Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY
tinkerbel
Jul 28 2009, 08:50 PM
Fanaddict!
@filexcat, In that case, my suggestion is for U to make a report to Maxis but before U do that, get them to give U something in B&W to say they've quoted you RM2650 instead of RM2450.
tinkerbel
Jul 28 2009, 10:43 PM
Fanaddict!
@Jacky96136, Yes U are allowed to change the plans when u go collect ur i3GS; U just can't change the i3GS phone U ordered.
@Suk, Yes that is absolutely right.
tinkerbel
Jul 28 2009, 10:48 PM
Fanaddict!
@zeropulse, Yes that is absolutely right. In the case of iValue 4 plan, the RM200 will be credited into your monthly Maxis bill.
tinkerbel
Jul 28 2009, 11:10 PM
Fanaddict!
@Mr Kong, The RM200 is not refundable. Your best bet is to "sell" that pre-order to someone who really wants the i3GS.
Also..... please stop all talk on i3GS collection because this isn't the right thread `k? All posts regarding the matter will be nuked immediately.
tinkerbel
Jul 29 2009, 10:05 AM
Fanaddict!
@filexcat, I think perhaps the shop just didn't give the right info. At time of collection, they may just ask U for RM2290 instead of RM2490.
@bonzaimy, Er.. don't U activate the iValue plan only when U collect the i3GS?
@realcbstuff, The online booking will tell U where U can pre-order the i3GS.
tinkerbel
Jul 29 2009, 12:25 PM
Fanaddict!
@gloomygirlfromheaven, Data is calculated only for GPRS/EDGE/3G/HSDPA usage. Wifi usage is FOC.
tinkerbel
Jul 30 2009, 02:35 PM
Fanaddict!
@bontotalan, Yes U will need to bring the person who holds the principle line because only he has full access to the account. U don't as a supplementary account holder.
@ferricide, Yes it is possible because Maxis will deal onli with the principle line holder.
@boringpig, Thank U for the instalment information from Machines.
@teikwing, Would U like to edit / add that information to Post #1-3? *Yikes* Just saw ur reply.. cepats lah U.
@RevoWithin, Yes that is right - he can do the changes of plans on the spot; but it will take time before the plans can be activated.
tinkerbel
Jul 30 2009, 09:12 PM
Fanaddict!
@NXaqua, If Ur currently on the RM99 Unlimited plan and intend to continue using it, Y don't U just cancel it and sign up under iData 3? That way everything remains the same for U and U get RM500 off the i3GS for a 12 month contract. If U are oredi on iValue plan and have 500MB with ur existing line, I don't think U need to subscribe to the RM99 Unlimited plan. Sorry I don't quite understand your situation so advise may be a little off  @crazy25kid, It will be pro-rated and will start when U activate the SIM card with the i3GS. In ur example, it will be until 19th of next month; it follows a bill cycle.
tinkerbel
Jul 31 2009, 12:09 PM
Fanaddict!
@cybpsych, Pls refer to Post #1 for information on instalment plans but chances are Maxis won't do instalment plans for prepaid/outright purchases; no harm checking though.
@D.Sync, If you're a student, sign up for Hotlink Youth. Use that prepaid SIM to get the i3GS (U won't be able to get a discount off the i3GS phone price) but U will be entitled FOC 500MB data each month for 12 months.
IMO that's the best plan for U.
tinkerbel
Jul 31 2009, 10:17 PM
Fanaddict!
@cybpsych, I just got back from PC Fair - saw the EpiCentre booth and from the brochures, Maxis is now offering instalment plans (only applicable when U sign up for iValue plans) - details been updated on Post #1 here so please check it out; don't need to go all the way to get the information  Also, if U want the i3GS U will haf to wait; stocks are out but there are a couple of demo sets for U to play with if U wish
tinkerbel
Jul 31 2009, 11:43 PM
Fanaddict!
@doomx, If U can afford the i3GS, U should consider it, seriously! It's so much faster than the i3G U won't regret the decision.
tinkerbel
Aug 1 2009, 09:45 PM
Fanaddict!
@maxcheam, 1. Yes U can sign up for Unlimited RM99 p/month over and above the iValue plans but U should have sufficient to use with the iValue plans, no? 2. Am not quite sure what this MultiSIM-1-Line service is - what does it do?  @xenohawk, Calls to 123 is supposedly free, no? This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 1 2009, 09:46 PM
tinkerbel
Aug 2 2009, 11:54 AM
Fanaddict!
@maxcheam, According to my Maxis Insider, the RM99 unlimited p/month is capped at 3GB. oK. I know what U mean by MultiSIM-1-Line now. Yes I believe U can use this service with the plan too  3GB is considerable a lot if you don't use it to download movies and TV series. @NXaqua & igeu69, I haven't heard about RM500 rebate for existing i3G users from my Insider but teikwing has kept me informed of the current progress. I'll check with him and get back to U all later but in the time meantime, for those who gets an official reply from Maxis, it'll be good if U can update us here This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 2 2009, 11:57 AM
tinkerbel
Aug 3 2009, 05:45 PM
Fanaddict!
Hi peeps, The information U people been waiting for:- 1) The RM500 rebate is not something that's confirmed (details are still being finalised) hence it's not been officially announced. However, it's not really an upgrade but more of getting a 2nd unit with at least RM500 rebate and up to 50% off and most probably this is only applicable for those who signed up on iValue 3 & 4 plans [anyone who signed up for this plan can help me purchase an i3GS  ] 2) As to the free calls; it should apply to one-way only; means the free minutes are from principal to supp only. Supp to principal is a different set of free minutes. 3) The 333 minutes that come with the iValue plans aren't exactly FREE cause it's what U've oredi paid hence it's not part of the Principal-Supp free call minutes  I hope this clears the air for all. This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 3 2009, 05:47 PM
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 10:30 AM
Fanaddict!
@teikwing, I guess it's iValue 3 & 4 because Maxis makes enough $ from them to offer them such a sweet deal *shrugs* If U know anyone who's on that plan, I'll luv to check if they can get me a set  @igeu69, U could alwiz 'dispose' the i3G at Garage Sales. That's where I disposed mine and got a much better price than what Maxis was offering on the Trade-In. @pokemonmaster, Am not sure if trade-in promo is available. However all announcement made officially will be available on the Maxis website so it's best to check that out as and when U have queries. @1337n00b, I believe those using the Hotlink SIM pack will need to upgrade to the 3G SIM should they want to enjoy the 3G services. @pjastro, Thank U for the update and am glad it all worked well for U  OT: I'd been so bz since the launch of this i3GS I haven't even had time to go scout down the i3GS I prebooked. Looks like I'm gonna haf to wait till next batch of stocks arrive *iSh*
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 11:22 AM
Fanaddict!
@air, Sooner or later the Trade-In will be offered; when there's ready stock and when they've fulfilled all the orders placed by the 'early adopters'. As for me, I'd been using the i3GS for over a month now. Cousin from Germany wants a set so I prebooked one for him and it looks like I'll haf to give up my i3GS and pass mine to him whilst we wait for stocks to come in from Maxis.
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 01:31 PM
Fanaddict!
@FalleN, Please refer to Post #1-3 of this thread. The answer Ur looking for is stated there.
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 03:50 PM
Fanaddict!
@shadowcaster, Yes EDGE/GPRS/3G/HSDPA charges are all the same. As long as u are within ur 500MB then U won't get charged  @FalleN, I don't know what U mean here by new registrations. I don't know how long it takes to register a brand new line but if you're talking about i3GS activation + registrations, that won't take more than 5 minutes
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 04:09 PM
Fanaddict!
@FalleN, I don't think it'll take longer than 20 minutes (excluding wait time) and ur line will / can be active within 24hrs.
tinkerbel
Aug 4 2009, 04:14 PM
Fanaddict!
@FalleN, I don't think U be able to get ur hands on a set - and if U do, please PM me the details of where U got it. Your best bet is to just wait till the stocks are in