28 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

TSraymond5105
post Oct 14 2009, 08:58 AM

5,341 posts

I see someone letting go Viewsonic 22" inches which is < 6 months for RM450 only.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 14 2009, 10:22 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Oct 14 2009, 06:39 PM)
im using 17" CRT

all my taikor here using so big screen
I'm using 17" inches LCD only. sad.gif
TSraymond5105
post Oct 15 2009, 09:07 AM

5,341 posts

CRT was quite expensive last time and do not mention about LCD even a 15" inches one. rolleyes.gif I used to have the same model with you too.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 15 2009, 01:09 PM

5,341 posts

@powerwoot,so many S478 procs you have.The PSU wise you have one only,need extra one? Lol.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 15 2009, 09:01 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 15 2009, 03:30 PM)
raymond got extra psu is it?
I have an extra PSU which is working fine. It is a cap ayam psu with 350w. You need extra psu? It's not with me now and i plan to let go in in the future after i grab it from my hometown.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 16 2009, 08:59 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 16 2009, 05:10 AM)
i wanna ask ah? im using p4 s478 2.6ghz. how come when i play 1080p movie, it lags? but atom can handle it?

i'm not a pro but can it be because
1)of under powered PSU to push juice for my processor?
2) my mobo fan socket rosak then the fan is not properly placed and my processor is at around 65-70degree when i check at the bios there.

sifus sekalian, please help me in this. arigatogozaima, terima kasih, tor che, kam siah, xie xie, thank you, gracias. smile.gif
You might try to use core AVC and MPC Home Cinema Edition,this will reduce the load from CPU. thumbup.gif
TSraymond5105
post Oct 16 2009, 09:19 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 16 2009, 05:17 PM)
Normal 720p HD sure can, should try ballz out 1080p vids tongue.gif
I think 3.0GHz rig might be suffering a bit on 1080p. It's pointless if we do not have large screen for 1080p playback too!
TSraymond5105
post Oct 16 2009, 09:55 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 16 2009, 09:49 PM)
dang even 3.0ghz can suffer for 1080p?
then i think i rather save money and get an low end HTPC or something for HDmovies.
You may try and see cause i don't play any 1080p movies on my rig currently. Using 17" inches non-wide screen LCD only.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 16 2009, 10:09 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 16 2009, 09:58 PM)
anyhow, is there any recommendation on s478 cpu cooler?
am looking for one because im gonna oc my 2.6 to maybe 2.8 or maybe 3.0 also?
Your 2.6 version is Northwood version,can o/c to those speed without upgrading the cooler. My current 2.8 Northwood is o/c to run at 3.3GHz daily.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 16 2009, 10:59 PM

5,341 posts

Usign so good mobo also can hang? You use auto o/c in bios mode is it? You better use manual mode Lock the AGP and PCI ratio to fix.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 17 2009, 03:03 PM

5,341 posts

Opps, file compression discussion here too! Well this topic has attracted many sifu to discuss here. Mr. edmin is giving the more accurate explanation on what is a HD file.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 17 2009, 04:13 PM

5,341 posts

@edmin,thanks for supporting this old school thread.

@Jcsy,what will happen if we decode to a bigger file. I would expect more noise in the movie itself.

@prasys, this old school Pentium 4 doesn't have Nvidia 8 series on AGP. So we will still need to depend on the good software and cpu resources to support HD playback.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 17 2009, 06:55 PM

5,341 posts

PS3 is portable while HTPC is PRO for HT movies. Depends on what you are looking for actually.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 18 2009, 11:52 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 18 2009, 02:03 AM)
there's mobo that uses pci-e but still on socket 478, like we've discussed many times before. possibly some users might be using that smile.gif
the new coreavc has an option to use cuda acceleration, which i think should make the graphic card work more, and even less load on the proc, which is a good thing biggrin.gif
Old school board with PCI-e slot? I think if putting a 8 series like 8600GT or GTS is still fine. Else if thinking to put 8800GT/GTS cam just forget about it cause the serious bottleneck is there with Pentium 4.

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 18 2009, 02:16 AM)
raymond, dont forget.. ATI got powerful card which is running AGP
Hmm...Not to say powerful but slightly better offer from Nvidia in AGP. The best AGP we have from ATI is HD4650 from Gigabyte which we posted last time.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 18 2009, 04:19 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 18 2009, 04:09 PM)
just to recall...

P4 3.2HT + Biostar P4M900-M4 +9600/9800GT overkill all!!
Haha, absolutely overkill.I think currently no one here is using the Biostar mobo with that GCs.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 19 2009, 11:41 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Oct 19 2009, 03:28 AM)
who here is very good in overclocking, i need guide, i went to the OC thread, they are all talking about c2d,c2q,xeons and far greater processors like i7 and etc already. so i need someone from here to teach me please smile.gif
Need to o/c your proc? Go slow and increase your FSB,remember to lock your AGP and PCI ratio to fix 66/33.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 19 2009, 02:19 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Oct 19 2009, 12:11 PM)
Depending on mobo how it called and how it works, my bios called it as fsb i.e 200 multiplier of 12.5 =  2500mhz default. To overclock it I am increasing the fsb from 200 to 240 x12.5 = 3000mhz, the highest stable I can succeed was 270 = 3375mhz, higher than that windows not so stable edi. My pci voltage are currently locked. Maybe in your case your mobo does not so friendly in oc, time to change to new one hehe
Your G31 chipset is limiting on the o/c,that it is a value LGA775 mobo from MSI, On P4 side,there is no 0.5 increment on the multiplier.They are only round value available.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 19 2009, 05:43 PM

5,341 posts

Old parts are hard to get,it is better to maintain them well if want to use for a longer time.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 12:39 PM

5,341 posts

P4 Prescott is more easier in overclocking compare to Northwood. Running at 3.8GHz should see a huge gap different in old school games.
TSraymond5105
post Oct 20 2009, 01:08 PM

5,341 posts

I would say both chipsets are good in overclocking.You have good mobo with you?

28 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:20 AM