Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

MilesAndMore
post Jul 5 2009, 05:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 5 2009, 03:07 PM)
Just now I went shopping at Queens Bay Mall, HSBC got promotion for VISA Infinite. What is the min quali for this card? I didn't have time to ask them.
Are you sure it's HSBC VISA Infinite ? I checked their website and there is no mention of this card. The highest level of VISA HSBC offers is VISA Platinum. The HSBC VISA Platinum is black in color. Like the design very much tongue.gif

QUOTE(Fala @ Jul 5 2009, 03:30 PM)
Just observing and wanted to point out something. For the guy who mentioned "Why is HLB giving you 30k limit Plat when your annual income is 60k". I was laughing at this statement dude! Annual income does not represents a person's "value". He might have few hundred k's sitting in FD or other assets which you can't see on the "surface" Only the banks knows how much your risk and worth. You might be earning 100k per annum but if you have no assets/savings = it equals to 0. smile.gif
Just so you know. It is a "SHE", not a guy. I'm pretty sure she knows better than most people. Just that this totally slipped of her mind i guess biggrin.gif She's like a veteran in this whole credit card thingy.

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 5 2009, 04:54 PM)
HSBC launched visa infinite series in malaysia? hm... if the design is like hsbc private bank france that would be nice biggrin.gif
Care to scan it and post the picture here ? I have not seen it drool.gif

Anyway, i managed to find two HSBC cards issued by HSBC Private Bank. One is a credit card and another one is a debit card. The debit card i found is called VISA Infinite and issued by HSBC France Private Bank. Not sure if it is the VISA Infinite Reventon was talking about though.

The black color card is a credit card issued by HSBC Private Bank while the blue color (HIDEOUS) is a Premier Mastercard issued by HSBC Premier Banking centres exclusively to HSBC Premier customers (except China as a black color Premier Unionpay debit card will be issued instead of Premier Mastercard)

HSBC VISA Infinite Debit Card issued by HSBC France Private Bank

And here is another VISA Infinite credit card i just found. Issued by HSBC France (or HSBC France Private Bank). Most likely the VISA Infinite Reventon was talking about. Click the link below.
HSBC FRANCE VISA INFINITE!!

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 5 2009, 06:10 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 5 2009, 05:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jul 5 2009, 05:37 PM)
Opps. You beat me to it. Was modifying my previous post just now. Anyways, i found the VISA Infinite credit card version too. Also issued by HSBC France or HSBC France Private Bank tongue.gif The annual fee for this card is 315 €/pa (roughly RM1545/pa).

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 5 2009, 05:26 PM)
And here is another VISA Infinite credit card i just found. Issued by HSBC France (or HSBC France Private Bank). Most likely the VISA Infinite Reventon was talking about. Click the link below.
HSBC FRANCE VISA INFINITE!!
This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 5 2009, 05:57 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 5 2009, 08:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 5 2009, 06:57 PM)
Moreover if one got RM200-300K or more in FD with a bank, the bank would have issued a Plat CC to her/him long ago.
True. And i believe this is his first Platinum credit card. Hence the excitement smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 6 2009, 02:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 6 2009, 09:32 AM)
Earnings have shrunk but NPLs are on the rise. sad.gif
Not Public Bank. And Public Bank still have the lowest NPL in the country now rclxms.gif No. I do not work for Public Bank nor am i a shareholder laugh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 6 2009, 10:42 AM)
Hi guys, just another quick question from me. laugh.gif Anyways, guys is it by place a minimum amout of FD (eg. 5k) on bank and one can be eligible for applying credit card? Asking this question is be cause of one my fren (which is only having RM900/month salary but she place RM5k FD in MBB and the bank offer her Petronas CC. It just happened like month ago.
Yes. It is possible. Have heard people doing so with Public Bank and recently AMBank. And now Maybank (heard from you laugh.gif )

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 6 2009, 10:45 AM)
I just want to rebate from my petrol only..because I'm not using CC often.. biggrin.gif
What Amex give you?

Regular AMEX will give you 2 MR points for every Ringgit swiped. The recently launched AMEX Gold Credit Card will give you 5 MR Points for every Ringgit swiped. Very generous.

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 6 2009, 10:45 AM)
petronas and shell is the best for me..my area got a lot of petronas and shell..
btw, what card is that? 5%? that is a lot compare to other CCs..
Standard Chartered Titanium credit card.

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Jul 6 2009, 07:34 AM)
Future trend is the banks are gonna abolish Gold Card and Platium to fill the gap. Credit limit is just a line a facility bank given to you & remember its interest rate can rival Ah Long on the streets.
Agreed. Just a matter of time i guess. Just like in Singapore and United States, Classic and Gold Card are almost obsolete. Co-branded cards and Platinum cards are the norm. And the good thing about the co-branded cards offered by banks in the United States is that most of them are annual fee free and the credit line is comparable to Platinum credit card.

QUOTE(lwb @ Jul 6 2009, 11:24 AM)
but something in me says that.. differentiation will always be there, in it's root, it's a marketing strategy.. (you can't "see" credit limits, you can't "see" benefits in its intangible forms.. so somehow it has to be manifested physically.)
Agreed. Believe in a few years time we will see more co-branded credit cards (EON Bank have many types of co-branded credit cards) and Platinum credit card will become the entry level for fresh applicant. We might also see more banks introduce VISA Signature, VISA Infinite, World Mastercard and World Mastercard Elite.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 6 2009, 02:49 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 6 2009, 06:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 6 2009, 03:07 PM)
Quote: "VISA Signature, VISA Infinite, World Mastercard and World Mastercard Elite"

When will these cards will hit our shore? Entry req?
All is here except VISA Signature and World Mastercard Elite.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 6 2009, 03:29 PM)
Hello,
I own a Maybank Petronas Visa, and now I want to apply one more Mastercard.
Which bank are you recommend?
Thank you.
CIMB Mastercard. It is free for life and has many promotion year-round.

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Jul 6 2009, 04:20 PM)
Which has more value for money in terms of redemption? I currently have a Maybank Amex Gold Card which gives a standard 2X TreatPoints across but am thinking of applying for the newly launched card which gives MR points instead.

If Membership Rewards points have a higher redemption points structure, then I might as well keep to my current card.
I usually redeem for shopping vouchers using Treatpoints (TP)/Membership Rewards (MR). MR is very competitive. I can redeem a RM100 voucher with as low as 15500 MR points. But i usually redeem for Borders vouchers which require 17000 MR points.

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 6 2009, 05:25 PM)
How to afford such Datuk Datin standard cards? Sure a showoff la if use ! Respect la.
Some users here have these cards.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 6 2009, 05:31 PM)
if you are to stay in the Burj Dubai for say a week, the bill can exceed RM100K, so its highly unlikely that a normal plat card will be able to manage such, not withstanding other travel charges such as air fare, transportations, shopping etc
The room at Burj Al Arab is not that expensive lah tongue.gif But if one orders caviar everytime, big fish, lots of alcohol every time he/she dines there then yes, the bill might rack up to RM100k laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 6 2009, 06:49 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 6 2009, 09:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 6 2009, 07:23 PM)
Did CIMB mastercard have pay pass?

Yes. All CIMB Mastercard comes with Paypass feature.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 6 2009, 07:23 PM)
And am I eligible to apply a gold card since I holding a Maybank Petronas gold but not enough 1 year. sweat.gif
You can try. But to be safe, you better submit your salary slip and the income tax form along with your application form. Good luck smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jul 7 2009, 04:46 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 7 2009, 07:19 AM)
Before I get flamed, Amex is not by Maybank, they merely bought out the franchise under ridiculous terms which is why they need to give such good rewards to make it a success asap to in order recoup  tongue.gif
Good for us laugh.gif

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 7 2009, 02:03 PM)
I don't get the logic of having more than 1 card for single person, can anyone explain?
So that sometimes if the card you usually use suddenly get rejected, you will still have a spare smile.gif

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 7 2009, 02:03 PM)
I experienced at times that the bank at the same branch (could be the working attitude of staff) took more than 5 working days to clear a local cheque. sad.gif
Outrageous. The Public Bank branch i usually go to always clear my cheque issued other bank between 2 to 3 days top. You should file a complain vmad.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 8 2009, 12:26 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 7 2009, 09:29 PM)
Are those Bill Gates' hands? Bentley 12 : 1 size also Bentley la.
That is Vampbreak's hand.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 8 2009, 01:18 AM

9,301 posts

Hong Leong Bank's 1% Cash Back VISA Essential credit card is back !

Passed through a Hong Leong Bank branch just now. Saw this VISA Essential ad on the large tempered screen window. There is no information about the Hong Leong Bank 1% Cash Back VISA Essential credit card on their website. Please visit any of Hong Leong Bank 186 branches nationwide to obtain an application form for this card biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jul 8 2009, 03:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 8 2009, 11:25 AM)
Before this I was quite interested in this cc, as it gives 1% cash back without a max cash rebate limit per month. However, after enquiring with HLB CS just now, it is not as straightforward as what I thought. I have changed my mind now.

1. Cash rebate is fixed at 1% and given to all retail transactions (excluding petrol), subject to a minimum purchase of RM100.
2. Cash rebate amount per transaction is rounded up. For example, if you spend RM100, the rebate is RM1. However, if you spend more than RM100 but below RM200, the rebate is still RM1. Let’s say your spending is RM199, you will still get a rebate of RM1, and not RM1.99.
3. AF – 1st year FOC. From 2nd year onwards, you ought to spend at least twice a month or RM8k per year, in order to get it waived.
4. No reward points are given

All these stringent T&Cs, especially item 2, drive me away! doh.gif
Bad card vmad.gif

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
In M'sia, AMEX under Maybank arms had turned into Credit Card (correct me if I'm wrong, limited knowledge on AMEX also). But if one holds the true AMEX, it's supposed to be a charge card; same as DINERS.
Not really. In United States, there are many AMEX credit card issued by AMEX itself as well as AMEX credit card issued by Bank of America.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:58 AM)
The correct terminology/classification (Issuer) is broken up as:-
1. Visa/Mastercard
2. Visa/Mastercard Electron
3. American Express/Diners cars
4. JCB/Maestro (Japan/Europe)
Actually there is only VISA Electron but no Mastercard Electron. There is however a debit Mastercard version.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 8 2009, 04:00 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 8 2009, 10:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 8 2009, 10:01 PM)
Guys go shopping?
laugh.gif Didn't know there are still such people in this age. Ever heard of metrosexual ? tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 9 2009, 01:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 11:23 AM)
My Miau Bank Petronas Card CL as per today.

I was totally lost when you and Tinkerbel kept talking about this Miau Bank just now ...

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 11:23 AM)
Current TreatsPoints:  5405
Until i saw this. It's a tiger bank lah laugh.gif

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 12:11 PM)
Err~ I think 15k is a standard limit for every Miau Bank Gold Card?
Not true at all.

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 12:32 PM)
That why I'm a charge card fan. Amex work like a charm and accepted widely overseas. Miau Bank Card good for backup....and installment plan.. tongue.gif
Not in Japan. Heck, not even in the US due to higher merchant fee imposed. But a friend told me a US co-branded credit card charge almost the the same merchant fee as AMEX but many retailers in USA do not not about this.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 9 2009, 12:38 PM)
Maybank can issue both Amex card and American Express card
How different is Amex card and American Express card ? Amex is the short form of American Express sweat.gif

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 9 2009, 01:18 PM)
is Amex Credit card also work like a charm and accepted widely overseas as their counter part charge card???
Not really. AMEX never had the market share that VISA and Mastercard are enjoying.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 9 2009, 01:30 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 9 2009, 02:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 9 2009, 01:44 PM)
2) Then what is the CL? I'm confuse now rclxub.gif
Much lower than you stated. It is differ on individual case basis.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 10 2009, 01:29 AM

9,301 posts

Any idea how many Citibank Rewards Point will be given for every Ringgit charged overseas ? And how about HSBC ?
MilesAndMore
post Jul 10 2009, 02:59 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 01:52 AM)
@MilesAndMore,
Citibank gives 1:1 but sometimes they do have promos; in fact I think there's an existing promo for more than 1x reward points now - check the website, I an't too sure.
Thanks lot biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 11:40 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Jul 14 2009, 10:24 AM)
if im an existing maybank classic visa & mastercard holder, can i 'upgrade' to gold card at the treatsfair? need to cancel the classic card? i already have public bank gold card. hmm.gif
No harm having two gold credit cards smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 14 2009, 11:53 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 07:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Jul 14 2009, 07:00 PM)
anyone of you heard gold cc having credit limit of >RM30K?
The most i have heard so far is RM30K.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 14 2009, 07:03 PM)
Today CIMB just call me to approve either one card, one is Petronas gold and the other is Islamic Gold, which one is better?
They are more or less the same. Both offer cash back instead of point. Petronas Gold is suitable for you if you pump Petronas and shop regularly at Mesra shops and this card will give you 2% cash back whenever you swipe your card at any Petronas stations or shop at Mesra shops while all other transaction will entitle you to a 0.5% cash back..

The CIMB Islamic Gold will give you a flat 0.5% cash back on all transaction except for petrol purchase.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 14 2009, 11:36 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 11:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 14 2009, 11:15 PM)
I think I want to choose CIMB Islamic card since it has cash back biggrin.gif
Obviously i forgot to include 0.5% cash back for all other transaction charged to your Petronas Gold credit card earlier when i replied you question doh.gif Anyhow, post edited and see below smile.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 14 2009, 07:20 PM)
QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 14 2009, 07:03 PM)
Today CIMB just call me to approve either one card, one is Petronas gold and the other is Islamic Gold, which one is better?
They are more or less the same. Both offer cash back instead of point. Petronas Gold is suitable for you if you pump Petronas and shop regularly at Mesra shops and this card will give you 2% cash back whenever you swipe your card at any Petronas stations or shop at Mesra shops while all other transaction will entitle you to a 0.5% cash back.

The CIMB Islamic Gold will give you a flat 0.5% cash back on all transaction except for petrol purchase.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 11:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 14 2009, 11:51 PM)
I would like to know whether we can merge all the TP from saving account, visa (terminated earlier but still got 1000+ TP balance) and amex (maybankard) together in this TP fair for redemption?
If i'm not mistaken, remaining unclaimed Treatpoints earned from a cancelled card will be automatically forfeited. Same rule applies to all other credit cards issued by other banks.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 16 2009, 12:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 16 2009, 07:22 AM)
But most bank will have a separate page for supplementary card transaction but they will all be send inside the same envelope.
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 16 2009, 07:32 AM)
Actually most banks can impose a limit on the supp based on the principle's instructions. While some will have a separate statement for each supp, only PBB allows the option for the supp's statement to be sent separately to the supp directly  tongue.gif
CIMB can post the supplementary cardholder statement to another address. If my memory serves me correctly, Maybank has this option too.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 16 2009, 07:22 AM)
The only 2 bank that I know having separate credit limit for supplementary cards are DA and Alliance. In other word, the principle card holder can specify what credit limit to give to their supplementary card (out of his own total credit limit).
Supplementary cardholders for Maybank and CIMB can have a separate credit line too. It can be either a shared credit line with the principal cardholder or only XX% of the credit line.

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 16 2009, 08:50 AM)
Question : Oversea transaction fee is standard or determine by bank of issuer ? I called Miaubank just now, and they confirmed there is "NO OVERSEA TRANSACTION FEE".  rclxub.gif
If i'm not mistaken, both VISA and Mastercard impose a flat rate of 1% administration fee for all overseas transaction (read this in some US website a while ago). Maybank charge a 0.5% admin fee for all overseas transaction. Please refer to the first page of this thread.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0641sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:10 PM