1,409 posts

aiman04
post Jul 17 2009, 05:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Star Trek Blu-ray Gets November Date, Augmented Reality

Paramount Home Entertainment has set November 17 as the release date of the movie 'Star Trek' on Blu-ray, day-and-date with the DVD. This will be a three-disc set, and apart from other usual features, it will include a very novel one called “augmented reality,” allowing buyers to tour the Enterprise and even shoot enemies from the ship's deck, after holding the disc packaging in front of a webcam.

An early version of the feature can be accessed at the Experience the Enterprise Web site.

For the disc release, Paramount will include a visual icon inside the packaging that, when held in front of the webcam, will unlock a more immersive experience. Users will have to log in to a Web site to access the feature, but they control the hologram by holding the disc packaging.

Other extras include deleted scenes, a BD Live feature that connects viewers to live updates from space through NASA, and the Star Fleet Vessel Simulator, which offers a 360-degree view of the Enterprise and other ships.

Posted July 17, 2009 03:42 AM by Juan Calonge at Blu-ray.com

richard912
post Jul 17 2009, 05:28 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Gonna get an early X'mas gift for myself!!! Live long and prosper
anfieldude
post Jul 17 2009, 05:49 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 17 2009, 05:23 PM)
Star Trek Blu-ray Gets November Date, Augmented Reality

Paramount Home Entertainment has set November 17 as the release date of the movie 'Star Trek' on Blu-ray, day-and-date with the DVD. This will be a three-disc set, and apart from other usual features, it will include a very novel one called “augmented reality,” allowing buyers to tour the Enterprise and even shoot enemies from the ship's deck, after holding the disc packaging in front of a webcam.

An early version of the feature can be accessed at the Experience the Enterprise Web site.

For the disc release, Paramount will include a visual icon inside the packaging that, when held in front of the webcam, will unlock a more immersive experience. Users will have to log in to a Web site to access the feature, but they control the hologram by holding the disc packaging.

Other extras include deleted scenes, a BD Live feature that connects viewers to live updates from space through NASA, and the Star Fleet Vessel Simulator, which offers a 360-degree view of the Enterprise and other ships.

Posted July 17, 2009 03:42 AM by Juan Calonge at Blu-ray.com
Missed this movie in the theaters. How was it?
richard912
post Jul 17 2009, 05:52 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 17 2009, 05:49 PM)
Even non-trekkies found it entertaining rclxms.gif
aiman04
post Jul 17 2009, 06:30 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 17 2009, 05:49 PM)
Me too. Purposely. So I can watch it the first time on BD. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 17 2009, 05:52 PM)
Even non-trekkies found it entertaining rclxms.gif
That's what I heard. biggrin.gif
horray
post Jul 17 2009, 07:09 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 17 2009, 06:30 PM)
Me too. Purposely. So I can watch it the first time on BD. thumbup.gif
Me too! Looking forward to it! Are you waiting for Transformers on BD as well? I haven't watched it yet but probably will do so on Sunday. Cannot wait! rclxm9.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jul 17 2009, 07:13 PM

801 posts

Me too haven't watch Transformer 2 yet. Waiting for BD & also my place no cinema. sad.gif
fadthil
post Jul 18 2009, 12:41 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Shipped from Amazon (via Std Shppg): 7 July 2009
Dilepaskan Kastam: 15 July 2009
Received by Pos: 17 July 2009

Finally, got my hands on The Bourne Trilogy, I bought it during the USD$8 discount (wif The Mummy Boxset) thumbup.gif
The other two are for my friend... walao, nowadays BD casing all kilat-kilat wor, veli nice... rclxms.gif

SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jul 18 2009, 12:44 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jul 18 2009, 12:41 AM)
Shipped from Amazon (via Std Shppg): 7 July 2009
Dilepaskan Kastam: 15 July 2009
Received by Pos: 17 July 2009

Finally, got my hands on The Bourne Trilogy, I bought it during the USD$8 discount (wif The Mummy Boxset)  thumbup.gif
The other two are for my friend... walao, nowadays BD casing all kilat-kilat wor, veli nice...  rclxms.gif
Wah! Matrix box set very very kilat kilat! rclxms.gif How many bd inside? I got the ultimate set, 7 disk but the box very dull looking. sad.gif
fadthil
post Jul 18 2009, 12:50 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Jul 18 2009, 12:44 AM)
Wah! Matrix box set very very kilat kilat!  rclxms.gif  How many bd inside? I got the ultimate set, 7 disk but the box very dull looking. sad.gif
This is a single disc 10th Anniversary Edition DigiBook... want to peep inside to flip through the book but cannot open...this for a friend lar... sad.gif Mine is waiting to be shipped from Amazon.
aiman04
post Jul 18 2009, 08:09 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Star Trek Blu-ray Full Details Revealed

Paramount After the appetizer given early this morning, Paramount Home Entertainment has revealed the full release details for 'Star Trek', which will hit store shelves on Blu-ray on November 17, day-and-date with DVD. It will be presented in 2.35:1 1080p High Definition with English 5.1 Dolby TrueHD, French 5.1 Dolby Digital and Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital with English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese subtitles. Over three hours of bonus materials will be included.

The Blu-ray offers exclusive branching pods that allow for enhanced exploration, more fascinating features on the starships, planets, props, costumes and sound of STAR TREK, as well as a Starfleet Vessel Simulator and access to the latest NASA news about real-life space exploration via BD-Live.

It also offers a home entertainment first: groundbreaking augmented reality technology. Using a webcam, a Star Trek visual cue will morph into a 3D holographic tour of the U.S.S. Enterprise on the screen, providing a unique immersive and interactive experience.

Special features are as follows:

Disc 1

* Commentary:By director J.J. Abrams, writers Robert Orci and Alex Kurtzman, producer Damon Lindelof and executive producer Bryan Burk.
* NASA News (BD-exclusive): This BD-Live feature gives viewers access to the latest NASA news about real space exploration. Learn about new mission developments and check out featured imagery from around the universe.

Disc 2

* To Boldly Go: Taking on the world's most beloved science fiction franchise was no small mission. Director J.J. Abrams, writers Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman, producer Damon Lindelof, and executive producer Bryan Burk talk about the many challenges they faced and their strategy for success.
o Branching Pods:
+ The Shatner Conundrum
+ Red Shirt Guy
+ The Green Girl
+ Trekker Alert!
* Casting: The producers knew their greatest task was finding the right cast to reprise these epic roles. The cast, for their part, talk about the experience of trying to capture the essence of these mythic characters. The piece concludes with a moving tribute to Leonard Nimoy.
* A New Vision: J.J. Abrams' vision was not only to create a Star Trek that was a bigger, more action-packed spectacle, but also to make the spectacle feel real. Every aspect of production--from unique locations to the use of classic Hollywood camera tricks--was guided by this overall objective.
o Branching Pods:
+ Savage Pressure
* Starships (BD-exclusive): Abrams and production designer Scott Chambliss were careful to pay tribute to the design of the original Enterprise, but they also wanted to make it futuristic and cool for a modern audience. This chapter focuses on the unique stories behind the creation of the film's starships.
o Branching Pods:
+ Warp Explained
+ Paint Job
+ Bridge Construction Accelerated
+ The Captain's Chair
+ Button Acting 101
+ Shuttle Shuffle
+ Narada Construction Accelerated
* Aliens: Designers Neville Page and Joel Harlow talk about the hurdles they faced creating new alien species, recreating the Romulans and Vulcans, and designing the terrifying creatures on Delta Vega for the new Star Trek.
o Branching Pods:
+ The Alien Paradox
+ Big-Eyed Girl
+ Big Bro Quinto
+ Klingons
+ Drakoulias Anatomy 101
* Planets (BD-exclusive): From the frozen landscape of Delta Vega to the desert plains of Vulcan, Scott Chambliss and the art department had a number of radically different planets to create. Abrams' desire to shoot on real locations whenever possible led the production team to a number of strange and surprising locations.
o Branching Pods:
+ Extra Business
+ Confidentiality
* Props and Costumes (BD-exclusive): Property master Russell Bobbitt had the unique challenge of designing props that were both true to the original series and pertinent to today's technology. Likewise, costume designer Michael Kaplan talks about how he designed costumes that paid homage to what came before yet were relevant and timeless.
o Branching Pods:
+ Klingon Wardrobe
* Ben Burtt and the Sounds of Star Trek (BD-exclusive) : When famed sound designer Ben Burtt was hired to create sounds for the first Star Wars film, he took his inspiration from the original "Star Trek" series. Burtt jumped at the opportunity to pay tribute to the sounds that sparked his career with the sounds he created for the new Star Trek.
* Score: As a fan of the original series, composer Michael Giacchino embraced the challenge of creating new music for Star Trek while preserving the spirit of Alexander Courage's celebrated theme.
* Gene Roddenberry's Vision (BD-exclusive): J.J. Abrams, Leonard Nimoy, previous Star Trek writers and producers, and scientific consultant Carolyn Porco describe and commend the optimistic and enduring vision of Gene Roddenberry.
* Nine deleted scenes with optional commentary
* Starfleet Vessel Simulator (BD-exclusive):Explore extensive data on the U.S.S. Enterprise and the Romulan ship, the Narada. Submerse yourself in breathtaking 360 views and close-ups and review detailed tech information.
* Gag Reel: Bloopers featuring the entire principal cast.

Disc 3

* Digital Copy
* Star Trek D-A-C Free Trial Game for XBOX 360
* Weblink to the Star Trek D-A-C free trial game for PC
* Weblink to the Star Trek D-A-C free trial game for PlayStation Network

"I cannot wait for fans of Star Trek to check out the home entertainment release of the film. The behind-the-scenes features on the DVD -- and especially the Blu-ray -- give a wonderful look at the crazy hard work and incredible fun that went into making this movie," said J.J. Abrams. "The cast and crew were truly extraordinary to work with -- watching these special features, you'll see why. And for people who didn't catch Star Trek in the theater, I hope they do now, as Paramount has done an exceptional job with this release; the picture and sound quality are both excellent."

Posted July 17, 2009 01:36 PM by Juan Calonge at Blu-ray.com
moomoos
post Jul 18 2009, 09:04 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

congrats on your purchase , enc fadthil

wah that fast a shipment, (stated 14days onwards for std shipment), but only took 7 including workdays, bravo Amazon,

hmm.gif ... that means will be expecting my casino royale soon ( ordered on 15th) whistling.gif
really cant wait

This post has been edited by moomoos: Jul 18 2009, 09:04 AM
maskedchan
post Jul 18 2009, 10:13 AM

6,022 posts

yesterday just wend to speedy 1u.
there have B2G1 for title from warner, foxcentury and MGM.

ask B2G1 entitle for concert BD like david foster, celine dion or buble, he say cannot cry.gif
fadthil
post Jul 18 2009, 10:56 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 18 2009, 09:04 AM)
congrats on your purchase , enc fadthil

wah that fast a shipment, (stated 14days onwards for std shipment), but only took 7 including workdays, bravo Amazon,

hmm.gif ... that means will be expecting my casino royale soon ( ordered on 15th)  whistling.gif
really cant wait
Thanks bro. But for your info I made the order on 27 June! The delay was because they don't have stock of The Matrix when I made the order. And for the first time for me, the parcel came in through a yellow bubble-padded envelope (unlike in a box normally) and it was shipped from Germany instead.... dats probably why it was faster than if it's shipped from the US.

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 18 2009, 10:13 AM)
yesterday just wend to speedy 1u.
there have B2G1 for title from warner, foxcentury and MGM.

ask B2G1 entitle for concert BD like david foster, celine dion or  buble, he say cannot  cry.gif
Hmmm... dat would make each BD cost RM100 right? (say if each one costs RM150). And was it $PEEDY at the old wing and Movie Magic (which owns $PEEDY, I think) at the new wing too?

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Talking about cheap BDs sold in M'sia, yesterday I went to EZY VIDEO at Sg. Wang and I saw quite a number of titles sold at RM99.90 & RM119.90!! Not bad, but didn't have time to browse thoroughly as I need to rush sad.gif
maskedchan
post Jul 18 2009, 11:04 AM

6,022 posts

i went to speedy old wing..
never go to new wing one.

yeah..will cost RM100 each...
moomoos
post Jul 18 2009, 11:22 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

wah your side got B2G1(buy2foc1 rite)
speedy ipoh cant even smell the aroma la
lansung tak da
fadthil
post Jul 18 2009, 11:31 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 18 2009, 11:22 AM)
wah your side got B2G1(buy2foc1 rite)
speedy ipoh cant even smell the aroma la
lansung tak da
Maybe not all outlet... I didn't see any blu-ray B2G1 at $PEEDY Subang Parade; when I was there last Thursday... hmm.gif
andychucky
post Jul 18 2009, 11:39 AM

86 posts

It is at all speedy outlets for B2G1. There is no sign board out yet. You have to ask them. They still want to earn from ignorant buyers whom just only buy one piece for RM149
maskedchan
post Jul 18 2009, 12:12 PM

6,022 posts

yeah,i guess so.
even the shop i go, they write it in a cardboard with hand writting.
the handwritting so ugly.

so go ask every speedy shop to confirm it.

113 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:09 PM