127 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

PS3 Hardware Defect Problem, discussion on YLOD, lense problem, etc

SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 01:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(monyetbesi @ Oct 15 2009, 01:27 PM)
sean no sad2...remember last time i told u oredi diz wont last long...get ready for getting broke again doh.gif

i know you told me b4..

But still feel sad when it happen again..It's like your loved one just pass away, then you are given a 2nd chance to revived her, but at the end she still left you...the pain.... sad.gif

With so much good take care, and put it in a air-cond room, i still helpless to do anything..WHY ME WHY ME? i keep asking myself cry.gif

So guys do enjoy your gaming time as long as possible, my sincere advise.

snipersnake
post Oct 15 2009, 01:51 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 01:31 PM)
The thing is...Nelson as well as Tim also claimed that the YLOD is due to recent fw update that corrupt my CPU and GPU thus giving wrong instruction to cut-off the cooling fans thus lead to overheat and YLOD...

But i saw your guys post here said that it is a general hardware failure, nothing related to fw update...

Really i dont know what's the real cause of my console that just bought 1 1/2 years....more suffering is...i already bypass the warranty period shakehead.gif

Looks like i gonna save money to buy MY Slim, just like what you said... sad.gif
this is my personal take on this whole fiaso, YLOD, can happen to anyone. Just like AIDS.

its a general hardware error, where the system flashes a generic error and not indicating

the real cause of the error. So far, the most popular reason is the mobo needs to be reheated

so the solders can be rejointed etc. Harddissk boot failure too, is one of the reason.And lets

not rule out the error cause by KO'ed power supply. Very2 general. I have read in various forums,

those people who sent their machines to Sony*read, Sony, the makers of Playstation brand* will 80%

received a refurbished unit. Some of them do receive the same unit. That shows that, even Sony, rules

out the possibility to repair that 80% of the machines. And these people know the machine inside out.

Send refurbished machines to customers, extend the warranty and viola, happy customers.

The only catch here is some of those people send machines with BC feature, and as we all know, Sony

does not produce machines with BC feature now. I leave that to their business strategy team to brainstorm.

In short, even Sony does not repair YLOD 100%. I believe, they only repair those they can repair (aside from overheating prob)

SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 01:59 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 15 2009, 01:51 PM)
this is my personal take on this whole fiaso, YLOD, can happen to anyone. Just like AIDS.

its a general hardware error, where the system flashes a generic error and not indicating

the real cause of the error. So far, the most popular reason is the mobo needs to be reheated

so the solders can be rejointed etc. Harddissk boot failure too, is one of the reason.And lets

not rule out the error cause by KO'ed power supply. Very2 general. I have read in various forums,

those people who sent their machines to Sony*read, Sony, the makers of Playstation brand* will 80%

received a refurbished unit. Some of them do receive the same unit. That shows that, even Sony, rules

out the possibility to repair that 80% of the machines. And these people know the machine inside out.

Send refurbished machines to customers, extend the warranty and viola, happy customers.

The only catch here is some of those people send machines with BC feature, and as we all know, Sony

does not produce machines with BC feature now. I leave that to their business strategy team to brainstorm.

In short, even Sony does not repair YLOD 100%. I believe, they only repair those they can repair (aside from overheating prob)
Ya that is what i read from other forum too.

Mostly they get refurbished unit when they send back to Sony.

Now watching the video on Slim can also experience the same thing (YLOD), despite with its more cooling mechanism and power saving. I have lost my confident on sony product already. Previously i thought sony product is more reliable coz my ps1 and ps2 still playable without any flaw as at todate but now maybe i need to change my mind... shakehead.gif
snipersnake
post Oct 15 2009, 02:09 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 01:59 PM)
Ya that is what i read from other forum too.

Mostly they get refurbished unit when they send back to Sony.

Now watching the video on Slim can also experience the same thing (YLOD), despite with its more cooling mechanism and power saving. I have lost my confident on sony product already. Previously i thought sony product is more reliable coz my ps1 and ps2 still playable without any flaw as at todate but now maybe i need to change my mind...  shakehead.gif
exactly, my ps2 is still serivng me well, after 7 years. bought her in 2002. I only changed the lens. other than that, the thing runs as it was running 7 years ago.

the thing is, Sony was aiming to lower down production cost. Then , this initiative from them also carries issues like cheap parts, cheap labor, etc. Its one heck of a machine, but, what good is a Ferrari when driven with Proton brakes?
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 02:57 PM

51 posts

haizz...uncharted 2 is ady release....last week got YLOD....too bad luck...damn...
SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 02:59 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 02:57 PM)
haizz...uncharted 2 is ady release....last week got YLOD....too bad luck...damn...
i already pre-order the game and by right i can receive it this monday but my console died on me 1 days before that date.

Pretty f***ing desperate, isn't it? vmad.gif
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 03:05 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 02:59 PM)
i already pre-order the game and by right i can receive it this monday but my console died on me 1 days before that date.

Pretty f***ing desperate, isn't it? vmad.gif
huhu....so ur ps3 is send to sony??? ur 1 is 40GB ver also??
SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 03:12 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:05 PM)
huhu....so ur ps3 is send to sony??? ur 1 is 40GB ver also??
out of warranty already..send to local gameshop for repairing atm.

Mine one is 40GB SG set.
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 03:15 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 03:12 PM)
out of warranty already..send to local gameshop for repairing atm.

Mine one is 40GB SG set.
same with me...SG set...how much u repair?? 1st time send to repair??
SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 03:19 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:15 PM)
same with me...SG set...how much u repair?? 1st time send to repair??
looks like apart from well know 20GB and 60GB, now more and more 40GB being hit by YLOD...

RM300 repair cost. Now is my 2nd time send over already. 1st time being revived for 10 days only. Now 2nd time YLODed but luckily no need to pay since under "repairing warranty" (lol, got such term? tongue.gif ).
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 03:25 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 03:19 PM)
looks like apart from well know 20GB and 60GB, now more and more 40GB being hit by YLOD...

RM300 repair cost. Now is my 2nd time send over already. 1st time being revived for 10 days only. Now 2nd time YLODed but luckily no need to pay since under "repairing warranty" (lol, got such term? tongue.gif ).
ya...now is more 40GB being hit by YLOD...haizzz...
repairing warranty?? sound good...hehe...got how many days warranty?
me here repair more cheap RM250 but no repairing warranty..tongue.gif
i m thinking where should i sent to repair...sony or local shop??? cause my system is juz 1n the half year old...sad...
how u get ur 1st YLOD???
SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 03:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:25 PM)
ya...now is more 40GB being hit by YLOD...haizzz...
repairing warranty?? sound good...hehe...got how many days warranty?
me here repair more cheap RM250 but no repairing warranty..tongue.gif
i m thinking where should i sent to repair...sony or local shop??? cause my system is juz 1n the half year old...sad...
how u get ur 1st YLOD???
30 days of "repairing warranty" (still find funny of this term tongue.gif ).

What a coincidence. Mine one also bought 1 1/2 years..I think yours is SG set right? if you sent to Sony here, they will charge you transportation cost to be sent over Sg there to repair..be ready for the cost incurred wink.gif

it is out of a sudden i encountered YLOD. No symptoms at all. sad.gif
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 03:46 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 03:38 PM)
30 days of "repairing warranty" (still find funny of this term tongue.gif ).

What a coincidence. Mine one also bought 1 1/2 years..I think yours is SG set right? if you sent to Sony here, they will charge you transportation cost to be sent over Sg there to repair..be ready for the cost incurred wink.gif

it is out of a sudden i encountered YLOD. No symptoms at all. sad.gif
ic...my cousin is live at SG...so i can ask her to help me...hehe....
but dunno how much SONY will charge.....
if not juz take the Slim ver...haha...but slim ver is still in the early stage...haizzz...hard to make decision...

SeanWong
post Oct 15 2009, 03:53 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:46 PM)
if not juz take the Slim ver...haha...but slim ver is still in the early stage...haizzz...hard to make decision...
if like that good luck to you. Probably you will get a refurbished unit if they can't repair your machine.

if wanna buy slim wait until this month end (31/10) for the launching of MY set. See how much they sell. Then you can made decision there nod.gif

This post has been edited by SeanWong: Oct 15 2009, 03:53 PM
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 03:58 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 03:53 PM)
if like that good luck to you. Probably you will get a refurbished unit if they can't repair your machine.

if wanna buy slim wait until this month end (31/10) for the launching of MY set. See how much they sell. Then you can made decision there nod.gif
ic...thanks for ur sharing n help bro....smile.gif
monyetbesi
post Oct 15 2009, 04:20 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Oct 15 2009, 03:53 PM)

ur time same like me 1 year back then...during det time in posa last year...KZ2 kuar RES2 oso kuar...dem btol vmad.gif
squall_12
post Oct 15 2009, 04:35 PM

1,779 posts

hi guy,

so far how many lowyat member got this YLOD virus? it seem to be getting more n more this days.
snipersnake
post Oct 15 2009, 04:42 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:46 PM)
expect to pay around sgd200+- = rm500

dattebayo
post Oct 15 2009, 04:57 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Crazyday723 @ Oct 15 2009, 09:43 AM)
this is one and only one case I have heard of so far. And he already got a replacement unit.
some people in PS forums even thought he is from Xbox camp, and say he purposely put the PS3 into an oven and then turn it on

Added on October 15, 2009, 5:17 pmactually, my personal opinion is, for those 40GB holders which has been YLODed, just go out and buy the PS3 slim, never bother to repair anymore. After you paid RM300 to get a fix, but it still come back to you few months later, what gives?

I feel relieved for post 2008 80GB batch where very very very rare YLOD has been detected thus far, guess Sony has improved the structure design, hopefully the Slim can further that improvement.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 15 2009, 05:17 PM
Crazyday723
post Oct 15 2009, 05:18 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 15 2009, 04:42 PM)
expect to pay around sgd200+- = rm500
ic...i juz wait the SLIM MY ver release n c the price how...
cause i still love the phat 1...huhu...

127 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:34 PM