5,989 posts

Something we can only dream about...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXZEEouAqWo&feature=related
jchong
post Feb 10 2011, 08:37 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 10 2011, 09:34 AM)
I saw Goldmund Telos 1000s in there.

There are quite a number of Telos 1000 owners in Malaysia. I was told that there is 1 Telos 5000 owner. Wonder whether it is the Penang elite audiophile. RM1mil power amp!
Didn't know there was such a following for Goldmund locally. Only for the well heeled smile.gif

I wonder what speakers would require a Telos 5000? Then again it's probably for bragging rights tongue.gif

Then I read about this amp: http://www.extravaganzi.com/pivetta-opera-...sive-amplifier/ WOW...
jchong
post Feb 23 2011, 12:02 PM

5,989 posts

ronaldkwok, wow how many books do you have?
jchong
post Mar 3 2011, 10:06 AM

5,989 posts

Very nice shuto1. The finish on SFs are always something to behold.

So what's gonna happen to the Cremonas?
jchong
post Mar 20 2011, 10:32 AM

5,989 posts

mpyw, glad to see your HT room up and running.

Hey, time to go for full HD pj with such a big screen smile.gif
jchong
post Apr 5 2011, 09:05 PM

5,989 posts

Nice. The new speakers must be a big step up in performance.
jchong
post Apr 8 2011, 12:04 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Apr 7 2011, 09:37 PM)
Nope. Old tweeters still with me. Odd is that they sent it from their HQ and not from Asiasound.

Saw the bill. Tweeters $40 x 2. Shipping $50. All FOC.  rclxm9.gif
Maybe Asia Sound doesn't stock parts, so easier if they just send direct from HQ.

Good that all was FOC. That should be the way during warranty coverage. I guess you have to DIY to replace the tweeter?
jchong
post Apr 14 2011, 09:53 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Apr 13 2011, 08:45 PM)
no more floating center speaker ka ka  tongue.gif

[attachmentid=2154305]
Ha-ha, that was your signature man!

New rack looks nice too.
jchong
post May 10 2011, 02:00 PM

5,989 posts

Nice price. I saw this forumer also selling Unic screen: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1421362
jchong
post May 19 2011, 12:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ck_mon @ May 19 2011, 12:04 PM)
what it means very risky?  sad.gif
Not enough ventilation for the amp at the bottom.
jchong
post May 28 2011, 06:10 PM

5,989 posts

Nice setup you have there AlamakLor.

Will be nice to see it put together and finally you can achieve your HT bliss!
jchong
post Jun 13 2011, 04:54 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ May 28 2011, 06:21 PM)
I will be using 2'x4'x2" panels filled with 2'x4' 100lb density rock wool.

Would a 4" thick panel be better? I normally see recommendations for 4", seldom for 2".
jchong
post Jun 13 2011, 04:58 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ May 29 2011, 07:58 PM)
hope u can share your log with pics.. I'm shifting to a bigger place so need some inspiration on setting up a dedicated room. Also a neat freak and hate wires hanging all over.

Managed to check out bro mpyw's castle.. I think in terms of wiring and speaker stealth mode it is one of the best I've seen so far smile.gif all wires are hidden and even the speaker can't be seen.
pierreye's HT room is also very neat. He allocated a space about 3' (I think) from the front wall and built a frame/partition there to mount the screen. All the front speakers/sub/equipment is hidden behind that frame/partition.
jchong
post Jul 6 2011, 08:13 AM

5,989 posts

Nice and clean setup bro.

The purple is psychedelic!
jchong
post Jul 16 2011, 07:46 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 16 2011, 12:08 AM)
anyone here with DSX setup? i've read some mixes reviews regarding DSX wide. some say it's very good...some say it gives weird sound (http://homecinemaguru.com/?p=1182)..
what do you guys think? is it worth to spend extra cash on an AVR with DSX?
I've heard a DSX setup at htkaki's place. The soundfield is wider and the ambient effects are more enveloping. If I were to nitpick, perhaps the location of certain sound effects are not so pinpoint or accurate.

You must realise that DSX is artificially manipulating the soundfield to enhance it. The studio normally just mixes 5.1 channels - DSX expands this to another 2 or 4 channels (front wide or front wide+high). So if a person uses the 5.1 studio mix as a reference then of course the DSX may sound 'weird'.
jchong
post Jul 18 2011, 07:43 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Jul 17 2011, 08:05 AM)
Bro, this thread only have 42 pages so far, where got page 71  tongue.gif  but I did help you find your setup to reflesh our memory http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000020/+1403 Nice  wub.gif
The number of pages depends on how many posts you choose to display per page. Your setting and his setting might be diff, hence the number of pages in total might be diff.
jchong
post Jul 20 2011, 07:40 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jul 20 2011, 01:35 AM)
Current:

I see you moved your setup over to the long wall of the room.

Question about your rear speakers - wouldn't it be better to have them at 90 deg facing the seats directly? Currently they are firing into the middle of the room.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jul 20 2011, 07:42 AM
jchong
post Jul 25 2011, 10:12 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jul 25 2011, 12:40 PM)
Anybody here in LYN here is expertise in making a good home theater when I give a budget? Mind to PM me?
Easiest is to state your budget here and what items you're looking for and let everybody give suggestions.
jchong
post Jul 28 2011, 10:46 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Jul 28 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hi all ht sifus:
Just got my projector and did d setup, but found a bit dizzy after watching d screen for a while especially for fast moving scene. Is just an adaptation period or I just too near to d screen? My watching distance is about 8' for a 90" screen. Thanks.
You're too near the screen. As mentioned above your viewing angle is 44 deg, which is too much.

Try moving back to 11'.
jchong
post Aug 4 2011, 03:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(AioliadeKL @ Aug 4 2011, 10:58 AM)
Thanks for all the advice, I ll see this week end to re-arrange the speakers set-up and re-calibrate the Onkyo accordingly :-)
FYI, I also have back in France (Not enough place last X-Mas to bring them back) a 2nd pair of S60 Surr for a 7.0 Set-up...Let see during next Trip...
I mentioned 7.0 coz No Sub in place, Why ? Coz I m not so big fan of Bass and so far the Bass Speaker included into the Front Speakers were doing their Job...But since we moved in this New Appartment, and this bigger Living Room...I thinking of may be putting One...Let see...
You're missing out a lot of movie effects without a subwoofer. You might think you're not such a big fan of bass, but I believe a subwoofer will transform your movie experience. Then you'll be thinking "aiyah should have gotten a subwoofer earlier" smile.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:06 AM