15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

crapp0
post Jan 17 2010, 11:11 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 17 2010, 11:05 AM)
whaaha, then u kena the unlucky boss lor. if kena so jialat punya boss, no matter what company i oso will leave lor.. hahahahae so it's not restricted to audit only..

wahahhaa, and ah nobody said job has to be fun wat.. u like boring jobs that's ur problem la, but i like happening jobs ma, got ppl to laugh with, days pass easier. different priorities tongue.gif
I am not affected by that degree of shit. But i do know people who kena the "No OT" thing, and whats said is that their blue collar ppl, then then the haughty white collar ppl who are indifferent to others.

Happening job is joking around everytime to pass the day? Very laid back eh, like aussie.

crapp0
post Jan 17 2010, 08:42 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Jan 17 2010, 07:30 PM)
Normally, based from my own experience in tasting expat benefit last time,

1. the basic pay is like multiple times more than your local counterpart.
2. Annual or 6 monthly home passage for self and family
3. Accommodation - Apartment/Single storey bungalow with weekly cleaning crew
4. Transportation - Provided, company car. Fuel tab and servicing on the co. account.
6. Schooling for kids - Co covers all fees.
7. Beginning & returning relocation/logistic moving fees are all covered, including car, furniture, etc.
7. Best of em all - Everything is TAX-FREE..

If I took the prosafe offers recently.. it would be the 2nd expat tasting session...
Oh prosafe, i know 2 guy in prosafe, they work 2 months - 1 month break in their hometown. Everything all inlcusive of course. Their doing thickness gauging inspection on pressure vessels as well as RBI's.

Odd that where ppl earn big bucks working in india when loads of indians are getting out of the country to find a better paying job.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 17 2010, 09:06 PM
crapp0
post Jan 18 2010, 04:25 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jan 18 2010, 02:45 PM)
Spend 50% of your squatting in India and claim that you are an expat  laugh.gif

Real expats would be chaffeured in luxury cars, stay in top class condos like the Sail and earn megabucks, not a pitiful sgd2,600 per month.

Added on January 18, 2010, 2:48 pm
A foreigner cannot buy landed property or HDB flats in Singapore.

You can purchase private condominiums or apartments though and there's no price discrimination (free for all).  Bear in mind that Singapore property prices are at an all-time high and are freaking expensive.
They have always been expensive. No exceptions if compared to malaysia.
crapp0
post Jan 18 2010, 06:21 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jan 18 2010, 04:30 PM)
Well, it's just gotten even more expensive compared to a year ago.

Back the height of the 2007 price levels.
Of course prices dipped coz of recession. You want cheap property, then you need a sorched earth policy.

Added on January 18, 2010, 6:27 pmAnybody have a generic description of a singaporean or either gender?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 18 2010, 06:27 PM
crapp0
post Jan 20 2010, 03:51 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Jan 20 2010, 03:14 PM)
I'm also wondering the same thing.  Is it hard for foreigners to get a job in SG?

-FaR
If you are kitchen helper, just see the amount of foreigners here. No shortage or work in that department. If fast food, foreigners can migle around with the elderly singapreans as well.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2010, 11:49 PM

4,414 posts

Bought my bus ticket on the eve of CNY. One guy in my office told me thats a big no-no but i'm not so concern about it. Since the eve of cny for him is a scared time for all of the family.
crapp0
post Jan 22 2010, 12:18 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2010, 11:59 PM)
What so scary about travelling on CNY eve?
sorry type, sacred, not scared.
crapp0
post Jan 22 2010, 09:05 PM

4,414 posts

Does anybody know if there is a store dedicated to selling teva products?

Also does anybody know if there is a tods outlet in singapore, i know theres one in malaysia.
crapp0
post Jan 22 2010, 10:33 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Jan 22 2010, 10:24 PM)
Hi Bro/Sis,

Me again, what is the salary range for a Bachelor degree fresh grad?

Thanks in advance^^
Depends on industry and company. I know a few degree holders who earn around 1800-2500. I also know those around the same age who have no degree but earn upwards of 4k-8k. Not yet count OT and allowances.
crapp0
post Jan 23 2010, 08:33 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Gary Denzel @ Jan 22 2010, 11:10 PM)
yes exactly, it was at 2.39 rate showing at AMK Hub's money changer when i paid a visit 2 hrs before  shakehead.gif
same for me, will use the reserve fund to survive through CNY
2.39? so low? i thought for the time being till this year it wont dipped below 2.4 since malaysias economy is in the gutter and najib has a non-existent economic plan.
crapp0
post Jan 23 2010, 09:04 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 23 2010, 08:57 AM)
If you're not comfortable with shares, get principal guaranteed investments like Amanah Wawasan 2020. 6-8 percent return each year. Btw, the Dow Jones suffered another big drop last night. next Monday might be a good time to buy as people have a kneejerk reaction and sell. But buy a bit at a time. Don't use up all your bullets at one go. The correction might turn out to see quite severe and prolonged.
So early you wake up on a weekend?
crapp0
post Jan 25 2010, 12:06 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jan 24 2010, 11:30 PM)
I am the only son and all my family is in Penang. It is hard to get them to move to Signapore.
mommy and daddys boy i see.
crapp0
post Jan 25 2010, 08:05 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jan 25 2010, 05:55 PM)
well...i think it is based in shopping centre....
passion? i can passion in all kinds of industry..haha...

just curious $1600 with degree holder ....sounds like not so good...
but so far i only received 1 offer and duno whether i should wait until new year or not~~~
Depends on the company and what line. Its doesnt have to matter to you if you have a degree and are willing to be a sales person. But people will judge you since you have a higher education but work in a profession where your education is basically wasted on the task that you perform.

One comment becomes a grand father story, incredible.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2010, 08:07 PM
crapp0
post Jan 26 2010, 08:18 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 25 2010, 10:23 PM)
same problem here.. sister going aus, i m in sg, left my 2 parents n 2 grandparents.. haih... not easy
Guess alot of ppl here are very family oriented. Once they move to a new place, they are obliged to bring their family over, reminds of the indians and bangladesh who do that in dubai, since its like paradise for them to work, live and bring their family over there.

That is until the dubai debt crushed their dreams of paradise.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 26 2010, 08:26 AM
crapp0
post Jan 26 2010, 11:31 AM

4,414 posts

I always wonder, these kind of passes are based on company recommendation or base more on years of exp in a particular industry in singapore as well as what certs you have?

Which is given precedence when upgrading your pass.
crapp0
post Jan 26 2010, 11:50 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 26 2010, 11:43 AM)
if u check the MOM website, Spass is for semi skilled workers who monthly earning above $1800. to get a EP, then only you need a degree. Spass no nid.
I think if u dun have a degree, even your earning is $5k, you will still be holding a Spass. anyone can verify this?
Not sure about this but i know a couple of fella who earning more then 5k on ep without a degree. But i donno if they apply themselves or company apply on their behalf. The highest qualification they have is higher diploma in mechanical engineering but they have quite a few american as well as british recognized certs in the field of welding inspection.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 26 2010, 11:51 AM
crapp0
post Jan 27 2010, 11:27 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Zennix @ Jan 27 2010, 05:11 PM)
OHHHHHHHHHHHHH MY GOD

Haizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

So sad heard about this..........sad.gif

So....how about Singapore??? got this kind of tragedy happened always????
Just read the new paper. Got this and that happening.

Person in the wrong place at the wrong time and encounter the wrong fella. It makes sense on the robbers side to kill the person since that person is sure to make a police report and provide them with vital info that could lead to his eventual arrest. Like they say, dead men tell no tales.
crapp0
post Jan 29 2010, 07:33 PM

4,414 posts

Anybody can give me some tips on what stalls have good food in toa payoh. I tried some of the hawker food and its edible but not good that i would want 2 come back.

So far the only thing i've found which isnt bad is the chicken rice opposite 600@toa payoh which opens for lunch. That and oceans curry house which you can find at hungrygowhere.

Anybody else who is familiar with toa payoh can give any pointers on whats good to eat over there?
crapp0
post Jan 29 2010, 11:56 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jan 29 2010, 09:24 PM)
Food I dont know but as for good bubble tea, try Koi Cafe, infront of Polar.
Its ok, nothing fantastic about the taste. but then again i have only tried the green tea. What i like about it is that i can choose the level of sugar. I usually go for 25%-50% for milk products and non-dairy is either 0-25%.

I usually take the green tea with no sugar.

So you've stayed in toa payoh b4? I find hungrygowhere's review on food as not very accurate, they said there was one bak kut teh which was good at toa payoh but it was shit to me. Theres one good teo chew style pepper one at a food court between yio chu kang and ang mo kio.
crapp0
post Jan 30 2010, 08:38 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jan 30 2010, 12:50 AM)
i am sorry to get this abit personal but u sound like a person will do whatever things to win. even with dirty way.

hope i am wrong.
Like trump used to say, "Its not personal, its business".

If prefer the quote in the movie "taken". Poetic justice.

I believe that singaporeans enjoy food more then malaysians since their deprive of good food and are willing to travel to malaysia to kind nice makan places.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 30 2010, 08:44 AM

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:13 AM