6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

^_^ Cat Lovers Version 5 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 03:31 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Jun 22 2011, 01:42 PM)
Hi....

Yes, you can feed your cat/kitten with raw meat.
As for fish I am not too sure.
Usually I will boil the fish with water (no salt) and then feed my cats with the fish flesh only.
The head and bones I will throw.
The only raw fish I will feed to my cats is salmon fillets.
They love it.
Same goes for chicken.
Boil in water only and then tear off the chicken meat and feed to my cats.
Remember when you feed raw meat to your cats you will need to deworm them on a regular basis.
QUOTE(lilac_brit @ Jun 22 2011, 02:38 PM)

It is NOT ok to feed your cat/kitten raw food as their main diet UNLESS you ensure that they have the necessary nutrients (please google to find what is needed). I think for most, it's too much work to make your own because you need good meat, muscle meat, offal, bones etc.etc.etc. to ensure that they have a balanced meal.
My cats get raw chicken meat + bones every few days. I'm a big fan of the RMB (raw meaty bones) diet and whole prey/frankenprey diet, but I can't use it for every meal because it's a hassle to defrost and clean up after that. It's more natural than BARF because it doesn't involve grinding the meat, which removes a lot of essential nutrients.
And if you get your chicken from good sources, the chances of your cat getting worms or other sicknesses is very slim. My cats have been getting raw meat a few times a week for months. When I dewormed them recently, they were clean. thumbup.gif
As for raw fish, either feed them fish fillets without bones, or whole fish. The bones in whole, uncut fish are softer as they haven't been exposed to air. However, my cats don't seem to like fish very much. Their favourite is chicken doh.gif

Of course, before feeding them raw, always do some research!

some good and cheap parts of the chicken are gizzards, hearts (remove the liver, these should only be fed very sparingly), necks and carcass. My cats clean off 99% of the bones I give them. The tough gizzards and hard bones lets them chew a lot and clean their teeth better than kibble does.

This post has been edited by verulin: Jun 22 2011, 03:37 PM
verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 03:39 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 22 2011, 03:36 PM)
fish=boil=no salt= cat senyum lebar me thinks.

nutritious, no added fat plus what the vet always says is good food.albeit a wee bit expensife la depending on how good is the catch for that day when you visit the markets.if that day fish prices murah, murah la if mahal mahal la jugak.
fish should NOT be fed as a staple, it doesn't provide a balanced diet on its own.
http://catnutrition.wordpress.com/2007/09/...eding-for-cats/
verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 04:11 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(wmkr @ Jun 22 2011, 03:58 PM)
other than Royal Canin... what are the other type of food good for kitten....I'm looking for the best for them biggrin.gif
Orijen! if you have the budget thumbup.gif

verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 07:07 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 22 2011, 07:01 PM)
i think what referred in those articles are the ones americans/westerners use aka not the fresh off the seas ones like we get in our markets here.

anyway, according to the vet(im no vet no expert neither) giving the dry food too much pun they say no good.a bit of both work i guess, add in a bit of rice ka etc.but all in all with good food prepared with thought for the cats, me thinks should give the cats a good an long healthy life.
hmm.gif good point
I wouldn't recommend adding rice. Cats are 'obligate carnivores' meaning that they need a lot of meat, and very little veggies and grains. So I'd recommend adding good quality wet cat food or meat, since the dry food already has grains in it.
verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 07:14 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 22 2011, 07:10 PM)
hmm no wonder.if i gaul a bit of rice with fish, me cat very good at picking the yummy stuff and leaves the rice out.ever since i stayed on the fish, a bit of meat and the dry food.he wont touch the wet cat food at all me meoww.

last vist to pet came with good news, doc says probably just worms causing him to vomit and after 2 shots, a few other pills back to his active best now. rclxms.gif
glad to hear that he's recovering! rclxms.gif
verulin
post Jun 24 2011, 03:02 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Jun 24 2011, 02:56 PM)
Pet food industry is a multi billion dollars industry worldwide.
Pet food makes feeding pets very convenient.
But there are alot of companies outhere wanting some of your money.
They compete by advertising, sponsoring vets, flooding retail chains.

The industry itself is pretty much self regulated.

Consumers are confused by the brands, ingredients and price available.
There are no shortcut to understand the nutritional needs of your loved pets.

Please do some study, make your own decision.

Start by understanding what a cat naturally eat first, IMHO.
I couldn't have said it better rclxms.gif
Just google proper cat nutrition, but i'd advise you to stay away from the advise given in pet food company sites. They're just trying to get you to buy their products.
verulin
post Jun 25 2011, 06:10 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(HopeLife @ Jun 25 2011, 05:13 PM)
I'm leaving this country,and I can't take the pain.I want to go somewhere else, here is too much pain for me...but I can't bring my beloved cat to go.
My cat named DONUT, which is very cute and smart..is a well trained toilet and he is handsome..I won't let him go if I can. I have been thinking for few week, nonstop crying..
He is very lovely and tame..please..I need some one really love cat and promised will put alots time on him..please..I beg of anyone want to adopt him, please...treat him like your own kid..I'm so sorry..
He know listen to some words...He never bring me any problem althought is just a stray cat. Now he is around 6 to 7 months. I always bath for him and he only stay in room. He scare of ants, anything that will move.

He eat royal chanin, and royal fancy wet food. I can pay for the food money as long as anyone can take good care of him. Always can accompany him will be better...Donut already been neutering...Please contact me as soon as you can. Thanks.
Please if any of you, interested on my donut, please give more time on him, and love.
[attachmentid=2294875][attachmentid=2294878][attachmentid=2294880]
awww he looks so sweet. I'd love to take him but I already have 2 cats and live in a condo

you can post a profile on petfinder.my, the adoption thread here and kitten.com.my forum. you can also put up flyers at vet clinics.
good luck!! thumbup.gif

verulin
post Jul 17 2011, 08:11 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Jul 17 2011, 07:05 PM)
my cat's growth stunted. sad.gif she's way above adult but size like juvenile kitten only.
every cat is different, just like humans. I've seen a few adult cats that are extra small before, usually females
verulin
post Jul 17 2011, 11:20 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(OctoberFly @ Jul 17 2011, 08:19 PM)
oh yeahh! my cat is a female. =/ extra small. I thought it was because I wasn't feeding her enough. but then she got fat... small... but fat. LIKE A BALL x_X

@verulin! remember your drawings? hahah. the one that I loved so much biggrin.gif

p/s: omg. i typo 'cat' into 'fat'. 'my fat is female' HAHA.
my fat is female.... rclxms.gif

owh forgot about u tongue.gif now I remember!
verulin
post Jul 18 2011, 12:36 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(TendouSouji @ Jul 18 2011, 12:58 AM)
Stupid stray cat.. Chomped off a piece of my meat from my finger when I'm trying to feed it... Damn you! I HATE CATS!
ok first, reduce your meals to 1/4 of their amount. do this for a week or so, skipping a few meals now and then.
then have your friend hold something tasty like mcD burger in his hand, try to keep yourself from launching yourself at your friend and biting his hand while trying to grab the burger.

the stray cat is very hungry and is totally focused on the food. you can't blame it for accidentally biting you. have a bit of logic, yeah?
verulin
post Jul 18 2011, 05:20 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(TendouSouji @ Jul 18 2011, 12:53 PM)
Yeah the logic is never act like jesus and be kind enough to feed stray cats. I've learned a good lesson
sweat.gif
verulin
post Jul 18 2011, 09:27 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 18 2011, 07:31 PM)
jesus fed a cat?? drool.gif

kohkoh.
rclxms.gif
verulin
post Jul 25 2011, 12:18 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(badtzcarol @ Jul 25 2011, 12:15 PM)
i not really like big size cat
and dummy is too big, worry it will cause some sickness
he can't have much time to run
coz live in a small low cost flat with a poor owner  cry.gif

but since i use the vitamin that put in the foods, he dun like to eat anymore
he hate the vanilla smell  blink.gif
try masking the smell with something strong smelling like fish?

Added on July 25, 2011, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 24 2011, 12:29 PM)
oh.. thanks...
can i train her to go outside the house to do their business, just like their mother???... unsure.gif
the kittens will usually learn from mama's behaviour.
if they do have an accident, take the poo outside, leave it there and make sure the kittens know its there. any 'accidents' should be cleaned thoroughly to remove the smell so they won't do it in that spot again.

This post has been edited by verulin: Jul 25 2011, 12:22 PM
verulin
post Aug 9 2011, 08:39 PM

33 posts

I use clumping clay litter. Scoop out every time my cats do their business so not much smell. Their litter box is exposed and in a well ventilated area. The box is a DIY, made from plastic storage tub with hole cut out on the side.

pic of my cats just to share wub.gif

This post has been edited by verulin: Aug 9 2011, 08:44 PM
verulin
post Aug 10 2011, 10:23 AM

33 posts

it's sickening how people who are responsible for the animals' wellbeing can be so irresponsible and heartless.
oh god...what assholes... @#$%$%^&*$%&@^!!!!!!
verulin
post Aug 11 2011, 09:08 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(asstoash @ Aug 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
what a nice picture...i wish i got dslr to take picture like that.
my digicam not fast enough to catch my kittens action.
thanks! They looks so content and comfy in the pic wub.gif

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Aug 11 2011, 09:05 AM)
Many peoples want to adopt a cat i believe. but there's too many obstacles to adopt a cat in a big city like KL, unless you happen to own a bungalow.
well I live in a condo and have cats. you just have to provide more stimulation.
I picked up my cats from the street instead of from a shelter

Added on August 11, 2011, 9:09 am
QUOTE(myqza @ Aug 10 2011, 09:12 PM)
MrUbikeledek,
can you delete the link above??
Thank you.
may I know why?

This post has been edited by verulin: Aug 11 2011, 09:09 AM
verulin
post Aug 12 2011, 07:55 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Roz @ Aug 12 2011, 03:01 PM)
Hi guys! I have an urgent question. Is is possible to spay my cat while she is in heat?
possible, but there's a higher risk. Cz when she's on heat her sexual organs will be more erm...blood-filled? not sure how to explain...but there's a risk of bleeding too much

Added on August 12, 2011, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(tomy @ Aug 12 2011, 01:06 PM)
hello..i think,my cat got fungus at its ears....its been 2 month..i take him to see vet but....the fungus gone..but sometimes,it came back...dont know wht to do...
even though it's gone, the stuff that caused the fungus might still be around. Maybe there's something in the environment that's causing it? does your cat go outside?

This post has been edited by verulin: Aug 12 2011, 08:34 PM
verulin
post Aug 13 2011, 10:06 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(tomy @ Aug 13 2011, 01:59 AM)
hmm....i didnt give my cat go outside....one of my kitten still got the fungus....and they are sharing the cage.....
and that's the problem, then.
Fungus is highly contagious. keep them separate until they both recover. wash the cage, carpet, whatever that they came in contact with. cz the fungus might also be hiding there

This post has been edited by verulin: Aug 13 2011, 10:11 AM
verulin
post Aug 13 2011, 03:26 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tomy @ Aug 13 2011, 01:08 PM)
owww..ok...i will try it out..one more thing is the fur keep jatuh lorr...is it becoz of its fungus or the cat food?
it's normal for fur to jatuh, but if jatuh too much could mean low quality cat food. what are you feeding them now?
if u pull gently on a clump of fur and it breaks off in a bunch, probably cz of fungus
verulin
post Aug 13 2011, 09:34 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tomy @ Aug 13 2011, 05:30 PM)
owww....my parent give them whiskas.....i just tell them about the cat food....they just bought the nutra gold..is it ok?
should choose food that have meat as the first ingredient, cz it means that meat content is higher than other ingredients.

Whiskas and friskies are not good, cz grains and cereals are the 1st ingredient. so you're basically feeding your cat rice and jagung biscuits tongue.gif

check the ingredients of that food to see. Even better if the 1st ingredient is a specific meat(eg. chicken meal), not meat by-products (eg. chicken by-product, which is basically the leftovers that humans won't eat like legs, head, organs)

google a bit on how to choose good cat food

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0635sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:25 AM