Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?
May 12 2009, 02:00 PM
163 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
I'm a glory hunter and i don't give a f**k what people says!
May 12 2009, 02:01 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Pee-J |
QUOTE(Everdying @ May 12 2009, 12:43 PM) lol bubblegum footie cards...i remember those... lol those were the best man.. gad damn cards cost me at that time a 11 year old kid a fortune...small like 2cm x 5cm long cards... BBC radio on short wave f*** la...back then we didnt support teams as much as having heroes... like kenny dalglish, bryan robson, ray clemence, peter shilton... but it was fun to actually support a team by just hearing abt them and then also on the radio with names like rush on the goals all the time... meh those were the times, before friggin media and money corrupted the beautiful game |
May 12 2009, 02:04 PM
5,154 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Zan81 @ May 12 2009, 01:47 PM) I agree with your second part, but not the first three lines. I agree on this too.I think most people who leave early are just easily frustrated and cannot bear to watch the painful display. It doesn't mean that when they leave early they are considering supporting another team. Unless they switch teams, then they are glory hunters. In a heavy defeat, fans who choose to leave early may because of: 1) Too painful to see the result worsen (understanding the poor performance the team is playing) 2) Too frustrated with the system/tactic/strategy/player-selection deployed which is responsible for the defeat. Of course, REAL fans will hang on with the team NO MATTER what. Also, please understand that NOT being so FANatic doesn't mean you are glory hunter. Remember: Glory Hunter != Less passionate fans Personally, being passionate needs time and experience to grow. Do not tell me that today you start supporting XXX club and tomorrow you become their super-fans knowing everything about the club etc... Supporting a football club is not a race to prove you are more superior than others in terms of "support". This is an open-discussion with no intention to finger-point any individual. We all are different and have our own belief and understand on certain issues so, no offence when things do not tick with your thinking Added on May 12, 2009, 2:08 pm QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ May 12 2009, 01:57 PM) I have friend previously supporting Arsenal because the team at young age and have a beautiful free flow game. But after frustrating with Wenger wages policy & end up trophyless. He convert to Liverpool because of numbers of English and European Champions. Can assume my friend as glory hunter? Ask your friend if he has plans to "convert" to MU or Chelsea if Liverpool fails to win the BPL? (no offence to the Kops as this is only an assumption)- or - Ask your friend why Liverpool and not Real Madrid? This post has been edited by kimhoong: May 12 2009, 02:08 PM |
May 12 2009, 02:11 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Cheras |
I start watch football when FIFA World Cup 1998 kick-off, i really admire Holland and there are one player that i really like most, Dennis Bergkamp and Van Der Sar, Bergkamp make big impact at that tournament.
Then i discover Bergkamp represent Arsenal, so i choose Arsenal as my favourite club. Am i glory hunter? |
May 12 2009, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(Red11DEvils @ May 12 2009, 12:34 PM) Seriously got bubblegum footie cards? sigh now i feel old... mentioned by other forummer, everyone outside England started out as glory hunters...so give those ppl some times to truly understand what supporting football club really about |
May 12 2009, 02:29 PM
4,457 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE Glory Hunter != Less passionate fans Agree ... i also support Ferrari but i rarely/never watch F1 nor go surf things bout ferrari ... when i open newspaper and if saw the result is ferrari won, i will be happy ... but if they lose, i also no feeling shall i call myself glory hunter? even if i consider as glory hunter i also dont give a damn |
May 12 2009, 02:30 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
glory hunter reporting in...
May 12 2009, 02:34 PM
5,154 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Ken @ May 12 2009, 02:29 PM) Agree ... i also support Ferrari but i rarely/never watch F1 nor go surf things bout ferrari ... when i open newspaper and if saw the result is ferrari won, i will be happy ... but if they lose, i also no feeling Hmm... I am sorry but do you agree if I call you "a casual fans" in your support towards Ferrari? Kindly correct me with better terms if you do not agree shall i call myself glory hunter? even if i consider as glory hunter i also dont give a damn But again, is glory hunter = casual fans ? |
May 12 2009, 02:36 PM
hmmm vanity... a self respecting glory hunter's trait?
me thinks it is oh and pls chill la, there is no finger pointing, why is everyone on the defensive |
May 12 2009, 02:53 PM
2,510 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Club-jumpers are the worst fans.
That said, I feel I'm like most casual fans. I watch football when it's entertaining. If my team plays like shit, I flip the channel or go back to work. But I will still check back every few minutes and/or read the reports and results to keep track. I feel happy when we win. I feel sad when we lose. I feel elated if rival teams slip up. I feel good if underdog teams beat the odds, even against my team. I laugh at the opposition's bad luck. I defend referee calls in our favor. I know my club's history. But I also know other teams' histories. I know the player names and faces. But I have never bought their jersey. And I don't know the chants and stadium songs. I try to watch every live game I can. But I make no effort to actually go to a stadium and watch it in person. Life's too complicated to be overly passionate about a game. An Arsenal fan hung himself after that loss to Manchester United. You read about people insulting each other in other threads, calling names and some threatening bodily harm. I see those and I go "wtf?" Just relax and enjoy the game. Too much of a good thing is also bad. |
May 12 2009, 02:55 PM
421 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kepong |
QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 12 2009, 02:04 PM) I agree on this too. lol kimhoong, that is an expression in c programming(not equal to) rite? It might be abit confusing to others In a heavy defeat, fans who choose to leave early may because of: 1) Too painful to see the result worsen (understanding the poor performance the team is playing) 2) Too frustrated with the system/tactic/strategy/player-selection deployed which is responsible for the defeat. Of course, REAL fans will hang on with the team NO MATTER what. Also, please understand that NOT being so FANatic doesn't mean you are glory hunter. Remember: Glory Hunter != Less passionate fans Personally, being passionate needs time and experience to grow. Do not tell me that today you start supporting XXX club and tomorrow you become their super-fans knowing everything about the club etc... Supporting a football club is not a race to prove you are more superior than others in terms of "support". This is an open-discussion with no intention to finger-point any individual. We all are different and have our own belief and understand on certain issues so, no offence when things do not tick with your thinking Added on May 12, 2009, 2:08 pm Ask your friend if he has plans to "convert" to MU or Chelsea if Liverpool fails to win the BPL? (no offence to the Kops as this is only an assumption) - or - Ask your friend why Liverpool and not Real Madrid? This post has been edited by eksk86: May 12 2009, 02:56 PM |
May 12 2009, 03:01 PM
598 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Zan81 @ May 12 2009, 01:47 PM) I agree with your second part, but not the first three lines. Perhaps. But ask yourself this, should the player just leave the pitch or give up when they're losing a match ? You dont expect them to, so its only fair that you as a fan ought to stay in your seats till the final whistle. Anything less, is blatantly double standard. Sure defeat is hard to take but win, lose and draw is all part of the game. If you only support certain aspect of the game, in particular only the winning aspect of it, then you are certainly only in one part of it - the good part of it. Thats glory hunter in my book. I dont want to go into segregating different categories of fans here, but to me its simple. Either you support your team and in it for the long haul, or you're just in it for the 'fun' of it. The latter, IMHO, is textbook glory hunter.I think most people who leave early are just easily frustrated and cannot bear to watch the painful display. It doesn't mean that when they leave early they are considering supporting another team. Unless they switch teams, then they are glory hunters. |
May 12 2009, 04:07 PM
317 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
May 12 2009, 04:20 PM
82 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(hfi @ May 12 2009, 03:01 PM) Perhaps. But ask yourself this, should the player just leave the pitch or give up when they're losing a match ? You dont expect them to, so its only fair that you as a fan ought to stay in your seats till the final whistle. Anything less, is blatantly double standard. Sure defeat is hard to take but win, lose and draw is all part of the game. If you only support certain aspect of the game, in particular only the winning aspect of it, then you are certainly only in one part of it - the good part of it. Thats glory hunter in my book. I dont want to go into segregating different categories of fans here, but to me its simple. Either you support your team and in it for the long haul, or you're just in it for the 'fun' of it. The latter, IMHO, is textbook glory hunter. The player's can't do that because they are paid to do that job. I would rather stay at home now and play FM2009 but I can't do that because I'm paid to be in office (.... *cough* and post on LYN A fan is one who forks out money to watch the game, be it in the stadium or subscribing to Astro or paying RM0.70 for Roti Canai. There is also an investment in time Like I said, there are a lot of fans who because of their passion would rather turn off the TV or walkout. Its frustrating and they might do something stupid like start fighting in the terrace or kill themselves. But lo and behold, next week they are still tuning in or taking the train to the stadium. However, there are also fair-weather fans. Who only watch the game or go the stadium when their team is winning, and during the bad times they don't bother at all. This could be the best example of "glory hunter" that I can think of. |
May 12 2009, 04:25 PM
2,152 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Gombak Setia |
QUOTE(hfi @ May 12 2009, 03:01 PM) Perhaps. But ask yourself this, should the player just leave the pitch or give up when they're losing a match ? You dont expect them to, so its only fair that you as a fan ought to stay in your seats till the final whistle. Anything less, is blatantly double standard. Sure defeat is hard to take but win, lose and draw is all part of the game. If you only support certain aspect of the game, in particular only the winning aspect of it, then you are certainly only in one part of it - the good part of it. Thats glory hunter in my book. I dont want to go into segregating different categories of fans here, but to me its simple. Either you support your team and in it for the long haul, or you're just in it for the 'fun' of it. The latter, IMHO, is textbook glory hunter. The player should not leave because, er, they are playing, and they getting paid for it, while the supporter pay to watch them play good football.As Zan81 say, why should a fan stay if the result, gameplay, player performance annoy them? Its not really about glory hunting, its more about frustration, and for me, its about traffic Everytime I went to the stadium, I always leave my seat at least 5 minutes before the final whistle, be it my team (Selangor, in this case..never been to the Theater Of Dreams) win or lose, if its a draw and still have chances to decide to winner then I`ll stay, if not, er..traffic after a match is really bad. For me Glory Hunter are a set of fan who support a team when they are winning, I`ve seen plenty of those.. Back in school, when United lost the title race to Arsenal (fierce rivalry) suddenly all my United fren change club Its true I start supporting United when they are winning in the 90`s, but I support United coz of Peter Schemeical, I really admire him as I am a young goalkeeper that time, but he frustate me when he join Man City and the last time I saw him in the stadium, he`s wearing City jersey and scarves |
May 12 2009, 04:37 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
Glory Hunters eh?
Don't look elsewhere.Let's just take a look around LYN Football Lounge.Meant no offense but the reality is a couple of years ago, Chelsea thread was full of posters when JM's era.Every Ali, Abu and Ahmad were supporting Chelsea.After JM left and the club stop winning trophy, from what I have seen, only left a couple of old lads posting in there.Those Tom, d*** and Harry gone...They only appeared once in a blue moon when the team beat another big team. I will skip on talking about the mancs.Obviously, they are sensitive about it if it's a Liverpool supporter gives his/her POV. Let's head back a couple of years ago when Arsenal won the league, the FA Cup and unbeaten run of 49 matches.A lot of Abu, Ali, Ahmad, Tom , d*** and Harry appeared out of nowhere and claimed they are supporting the club.But, funnily, even me, a Liverpool supporter know their club better than them.Even though there are still quite a big number of Arsenal supporters around LYN Football Lounge, I must say a lot of the old guys are gone. My point of view is, it doesnt matter if you started as a glory hunter but make sure you are there when the club isn't winning or in hardship which is lacking in most of the supporters of the winning clubs nowadays.Most of them tend to be lalang supporters and switch clubs whenever the club ended up in trophy-less seasons. Again, my post wasn't direct at anyone.Just my point of view. This post has been edited by solstice818: May 12 2009, 04:40 PM |
May 12 2009, 04:48 PM
598 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Zan81 @ May 12 2009, 04:20 PM) The player's can't do that because they are paid to do that job. I would rather stay at home now and play FM2009 but I can't do that because I'm paid to be in office (.... *cough* and post on LYN Ok players leaving the pitch is a bit extreame there. But you catch my drift. Theres no reason for 20,000 people to walk out of the stadium when their team is still playing with more than 40 mins to play for. Frustration ? I get it. We all get frustrated but seriously, turning your back on your team at their worst time on the pitch is disgraceful. A fan is one who forks out money to watch the game, be it in the stadium or subscribing to Astro or paying RM0.70 for Roti Canai. There is also an investment in time Like I said, there are a lot of fans who because of their passion would rather turn off the TV or walkout. Its frustrating and they might do something stupid like start fighting in the terrace or kill themselves. But lo and behold, next week they are still tuning in or taking the train to the stadium. However, there are also fair-weather fans. Who only watch the game or go the stadium when their team is winning, and during the bad times they don't bother at all. This could be the best example of "glory hunter" that I can think of. But i do get your meaning, tho i dont agree with it. So lets just agree to disagree there |
May 12 2009, 06:18 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Mont Kiara, KL |
What about fans who boo off their own teams after an abysmal performance? My head says its okay to do so since they pay good money (to some their monthly salary or more) to attend matches and support their team so they have the right to be dissappointed if the team is not performing to their usual standards; my heart says no matter what we should always be behind our club regardless of the result. I for one will defend each and every one of my player to the death, unless of course he disrespects the crest he wears on his chest, then its the door.
May 12 2009, 06:28 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
My take on fans who leave when their teams are down is this; you are abandoning your team. Imagine how the players must feel watching fans leave when they are already feeling bad because they are losing. Why is the Kop so famous? Because they sing even if the team is behind i.e. Istanbul. If the players are losing, the fans can play a part.
May 12 2009, 07:30 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 12 2009, 06:28 PM) My take on fans who leave when their teams are down is this; you are abandoning your team. Imagine how the players must feel watching fans leave when they are already feeling bad because they are losing. Why is the Kop so famous? Because they sing even if the team is behind i.e. Istanbul. If the players are losing, the fans can play a part. of cos there is one famous fan at istanbul who left at half time, then heard over the taxi that they were coming back and ended up watching the remainder of the match at a pub u cant say thats not a real fan either, cos obviously he paid shitloads of money to get there and also for the match ticket etc etc. |
| Change to: | 0.0211sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:28 PM |