University Questionaire for Going to Overseas

TSmagentus2002
post Apr 22 2009, 10:07 PM, updated 17y ago

153 posts

Dear All Beloved Lowyat Supporter,

The main purpose for me to open this topic is try to get as many questions and answer for students who wanted to go to overseas but there have queries.

E.G.

1) Where shall I go to further my studies - UK, AUS, USA, Canada or China

2) How much is the living expenses overseas

3) What is so good about overseas.

Please type in your questions into this topic and I will try to give you the best answer.

Looking forward for All your reply.

Plz only for Students who are serious in going overseas.

Kind Regards

Magentus
SUShako
post Apr 22 2009, 11:58 PM

245 posts

1) if money is no problem, UK in my pov
2)it differ from countries, unis, locations, etc
3)having a better experience? better quality?
RUI
post Apr 23 2009, 12:46 AM

722 posts

UK FTW...
i'm currently in scotland...havin a good time here...
i'll say living d first world country is really different...and d experience is not able to b describe using words...
simplicity1224
post Apr 23 2009, 01:00 AM

283 posts

What do you think of going community college?? Is it worth going there?
Btw Magentus, where are you currently? Malaysia or overseas? biggrin.gif
Ojimaru
post Apr 23 2009, 10:20 AM

561 posts

Depends on what language you know or willing to spend at least a year learning, what subject you plan to take and what you can afford.

2) How much is the living expenses overseas

Depends on where you live: Nasi Lemak is RM4.50 in Taman Tun but RM6+ in KL.

Example, for Sheffield, UK:
Rent: £45 - £65 /week (lower the further away from the city centre and Uni you get)
Food: £30/week (assumes I don't eat out, buy from the market in town and make my own three meals a day)
Utility Bills: Greatly varies depending on number of housemates, provider, usage, etc.

3) What is so good about overseas.

You learn of at least one other culture. This will make you less an ignorant American and a more informed person. Television and music can only tell you so much about a different country; actually living there will give you a much bigger picture. You adopt the good and be aware of the bad, and if you do ever care to come back to Malaysia you'll bring those lessons with you.
Angel01
post Apr 23 2009, 10:43 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

i would really want to go to the UK to experience their culture.
Waiting for jpa.!

This post has been edited by Angel01: Apr 23 2009, 10:43 AM
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 23 2009, 07:48 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(hako @ Apr 23 2009, 12:58 AM)
1) if money is no problem, UK in my pov
2)it differ from countries, unis, locations, etc
3)having a better experience? better quality?
I understand money is always the problem for everyone. For you information, you can probably try twinning program. This will save you more money rather than going there directly.

There are many college in Malaysia which give overseas twinning program. What course are you interested ? and Where are you living currently.

You will get different exposure which I can guarantee because UK have a different culture and also weather. This will allow you to gain experience and to be more independent.
C-Note
post Apr 23 2009, 07:49 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

HKU?
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 23 2009, 07:49 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(simplicity1224 @ Apr 23 2009, 02:00 AM)
What do you think of going community college?? Is it worth going there?
Btw Magentus, where are you currently? Malaysia or overseas? biggrin.gif
Do you mean community college in UK? Most of the community college provide course like english and nothing specialist. I am currently in Malaysia. I just got back from UK. I have been living there for 8 years.

You are more than welcome to PM me if you need any personal advice which you don't want to share in the forum

Added on April 23, 2009, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Apr 23 2009, 11:20 AM)
Depends on what language you know or willing to spend at least a year learning, what subject you plan to take and what you can afford.

Rent: £45 - £65 /week (lower the further away from the city centre and Uni you get)
Food: £30/week (assumes I don't eat out, buy from the market in town and make my own three meals a day)
Utility Bills: Greatly varies depending on number of housemates, provider, usage, etc.
You learn of at least one other culture. This will make you less an ignorant American and a more informed person. Television and music can only tell you so much about a different country; actually living there will give you a much bigger picture. You adopt the good and be aware of the bad, and if you do ever care to come back to Malaysia you'll bring those lessons with you.
Great Reply, Where are you based in UK.

Added on April 23, 2009, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Apr 23 2009, 08:49 PM)
HKU?
Hi there,

Are you in HKU?

What course are you taking?

Added on April 23, 2009, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(Angel01 @ Apr 23 2009, 11:43 AM)
i would really want to go to the UK to experience their culture.
Waiting for jpa.!
What is JPA ?

This post has been edited by magentus2002: Apr 23 2009, 08:12 PM
rayz91
post Apr 23 2009, 08:16 PM

64 posts

I would like to know about the living expenses in UK. As we know rate of Sterling is high, lets say i spend about rm500 on food per month here at around ss15 subang jaya..how much will i spend in UK..for food.

Can also state down the rental rate there if possible..thanks =)
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 23 2009, 08:20 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(rayz91 @ Apr 23 2009, 09:16 PM)
I would like to know about the living expenses in UK. As we know rate of Sterling is high, lets say i spend about rm500 on food per month here at around ss15 subang jaya..how much will i spend in UK..for food.

Can also state down the rental rate there if possible..thanks =)
It depend where you are living. You will pay higher in London. Average the rental is about 150-250 pounds per month.

Then the food you can easily spend up to 70-100 pounds per month.

Where are you looking to go to study
rayz91
post Apr 23 2009, 08:28 PM

64 posts

University of Reading perhaps?
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 23 2009, 08:47 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(rayz91 @ Apr 23 2009, 09:28 PM)
University of Reading perhaps?
Thank you for your reply. If you look at the map, Reading is located very near to london so you will be expecting to pay an additional 30%-40% to what i have mention.

kind regards
rayz91
post Apr 24 2009, 04:29 PM

64 posts

Thanks for the information..cheers =)
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 24 2009, 08:39 PM

153 posts

Please also recommend your friends who wish to go to UK about this forum. I will be able to ans question on visa application as well.

Looking forward for your reply

Added on April 26, 2009, 7:10 amAr there really so little students who is going to overseas

This post has been edited by magentus2002: Apr 26 2009, 07:10 AM
jasperng
post Apr 26 2009, 10:13 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

I have many photostated textbooks which I would love to bring it with me to UK. What is the best way to do that ? I fear that it will be confiscated for plagiarism

Also, should I buy book in Malaysia or UK ? which one is cheaper or is it the same ?

Should I use courier service to send my text book ? which courier company is recommended for UK ? DHL ?

Added on April 26, 2009, 10:17 pmcan you tell me which universities in UK is renowned for e n e field ? I have applied
sheffield university
southampton university
birmingham
manchester
bristol
loughborough

I am applying for taught master course btw.

what else should I apply ?

This post has been edited by jasperng: Apr 26 2009, 10:19 PM
TSmagentus2002
post Apr 27 2009, 06:25 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 26 2009, 11:13 PM)
I have many photostated textbooks which I would love to bring it with me to UK. What is the best way to do that ? I fear that it will be confiscated for plagiarism

For your text book - how many books are you bringing, if it is only 1 or 2 it is alright. Besides, are u serious u wan to bring books because u will only have 30 kg limitation, dun overload as they will charge u

Also, should I buy book in Malaysia or UK ? which one is cheaper or is it the same ?

In uk there is alot of website which you can buy cheaper book e.g. www.amazon.co.uk and waterstones. Waterstone provide 10% discount for students. Besides, during ur course, ur lecturer will provide you recommended book to read for your course and that time u can decide whether to buy or not.

Should I use courier service to send my text book ? which courier company is recommended for UK ?  DHL ?

You can send ur text book if u feel it is really a trouble DHL or Fedex are good enough but i don't recommend because it cost money and u rather buy the book in UK. Check how much the price is in UK first, u probably decide to buy there.

Added on April 26, 2009, 10:17 pmcan you tell me which universities in UK is renowned for e n e field  ? I have applied
sheffield university
southampton university
birmingham
manchester
bristol
loughborough

I am applying for taught master course btw.

what else should I apply ?
-Nos-
post Apr 27 2009, 08:43 AM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

I'm transferring to USA this fall.

2) How much is the living expenses there?

3) I had offers from 3 universities, namely University of Illinois, Minnesota and Purdue.
Maybe you can suggest to me which one should i pick? I'm doing Psychology major.
wong_lilly
post Apr 27 2009, 09:54 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Apr 23 2009, 09:20 AM)

totally agree with this. icon_rolleyes.gif

tv or reading a lot about a country is not the same as living there.
another thing is online qualifications is not taken seriously by major companies in malaysia and even in singapore.
better choose fully recognised colleges only. fyi singapore government is even more selective than malaysia.
reynna
post Apr 27 2009, 02:32 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(magentus2002 @ Apr 24 2009, 08:39 PM)
Please also recommend your friends who wish to go to UK about this forum. I will be able to ans question on visa application as well.

Looking forward for your reply
Interested to know about UK.
What is the latest requirement for visa application esp. on money needed in bank account?
let say we want to go without any sponsorship, how much money should we have before hand for visa application to be approve.
given situation, where parents also already retired. so parents money also is out of picture.
but we're planning to be working there. e.g husband go there for studying, and wife eligible to work fulltime.
should the wife should be applying for work while still in malaysia, or can apply when already arrive there?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:37 PM