Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2009, 05:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jul 3 2009, 05:04 PM)
I have a Direct Access Gold Mastercard.

How do I get it upgraded to a Platinum Mastercard?
I did that before. Call up DA, say you want to upgrade from Gold to Plat. CS will fax you the form. Fill it up, tick both Plat (you may write on top "request upgrade from gold to plat" ), fax in IC, EA Form and/or 3 mths salary slip.

I received the cards by courier in less than 5 working days after fax in complete docs. Fastest ever to me.
cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2009, 10:29 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jul 3 2009, 07:31 PM)
mind to share the minimum income per month needed to upgrade from DA gold to DA plat?

coz if know the income is too low, then no need to try oso...
I think quite low. Forgot. Plat is 80k ?
cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2009, 03:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 6 2009, 02:48 PM)
Regular AMEX will give you 2 MR points for every Ringgit swiped. The recently launched AMEX Gold Credit Card will give you 5 MR Points for every Ringgit swiped. Very generous.
Just to clarify:

5x Membership Rewards points for every Ringgit spent on groceries, petrol, bookstores - Kinokuniya, Borders, Times and MPH - and telco charges via Express Autopay - Celcom, Digi, Maxis and Telekom.

2x Membership Rewards points for all spend elsewhere.

Chilli Sauce

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2009, 11:15 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Jul 6 2009, 07:25 PM)
Guys..if i were to use my Maybank or Citi CC in indonesia..do i need to inform them (bank)?
It is always best practise to spend <RM1 on calls and 5 minutes of your time to inform the banks where you will go and the travel period.

You don't want to take the risk of CC cannot go through (suspect overseas fraud) and your h/p can't make roaming calls (expensive) or some other issues (embarrassment).

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2009, 12:14 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jul 6 2009, 11:47 PM)
Most of the time if the transaction is huge they will call you when the transaction is in progress....well i don't deny that calling them will save you all the hassle
Imagine you want to check out hotel, rushing to airport. But you get stuck pending to settle hotel bills. Bank CC try to call you to verify, but can't get through due to h/p or roaming problem. Bank CC reject hotel payment.

Panic, stress, sweat, embarrass, etc. sweat.gif

But once you are frequent traveller and banks know your pattern, then it is alright not to inform.
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 11:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
Last time, a lot of retail don't want to accept AMEX because of the higher merchant fees compared to VISA and Master.
But since Maybank bought over the franchise, a lot of major retail outlets are already getting the merchant terminal for AMEX.
In M'sia, AMEX under Maybank arms had turned into Credit Card (correct me if I'm wrong, limited knowledge on AMEX also). But if one holds the true AMEX, it's supposed to be a charge card; same as DINERS.
I try to explain from my understanding:
MBB Amex (Maybankard Amex) has MBB logo. You will earn TreatPoints. All are Credit Card. E.g.
Maybankard American Express Gold & Classic
Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum and Gold & Classic

Amex's Amex (American Express) does NOT have MBB logo. You will earn Membership Reward points. There are Charge Card and Credit Card.
e.g. of Credit Card
American Express® Gold Credit Card
American Express Platinum Credit Card
Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card

e.g. of Charge Card
The Platinum Card®
American Express Gold Card
American Express Personal Card
and also the Centurion card.

Summary:
MBB Amex has Credit Card only.
Amex's Amex has both Charge and Credit card.
rclxub.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 11:53 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
Not true..

MBB Amex is still considered charge card, and it does not belongs to the Visa/Mastercard that is so-called as "credit card".
MBB Amex cant be used on machines that does not have Amex acceptance
My understanding is charge card needs to settle full payment every month. Credit card can opt for minimum payment.

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:04 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:58 AM)
Not really, u can opt not to pay but the interest rate can kill u..

Although MBB Amex is slightly different with the conventional American Express card, but its still belongs to that category..

The correct terminology/classification (Issuer) is broken up as:-
1. Visa/Mastercard
2. Visa/Mastercard Electron
3. American Express/Diners cars
4. JCB/Maestro (Japan/Europe)
Then, why does MBB Amex earns TP and Amex's Amex earns MR ?

Why MBB Amex not earn MR ?
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
Not true..

MBB Amex is still considered charge card, and it does not belongs to the Visa/Mastercard that is so-called as "credit card".
MBB Amex cant be used on machines that does not have Amex acceptance
Sorry, dig back a bit. If refer to this MBB Amex:
Maybankard American Express Gold

At the bottom of that page:
Read our credit card agreement (PDF)
It is stated clearly MBB Visa, MBB Mastercard and MBB Amex are referred as Credit Card.

It is not mentioned MBB Amex is a Charge Card category.

On the other side, it is not mentioned about the above agreement for Charge Card, e.g.
American Express Gold Card

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:08 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Er.. because MBB Amex belongs to MBB whilst Amex Amex that uses MR is really via Amex.
Yes, that's my understanding from reading this thread, Charge Card thread and also my own research on MBB Amex and Amex's Amex.

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 12:05 PM)
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/chargecard.asp?viewed=1
Good info.

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:13 PM)
Becoz for Malaysia, MBB Amex is just part of a "brand", cardholder are actually dealing with Maybank directly for everything including transcation and payment and American Express is just a back-end guy that receive some interest/benefit from Maybank.
If u have a American Express card, u are dealing directly with American Express and Maybank wont get a cent.

Get wat i mean?
This means:
1) MBB Amex can only offer Amex Credit Card
2) Amex's Amex can offer both Amex Charge Card and Amex Credit Card

Right ?

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 8 2009, 12:23 PM
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:29 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:26 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Ah well.. whichever Amex U go for, it's all issued by MBB here.  tgeoklin oredi mentioned MBB bought over the Amex franchise for MY.
rclxub.gif Perhaps it is each individual personal interpretation of MBB Amex and Amex's Amex. rolleyes.gif Time for lunch smile.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 02:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I would say it is marketing bull-poo. I get conned as well. sweat.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 16 2009, 10:31 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

SOP - Son of P ...

or Standard Operating Procedure
cute_boboi
post Jul 20 2009, 05:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Michael_G,

Perhaps it is the house/office telephone verification that failed ? (Not h/p)

cute_boboi
post Jul 20 2009, 05:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 05:48 PM)
@vin_ann,
Office pays for my petrol so I don't care ! muAHhaHAhahAHahHAha tongue.gif  I'm happy with my 2x points from Amex though biggrin.gif
The new Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card offers 5x MR for petrol and groceries wink.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 21 2009, 01:15 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

The interest is immediate from the date you withdraw cash-advance from credit card. There is no 20 days free interest until billing statement or payment date comes.

cute_boboi
post Jul 21 2009, 05:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 21 2009, 05:49 PM)
If the bank know they will terminate my cc and bring me to court  tongue.gif
By the way, may I know that I can convert my card to CIMB Petronas since it got rebate icon_question.gif
Just apply the CIMB Petronas as another new card.
cute_boboi
post Jul 21 2009, 11:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Ronnie.

Yes, Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card is free for life.

bingozero,

I have both DA master and visa. I tried applied CIMB Petronas and is rejected. CIMB says cannot have both DA and CIMB Petronas
rclxub.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 22 2009, 10:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 22 2009, 07:52 AM)
I think it is the same reason as conventional/islamic card, CL cannot be shared, your DA CL already high & they not giving you extra CL for new card.

Try reduce your DA CL and apply for lower grade(classic) petronas card & see what going to happen.
Nevermind lah. At that time, I thought to get a backup petrol card on top of MBB Petronas Visa. Now Amex's Amex Credit Card comes out, it becomes primary. MBB Petronas becomes backup.
cute_boboi
post Jul 23 2009, 11:40 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

My latest Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card, PosLaju does not allow my father to sign it. Only owner with IC that match can sign it. So I suggest either personally go collect at PosLaju or redirect to office.
cute_boboi
post Jul 23 2009, 11:54 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

The CC on PosLaju has been ding-dong for many years. Sometimes can allow other people to sign. Sometimes cannot. Then can. Then cannot. Then can. Latest I know is cannot. rclxub.gif

Last I collect at PosLaju office, they need MyKad to verify it, before allow to sign. Remember bring the PosLaju missed-delivery slip also.

The weird thing is, I received MBB Amex Charge Card from PosLaju around Mar'09, and they allow my father to sign it. rclxub.gif Same to DA earlier this year.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2900sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:37 PM