28 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 01:21 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sonic_darkknight @ Oct 20 2009, 01:15 PM)
ermmm....maybe i wasn't making my own statement clearly earlier, i'm not comparing between 865pe and i875p, i was asking for both these chipsets, which mobo model are the best for overclocking?thanks
Go to the highest end mobo on both chipset, guarantee you will have the good result.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 02:41 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 20 2009, 02:06 PM)
i use 865, and i can oc my 2.4 presscott to 2.8 easily
Prescott is easier to o/c. Your proc can even go higher than 2.8GHz.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 08:10 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sonic_darkknight @ Oct 20 2009, 08:04 PM)
sure i know the high end mobo will perform the best...thats why i asked the mobo model lor...... doh.gif
Why not you go to google by yourself if you know that well. doh.gif

Added on October 20, 2009, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Oct 20 2009, 03:26 PM)
spam !! doh.gif

well oc depends on the mobo and i got crap mobo

oc to high numbers depends on your hardware..

i want my hardware to last long, so i stopped OC.. hope this rig runs longer than long
Hardware can last long depends on the usage too. Our P4 is really aging already,has been here for about a decade.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Oct 20 2009, 08:12 PM
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 08:39 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 20 2009, 08:32 PM)
do you guys think 2x512mb for rm100 is a good deal?
Get value or performance RAM from someone? If performance RAM is worth,else value RAM is slightly higher in price.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 08:53 PM

5,341 posts

Yup RM40-45 should be reasonable for a stick of 512MM of value RAM.Are you going for another 1GB for your system?
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 09:02 AM

5,341 posts

Someone seems like eying on the spare parts already,maybe he has a good mobo around.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 01:09 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 11:36 AM)
reported to v8.  rclxms.gif

pentium 4 prescott.
Welcome to the old school club.

Added on October 21, 2009, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(ravewar @ Oct 21 2009, 11:45 AM)
what's the ram requirement for Win7 to work without problems/lag? biggrin.gif
Try to have 2GB RAM at least,if not you will suffer.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Oct 21 2009, 01:11 PM
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 04:39 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Oct 21 2009, 02:07 PM)
P4 Fan is a really loud rite..? just like blending machine.. but sure will make u feel more xcited.huh3 icon_idea.gif
I'm using Delta fan here,it is even louder.

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 03:25 PM)
bro, what's the best spec of p4 cpu here? may i noe?? i'm looking forward to upgrade my pentium 4 rig. =)  rclxms.gif  icon_question.gif
Opps,the best one would be P4 3.4EE

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 21 2009, 04:22 PM)
yeah, i'm currently using the 64bit version, for normal usage alreay more than 1gb.
best is 4gb tongue.gif
Your proc can support 64bits,that's why you recommend 4GB of RAM.P4 cannot support 64bits OS man.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 08:12 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 21 2009, 04:43 PM)
oh yeah, forgot about that 64bit thing sweat.gif
if not mistaken socket 775 P4s can support 64bit right?
use to see the EM64T thingy on cpu systems specs last time..

if 32bit might as well make the full use of it, go for 3gb ram laugh.gif
3GB RAM in 32bits Proc is just nice.

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 04:43 PM)
anyone tested windows 7 yet on their p4 rig? how bout it? i read a review about a windows 7 os is installed on p3 rig and can run. =)

Added on October 21, 2009, 4:44 pmanyone tested windows 7 yet on their p4 rig? how bout it? i read a review about a windows 7 os is installed on p3 rig and can run. =)

Added on October 21, 2009, 4:45 pmsorry. typo there.  sweat.gif  doh.gif
I'm using that on my rig too. No problem so far. P3 can run but is it smooth enough to run?

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 21 2009, 05:33 PM)
not yet.. but from my experience..

last time i install Vista on one of my P4

P4 northwood, 512MB with integrate SIS graphic(32mb)... try check for the spec on the 1st page

it can't run vista smoothly(50% cpu usage, 80% mem usage || average), but it can run vista...

so, a
-P4 2.0Ghz
-2GB
-ATI9550/GeForce FX5600

that can run vista smoothly, got aero theme anot i tak tau la..
P4 with integrated display would be a cons in Win7 or Vista because the their aero t effects are really high graphics depmanding.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 10:00 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 09:56 PM)
ok. for those who wish to have windows 7 on their rig. please download this first.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

windows 7 upgrade advisor

i'm just running windows 7 theme in my xp. but sometimes i changed my mind to just straightaway install windows 7  sweat.gif

but

obviously the driver should be my main problem. don want to take risk since i'm quite unsure about that. doh.gif
Running Win7 themes in Win XP ? Maybe you will need to let the themes be installed first. Windows 7 advisor says ok with your current rig?
TSraymond5105
post Oct 21 2009, 10:25 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 21 2009, 10:06 PM)
Put in only lah.
I've seen people with 1.0 score for graphics and yet they still using it without complains.

Lol,1.0 score only use without complaint. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 10:14 PM)
i dunno yet. my rig is at my uni. since i'm in holiday, so i'm in my hometown using another komp.  doh.gif

did you tried it yet??

p/s the theme is just windowsblind theme. i worked to find it lol.  whistling.gif  sweat.gif
I'm using Win7 with my 3.2GHz rig,no problem. Tried to play Frozen Throne too!
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 09:00 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 21 2009, 10:31 PM)
raymond5105--> can you list your spec.  notworthy.gif

i also want to see either my pc will works on windows 7 or not.  rclxub.gif
My 3.2Ghz rig is as under my signature there.

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:05 PM)
those advisor says okay to almost all rig..

last time i do a experiment on a P3 rig..

it say okay, can use, then i format cannot format, so i bring it to a c2d rig to format vista..

but after finish formating, i put that hdd back to that P3, the mobo burnt terus after booting  doh.gif

so, dont belive those advisor
HDD burnt your P3 mobo?What a sad case.Impossible that the OS not allow you yo format your disk.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 01:10 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 22 2009, 09:12 AM)
powerful pentium 4 rig there.  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Not really powerful,we have some members here which is more high end in their rigs.

QUOTE(edministrator @ Oct 22 2009, 10:52 AM)
will install win7 starter in my P4M 2.0Ghz with 512mb ram soon, looking 4ward to report back here.
Opps,shifting to Win7 already? RTM version?

@khai84siong,HD4650 is a wiser choice. Don't worry with the memory on the card,since it is on DDR2 only it will not go high in RAM freq. 128bits and 256bits are different in bandwidth,the higher the better. The cooler on card is seems like very low profile. You may get a better cooler to cool it down.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 01:24 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Oct 22 2009, 01:18 PM)
bt then if i gt a cooler then the price would be near the x1950pro ad, so would a 4650 still a better choice between 4650 and x1950pro?
further more for a new gc, if u install another vga cooler would the warranty void?
Hmm...I guess it's bettter to take HD4650 as it has newer technology. Have no idea if the warranty will void when installing a 3rd party cooler.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 06:23 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Oct 22 2009, 01:59 PM)
@khai84siong,

just get the 4650. don't worry about the cooling, it is using new tech so the power consumption should be lesser, hence less heat also.

Using win7 ultimate rtm on my lappy since july, dl 24/7 non stop since then. will find time after my download queues are done, then try starter. starter less requirement and less resource hungry also. hope to gain some speed there, hehe.
Haha,good to hear that the P4M is capable to run well in Win7 Ultimate. I see my proc is always busy to process something,guess is the background themes from dekstop.

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 22 2009, 02:01 PM)
er.. plz dont mind if i ask this.  doh.gif  what is rtm. and starter
rtm= release to manufacturing ...starter pack should be something lite from the full version,not too sure with it too!

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Oct 22 2009, 02:50 PM)
@raymond,edministrator,sirlordwanz
thx guys for the reply
i guess i'll stick with 4650 then ^^
thank you for helping me ^^
No problem,go for HD4650. I bet you will be very happy with it.

QUOTE(sirlordwanz @ Oct 22 2009, 03:07 PM)
welcome to hd4650 club  icon_rolleyes.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on October 22, 2009, 3:08 pm

anyone wanna help?? i dunno this btw.  doh.gif

Added on October 22, 2009, 3:11 pmi bought the psu already!  icon_rolleyes.gif  rclxm9.gif
The heatsink can be used as long as same socket. No problem.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 09:03 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ Oct 22 2009, 08:57 PM)
I really hope some parts can be salvaged, but I think no one here uses obsolete RDRAM anymore, right?  blush.gif

Mobo would be Intel 850e, and as for hard disk, I have a WD 120GB that serves as a second drive. No software installed, no torrenting (it's done on my main disk). Just movies and songs. So the life cycle should be long.

Basically,

P4 2.53Ghz
384 MB RDRAM
40GB + 120GB HDD
Geforce 4 MX 420 64 MB
15 inch LCD monitor
Really ancient  tongue.gif
This is S478 thread,not S423. Well i have a S423 RDRAM system too! My INtel board gone last time and replaced with Asus P4T-CM,it works great until today.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 22 2009, 11:57 PM

5,341 posts

Got burn smell form your pc?
TSraymond5105
post Oct 23 2009, 07:10 PM

5,341 posts

@toottut89,your PSU issue solved?Decided to grab Huntkey?
TSraymond5105
post Oct 23 2009, 11:50 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 23 2009, 10:51 PM)
best thing about drivers for win7 is Win7 will automatically search in the internet for the hardware drivers, saving users the hassle of goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogling*.
*the O represents the timing needed tos earch for drivers especially old hardwares
They will search drivers from their website with signed version to be installed to your PC.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 24 2009, 02:50 PM

5,341 posts

@ravewar,big project over there ? Nice work log reported.

@khai84siong,you grab a P4P800?Nice board over there. But how come your RAM slot will have problem while on dual channel? Confusing here,the RAM2 culprit? Single channel seems to be working well,but could it be timing issue? Dual channel testing,maybe you can put the CL from 2 to 2.5?

28 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0863sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:26 PM