144 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Kia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?

iluvena
post Aug 10 2009, 03:00 PM

425 posts

vios is becoming like myvi already. see here and there also got vios.
although i'm very tempted to own a J manual (white) before...

im considering to use the car more than 5 years.. so depreciation not an issue. maybe have a little doubt on how much kia improve in term of FC for the new release.

just called the seller on mudah.my, same story mention that 100 units already in Kastam. and he dunno latest news as Naza didn't didn't update yet. but expected between end of august and early september before Hari Raya.

rm1k booking fees and 10% for downpayment.
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 10 2009, 10:28 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 9 2009, 03:29 PM)
If the rumoured 65K is true, then Naza/Kia must having some tricks up their sleeves. It'll probably give the Persona a big kick in the butt and I'm not sure whether our government will allow this. Even at 75K it may sway some people from getting a Proton.

Haiyah.. they will use the usual trick la.

For the first 3 years, they will flog it as Kia Forte at RM95,000.

Then they will add on some Ah Beng plastic parts from Brothers, change the badge and relaunch it as Naza Tempeyek for RM70,000 while Najib and his entire cabinet jump up and down screaming 1Malaysia and Malaysia Boleh.

Proton on the other hand will launch Proton Tenuk after successfully mating a Mitsu Lancer with a tapir under supervision of UPM. RM60,000.

By that time, everybody is so happy with the win-win situation... nobody even remembers anything about AFTA anymore...

Burgerlim
post Aug 12 2009, 03:47 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jul 28 2009, 07:45 PM)
Same pic shown on paultan some time ago... Chrome parts with 17 inch alloys... looks like the high trim SLi or EX depending on which nomenclature Naza decides to use for the Malaysian market. I'd put my money and say they'll follow our southern neighbours and use LX and EX instead.
Looks dodgy... too cheap to be true. At 66K it'll probably kill the Wajas and Personas.
If it comes, it'll definitely have the sedan although I'm not sure how profitable would it be to bring in the Koup.
At 66K its a steal.. in sg this car sells for > 47.5kSGD! for base model without ESC (traction, cornering, EBD, ABS... ) but again it depends on the specs.. korean car is well known to have different batch diff specs.. rclxub.gif full spec forte could match any MIJ car anytime.. from climatic a/c all the way to instrument cluster...
at that price.. maybe it comes somewhat like EX (as in here in SG) model? 15" wheel..basic accessories?

check it out at www.kia-cerato.com (me no sale of kia / naza...) tongue.gif

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 28 2009, 08:07 PM)
17"? is they come in with 17" i will down size it to 15" if it can fit, 17" for 1.6cc is too underpower.
Forte at 17" 1.6 124bhp is just ok.. (a little underpower in pickup... cruising is v.good.. ) suspension is good too... but ride can be a little noisy depending on the insulation given... and very surprise.. many could achieve 12/13km/l FC.. that v.good.. considering of the wheel size.. 80/20% Highway/Urban...

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Aug 6 2009, 12:27 AM)
hey guys, actually i'm in love with this car when i saw it. but a lot of my frens against from buying kia cars. the major concerns are the realibility of the car, expensive spare parts & maintenance costs especially the bad service of NAZA....what do u guys think?

by the way, from the forte cerato singapore forum, noticed that a lot of problems mentioned...new car also got windscreen cracked..quite a no. of the owners are facing this
FYI, from the forum too.. think many of those issues is due to new model.. and Forte manufactured after july 09 is fixed with the above Windscreen cracking problem..(some mould adjustment i think) so i dun think msia model should be affected... reliability wise.. other then those few little hickups..sensor.. lights etc.. its a fine car.. kr car has come a long way... try it and you could instantly forget about Vios.. (personal opinion)..

servicing by naza not too sure.. la... looking at the way they sell car... not too sure... whistling.gif

HTH... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Burgerlim: Aug 12 2009, 03:49 AM
W.ROOK
post Aug 12 2009, 07:42 AM

982 posts

A few months back SA was telling, launching is in May than July and now they say Oct. Probably due to unsold Spectras?

And Yeah if you go to SG forum you will notice the car has some problems.
FC is quite high and if you can get 13Km/L is considered very good.(the car is really damn heavy)
And here those City owners who is averaging 13-14km/l making a big fuss of it..!

Forte in Pic look good but in flesh it looks even better.
Seen one in Red and another couple of Silvers.
Quite tempting but will hold on to see WaLa (waja+Lancer) first and if nothing fits a used FD2 or new Altis will be good for me.

This post has been edited by W.ROOK: Aug 12 2009, 08:15 AM
titarium
post Aug 12 2009, 10:05 AM

683 posts

Oct .....

In my opinion if the stock for spectra is low they should launch Forte first, then give Spectra an unofficial discount this way they will get to boost sales figure up rather than wait.
Burgerlim
post Aug 13 2009, 11:50 AM

19 posts

any waja+lancer photos for sharing?

I dun think Forte FC is high, but at most average... comparing to vios / city
should be close to Altis 1.6 or better i think since altis engine is really old... ?

2 cents.
*7*
post Aug 13 2009, 12:01 PM

38 posts

i tot the price of forte is higher coz i saw review at cars.com mentioned that it's a direct competition to honda civic....so maybe the price shall be a bit lower than civic? i dunno liao...
skybar
post Aug 13 2009, 12:29 PM

Validating

QUOTE(*7* @ Aug 13 2009, 12:01 PM)
i tot the price of forte is higher coz i saw review at cars.com mentioned that it's a direct competition to honda civic....so maybe the price shall be a bit lower than civic? i dunno liao...
forte price won't exceed rm80k. direct competition to the civic means it's considered a C-segment cat. that's what all the naza SA promise.
xshiro
post Aug 13 2009, 12:42 PM

133 posts

if they are bringing in 1.6 only...then it cannot be a civic competitor..

unless you are talking about the 2.0 model which i heard many times that naza wont bring it in...

This post has been edited by xshiro: Aug 13 2009, 12:42 PM
monster2020
post Aug 13 2009, 12:49 PM

386 posts

still waiting for the real car to reach our island...
bobbychin
post Aug 14 2009, 03:26 PM

605 posts

the sales person told me they will launch forte after they clear off the old spectras...still got alot stock.and the price is around 70K from what they said...and first few batch might be CBU model. they also said local factory also assembling them already.
skybar
post Aug 15 2009, 10:27 AM

Validating

ur rite. that's the problem with naza over stock cars, 3 yrs later give heavy discount. if forte launched b4 raya still can consider to buy. if launching is end of the year cannot buy becoz u will get a 2009 manufactured car registered in 2010.
JunZhun
post Aug 16 2009, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(xshiro @ Aug 13 2009, 12:42 PM)
if they are bringing in 1.6 only...then it cannot be a civic competitor..

unless you are talking about the 2.0 model which i heard many times that naza wont bring it in...
Some of the reviews & forums said it's a direct competitor to civic & altis becoz they are all c-segment (compact) car. Whereas city & vios are sub-compact car. The classification is in terms of car dimensions not engine size.

Comparison of car dimensions (L x W x H) :

1. Forte 1.6 (singapore ver) = 4530 x 1775 x 1460 mm, kerb weight 1326 kg
2. Civic 1.8 = 4540 x 1755 x 1435 mm, kerb weight 1240 kg
3. City 1.5 = 4395 x 1715 x 1470 mm, kerb weight 1140 kg

Comparison of engine size:

1.Forte 1.6 (singapore ver) = capacity 1591 cc, power 122 PS (92 kW), torque 156 Nm
2. Civic 1.8 = capacity 1799 cc, power 140 PS (103 kW), torque 174 Nm
3. City 1.5 = capacity 1497 cc, power 120 PS (88 kW), torque 145 Nm

So from the spec comparison above, i think it's fair to say Forte is almost as large as Civic, City is relatively smaller in size; Forte is also the heaviest, but only packed with an engine with output similar to City.

Of course other factors to be considered for buyers are probably the look of a car, the major features, the brand, the price and after sale service. Performance and comfort wise, i think there are plenty of reviews by experts or users that are worth checking.

For myself, i say i quite like the new Forte. smile.gif
amduser
post Aug 16 2009, 06:30 PM

5,542 posts

forte is heavier than city by almost 200KG

i wonder how is the 0-60 and 0-100
skybar
post Aug 16 2009, 06:39 PM

Validating

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 16 2009, 06:30 PM)
forte is heavier than city by almost 200KG

i wonder how is the 0-60 and 0-100
i don't think this car is built for power like the NHC. it's more on the stability and comfort ride. but still the 1.6 can reach up to 180km/hr. as for the 0-60 still unknown. found it from this forum forte top speed
StarGhazzer
post Aug 16 2009, 08:57 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(JunZhun @ Aug 16 2009, 03:35 PM)
Some of the reviews & forums said it's a direct competitor to civic & altis becoz they are all c-segment (compact) car. Whereas city & vios are sub-compact car. The classification is in terms of car dimensions not engine size.

Comparison of car dimensions (L x W x H) :

1. Forte 1.6 (singapore ver) = 4530 x 1775 x 1460 mm, kerb weight 1326 kg
2. Civic 1.8 = 4540 x 1755 x 1435 mm, kerb weight 1240 kg
3. City 1.5 = 4395 x 1715 x 1470 mm, kerb weight 1140 kg

Comparison of engine size:

1.Forte 1.6 (singapore ver) = capacity 1591 cc, power 122 PS (92 kW), torque 156 Nm
2. Civic 1.8 = capacity 1799 cc, power 140 PS (103 kW), torque 174 Nm
3. City 1.5 = capacity 1497 cc, power 120 PS (88 kW), torque 145 Nm

So from the spec comparison above, i think it's fair to say Forte is almost as large as Civic, City is relatively smaller in size; Forte is also the heaviest, but only packed with an engine with output similar to City.

Of course other factors to be considered for buyers are probably the look of a car, the major features, the brand, the price and after sale service. Performance and comfort wise, i think there are plenty of reviews by experts or users that are worth checking.

For myself, i say i quite like the new Forte. smile.gif
Not surprising, since the Forte is originally a C-segment car which comes with a 2.0 engine as a base model. The 1.6 is an old engine that's put in to suit the SEA market. In fact, North America gets the option of an 2.4 with 6 speed manual/5 speed auto while over here we only got 1 engine make to choose from, which is the 2.0.

The 2.0 Forte may have the greatest power in terms of numbers, but according to reviews it's handling and drive experience still lack the finesse compared to Civic and 3; and the 4 speed auto doesn't help. But as mentioned before, it's the overall package that's value for money although the majority of people are still quite reluctant to pay so much for Korean makes.
SUSdantck
post Aug 16 2009, 09:05 PM

1,004 posts

skybar
post Aug 16 2009, 10:08 PM

Validating

bro dantck i think this video applies the the forte 2.4 which is only available to the north america. no way the 1.6 can achieve such great pick up.
hAnn
post Aug 16 2009, 10:46 PM

329 posts

emailed a sales guy of kiamalaysia, told me he got no idea abt the availability of this model in malaysia yet... r we still waiting for it?
skybar
post Aug 16 2009, 11:27 PM

Validating

QUOTE(hAnn @ Aug 16 2009, 10:46 PM)
emailed a sales guy of kiamalaysia, told me he got no idea abt the availability of this model in malaysia yet... r we still waiting for it?
the forte is already inside naza warehouse. they are just waiting to clear off the spectra5 as many as possible b4 launching. but for sure it'll launch by this year.

144 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:55 PM