Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 12:26 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(mc2009 @ Jul 9 2009, 12:21 PM)
Do you know which bank offer the best balance transfer rate?
CIMB/DA @ 0% for 10 mths. Best in the market thumbup.gif

Added on July 9, 2009, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 12:26 PM)
what is balance transfer anyway? I ask this question sometimes ago  hmm.gif
Its when you transfer your o/s from your existing CC a/c to one with another issuer

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 9 2009, 12:28 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 12:29 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 12:11 PM)
Err~ I think 15k is a standard limit for every Miau Bank Gold Card? I'm far away from that VIP reason  smile.gif
MYR 15K is only AUD 5k. How to survive la. icon_question.gif  In addition to that, we are collecting MR not TP. Me is Amex fan la. 
So my amex bill are 2-3 pages more than visa. I use Miau Bank Petronas for petrol only. Where got Petronas in AU ?

p/s : Here petrol paid by company. Keke  brows.gif
With Amex charge card, there's no need to worry about CL icon_rolleyes.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 12:32 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 9 2009, 12:28 PM)
Clause 13.2 of Bank Negara's Credit Card Guideline:

"The cardholder's maximum liability for unauthorised transactions as a consequence of a lost or stolen credit card shall be confined to a limit specified by the issuer of credit cards, which shall not exceed RM250 provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen."

Pretty clear to me.
The statement "provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen" depending on how its proven or interpreted leaves a lot to the imagination. Go to Court and listen to some hearing will give you a better idea on what I am talking about tongue.gif

Added on July 9, 2009, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 12:32 PM)
That why I'm a charge card fan. Amex work like a charm and accepted widely overseas. Miau Bank Card good for backup....and installment plan.. tongue.gif
Since you are working overseas, should consider dumping your Miau Bank and getting an Alliance Bank Card, no admin fees on forex translation plus evergreen points. Free for life as well while giving you higher CL to boot icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 9 2009, 12:37 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 02:07 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 9 2009, 01:09 PM)
Isn't it "ignorance unless proven guilty"? So in this case, it is up to the card company to prove your guilt.
Actually in the cases of most financial disputes, when transactions are entered into your account, its deemed as good enough proof that they are incurred by you as a general rule. As such, its actually up to you proof that such were not incurred by you and not the other way round. As I had said, unless you are familiar with how a civil case is conducted, very difficult to explain to you. That's the reason also why a lot of sure win cases ended up differently.

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 9 2009, 02:15 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 03:26 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 9 2009, 02:49 PM)
Don't forget you need to pay an upfront handling fee. smile.gif
Nope, strictly no handling fees. This not flexi-plan but pure BT
tgeoklin
post Jul 9 2009, 04:45 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 9 2009, 04:22 PM)
Are you SURE?  shocking.gif

There is no such thing as a "free lunch".

See the attachment below, Item No. 5 of the T&Cs.
Notice the difference http://www.cimbbank.com.my/pdf/CIMB%20Bala...20Transfer2.pdf ?

Anyway, it seems they have reduced to 6 months from 10 months since late last year sad.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 08:48 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 10 2009, 08:29 AM)
sad.gif  sooo jealouss now..~

Anyone know what is the best mastercard around to apply other than JustOne ?
OCBC is the other Mastercard Titanium card issuer and their card are quite unique & not square like other cards. Maybe you can give them a try?
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 12:10 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Jul 10 2009, 11:47 AM)
I have both the Alliance Plat and SCB's VI and experienced it just last month by presenting the SCB's VI at LCCT but the front desk officer told me what I had wrote.  tongue.gif

What is PB members ?  hmm.gif tongue.gif
You need to present your priority pass, not your SCB VI tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 12:34 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 12:17 PM)
@woengx2,
PB as in Priority Banking or Privileged Banking, whichever the banks call it.

Yeah that's right - U need to show the Priority Pass biggrin.gif - and the SCB Visa Infinite comes with a Priority Pass; U dun haf?

-- Added --
In order to gain access to Plaza Premium Lounges, U will need to show your SCB Visa Infinite + Priority Pass.
Actually all your need is the priority pass card plus yr passport, not yr SCB VI at all as the billing is straight to your SCB VI card. They just need to ensure your identity but never use the LCCT Lounge before so cannot comment tongue.gif

* only Principle card member will be issued the Priority Pass, hence any sub card will not be entitled to such benefit sad.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 10 2009, 12:37 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 01:05 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 12:55 PM)
@tgeoklin,
Er.. but the Priority Pass that comes with SCB is FOC.  U don't need to pay a single cent to go in.
That's correct but if you do happens to have guest then have to pay for them, right? tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 01:08 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Jul 10 2009, 12:56 PM)
Did you experienced so ? Or it is just by knowing from the card's booklet ?  hmm.gif
Have used it in quite a few lounges worldwide but for the LCCT, as not been there within the past year biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 10 2009, 01:09 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 01:15 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Jul 10 2009, 01:08 PM)
No doubt forum has given us the free right of speaking but we do really need to be written as accurate as to the actual situation as it to be not by only "guessing" or guesstimating" the real circumstances.   doh.gif

If I'm not have experienced it at LCCT I will not post it here to let people know more about the card.  sweat.gif
Anyone has the same experiences ? I would rather it could be FOC by that ...  tongue.gif
Sorry if we had cause you any confusion but we too are stating our experience. Based on your post, we thought you had only presented your SCB VI for FOC entry purposes, which would have confused the staff there since SCB did not have such arrangement with them as opposed to EON/Alliance etc.

The Priority Pass on the other hand is directly between the Lounges & Priority Pass Int, which then issue membership to the banks/individuals etc. So in order to confirm your Priority Pass entry, wheather FOC or paid, all its needed is your identification. Hope its clear now.

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 01:39 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ Jul 10 2009, 01:22 PM)
Thank you for your comment and the information given.  tongue.gif
But... we still can't confirm here could the SCB's VI ( principal card holder ) + Passport ( original ) + Priorty Pass grant and FOC access to PPL at LCCT ? I'm sure it is at PPL KLIA as I experienced.  sweat.gif
According to Priority Pass, it should be no problem http://www.prioritypass.com/Lounges/Kuala-...port-Lounge.cfm ie. they accept Priority Pass card, so if you have it, they should not be denying you entry smile.gif

tgeoklin
post Jul 10 2009, 11:41 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 10 2009, 06:37 PM)
Rhb Plat also come with priority pass.
However, only the Priority Pass that comes with the RHB Infinite provides free access while that which comes with the plat card only allows paid access rolleyes.gif

Added on July 10, 2009, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 10:36 PM)
@zenquix,
If I'm going for the TreatsFair I'll just lodge my application then, otherwise will do it via fax I guess *smiles*  It's easier than to walk into any MBB branch - ma fan! tongue.gif but am holding out the application till I hear back from SCB.
Good luck with SCB but too bad you already missed out on so much wonderful promotions earlier. Should have done it earlier but guess its better late than never tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 11 2009, 12:04 AM
tgeoklin
post Jul 11 2009, 09:27 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 11 2009, 12:33 AM)
AFAIK , there is three type of Priority Pass membership

1. Standard Membership - Each lounge visit cost USD 25
2. Standard Plus Membership - 10 free lounge visit thereafter USD 25 per visit
3. Prestige Membership - Unlimited Free Access

So that you mean RHB Platinum come with No. 1? RHB and SCB Visa Infinite come with No. 2 or No. 3?

Yes, RHB Plat comes with No 1 while the RHB & SCB Infinite comes with No 3

Added on July 11, 2009, 9:34 am
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 11 2009, 09:21 AM)
@tgeoklin,
iSh..... apa promotion dari SCB?  Anyhow, it's past so no point even talking about it.

@Reventon,
That's 10 and counting..... I even pai-seh wanna show me cards; I've got Jusco, ONE, Voir, Padini, Metrojaya, Robinsons, Memory Lane cards .... *kekeke*

@vampbreak,
Go check out the requirements by visiting their website lah.  Don't be so lazy and stop whining about wanting a Mastercard.  Just go apply for it and U don't always need to apply for the top range card!
Well, they still got their guaranteed gifts program plus some others hmm.gif

Hey, me also got Jusco, Isetan, Bonuslink, Real Reward, Dome, Metro, Robinson, Popular, MPH ........ tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 11 2009, 09:34 AM
tgeoklin
post Jul 16 2009, 07:07 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:43 PM)
does principle and supplementary can have separated account summary? i always get a nag when i purchase something.
The only bank that does that was PBB but not sure if they still practise this hmm.gif

Added on July 16, 2009, 7:11 am
QUOTE(satur9 @ Jul 16 2009, 02:30 AM)
Overseas transactions incur both an HSBC administration charge (1.25%)  and Visa/Mastercard transaction fee (variable %). I monitor my foreign transactions like a hawk and can confirm this.

For example:

Nov 08 = 2.0% (1.0 + 1.0)
Apr 09 = 1.95% (1.0 + 0.95)
03 May 09 = 1.58% (1.0 + 0.58)
24 May 09 = 2.26% (1.25 + 1.01) *HSBC increased their admin fee mid/end May

You can work this out by checking your credit card balance one or two days after an overseas transaction and again a day later. Only the final amount will appear in your statement, so you've got to be quick to catch the two different balances. Usually I just check via sms (45sen).
Excellent observation notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 16 2009, 07:11 AM
tgeoklin
post Jul 16 2009, 07:32 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 16 2009, 07:22 AM)
On overseas transaction charges. The only bank I know of that doesn't charge extra is Alliance Bank card. DA used to be 0% but now also impose charges.

Added on July 16, 2009, 7:25 am

Not sure what you mean.

But most bank will have a separate page for supplementary card transaction but they will all be send inside the same envelope.

The only 2 bank that I know having separate credit limit for supplementary cards are DA and Alliance. In other word, the principle card holder can specify what credit limit to give to their supplementary card (out of his own total credit limit).
Actually most banks can impose a limit on the supp based on the principle's instructions. While some will have a separate statement for each supp, only PBB allows the option for the supp's statement to be sent separately to the supp directly tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 16 2009, 10:33 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 09:45 AM)
@tgeoklin,
Actually, MBB also allows statement to be sent directly to supplementary cardholder.  U just need to request for it.

Thks for the info, didn't know that. But does it shows the principal's name anywhere? PBB's supp card's stat exactly like the main card ie. unless you do a CRIS check, won't even know its a supp card tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Jul 16 2009, 04:36 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 03:19 PM)
Er.. might I ask.. Y are we debating CLs all of a sudden?! tongue.gif
I think they just want to see their standing in the scheme of things, I guess hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 16 2009, 04:38 PM
tgeoklin
post Jul 17 2009, 08:00 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 08:39 PM)
@winner,
I don't see a point in comparing how much CLs we have; i don't find it v ego-boosting or breaking tongue.gif  I can say I've got RM90k CL on one of my CCs but are U or not going to believe it? tongue.gif
Actually I am telling the truth when I say my UOB Plat has the most outrageous limit amongst everyone here ....... makes me feel so proud & fuzzy laugh.gif

Added on July 17, 2009, 8:05 am
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 16 2009, 07:18 PM)
But nobody is willing to expose his/her CL exactly. Maybe you can start with your Infinite 1st? Hahaha brows.gif
It depends on bank's policies. Some banks are very strict on late payment. Some good examples are CIMB and Ambank.
Erh, I can only say its limits are capped thumbup.gif

Added on July 17, 2009, 8:08 am
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 08:54 PM)
@taxpayer,
CIMB's asking for RM240k income p/annum whilst SCB is RM150k p/annum.  Currently, only RHB's Visa Infinite remains 'By Invitation Only'.

I guess it's business afterall and bottom lines what's most important smile.gif
For "by invitation only" cards, there are still the CIMB Enrich World Mastercard & MBf World Mastercard for now icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Jul 17 2009, 08:08 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0510sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:58 PM