Nutrition help?

TSmochamania
post Jun 26 2009, 09:50 PM, updated 17y ago

268 posts

Hi guys, ive just started getting serious on bulking up recently, but i have a problem.

I need to sort out my diet. I eat 6 times a day, breakfast, break, lunch, tea, dinner and prebed.
On workout days my tea becomes pre workout and i add in a postworkout meal before dinner.

Currently I do not have to worry about dinner and lunch as I consume typical economy rice with dishes.
I have no idea when to eat what for the other timeframes.

These are what I have :
Milk
Eggs
Whole Wheat Bread
Granola bars
Granola cereal
Energy bars
Whey protein
Organic soy powder
Tuna
Yogurt

Can anyone help me about? rclxub.gif
Thanks loads
macpro2
post Jun 28 2009, 09:27 PM

573 posts

you need to calculate how much protein u need to consume per day as per pur weight ..
not just eat.. remeber protein + excercise weights = muscle

This post has been edited by macpro2: Jun 28 2009, 09:27 PM
TSmochamania
post Jun 29 2009, 08:22 PM

268 posts

uh well my weight i would say 132lbs. so that means at least 132g of protein right?
JonYeap
post Jun 29 2009, 10:08 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

yes... roughly that.
mofonyx
post Jul 7 2009, 03:09 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

If you're cooking on your own look up simple recipies.

I usually do this as a student:

Breakfast - Oats + milk in the microwave, mixed with natural peanut butter when it's done and 1 scoop of whey

When I'm done with breakfast, I chuck a whole chicken in the oven for 90mins at 180oC (time depending on weight). Then lunchtime I already have food. Take potatoes chuck in the microwave for 10 minutes and you're sorted.

Alternatively just panfry mince beef (250g) in it's own fat (i.e. don't need to add oil) + 75g of wholewheat pasta.

Good snacks include canned fish (don't take too much tuna), eggs, cheeses, natural peanut butter, milk, nuts (almond) or breakfast serving _again_ if you can handle it (I usually do oats a couple of times during exams).

When choosing canned fish : http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~frf/sea-mehg.html

When having bread, please only wholemeal!

Washing up is minimal with simple dishes like these, yet you can sort it out!
kotmj
post Jul 12 2009, 12:15 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

If you're going to cook, learn to do it properly. It makes a huge difference to your quality of life.

Poulet roti (that's roast chicken): Don't buy those miserable creatures that come frozen in cryovac. Malaysia has the best chickens in the universe, and you should buy the expensive ones from wet markets. Elsewhere, buy those corn-fed French gourmet chickens. Or those non-frozen things. Rub salt and pepper on magnificent fowl. Put half a lemon, half an onion, 1 spring fresh rosemary (and thyme if available) inside cavity. Rub all over generously with butter. Put on baking tray, pour in 0.5 cup liquid (eg. white wine, chinese rice wine, watered down mirin, or just water) roast 30 mins at 190C and 30 mins at 230C. Baste occasionally. Let rest 15 mins before devouring. The best roast chicken you'll ever have. I make this pretty often.

Minced beef. I spent my student years eating them pretty much like you did, or I put them in with bottled spaghetti sauce. Sigh. This is the proper way to eat minced beef:

Salt and pepper the thing, mix very gently with fingers. Cusp (not press) into ball shape, put on small plate, flatten over plate into a concave shape (the middle is depressed). Get a frying pan really hot, slide beef patty off plate into pan (push with fingers). 4 mins on each side (or less). Let rest 5 mins before eating with a fork. Juicy and incredible. I made this twice today.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/01/dining/01burg.html

Canned tuna brings back bad memories of being an underfed student (too busy to eat. Open can and down the thing). We have so much fresh fish here, I have no idea who buys canned tuna. Buy slices of fish (tenggiri, kurau, whatever) and pan fry them! No reason to eat fish oil capsules. Those are for Americans who treat seafood like creatures from outer space.

Yoghurt. It's not nutritionally dense enough. Cheese all the way.

What's with all those granola bars?

Added on July 12, 2009, 12:45 amOne more thing: If you're not forbidden to, you should eat pork. In Scandinavian and Germanic countries, it is the meat of choice, way ahead of beef or lamb. And if you do not eat pork, it will soon turn into some kind of silly specialty meat in Malaysia -- difficult to find and expensive. I get the feeling pork consumption has gone downhill in this country. Minced pork burgers are great too.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 12 2009, 12:45 AM
iamyuanwu
post Jul 12 2009, 01:12 AM

2,425 posts

In response to komtj's suggestion:

Just want to point out a few things towards the last part.

Please take yogurt. You're eating for the probiotics, not just the protein.
It has kept my gut healthy.

As for pork, don't have to worry about it. Pork ranks last amongst the major meat sources. Beef and chicken are the best protein sources. And fish too.
But dayummm, a well prepared pork is tasty. *Slurp!
mofonyx
post Jul 12 2009, 03:19 AM

2,394 posts

Lean pork is the leanest meat out there (UP THERE WITH YOUR CHICKEN BREAST). So eat up!
-Dan
post Jul 12 2009, 10:44 AM

4,382 posts

Love the piggies! laugh.gif
kotmj
post Jul 12 2009, 11:28 AM

3,802 posts

Nothing like moist, juicy and crunchy Chinese roast pork!

Added on July 13, 2009, 12:46 am
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jul 12 2009, 01:12 AM)
In response to komtj's suggestion:

Just want to point out a few things towards the last part.

Please take yogurt. You're eating for the probiotics, not just the protein.
It has kept my gut healthy.

As for pork, don't have to worry about it. Pork ranks last amongst the major meat sources. Beef and chicken are the best protein sources. And fish too.
But dayummm, a well prepared pork is tasty. *Slurp!
I'm eating yoghurt right now because of you.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 13 2009, 12:46 AM
TSmochamania
post Jul 13 2009, 06:32 PM

268 posts

Thanks a lot for the replies guys.

So tuna's bad? Like really bad or still edible?

Im taking yogurt every night now..
is a granola bar not good enough for a snack?

for the meat tho, its limited in my school. i do have chicken, but no pork at all. sad.gif

For the poulet roti, do I still need to add in like other stuff? or just down the whole chicken as a meal?

-Dan
post Jul 13 2009, 06:50 PM

4,382 posts

Why's tuna bad? One of the fastest sandwiches is probably a tuna sandwich. biggrin.gif
kotmj
post Jul 13 2009, 07:59 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(mochamania @ Jul 13 2009, 06:32 PM)
Thanks a lot for the replies guys.

So tuna's bad? Like really bad or still edible?

Im taking yogurt every night now..
is a granola bar not good enough for a snack?

for the meat tho, its limited in my school. i do have chicken, but no pork at all.  sad.gif
For the poulet roti, do I still need to add in like other stuff? or just down the whole chicken as a meal?
I didn't say tuna was bad. I said why eat fibrous fish swimming in salt water when you can have a proper juicy fish steak. You're living in Malaysia man, make the most of it; this is your reward for having to put up with shit politics.

Oh you can eat half the chicken and reserve the other half for sandwiches or for later.

Added on July 13, 2009, 8:15 pmIf it's the oil you don't like in frying fish, you can grill it by getting yourself to Ace Hardware Sunway Pyramid or Ikano and buy a Lodge cast iron grill pan for a little over 100 ringgit. Or get the square Ikea grill pan (the heavy one! not the aluminum thing), which I have. You season your fish, coat it in olive oil, then place it on a very hot grill. You get those sexy sear marks.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 13 2009, 08:15 PM
mofonyx
post Jul 13 2009, 08:33 PM

2,394 posts

Don't take too much tuna, mercury. That's why it's bad

http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~frf/sea-mehg.html
4Rings
post Jul 26 2009, 07:33 AM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

Bodybuilding diet is not just about protein only. You can't build your muscles based on protein alone. To achieve peak performance, other than protein you need the full spectrum of vitamins and minerals, enzymes, friendly bacterias and also plenty of good fats.

pizzaboy
post Jul 26 2009, 01:30 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jul 26 2009, 07:33 AM)
Bodybuilding diet is not just about protein only. You can't build your muscles based on protein alone. To achieve peak performance, other than protein you need the full spectrum of vitamins and minerals, enzymes, friendly bacterias and also plenty of good fats.
any comments about importance of carbs in bodybuilding?
Kmaru
post Jul 26 2009, 01:46 PM

1,005 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 26 2009, 02:30 PM)
Its a must to have it, but again some ppl go fot fats+protein amd cabs+protein+fats...

The wrong way is 0 carbs, 0 fats and high protein... So which are you(all) ?
TSmochamania
post Jul 26 2009, 03:26 PM

268 posts

Currently I'm aiming for a ratio of carbs:protein:fats 5:4:1
Is it alright?
4Rings
post Jul 26 2009, 05:28 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 26 2009, 01:30 PM)
Well, there is no such thing as essential sugar. The importance of carbs in bb is overstated.
I had discussed with some bodybuilders at oversea bb forum that they gained muscle mass on very low carbs diet (long term).
They had proven the insulin spike theory wrong. I would suggest eat just enough for not getting fat if you want to have lean muscle mass.
Too bad the members here did not have the patience to do it for long term.
Fats and protein play more important role in building muscles than carbs.

Added on July 26, 2009, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(mochamania @ Jul 26 2009, 03:26 PM)
Is it alright?
Nope.

This post has been edited by 4Rings: Jul 26 2009, 05:29 PM
Kmaru
post Jul 26 2009, 05:31 PM

1,005 posts

QUOTE(mochamania @ Jul 26 2009, 04:26 PM)
Is it alright?
sound good

0.0181sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:58 AM