict!
@wahkiz, If U want to continue enjoying the free calls and SMS then U should go with the iData plan.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 09:57 PM
Fanaddict!
@teikwing, I dn't see the picture attachment. Can u reattach please?
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 09:21 AM
Fanaddict!
@teikwing, You have that information in your bill because those are over and above what you subscribed too. For those who subscribe the RM99 package, U won't know how much you've used because there won't be indication on the bill. If U have indication like what teikwing's bill is therefore it only means U've exceeded your 3GB usage.
@LaiN87, Yes apparently 500MB is helluva lot.
@victorchew, If U don't intend to use your i3GS for Internet Tethering purposes, perhaps U could even consider the iData 2 plan.
Btw does anyone know, assuming I signed up with iData 2, can I upgrade to iData 3 later on? Is that allowed?
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 09:41 AM
Fanaddict!
@soonwai, In that case, I would recommend for those who's unsure of their data usage to take up iData 2 and upgrade to iData 3 at a later stage; no point paying for 3GB of data when you don't even use up 300MB, right?! Also, I'm quite sure U aren't allowed to downgrade from iData 3 to iData 2, right?
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 09:56 AM
Fanaddict!
@Coconut, hMMm.. it seems as if we're getting conflict answers; lemme make a call later and see what the CS tells me
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 10:12 AM
Fanaddict!
@teikwing, Er.. but didn't ur bill show RM14.75? Ah well .. let me show U what I see on mine then U probably get what I'm trying to say  @ah1, Lose RM100?! How? Why? What are U referring to? *grins*
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 10:21 AM
Fanaddict!
@teikwing, hMm.. perhaps the information is given for those who purchased the smaller bundles. I'm on the RM99 plan and they don't give me the usage. All I see is GPRS Services under Value Added Service. Hmm.. maybe it's because our usage are like v super low so they rather not tell us cause they afraid we will downgrade plans?! Anyhow I've put in a request for my data usage - let's just see how long it'll take Maxis to give me that information. @jqss29, It's expected - to finance the i3GS. I sold mine off aeons ago. @soonwai, Am sorry U got the wrong information but I sure hope this thread did help put things in the right perspective. I don't think Maxis will allow a downgrade because it's never been in their policy to offer downgrades but upgrades are usually permittable. I will check and get back to U. Act, I sent an email to my Insider so let's just wait for his reply  Eh... Ur not suppose to give things that U don't want to ur wife! *hmph* This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 22 2009, 10:22 AM
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 10:24 AM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, Er.. saving extra RM100 of the phone price onli wat, no meh?! <lazy to refer to plan, sorry>
It's not possible that iData 3 will be cheaper as compared to iData 2 when U take the total value combined.
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:17 AM
Fanaddict!
@TuX, If ur trying to spend as little cash then U shouldn't even be considering purchasing the i3GS  Ask urself if the free talk time (in terms of mins) is going to be sufficient for U to use. Bear in mind the iValue plans are more expensive in terms of call rates + SMS rates are separate charges. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 22 2009, 11:24 AM
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:25 AM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, That's not a good enough solution for TuX because his existing call rate is oredi RM50-60 p/month so he's considered pretty average usage.
@TuX, Do U know how much of that RM50-60 is for SMS and how is for calls?
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:35 AM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, You're absolutely right. The iValue plans can't beat the ValuePlus plans but ah well.... if people want the iPhone they've no choice but to sign up the iValue plans, at least that was the case in the past. At least now they've got a choice with the iData plans.
Act, the iData1 plan is sort off like an "outright" purchase for those holding post paid lines.
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 22 2009, 11:36 AM
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:37 AM
Fanaddict!
@azrilyp, Yes that is possible but your call rates will be higher under the postpaid plan. SMS on the other hand is probably cheaper. If U don't make a lot of calls, this is a pretty good option  + U keep urself open to swapping over to another telco as and when U wish This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 22 2009, 11:38 AM
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:39 AM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, Er.. double phone?! In that case, might as well go spend the $ on the iPod Touch instead  Eh.. U wanna give reply at least be a bit constructive lah can or not?
tinkerbel
Jul 22 2009, 11:52 AM
Fanaddict!
@azrilyp, RM40-50 is considered mediocre for me and if U think Ur going to be receiving more calls than calling out then the prepaid plan should be fine. Like I said, since ur getting the phone on an outright basis (no contract) U can always subscribe back to the VP plan if u think U need to. Yes U should be able to keep your current number. @ah1, U know for a fact changing SIMs is not a solution!