Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

TScheeann
post Aug 28 2009, 11:11 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ Aug 28 2009, 03:13 AM)
whats the best and cheap 17" tire out there?
i wan to change mine becos the treads is getting flatter and flatter..
feels out of control sometimes when cruising high speed.. no grip at all
don tell me neova becos out of my budget..
just cheapo and reliable will do

not exact sizing like 215/45 or 205/40 or 205/40 or 225/45? ? hmm.gif

QUOTE(ychwang @ Aug 28 2009, 10:08 AM)
Can some one recomend me a 16' tyre for my persona?
my priority is

1) Quiet
2) Good road grip
3) Reasonable price

upgrade will b most ideal is 205/50-16 or slightly heavier ride will b 205/55-16
u can try hankkok,michelin or falken~ smile.gif
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Aug 28 2009, 12:32 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,745 posts

How is Hankook S1 Evo compared with V12 in terms of performance and comfort??? I think S1 Evo is better and higher performance than V12 right??

I'm using 205/40/17.......

sukun
post Aug 28 2009, 01:05 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Aug 28 2009, 11:11 AM)
not exact sizing like 215/45 or 205/40 or 205/40 or 225/45? ?    hmm.gif
upgrade will b most ideal is 205/50-16 or slightly heavier ride will b 205/55-16
u can try hankkok,michelin or falken~  smile.gif
okay, this might sound stupid.. anyway
215/45 or 205/40 or 205/40 or 225/45
the width of the tires (bold numbers) isnt universal application?
about the height of the sidewall (italic numbers) i prefer higher numbers to protect the lips of my rim..
MyWifeCar
post Aug 28 2009, 01:46 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ Aug 28 2009, 01:05 PM)
about the height of the sidewall (italic numbers) i prefer higher numbers to protect the lips of my rim..
Universal application? No la...It depends on the width of your rims.

What is your rims spec currently? and what is the current tyre spec that you are using?
TScheeann
post Aug 28 2009, 07:59 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ Aug 28 2009, 02:05 PM)
wat car r u driving then? ? hmm.gif
sukun
post Aug 28 2009, 09:12 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Aug 28 2009, 01:46 PM)
Universal application? No la...It depends on the width of your rims.

What is your rims spec currently? and what is the current tyre spec that you are using?
205/40ZR17

QUOTE(cheeann @ Aug 28 2009, 07:59 PM)
wat car r u driving then? ?    hmm.gif
"what car i'm driving" plays a big role here?
TScheeann
post Aug 28 2009, 10:09 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ Aug 28 2009, 10:12 PM)
205/40ZR17
"what car i'm driving" plays a big role here?
of cuz~
if u're driving a merc or bmw then smallest size will b 225/45-17 up to 225/45-17
while our malasian's car below 1.8 recommended 205/40-17 or 205/45-17
while 2.0 n above will b 215/45-17
so wat do u think? ?
i'am a noob? ? doh.gif
sukun
post Aug 28 2009, 10:35 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Aug 28 2009, 10:09 PM)
of cuz~
if u're driving a merc or bmw then smallest size will b 225/45-17 up to 225/45-17
while our malasian's car below 1.8 recommended 205/40-17 or 205/45-17
while  2.0  n above will b 215/45-17
so wat do u think? ?
i'am a noob? ?    doh.gif
whats the big reaction there? chill dude..
is was jst a question.. whats the big deal..
thanks for the head ups anyway.. rly appreciate it
! Love Money
post Aug 28 2009, 11:36 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:51 AM)
size please... what type of tire you want? comfort, handling??? do you mind it is a bit noisy???
size is 165/55R14... budget concern, about RM500... dun care watever comfort, ahndling or noisy...
TScheeann
post Aug 28 2009, 11:51 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Aug 29 2009, 12:36 AM)
size is 165/55R14... budget concern, about RM500... dun care watever comfort, ahndling or noisy...
rm500 for a set or a pair/? ? doh.gif
rabbit3773
post Aug 30 2009, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:47 AM)
Goodyear F1 Asymmetric - RM390 @ Quicksave
Comfort and quiet too... smile.gif
how bout the handling??when wet izit good?
im using yoko a drive 205/40..a bit noisy..=.= i bought RM300 each+ trade in old tyre!!let ppl chop liao ..lol
michael9413
post Sep 1 2009, 10:37 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(rabbit3773 @ Aug 30 2009, 05:50 PM)
how bout the handling??when wet izit good?
im using yoko a drive 205/40..a bit noisy..=.= i bought RM300 each+ trade in old tyre!!let ppl chop liao ..lol
well according to some frens whom using 17" and 18" rim it is quite good... smile.gif
of course the dry performance cannot compare with those extreme tires... but its wet handling is quite good in surprise...
badang_1785
post Sep 1 2009, 11:35 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(badang_1785 @ Aug 24 2009, 09:58 AM)
one question.. i bought all tyre for my car  at the same time.. but the front left thread wear n tear more than others.. whats seems to be the problem... should i just changed both front tyre or changed all 4 tyre..  my tyre size is 195/55/R15.. wht type of tyre that can give more comfort.. can suggest to me.. budget is not more than Rm200
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 24 2009, 10:12 AM)
pls do rotation of tire occasionally... once in every 3~6 months... or every 10k km...
that will ensure you have a even wear...
if it is too late to do so... you can try out this 3 tires for your change...

195/55/R15
Falken Ziex 912 - RM 167/pc @ Hock Li, Klang (Aug 09) balancing + install
Falken ZIEX-912 - 4 x RM 190/pc @ Weng Tat SS14, Subang Jaya (Jul 09) incl. balancing + valves - Trade-in 4 pc GY NCT 5 for RM 20.

Hankook V12 Evo - RM 184 @ Ban Hooi, Jln Kapar, Klang (16th May 09)

Yokohama A drive- RM 180-Tmn Sentosa klang
Yokohama C drive- RM 190-Tmn Sentosa klang

you can change your front tires only as it only affect the fronts left tire...
next time please do a schedule for rotation either in your mind or ask the tire shop to give u a sticker at the windscreen...

BTW there is a thread for tire discussion...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1059355/+180
if i upgrade to 195/60/r15, what should i gain and what should i loose.. is there a big differences..
michael9413
post Sep 1 2009, 12:30 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well bro... 60 series is more towards passenger tires where comfort is very important... handling will lose a lil there... traction also of course lower series will be better if you purchase the correct tires...

i think you better stick to the 55 series that you are using now...
go for falken 912... which is towards comfort... or Hankook V12 which has soft side wall also...
the Michelin PP2 and Yokohama S Drive have a harder side wall which make them good in handling...
in terms of performance from 1 to 3...
1 - Goodyear NCT5, Dunlop D-01, Bridgestone MY-1...
2 - Falken 912, Hankook V12, Yokohama C Drive, Michelin Primacy LC...
3 - Yokohama S Drive, Michelin PP2, Toyo T1R

this is my summary after some feedbacks from some of the forumers...
but if you wanna see better u look for tire which have Traction AA grade... or Grade A minimal...
Traction B grade is lousy... although some of the Tire have good Traction grade it traction sucks after 40% of wearing...
like NCT5 which i used 2 set as no choice... some with the Rim/Cars...
I have use 3 set of Michelin PP series which gives me good handling and traction in wet also...
you have to choose... Comfort... Handling... and did noise is very important to you????
then u have a summary there

D.K.Prince
post Sep 2 2009, 12:39 PM

455 posts

Need help here,
I going to buy a new set tyres for my car, So due to my budget I only can buy Dunlop or Silverstone. Between both of it, which want is the best?
TScheeann
post Sep 2 2009, 12:48 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(D.K.Prince @ Sep 2 2009, 01:39 PM)
Need help here,
I going to buy a new set tyres for my car, So due to my budget I only can buy Dunlop or Silverstone. Between both of it, which want is the best?
i'll say silverstone if u dun mind da noise after 20k km~ icon_idea.gif
D.K.Prince
post Sep 2 2009, 01:01 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Sep 2 2009, 12:48 PM)
i'll say silverstone if u dun mind da noise after 20k km~  icon_idea.gif
noise? current tyres I using is silverstone, I din heard any noise smile.gif By the way about the price, Dunlop is more Rm100++ then silverstone(4piece).
TScheeann
post Sep 2 2009, 01:07 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(D.K.Prince @ Sep 2 2009, 02:01 PM)
noise? current tyres I  using is silverstone, I din heard any noise smile.gif  By the way about the price, Dunlop is more Rm100++ then silverstone(4piece).
wat model is tat dunlop? ?
D.K.Prince
post Sep 2 2009, 01:17 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Sep 2 2009, 01:07 PM)
wat model is tat dunlop? ?
205/45/16
Oly
post Sep 2 2009, 01:22 PM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts