11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN stock market FAQs & Guide, T+3, Dividends, commissions/fees, etc...

Irzani
post May 24 2009, 10:19 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Regarding the T+3 date .. I call my remisier (I didn't know they are dealer or remisier)

1) Buy on Wednesday. Call my dealer/remisier to ask the force sell date. He tell me that I can sell the stocks before 12 noon at Tuesday.

But isn't that ...

Day

T - Wednesday
T1 - Thursday
T2 - Friday
T3 - Monday
T4 - 12 noon on Tuesday

It's already T+4?

Note : I'm using ITrade

This post has been edited by Irzani: May 24 2009, 10:20 PM
lklatmy
post May 24 2009, 11:54 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 24 2009, 04:08 PM)

Aiyaaa.... I don't even know what is franked dividends or single-tier dividends. Will google for more info....
That will be the last part of this subtopic "Dividend and taxes".....

Aiyaaa.... you guys know more that me ler.... "imputation tax system"???? Single-tier tax system???? Me only noob ikan bilis la...  blush.gif

Anyway, I still need to read more about what you guys mentioned above. Hope I can complete everything by tonight.  smile.gif
To give some helping hand,you are free to use my postings in my blog.There's some explaination on Single tier tax and imputation system.

This post has been edited by lklatmy: May 24 2009, 11:56 PM
TSkmarc
post May 25 2009, 11:50 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ May 24 2009, 11:54 PM)
To give some helping hand,you are free to use my postings in my blog.There's some explaination on Single tier tax and imputation system.
Thx! I read your blog and don't understand the calculation part. sweat.gif

Anyway, I haven't done the "Dividend & Tax" part yet. Will consult your expertise when I'm doing it. wink.gif

Added on May 25, 2009, 11:51 am
QUOTE(Irzani @ May 24 2009, 10:19 PM)
Regarding the T+3 date .. I call my remisier (I didn't know they are dealer or remisier)

1) Buy on Wednesday. Call my dealer/remisier to ask the force sell date. He tell me that I can sell the stocks before 12 noon at Tuesday.

But isn't that ...

Day

T - Wednesday
T1 - Thursday
T2 - Friday
T3 - Monday
T4 - 12 noon on Tuesday
It's already T+4?
Note : I'm using ITrade
Should be Monday 12 noon leh..... maybe he gave you extension? Can you confirm with your remisier why it is not Monday 12 noon? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 25 2009, 11:51 AM
aurora97
post May 26 2009, 10:18 AM

八方來財
3,788 posts

ignore distraction

This post has been edited by aurora97: May 26 2009, 08:44 PM
TSkmarc
post May 26 2009, 06:25 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ May 26 2009, 10:18 AM)
Some articles on warrant.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/883462
Thx. Not too sure whether want to do a guide on warrant or not.... hmm.gif
omores
post May 26 2009, 06:44 PM

1,667 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 26 2009, 06:25 PM)
Thx. Not too sure whether want to do a guide on warrant or not....  hmm.gif
U can work on that later. Finish one by one first lo. Can u ask some sifu's to help you do up the other parts as well? Can't do this all on your own man. I'm sure they'd be glad to as a lot of people keep asking the same questions to them every day of the week, so this will hopefully reduce the numbers.

This post has been edited by omores: May 26 2009, 07:32 PM
TSkmarc
post May 26 2009, 08:07 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(omores @ May 26 2009, 06:44 PM)
U can work on that later. Finish one by one first lo. Can u ask some sifu's to help you do up the other parts as well? Can't do this all on your own man. I'm sure they'd be glad to as a lot of people keep asking the same questions to them every day of the week, so this will hopefully reduce the numbers.
Yeah, have to finish one subtopic before going on to the next one.

Already ask our good forumers to come in a help. smile.gif Just that our sifus busy playing stocks..... cry.gif
Irzani
post May 27 2009, 04:49 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 25 2009, 11:50 AM)
Should be Monday 12 noon leh..... maybe he gave you extension? Can you confirm with your remisier why it is not Monday 12 noon?  hmm.gif
Suddenly on 10am on Monday, they give me sms to top up the current balance. So, I have to cut loss on that time since no time to go bank. Damn, in the FAQ you should put ask the remisier/dealer to confirm for at least 3-5 times. mad.gif

This post has been edited by Irzani: May 27 2009, 04:50 AM
TSkmarc
post May 27 2009, 06:39 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 27 2009, 04:49 AM)
Suddenly on 10am on Monday, they give me sms to top up the current balance. So, I have to cut loss on that time since no time to go bank. Damn, in the FAQ you should put ask the remisier/dealer to confirm for at least 3-5 times.  mad.gif
Got mentioned that you need to ask for extension leh.... however, maybe your remisier gave you the extension but the sms is automatic? hmm.gif

I have highlighted that part for possible future confusion.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 27 2009, 06:42 AM
Irzani
post May 27 2009, 07:17 AM

2,972 posts

Not automatic one ... it's from their H/P .. luckily I don't sleep and off my HP on that morning .. sweat.gif
TSkmarc
post May 27 2009, 04:56 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ May 27 2009, 07:17 AM)
Not automatic one ... it's from their H/P .. luckily I don't sleep and off my HP on that morning ..  sweat.gif
I see... you should scold your remisier for giving you wrong info leh.... smile.gif
TSkmarc
post Jun 7 2009, 06:44 PM

14,576 posts

Sorry guys. Have been busy this past week. Didn't have time to continue the guide. Will probably be free this weekend.....

This thread is not dead as I plan to finish what I started... just might take some time.... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSkmarc
post Jul 7 2009, 03:01 PM

14,576 posts

Finally more free to continue on the guide. I'm stuck at the Dividend & Tax subtopic. Need clarification.

Q1:
In the single-tier tax system, I understand that the tax is imposed at the level of the company. So they would declare something like this (right?):

Dividend : 20 cents (25% less tax)

So, if it is already less tax, it is still taxable in the hands of the shareholders in their annual income tax?

Q2:
Why is there tax-exempted dividends? (T.E)

Q3:
If you look at the list of upcoming dividends, only some will have the phrase "Single tier" e.g. Interim dividend 6 sen single-tier.

Why is that? I thought all is single-tier?

Any help is welcome. Giving me a headache.... rclxub.gif
cherroy
post Jul 7 2009, 03:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 7 2009, 03:01 PM)
Finally more free to continue on the guide. I'm stuck at the Dividend & Tax subtopic. Need clarification.

Q1:
In the single-tier tax system, I understand that the tax is imposed at the level of the company. So they would declare something like this (right?):

So, if it is already less tax, it is still taxable in the hands of the shareholders in their annual income tax?

Q2:

Q3:
If you look at the list of upcoming dividends, only some will have the phrase "Single tier" e.g. Interim dividend 6 sen single-tier.

Any help is welcome. Giving me a headache....  rclxub.gif
Q1
Single tier, tax has being incurred at company level based on corporate tax rate which is 25% currently. They will state as single tier

Q2
Dividend can be tax exempted when company utilise the tax credit to offset it.

Q3
Start from 2013, any dividend will be under new single tier. Now we are in transition period of changing from old imputation system to single tier. It depended on individual company situation.

Under old imputation system, low earners will able to claim back the tax or tax differentiate of individual tax bracket.
So single tier is disadvantage to those tax bracket lower than 25%.

smartly
post Jul 7 2009, 03:41 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 7 2009, 03:01 PM)

Q1:

Q2:

Q3:

Any help is welcome. Giving me a headache....  rclxub.gif
A1 - You need to do regross while declaring your income tax.
A2 - Not sure. Maybe on company own discretiom.
A3 - The single-tier tax system was introduces in Budget 2008 to replace d imputation sys with effect from year of assessment 2008. Under tis sys, corporate income is taxed at corporate lvl & tis is a final tax. Companies may declare single tier exempt div that wud be exempt from tax in the hands of thier shareholders.
TSkmarc
post Jul 7 2009, 03:51 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Jul 7 2009, 03:41 PM)
A1 - You need to do regross while declaring your income tax.
A2 - Not sure. Maybe on company own discretiom.
A3 - The single-tier tax system was introduces in Budget 2008 to replace d imputation sys with effect from year of assessment 2008. Under tis sys, corporate income is taxed at corporate lvl & tis is a final tax. Companies may declare single tier exempt div that wud be exempt from tax in the hands of thier shareholders.
Ermmm..... I don't understand the term "regross". Can explain a bit aaa? blush.gif

For A3, I thought all companies come under the single-tier tax system. Doesn't all companies nowadays declare single-tier exempted dividends? Or does some companies still follow the old system?

Do you have any good reference on this? I'm sooooo confused.... rclxub.gif

Example :

Final Dividend of one company : 5 sen
Final dividend of another : 5 sen T.E
Final dividend of another : 5 sen single-tier T.E

What does all this mean? rclxub.gif

Added on July 7, 2009, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 7 2009, 03:38 PM)
Q1
Single tier, tax has being incurred at company level based on corporate tax rate which is 25% currently. They will state as single tier

Q2
Dividend can be tax exempted when company utilise the tax credit to offset it.

Q3
Start from 2013, any dividend will be under new single tier. Now we are in transition period of changing from old imputation system to single tier. It depended on individual company situation.

Under old imputation system, low earners will able to claim back the tax or tax differentiate of individual tax bracket.
So single tier is disadvantage to those tax bracket lower than 25%.
I see.... that explains everything. Thx!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 7 2009, 03:52 PM
smartly
post Jul 7 2009, 04:13 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 7 2009, 03:51 PM)
Ermmm..... I don't understand the term "regross". Can explain a bit aaa?  blush.gif

For A3, I thought all companies come under the single-tier tax system. Doesn't all companies nowadays declare single-tier exempted dividends? Or does some companies still follow the old system?

Do you have any good reference on this? I'm sooooo confused....  rclxub.gif

Example :

Final Dividend of one company : 5 sen
Final dividend of another : 5 sen T.E
Final dividend of another : 5 sen single-tier T.E

What does all this mean?  rclxub.gif

Added on July 7, 2009, 3:52 pm

I see.... that explains everything. Thx!!!  thumbup.gif
The regross thingy....
As cherroy has explained the transitional period from old sys to new sys will happen between 1.1.08 to 31.12.2013...

A "regross" of the div will apply when company fail to deduct tax from YA 1.1.08 to 31.12.2013.
There is a formula to it, please check your income tax return form for detail.

TSkmarc
post Jul 7 2009, 06:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Jul 7 2009, 04:13 PM)
The regross thingy....
As cherroy has explained the transitional period from old sys to new sys will happen between 1.1.08 to 31.12.2013...

A "regross" of the div will apply when company fail to deduct tax from YA 1.1.08 to 31.12.2013.
There is a formula to it, please check your income tax return form for detail.
Ok. I'm planning to add a subtopic that covers declaration of dividend in our income tax. Just that I never did that before as my first dividend is in 2009!!! sweat.gif

Anyway, going to put some examples in the guide, as follows :

BKAWAN - Interim dividend 10 sen Single Tier T.E.
KLK - Interim dividend 10 sen Single Tier
ALLIANZ - 1st and final dividend 2 sen

If I understand the STS/TTS correctly,
1) BKAWAN - gives out 10 sen, company not taxed and shareholder no need to declare in their income tax
2) KLK - gives out 10 sen, company was taxed 25% but shareholder no need to declare in their income tax
3) ALLIANZ - gives out 2 sen under TTS, company was taxed and shareholder still have to declare in their income tax.

Am I correct in this? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 7 2009, 06:19 PM
cherroy
post Jul 7 2009, 11:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 7 2009, 06:15 PM)

1) BKAWAN - gives out 10 sen, company not taxed and shareholder no need to declare in their income tax
2) KLK - gives out 10 sen, company was taxed 25% but shareholder no need to declare in their income tax
3) ALLIANZ - gives out 2 sen under TTS, company was taxed and shareholder still have to declare in their income tax.

Am I correct in this?  hmm.gif
For 3) need more clarification

Company was taxed, but shareholder can claim back the tax if the shareholder total income is not subjected to tax or claim back the differentiate if the shareholder tax bracket is much lower than the corporate tax rate.
htt
post Jul 8 2009, 09:45 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 7 2009, 06:15 PM)
Ok. I'm planning to add a subtopic that covers declaration of dividend in our income tax. Just that I never did that before as my first dividend is in 2009!!!  sweat.gif

Anyway, going to put some examples in the guide, as follows :

Am I correct in this?  hmm.gif
I think all wrong tongue.gif
1. TE just to confuse you, actually taxed to company.
2. company tax not necessary 25%, think that's lower, couple with other tax deductible, can be even lower (or higher for some company).
3. TTS? Company got the tax credit to declare dividend & distribute profit to shareholders, shareholders can claim back excess tax paid based on individual tax rate/ bracket.

But I don't think we need in depth knowledge for this topic, as tax is hard for most & the more you provide will only end up confuse more tongue.gif Just know to claim back whatever should be claim back and pay whatever should be pay will do for most of us.

Also no use study tax in depth unless you are really interested or got great benefit by study that, because tax law change almost every year, what you study now might not be applicable in a year or two, waste brain cells tongue.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    1.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:42 AM