Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

chess_gal
post Jan 14 2010, 12:15 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 14 2010, 10:42 AM)
CG, you're at a crossroads.

Sounds like you've decided that your time in the Big4 is already enough. So now you have to decide if you want a long term career in large MNCs or SMEs.

Coming fresh from a Big4 without having small unknown companies in your work record, you get access to a few jobs and roles on a one time only basis. For eg. assoc consultant jobs with the likes of McKinsey/BCG, deal making roles in top tier/bulge bracket banks, fast track development jobs with MNCs (eg. business analyst, finance development program etc) and such. But once you have some small unknown companies in your resume, you can still join the banks and the MNCs (the consulting firms are out though), but the really plum jobs will not be offered to you.

If I were you, I'd spend another 3 or 6 months to get that promotion. Looks much better in your resume. Then up to you to go big or small. You have only 1 chance to get a 100% blue chip career (ie. 100% of your jobs and work experience is with top global companies in their respective industries).
Thanks Seantang,
Seriously, I am afraid to leave my comfort zone (not that audit is very comfortable anyways), but at least I know my thing. Throw me any audit file, I roughly know where to start. The only thing that keeps me worried is my portfolio keep growing, I mean, more and more seniors are resigning and I am tasked to take on. One minute I can be at Raffles Place, the next minute an email came in asking me to attend a client meeting at Jurong for some job I didn't know that was assigned to me. Every week, whenever I see my job planning, surely a lot of suprises, either I got more job engagement or someone's name got delisted.

Perhaps I should stay on, at least until promotion and bonus.
chess_gal
post Jan 15 2010, 11:16 AM

1,006 posts

singapore share market pretty stagnant, no? Prefer US market anytime. Hold singapore share for long term, not recommended for speculation unless you've got wind about the company.
chess_gal
post Jan 15 2010, 08:45 PM

1,006 posts

seantang,

1.5k sounds decent for a whole flat. I am already renting at 580 excluding utilities and internet, Bishan St 24. Which part of Bishan are you in?

NEL or NSL? I thought red line is North South Line?
chess_gal
post Jan 16 2010, 10:37 AM

1,006 posts

I think we must make it clearer than Indon does not refer to the Indon we have back in Msia where their usual professions are construction worker. Indon in Singapore are mostly Chinese and quite well educated holding respectable position.
chess_gal
post Jan 16 2010, 11:12 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 16 2010, 11:03 AM)
It's not a rip off. It means the Malaysian should turn down the offer and walk away when someone offers them less than what they offer an Indonesian for the same work done.

But if they accept the offer anyway, then shouldn't complain it's a rip off, right?
Agree with Seantang, both parties are willing hence, no issue. Last month, I've attended an interview but they said my asking pay is too high and they can only offer me an amount which is even lower than my current pay. Upon hearing that, I was a little dissapointed but nevertheless went on with the interview but they know am not keen anymore. So you do have a choice to turn it down, but if you are desperate, then don't complain being underpaid later.
chess_gal
post Jan 16 2010, 06:51 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 16 2010, 11:29 AM)
What kind of job and type of company did you interview at?

Kind of surprising that they would offer less than an audit firm because audit firms frankly don't pay that well. We've got "accounting specialists" (one rank below manager) in our service center who are paid more than the Deloitte SMs that come to audit us.

Are you on Linkedin?
Another big 4, forensic, apparently they only hire seniors and have to start all over again to do vouching and tedious work. At the moment, if I am not wrong, KP pays the highest as compared to the other Big 4s. My friend went over to Pw and to only have her pay cut by $500!

Yup I am on Linkedin. But didnt update it very often.
chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 12:20 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 16 2010, 09:32 PM)
wat so big about big 4... name only... pity those young auditors working their ass off
Pity your company hires people like you. Belittling other profession when merely a fresh hire. Snobbish and ignorant. Dare you admit that you were educated in some top notch Australian university when all your replies were baseless and without substance. Sorry, but I have read a lot of your nonsensical replies and I know I have a choice ignoring your replies but conscience just dont allow me to keep quiet, so I need to voice out my displeasure.

Secondly, there is nothing to pity, noone pointed a gun to their head to work late into the wee hours, even as I type this, I am still working. It is a choice, and my choice is to work on a Saturday night from home of course.

chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 12:59 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jan 17 2010, 12:52 AM)
i am quite surprise that u replied the same bollocks from the same poster twice!  tongue.gif
Afraid that he misses out.
chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 01:08 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 17 2010, 12:51 AM)
More like "little choice" rather then "personal choice". But thats another story all together.

I have a fren who also works in the audit line and its natural that have to work beyond normal working hours with no compensation. I wonder if the superiors of audit firms purposely provide workloads knowing full well that it is impossible or impractical to finish it during normal working hours, hence you have use your off time to compensate for your task.
Am just doing some administrative stuff that I can delay until Monday. The thing is that, I am not those senior that pushes every single thing to their juniors, and I vowed not to be like my previous senior who MIA all the time and expects the junior to wrap up the files themselves.

Secondly, I am trying to get away with the staying late culture by cutting down non-value added audit procedure and promise them that noone needs to work late if everything stays on course. And if they can deliver on time, I don't care what time they go off and what time they come in. That is what I promise them, so far it has been working, the team gets motivated and my job gets done.

WHich explains I have more time posting here.

Added on January 17, 2010, 1:29 am
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jan 17 2010, 01:07 AM)
there must be reasons why ur managers decided to leave the company even before securing a new job.

probably it's because the new blood are pretty much hopeless. lol.
There are some engagement that are cursed. So, naturally whoever that got the engagement would usually resign.

There could be a million of reason for someone to resign without a job. My peers also resigned without a job cause they refused to lead a certain engagement, while some wanted time off to rest.

I am not defending the audit line, I am not a fan of working late as well, but the culture has been improving, at least in my department. The office is emptier today as compared to last year. Not as packed as before, it is only a matter of time when we Asian catch up with the western counterpart to have a work life balance.

ANd if all accounting grad don't work in accounting firm, then where do they go? There is only so much commercial position in the market and 50% get scooped up by audit firms.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jan 17 2010, 01:29 AM
chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 11:19 AM

1,006 posts

Thanatoswiftfire,

Dont bring yourself down to his level by writing like him. Dont even bother justifying yourself cause simply he thinks highly of his own position and even dare admit in another thread that he was made an EXPAT.

Fuh, expat sial. Then the hundred or thousand of Msian working in Singapore should then be called expat as well. Including the factory worker to the CEO.

Kalau dapat IB, gaji beribu-ribu nak tiup angin tak per jugak. Ni baru gaji kecik moyang nak berlagak pandai.
chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 01:13 PM

1,006 posts

Argument aside, anyone's keen to play board games? I've been wanting to play cashflow 101 board game for a very long time, so was thinking to play at Minds Cafe. Anyone keen to join?

Perhaps next saturday, it will be a small meet up. Again let me be the organiser this time.

Date: 23 Jan 2010
Time: 2.30pm (late lunch)
Venue: Minds Cafe (Boat Quay branch maybe)
Game: Cash Flow 101 (If we get bored of it, we can change to other board games)
http://www.themindcafe.com.sg/TheMindCafe_...stpromotion.php

Attendees:
1. Chessgal
2. Smartalec

chess_gal
post Jan 17 2010, 02:36 PM

1,006 posts

I have never played before but the staff there will teach us how to play. Probably looking at 5-6 ppl to play. Set aside $20 for food and drinks.

Added on January 17, 2010, 2:40 pmDate: 23 Jan 2010
Time: 2.30pm (late lunch)
Venue: Minds Cafe (Boat Quay branch maybe)
Game: Cash Flow 101 (If we get bored of it, we can change to other board games)
http://www.themindcafe.com.sg/TheMindCafe_...stpromotion.php

Attendees:
1. Chessgal
2. Smartalec
3. Lester1987

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jan 17 2010, 02:40 PM
chess_gal
post Jan 18 2010, 11:58 PM

1,006 posts

Yes, foreigner can buy landed property subject to Gov's approval, but exception given to sentosa cove. This rule is rather new but it is a well-known fact that foreigners cannot buy landed property. Chances of approval is very low and there are a lot of paper work involve as well. Prices are usually inflated by 10-20%.

Added on January 19, 2010, 12:06 am
QUOTE(SPS @ Jan 18 2010, 11:44 PM)
LOL, henceforth he shall be christined as the expat.

Kudos to those who have made the bold step of moving to Singapore and working productively.  What I find idiotic are those who boast about it as if they have struck a 7-figure lottery and insist that they are "expats" and others are jealous of them.  There are hundreds of thousands of Malaysians working in Singapore and elsewhere outside of Malaysia so there ain't anything great about it.  Just get on with doing a decent day's work and leave it at that instead of mouthing off about how great it is with being the bottom of the totem pole with a fresh grad pay.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Shall we move on to non-expat issue? But I so admit, I enjoy reading this topic especially the joker's reply, hillarious, wonder if he is 18/19?

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jan 19 2010, 12:06 AM
chess_gal
post Jan 19 2010, 11:21 PM

1,006 posts

Yup, for credit card application, you need a minimum of S$60k per annum for non-PR otherwise, place a deposit of S$20k as lien (collateral) with the bank (not-withdrawable).
chess_gal
post Jan 21 2010, 11:08 AM

1,006 posts

hkhk,

Corporate card is different from personal credit card. Your company is acting like a guarantor so risk is lower. If anyone is getting a credit card, Non-PR and less than 30k, do let me know, pm me. Cause it is a breach of MAS regulation and I want to know which bank.
chess_gal
post Jan 22 2010, 08:00 PM

1,006 posts

kockroach,
I went to the bank to withdraw S$13,000, so I asked for S1,000 notes. Atm max you can get is S$100 la. Unless you are just transfer $2k, still okay, but anything more can be too bulky esp when ATM give out S$50 notes

Added on January 22, 2010, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2010, 05:28 PM)
If you just got your PR, what are you applying for?
He is applying for Credit card. Use your payslip or CPF statement. Provided that you have an accummulated annual income of not less than S$30k.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jan 22 2010, 08:03 PM
chess_gal
post Jan 22 2010, 08:27 PM

1,006 posts

They close for prayers la on friday. from 1 to 2pm I think, I was there too, shopping for some new year goodies. Hahaha.

Use an envelope. I change $3k every month, 1.5 for myself n 1.5 for my bf. When they return me ringgit it is like RM7,200! Even bulkier!!
chess_gal
post Jan 22 2010, 08:27 PM

1,006 posts

anyways the rate suck now. Thankfully my msia reserve still enough to survive through CNY.
chess_gal
post Jan 23 2010, 12:33 PM

1,006 posts

Hey guys,

wasabushi and I are meeting up at Minds Cafe at Boat Quay

http://themindcafe.com.sg/images/BOATQUAYMAP_logo.jpg
At about 1.30pm. Anyone who is keen to play Cash Flow 101 or other board game, please join us for lunch. About $20 per person.

http://themindcafe.com.sg/TheMindCafe_outlet_boatquay.php

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Jan 24 2010, 10:24 AM
chess_gal
post Jan 24 2010, 10:28 AM

1,006 posts

Am from Kajang, and almost 80% of my colleague are also from KL/Selangor.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0617sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:49 AM