Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 12:29 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(skccks @ Nov 6 2009, 12:02 AM)
i just bought the gf1 with pancake kitlen from kajang shop also.....free 1 battery, strap, lumix camera bag, puma sweater.......mine 1 is silver colour...
congratulations! post some pics please!

by the way, if anyone want to put their nick into the first page as Micro FOur THird user, please PM me...
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 10:05 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Nov 6 2009, 02:49 AM)
The GF1 is out of stock/backordered in most reputable US online retailers. Was considering to get one since the EP-2 is nothing spectacular.
Since you coming from dSLR background, I think you'll find yourself more at home with GF1 AF. Hope to see you post some pics after you
got it.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 12:46 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 6 2009, 11:26 AM)
Woow .. I just got my GF1 from Panasonic, kudos to their fast service !! thumbup.gif GF1 is smaller than I think tongue.gif. But it doesn't come with memory card and camera bag sad.gif Gotta do some shopping for the accessories liao. rolleyes.gif
wow, u're the first owner in this thread... mine to post some pics!! We want to drool on it...
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 03:27 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 6 2009, 03:14 PM)
There you go .... took the pic using my N82 ... sorry 4 da noob skillz ... tongue.gif

TS, can add me to GF1 member list !! Thanks biggrin.gif
Wah.. so nice.. a lot of people envy u liao....

How about posting the pic taken by the camera??? Would like to see....

Added u as member list liao.. welcome to the Micro Four Third club...
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 04:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 6 2009, 03:40 PM)
Thanks thanks ... just took some pics with colleagues during lunch time, but not nice to share out here la. tongue.gif

Now charging battery, some more office hour, not ready to shoot la tongue.gif But will definitely post some later tonite wink.gif
can't wait for ur pic!!!
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 08:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Nov 6 2009, 05:07 PM)
2 of my coll grab the gf1 already..so damn fast..
hehe, soon more and more people gonna get it..

QUOTE(mochablob @ Nov 6 2009, 06:58 PM)
Add me to the list as well, thanks!  biggrin.gif

Added... congrats!

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 6 2009, 06:58 PM)
i received email from olympus asistant product manager as below:

The E-P2 will be available in December 2009. E-P2 body + EVF SRP 3799. E-P2w17mm Kit +EVF @ 3999. E-P2w14-42mm Kit @ 3999.
really expensive not a bit but a lot!!  cry.gif
E-P1 twin lens retail price is RM3799 but sold at RM3300. So I guess E-P2 body + EVF = RM3300 also... smile.gif The rest just minus RM500 from
retail price will do.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 10:44 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(mochablob @ Nov 6 2009, 10:29 PM)
RRP is RM3299 for GF1 with Kit Lens, RM3799 for GF1 with Pancake Lens. But if you buy it before the promotion ends on November 13th, you will also receive a free Lumix camera case, spare battery, Panasonic 8GB SD card and an extra 2 years warranty (total of 3 years warranty).
this is really good deal... if I dun have E-P1, I might got for GF-1... but IBIS IBIS... hmm.gif
SUSgogo2
post Nov 6 2009, 10:58 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 6 2009, 10:46 PM)
me2..now considering GF-1 also since EP-2 is nth surprise except the EVF ... but the price duno will like what u expect less rm500 or not.. have to wait the review for e-p2 to decide..but i still like e-p2 design more.. tongue.gif
E-P2 only come around January wor... can wait that long ar?

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Nov 6 2009, 10:52 PM)
I prefer EP1/2 over GF1 due to the compatibility with Oly 4/3 lens and the IS smile.gif

but slow AF issue ? well i dont use it for sport or action..so ok ..
yeah... I also think about that....

Do u think I should get 70-300mm 4/3 with MMF-1 or wait for Panasonic 100-300mm m43? decision decision...

got anybody selling MMF-1 at cheaper price?
SUSgogo2
post Nov 7 2009, 12:23 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 6 2009, 10:59 PM)

hopefully dec will come lor..so now only can wait and control not to see other anymore..  doh.gif

if me, i will wait for panasonic 100-300mm m43..at least look more equal to the body..if not look like elephant with big nose doh.gif hehe!
so gogo, will u 'update' ur E-P1 to GF1??? really hard to decide..both got their pros and cons sad.gif
but I can't wait...haha... coz I'm impulsive person...

GF1 is not update to E-P1 la... for example, no IBIS... tongue.gif

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 6 2009, 11:35 PM)
IS depends on the lens though.

i cant see Canon 50D got IS on its body.  hmm.gif
Yeah, that's why I sold my Canon 40D tongue.gif

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Nov 7 2009, 12:07 AM)
Yeah!! Finally got my GF1 + pancake lens!!  rclxm9.gif

Many thanks to iamsobloodysick!~  thumbup.gif  Nice to deal with you!! Great seller, highly recommended!  thumbup.gif 

Sorry for bad the images. Took these photos inside my room. Very low light condition.

Hurray~~  rclxm9.gif
great pix... now waiting for you GF1 produced pix...

This post has been edited by gogo2: Nov 7 2009, 12:23 AM
SUSgogo2
post Nov 7 2009, 10:31 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 7 2009, 12:34 AM)
hehe..so how abt e-p2? will u consider it?
E-P2 = E-P1... haha

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Nov 7 2009, 07:29 AM)
I am collecting my panasonic 20mm f1.7 this morning. Can't wait to test on the Oly PEN... :-)

Any PEN owners using Pana 20 already?

I am currently using Oly 17mm the lense is fanstastic. I believed the Pana 20 is even better..esp. sharpnest and bokeh.
Below is a link to a sample taken from the 17mm

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dcsuave/4070047906/
nice nice...

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 7 2009, 09:10 PM)
very nice colour produced...hehe..convinced me to get oly  rclxms.gif
dun wait ler... just get it... haha... E-P2 only release in January la.. still long time..haha
SUSgogo2
post Nov 8 2009, 07:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 8 2009, 05:57 PM)
Anyone knows where got sell accessories (eg. view finder, filters, lenses, etc, etc) for the GF1 in PJ or KL? hmm.gif
filter can get anywhere...

But viewfinder and lens, I know some place selling Panasonic dSLR.. like Lowyat Plaza... got one time they sell
G1 for RM1999... good price... at ground floor...
SUSgogo2
post Nov 9 2009, 07:06 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Nov 9 2009, 06:28 PM)
Thanks for da info bro!!~  biggrin.gif

Here are some snapshots i took with my GF1 + 20/1.7. i like this cam very much~  laugh.gif

Thanks for viewing~ :loveliness:
Wow, you're great shots (great photographer)!!! And your gf is very pretty too!!! Haha...
SUSgogo2
post Nov 10 2009, 10:31 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Attached File  USER_GATHERING___EP2.pdf ( 503.78k ) Number of downloads: 4

SUSgogo2
post Nov 10 2009, 12:06 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 10 2009, 11:49 AM)
and your point is? hmm.gif
SUSgogo2
post Nov 10 2009, 01:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 10 2009, 01:22 PM)
Cant wait for it to arrive!! haha  rclxms.gif gogo2..are you going to attend?? who know u will bring e-p1's bro back  home with u?  tongue.gif  rolleyes.gif
I've confirmed a place. But then I got wedding shoot to attend. So I need to go to the wedding to shoot photo.. else
my friend will kill me... but I shoot video la.. .not photo...haha
SUSgogo2
post Nov 10 2009, 01:48 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 10 2009, 01:47 PM)
then not able to attend the gathering?? too bad i cant go..or else i will meet u there tongue.gif
gogo2, so far did u attend any workshop b4?
you mean, you already confirmed the attendance? You've received the email from her?
SUSgogo2
post Nov 17 2009, 12:26 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Nov 17 2009, 12:17 AM)
Went to sekinchan last weekend...

Playing around with my GF1 16:9 format. =)

Thanks for viewing~ tongue.gif
wah, colorful and nice.... is the last pic ur gf?

Added on November 17, 2009, 12:32 am
QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 15 2009, 12:43 AM)
Back from sushi making gathering from friend's home. Just some pictures from my GF1 blush.gif

ur pic is under exposed!!! Better use EV+1 ohh...

This post has been edited by gogo2: Nov 17 2009, 12:32 AM
SUSgogo2
post Nov 17 2009, 08:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Nov 17 2009, 12:49 PM)
Just wondering, how's the stock of GF1 across KL/PJ right now?

Currently in US, but coming back next week.
As always, Panasonic stock is on the low side. But dun worry. I'm sure you can get it...

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Nov 17 2009, 05:24 PM)
Yeah,,,same thing happens to LX3.
Now i am using Oly PEN E-P1, happy with on-screen LCD and on PC. both looks great!!

Viva PEN
LOL....

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 17 2009, 07:57 PM)
Best is to use the histogram to gauge general exposure. Then apply exposure compensation. Then it'll get more consistent exposure. Sometimes the LCD display fools your eyes because it is set too bright. Do this a few rounds and you'll know what are the typical settings and you'll learn to compensate.

The truth is there's a reason why most Panasonics are 'underexposed'. They are done deliberately to preserve detail and prevent highlights from being blown out. With this, you get more headroom for photo editing (with Photoshop for example). You can then adjust the brightness, curve, tone, etc. For most people, this is considered a chore and they want usable JPEGs straight out of the camera. For this, the Olympus EP-1 seems to do a great job. JPEGs are great out of the camera with the 'right exposure'. However some people says that it is dangerously close to overblown highlights.
Yeah, Panasonic is famous for underexposed. So its not wuahaha fault that his photo underexposed. That's why I ask him to do EV+1. But you're E-P1 is close to overblown. As a matter of fact,
due to lower dynamic range, it will overblown if the scene is very contrasty... and lose all the details...

But overall, both GF1 and E-P1 are great camera... I love small camera with dSLR quality!!!!!!!! thumbup.gif
SUSgogo2
post Nov 17 2009, 10:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 17 2009, 10:12 PM)
Yes, lower dynamic range can also cause blown highlights like what happen to my LX3. Which is why I try not to shoot in the bright expose daylight.
Yeah, have to get polarizer then my friend...

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Nov 17 2009, 10:43 PM)
i bought my GF1 + 200mm f1.7 set = MYR 3350   blush.gif

Added on November 17, 2009, 10:44 pm

you are most welcome bro! just trying to share some tips~ ^^

Happy shooting!!  rclxm9.gif
post more pics!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by gogo2: Nov 17 2009, 10:52 PM
SUSgogo2
post Nov 18 2009, 09:57 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 18 2009, 08:21 AM)
Yeah a polarizer. But that means I'll need to add some extension tubes in order to fit a standard filter ring.
You can always buy a non-standard polarizer.. there's 40.5mm and 37mm polarizer too sweat.gif

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:46 PM