147 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Renovations Kitchen Cabinet

raja lau
post Dec 13 2011, 01:00 PM

343 posts

i got a Signature kitchen coupon (worth RM10K) for sale, price RM8,500. anyone interesting?

please pm me if interested.Attached File  voucher.pdf ( 805.87k ) Number of downloads: 125

@Adele
post Dec 13 2011, 01:36 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 12:15 PM)
Is about design, not material. I saw solid cabinet (i mean solid not melamine or plywood) and design really nice and simple. Price hehe, 60k over for kitchen and wardrobe.
till now i haven't decided on the cabinets which i signed months ago. initially went for those light yellow colour melamine cabinets with black glass..kinda like ikea style..now re-thinking whether it'll look nice o not..
Eleganz Concept
post Dec 13 2011, 03:23 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Dec 13 2011, 11:38 AM)
was wondering, when we say "modern kitchen cabinet', melamine cabinets consider part of modern kitchen cabinet?

was thinking of mix and match melamine with 3G doors..
ya, nothing about material, is only what kind of design
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 03:34 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Dec 13 2011, 01:36 PM)
till now i haven't decided on the cabinets which i signed months ago. initially went for those light yellow colour melamine cabinets with black glass..kinda like ikea style..now re-thinking whether it'll look nice o not..
Get some color that are trend neutral. I think white, black, mirror finish, light grey are good trend neutral. Too colorful you have to match with correct furniture.
Hornsen
post Dec 13 2011, 06:29 PM

131 posts

Hi Erny,
From your wood concept KC, what kind of wood is use for the surface? and what is the price of using Wood as the surface compare to using Granite?

QUOTE(Erny_Looi @ Oct 24 2011, 05:54 PM)
Wood concept

y4ng
post Dec 13 2011, 07:57 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

Yo Mr. Looi, Granite! I cannot take off days no more as I just got in this job, and I travel as well on weekdays.

How now brown cow? >.<
enson1985
post Dec 13 2011, 09:12 PM

313 posts

Hi Erny... My house will be completed in jan 2013. Will it be too early to ask for ur advice? Haha
svage98
post Dec 13 2011, 11:42 PM

432 posts

Usually how long it take to complete kitchen cabinet in a house? I will get my house key in Jan 2012 and I'm planning to move early Mac 2012 so wondering how long it take to finish full kitchen cabinet including installing hood, hub, sink etc.
finestq
post Dec 13 2011, 11:57 PM

158 posts

need some advise here on my kitchen quotation...

18' L-shape cabinet with granite top - RM6900
9' L-shape hanging cabinet - RM4200
3' x 6' island with granite top (excl fittings) - RM3900

are they expensive? please advise...
jforjean
post Dec 14 2011, 07:05 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(finestq @ Dec 13 2011, 11:57 PM)
need some advise here on my kitchen quotation...

18' L-shape cabinet with granite top - RM6900
9' L-shape hanging cabinet - RM4200
3' x 6' island with granite top (excl fittings) - RM3900

are they expensive? please advise...
You have to tell us what's the material for your kitchen cabinet then we only can give advice.

Melamine?
Acrylic door?
crystal glass door?
laminated finished?

There's too many different material in market, so it's hardly to judge whether it's expensive or not.

finestq
post Dec 14 2011, 09:22 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(jforjean @ Dec 14 2011, 07:05 PM)
You have to tell us what's the material for your kitchen cabinet then we only can give advice.

Melamine?
Acrylic door?
crystal glass door?
laminated finished?

There's too many different material in market, so it's hardly to judge whether it's expensive or not.

according to him, it is laminated with formica without any other special features....
helee
post Dec 15 2011, 10:10 AM

32 posts

Hi all,
Got a quotation from my contractor for kitchen cabinet:
Wet kitchen:
12ft concrete table top with bottom cabinets
Dry kitchen (L-shape):
15ft top cabinet and bottom cabinet
Full height cabinet for fridge / oven / microwave
15ft solid surface table top

Total is 11k.

Think the materials for the cabinets is supposed to be plywood mica laminate.

Is the above quotation ok?
dec08
post Dec 15 2011, 05:49 PM

461 posts

alot ppl asking advice here...lolz...very interesting answer i'll like to see... smile.gif
y4ng
post Dec 15 2011, 09:03 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

ok seems like erny settled my issue for me hehe...

i think erny's place is worth it, he has assistants with pencil skirts and all formal wear...

pretty oso so worth the visit ;P
daijeklou
post Dec 15 2011, 10:37 PM

177 posts

anyone heard of CLS Kitchen @ Kota Damansara?

They quoted me quite cheap, I am not sure whether they are reliable. Please share your opinion.

Appreciate your sharing and opinion.

Erny, can you share your contacts with me ?
KrazyChinaman
post Dec 16 2011, 11:45 AM

123 posts

i hope this would help:

Most Kitchen Cabinets and Wardrobes (custom made) these days are all made from board. Earlier days (maybe even some carpenters now), a lot of solid wood (mostly just for doors) and plywood were used. Last time wood is cheaper than now. That's why.

Most common wood base materials being used in kitchen cabinets and wardrobes are:

1. Particle board, or known as chip board. There are quite a few types of chip board, ex. better water/moisture resistance in green, fire retardant in red. You can search for more info online.

2. MDF (medium density fiberboard) is a better quality material compared to particle board, due to it's density. Normally it is 4 times higher. MDF is categorized in different classes, E0.5, E1, E2 etc. E0.5 obviously is the best because it contains very little formaldehyde, thus no smell no eyes irritation and no harm to our health.

3. Plywood, categorized in different number sheets of wood being blued together, ex. 3-ply, 5-ply or 7-ply. Equal strength as MDF, and majority of the small scaled manufacturer or carpenter are using this material.

The above mentioned are just the base material, however, they need to dress up neatly, by what we called the finishing. In the market, there are a number of materials commonly used for the finishing.

1. Lamination
a) Melamine - It is actually like a sheet of plastic paper. When it is pressed under high heat and high temperature, it becomes very tough and durable. That explains why laminated floors are becoming popular because of free from scratches and easy to take care. You can do with any wood patterns/grains that you want at the lower layer, it is almost like the real thing!
b) Veneer - A thin slice of wood from the tree trunks. It offers the most realistic wood grain, and also it can be painted into different colors. Undoubtedly, it is natural finishing but prone to being scratched. It needs to be taken good care and might need to varnish/wax when damaged.

These are just some of the information that I am sharing here. Actually, the market is too big to know it all. Sometimes, we might get confused over the terms being used by different manufacturer or merchandiser, but never hesitate to ask for in-depth details. Be a smart consumer.

In my opinion, what is more important in making the kitchen cabinet or bedroom wardrobes in our own house is QUALITY first (then only design). Better quality means long lasting products. It saves my money just for one time buying only, and will last for as long as possible. As for the design, do you see any different from most of the kitchen or wardrobe in the market? NO! Pretty much is all high gloss (glass, mirror, solid one color). It will get bored eventually. Unless, you are able to find something that stands out from the others.

Thanks for reading.

Just to share some nice wardrobes.

This post has been edited by KrazyChinaman: Dec 16 2011, 01:02 PM
dec08
post Dec 16 2011, 12:47 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Dec 16 2011, 11:45 AM)
i hope this would help:

Most Kitchen Cabinets and Wardrobes (custom made) these days are all made from board. Earlier days (maybe even some carpenters now), a lot of solid wood (mostly just for doors) and plywood were used. Last time wood is cheaper than now. That's why.

Most common wood base materials being used in kitchen cabinets and wardrobes are:

1. Particle board, or known as chip board. There are quite a few types of chip board, ex. better water/moisture resistance in green, fire retardant in red. You can search for more info online.

2. MDF (medium density fiberboard) is a better quality material compared to particle board, due to it's density. Normally it is 4 times higher. MDF is categorized in different classes, E0.5, E1, E2 etc. E0.5 obviously is the best because it contains very little formaldehyde, thus no smell no eyes irritation and no harm to our health.

3. Plywood, categorized in different number sheets of wood being blued together, ex. 3-ply, 5-ply or 7-ply. Equal strength as MDF, and majority of the small scaled manufacturer or carpenter are using this material.

The above mentioned are just the base material, however, they need to dress up neatly, by what we called the finishing. In the market, there are a number of materials commonly used for the finishing.

1. Lamination
a) Melamine - It is actually like a sheet of plastic paper. When it is pressed under high heat and high temperature, it becomes very tough and durable. That explains why laminated floors are becoming popular because of free from scratches and easy to take care. You can do with any wood patterns/grains that you want at the lower layer, it is almost like the real thing!
b) Veneer - A thin slice of wood from the tree trunks. It offers the most realistic wood grain, and also it can be painted into different colors. Undoubtedly, it is natural finishing but prone to being scratched. It needs to be taken good care and might need to varnish/wax when damaged.

These are just some of the information that I am sharing here. Actually, the market is too big to know it all. Sometimes, we might get confused over the terms being used by different manufacturer or merchandiser, but never hesitate to ask for in-depth details. Be a smart consumer.

In my opinion, what is more important in making the kitchen cabinet or bedroom wardrobes in our own house is QUALITY first (then only design). Better quality means long lasting products. It saves my money just for one time buying only, and will last for as long as possible. As for the design, do you see any different from most of the kitchen or wardrobe in the market? NO! Pretty much is all high gloss (glass, mirror, solid one color). It will get bored eventually. Unless, you are able to find something that stands out from the others.

Thanks for reading.
very well explaination. Its all about the details of a cabinets.. Another things will be the accessories.
How good qualities of your kitchen cabinets or material even need a good qualities of accessories example like hinges and drawer system.
Trust me, dont even get a china made system to cut ur budget. Its all about one time pay, one time stress.
kucingfight
post Dec 16 2011, 03:10 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(daijeklou @ Dec 15 2011, 10:37 PM)

They quoted me quite cheap, I am not sure whether they are reliable. Please share your opinion.

during exhibition, i went around asking CLS, dans de design etc

Still unity gives me the best price..
rumblemann
post Dec 16 2011, 04:57 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 16 2011, 03:10 PM)
during exhibition, i went around asking CLS, dans de design etc

Still unity gives me the best price..
Hi kucingfight....did u do your whole hse, meaning KC, wardrobe, tv cabinet and shoe rack...

how much best price from UK? thumbup.gif
wrb7878
post Dec 16 2011, 08:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(daijeklou @ Dec 15 2011, 10:37 PM)

Yes is cheap but later on a lot hidden charge..ask u add this and tat....like install the sink, soft close, handle...
and they just give u total amount without quotation printed rite? if u want printed quotation, pls pay RM200 deposit.
if u want design(hand drawing only) then u need to confirm the order.

So if u try dropby to Erny/Unity Kitchen, u will never regret to travel to kajang.... thumbup.gif
regarding workmanship...i think u can get a lot commend from here...

some ppl recommend Steve too, his price is cheaper than CLS...workmanship also top condition.

147 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:48 AM