Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Mackiddo
post Jun 14 2009, 09:49 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jun 13 2009, 11:22 PM)
hi card?  smile.gif after that, u buy SuperHot 128 for only SGD 26 rclxms.gif (u hv $28 for international calls, and FREE $100 local calls  wub.gif ) roughly $0.08 per min to call ur bf lor... tongue.gif then u can buy Speed IDD card (SGD 8.5, approximately $0.052/min), u hv SGD 10 credit (but mind u...sumtimes, u hv to call several times then onli d operator can connect u to d person u wan to call)

welcome to singapore!
wow .. so many steps huh ? guess you have all the grounds covered smile.gif ... you could try starhub HoMeConnect also. sometimes you buy SGD$10 they give you SGD$15 credits
TSeric84cool
post Jun 14 2009, 11:11 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(sweetcorn @ Jun 14 2009, 06:41 AM)
Thanks..smile.gif

Hopefully, i can receive TV signal with normal antenna... nod.gif
I every weekend go to JB and buy pirated DVD back to watch.... biggrin.gif
seantang
post Jun 14 2009, 11:16 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jun 14 2009, 11:11 AM)
I every weekend go to JB and buy pirated DVD back to watch.... biggrin.gif

Never been discovered by customs?

TSeric84cool
post Jun 14 2009, 10:58 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 13 2009, 01:02 PM)
will be having dinner with some frens at Botak Jones AMK 2nite, whoever interested to join can pm me.  biggrin.gif
were u the one who holding the receipt?

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 14 2009, 11:16 AM)
Never been discovered by customs?
Hehehe....got once kena caught by them but then they let me go...I didn't ask much and just drive away.... blink.gif
Chrisky
post Jun 15 2009, 09:26 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jun 14 2009, 10:58 PM)
were u the one who holding the receipt?
er... what receipt ? hmm.gif

oh u mean the pic in cari there ? nope thats not me. laugh.gif
animob_16
post Jun 15 2009, 04:07 PM

28 posts

I'm planning to take iPhone plan, by SingTel...any pros n cons??
mind to share wif me here??
thanks a lot..
seantang
post Jun 15 2009, 05:14 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(animob_16 @ Jun 15 2009, 04:07 PM)
thanks a lot..

Since Singtel has a monopoly on iPhones... Pros: You get an iPhone... Cons: You have no choice if you want a Singapore iPhone.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 15 2009, 05:19 PM
fbjkl
post Jun 15 2009, 06:03 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 14 2009, 09:49 AM)
wow .. so many steps huh ? guess you have all the grounds covered smile.gif    ... you could try starhub HoMeConnect also. sometimes you buy SGD$10 they give you SGD$15 credits
Mackiddo, thks 4 d info...I'll go n get d brochure @ IMM...
Mackiddo
post Jun 15 2009, 06:21 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(animob_16 @ Jun 15 2009, 04:07 PM)
thanks a lot..
I'm waiting for the iPhone 3GS to arrived. Has been waiting for it since the rumours about version 3.0 coming out. Hopefully they will have priority for corporate members like the 1st time they launched. smile.gif
Meets
post Jun 15 2009, 08:23 PM

QUOTE(Celebrex @ Jun 11 2009, 08:22 PM)
In Singapore from what i see, chemical engineerings especially those with 2 or more years of experience are quite in demand.

I work in a pharmaceutical MNC, within like 6 months, the company hired like 4-5 chemical engineers over in the production side...

Not sure about the petrolchemical sector, i think should be the same situation bah....  biggrin.gif
Thanx! smile.gif

I have no experience though. Just finished my final year classes and waiting to graduate in August. Maybe will venture abroad after gaining 2 years experience here in Malaysia.

freestyle
post Jun 15 2009, 09:51 PM

117 posts

i will be working in singapore next month. only been there once when i was a small kid. how you guys find accomadation? i was looking for a place to rent, somewhere near dover/buona vista MRT. I was told that area is expensive. You think i can get a room under $500 or better still $400?
how much is your expenses/month? mind to share? i estimate $500=accomadation, $400=food, $100=transport, so $1k/mth. is that roughly correct? so scared, never live alone b4, all this while live with mom&dad.
seantang
post Jun 15 2009, 10:15 PM

6,624 posts

freestyle, probably another ~200 for phone, broadband and other incidentals like shopping, restaurants and taxi rides when you're late etc.

The rest look ok if you're not choosy.
crapp0
post Jun 16 2009, 09:04 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(freestyle @ Jun 15 2009, 09:51 PM)
i will be working in singapore next month. only been there once when i was a small kid. how you guys find accomadation? i was looking for a place to rent, somewhere near dover/buona vista MRT. I was told that area is expensive. You think i can get a room under $500 or better still $400?
how much is your expenses/month? mind to share? i estimate $500=accomadation, $400=food, $100=transport, so $1k/mth. is that roughly correct? so scared, never live alone b4, all this while live with mom&dad.
Clover/buona vista room for under 400, more like fantasy since i have a fren over there, even utility room around 400. Common room around 500, not including air con of course.

You want cheap accomodation, try woodlands, sembawang or yishun. Toa Payoh or braddell is ok if you want near city centre.

Donno why since i moved to braddell, my m1 mobile bb damn slow, signal bar 4 level but speed around screamyx 512k.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jun 16 2009, 09:06 AM
freestyle
post Jun 16 2009, 09:21 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 16 2009, 09:04 AM)
Clover/buona vista room for under 400, more like fantasy since i have a fren over there, even utility room around 400. Common room around 500, not including air con of course.
I think i can live in a utility room for $400. let me get this straight, utility room is a room with a door, and a common room is like a living room with no door, hence no privacy, am i correct? my hunting ground is on www.propertyguru.com.sg. do u guys know any other sites where i can find accomadation? i saw many adverts renting common room, what i dun get it is how can someone live in a living room? is it the other occupants dont hang out in the common room once it is rented out? sorry for being blur, cause i never rented a room before blush.gif
seantang
post Jun 16 2009, 09:35 AM

6,624 posts

In Singapore, bedrooms are referred to either as (1) master bedroom or (2) common room. So, common room is a 'normal bedroom'... either no attached bathroom or shared bathroom.

Utility room is the utility room or store room. When the HDB flats are upgraded, they typically add a small room to the back. It's about 1/2 to 3/4 the size of the common room. Some will use it as a storeroom and others will use it as an additional bedroom.

Using the living room as a sleeping area is only when the flat is turned into foreign worker accomodation lah.
crapp0
post Jun 16 2009, 10:19 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 16 2009, 09:35 AM)
In Singapore, bedrooms are referred to either as (1) master bedroom or (2) common room. So, common room is a 'normal bedroom'... either no attached bathroom or shared bathroom.

Utility room is the utility room or store room. When the HDB flats are upgraded, they typically add a small room to the back. It's about 1/2 to 3/4 the size of the common room. Some will use it as a storeroom and others will use it as an additional bedroom.

Using the living room as a sleeping area is only when the flat is turned into foreign worker accomodation lah.
I know foreign labour workers who like to sleep in the living room rather then the common room since its much more airier then a standard room which can be quite stuffy. Bear in mind they dont have air-con so its understandable if you have a choice of sleeping with 3 other fella in a common room or in a spacious living room, which would u choose?

You have 2 be kful when choosing a utility room, some of those rooms got no ventilation or even if it has a window, got no wind so it will be very stuffy, to the point that like sauna.

Best would be to find an air con utility room.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jun 16 2009, 10:21 AM
seantang
post Jun 16 2009, 10:49 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 16 2009, 10:19 AM)
You have 2 be kful when choosing a utility room, some of those rooms got no ventilation or even if it has a window, got no wind so it will be very stuffy, to the point that like sauna.

My landlady chose floor-to-ceiling windows for 3 sides of the utility room. It's like being in a fish tank.

pennee86
post Jun 16 2009, 12:43 PM

58 posts

HI ALL...i intend to work in singapore...anyone who currently pursing their ACCA while working in accouting field?? i want to know more about it...
Thank you!!!
seantang
post Jun 16 2009, 03:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Jun 16 2009, 12:43 PM)
HI ALL...i intend to work in singapore...anyone who currently pursing their ACCA while working in accouting field?? i want to know more about it...

What specifically about ACCA while working in the accounting field do you want to know about? More detailed and pointed questions tend to get more helpful answers.

pennee86
post Jun 16 2009, 04:29 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 16 2009, 03:46 PM)
What specifically about ACCA while working in the accounting field do you want to know about? More detailed and pointed questions tend to get more helpful answers.
oh ya..thanks for your remind..
i would like to knw hows the ACCA tuition fees over there..and what kind of job u work for in accouting field..account assistant?account executive or auditor?

250 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0209sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:39 PM