Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

chess_gal
post Mar 20 2010, 10:59 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(~tennisgal~ @ Mar 20 2010, 05:34 PM)
Hello Im new at this thread.

Im Graduating soon in April, i have a B.A in Finance. I`m very keen to work in Spore in the banking and finance sector.

I`ll go back to my hometown in Penang first and maybe work temporary while trying for Spore.

If you all don`t mind, may I be friends with u all... I`ve read through the earlier pages in this thread but i dont really have the time to finish reading as my finals is really close.

But i`ll be doing lots of research at the mean time. I dont mind if u are not in the financial sector. I want to know more about the life

in Singapore. So my email is ruyentn88@hotmail.com. You all can add me here. or I can add u guys as well. Pls do. thanks!  smile.gif

If anytime I successfully get a job i would be really thankful for your help.
You can read through this thread once you are done with your studies. You are as young as my sister, 1988. Stay focus on your studies and the rest will follow through. Good luck.
chess_gal
post Mar 21 2010, 06:18 PM

1,006 posts

Why singapore - earning power is higher, better opportunity, being rewarded base on performance & merit, fair and transparent most importantly SAFE!

Why not Msia - need i say more?
chess_gal
post Mar 23 2010, 11:23 PM

1,006 posts

lester1987, are you working at apple AMK? I am auditing around ST Electronics, what to eat around there apart from AMK hub & tech Point?
chess_gal
post Mar 24 2010, 04:04 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 24 2010, 08:36 AM)
Try Ang Mo Kio.. rental between 350-500
Yio Chu Kang got 1 place near apple, i checked from online... about 400-500... share with a guy, i mean the whole house?

ya.. are you joining Apple? Welcome to the Family!
There is a coffee shop smile.gif just across the road of Apple and AMK Hub
correct XD
I am not joining apple la, i am just auditing around there. But already back to raffles place, will be there from 1st april onwards.

Added on March 24, 2010, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 24 2010, 03:10 PM)
hi guyz,

how to open trading account for stock in singapore ??
Go philip capital, bring IC/Passport, bank statement (to increase ur margin account limit).

Added on March 24, 2010, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(zoeyhanz @ Mar 24 2010, 03:59 PM)
i gonna go n find job in singapore~ anything need to prepare? any advice??
Read this thread.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Mar 24 2010, 04:05 PM
chess_gal
post Mar 30 2010, 12:25 AM

1,006 posts

BLR is expected to rise comes july to 6.0% gosh... when i am just about to buy, BLR's gone up.
chess_gal
post Mar 30 2010, 10:44 PM

1,006 posts

Seantang,
Do you think those ppl would lurk around in lyn if they are so UP there?
chess_gal
post Apr 2 2010, 02:20 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 31 2010, 08:03 AM)
I believe the range is 9.5k - 14K

Added on March 31, 2010, 8:05 am
i believe they do ...

a big4 partner lurks in here at LYN .... smile.gif
Are you referring to yourself?
chess_gal
post Apr 5 2010, 07:15 PM

1,006 posts

OKT - Or Kui taw? I think so...
chess_gal
post Apr 11 2010, 04:00 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:59 AM)
EP and S Pass are not allowed to purchase property, only PRs can do it and there must be 2 PRs to purchase a house. A single PR cannot buy it alone.

Added on April 11, 2010, 11:03 am

Those tai-tais media income of their hubbys around 10k++. Either that or if they live relatively near to the school, the mom would usually ask the maid to fetch the young child and carry his/her school bag to school. Then later the maid would remember to cook the kang kong with belacan and not tell her employer that kang kong is to feed the animals on a farm.
For a few times I have seen families feasting at a restaurant and their maid was made to sit there like an idiot. I mean, it is pure cruel to have brought her out to only let her sit there and watch, or at least serve her something (desserts/drinks). When I was younger, I had a maid back home and we treated her really well, but it puts me off looking at singaporean (or Msian) families ill treating their maids. Arent they human as well?

chess_gal
post Apr 11 2010, 08:08 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 11 2010, 05:53 PM)
wasnt this issue highlighted in stomp awhile ago.

If you stayed at bishan near the landed property area, you will come across maids who wake up at 6am everyday to wash their employers car. Most employers in singapore treat their maids like the "We were soldiers" film. First to step out and last to step back in. Or first to do chores and the last person to do chore aka clean up and goto sleep.

I've only had a part time maid at my house since my parents say, If you want a job done, do it yourself. Plus now i prefer to clean my own room since i have issues with some maids not cleaning properly, unless their the service crew on a ship, those guys do a really outstanding job.
I dont read stomp, complete waste of time. The issue posted are so petty and trivial, more of a gossip site.

But there was once I was waiting at the traffic light, and I saw this maid who was pushing the toddler on a stroller. It was a hot day and she had an umbrella to just shed herself and let the toddler to stay under the hot sun, couldnt even bothered to extent the shade of the stroller for the poor kid. It was obviously done on purpose, then she went under the tree with the umbrella but pushed the stroller out into the hot sun.

So i think if you ill treat them, beware of what they would do to your kids.

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0402sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:06 PM