9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Nokia E71 Thread V3, New firmware(v300.21.012) release on NSU

red-queen
post Aug 3 2009, 12:00 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(seale_navy @ Aug 3 2009, 04:44 AM)
oh ok. I understand it now smile.gif

so if the email goes to my spam folder, will I be notified that I have an email?

say for example Gmail. cause I get a lot of spam at my gmail, so it will be a bummer if it does notify me about the spam email.
You can choose which folder you'd like to sync. so if you want to sync your spam folder as well, you can do it. by Default it sync's Inbox and Sent folder if i'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 3 2009, 06:32 AM)
How come my E71 won't sync with Yahoo Mail instantly when there's a mail in my inbox which I've not read? I am using consumer email & i've enabled always sync & sync while roaming.
This is the problem i faced with Nokia Messaging currently. off and on there's abit of delay on receiving the mails. i think the delay is between Nokia Messaging server and Email server. not us and Nokia Messaging.

Well, it's on trial as of now so i guess there's still room for improvement.

if you want something better, you can try Emoze. really instant. but the free version only allows you to register one email account. if you want multiple then you'll need to buy the Pro version for RM50 per year.

red-queen
post Aug 3 2009, 03:26 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(dolphin08 @ Aug 3 2009, 03:05 PM)
ya, would like to know where is this Cardrunner hiding in the phone.. cos quite frust when the batt drain so fast... currently running v v300 n batt nvr last more than 2 days even v low usage...
just connect ur E71 to ur pc via mass storage mode. then search the memory card for cardrunner.

you should be able to see if the file exists in ur memory card. else just do a search on www.google.com

you should be able to find results that shows in which specific folder the files are at.

p/s: you have to configure your windows to show hidden files and folders.
red-queen
post Aug 5 2009, 03:10 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(matt wee @ Aug 5 2009, 11:06 AM)
hey,why i can't use my downloaded theme on my phone?how to transfer to the phone via mass storage?
you're suppose to install it via pc suite sync, not mass storage. if you use mass torage, meaning you're only transfering the .sis files, then you would need to use your application manager to install the .sis files of the theme.

please read through the FAQ on the theme sites, they have lotsa user guides on how to install.
red-queen
post Aug 6 2009, 12:21 PM

1,310 posts

honestly, if the phone can last me 1 day plus i'm happy already.

put it this way, issit really that important that your phone can last 3-4 days? what do you get out of it? to be honest, i feel it's just bragging rights.

as long as my phone can last me 1 full day, then i'm fine with it. charge it when i go to sleep, and good to go for another full day.

how much does a battery cost? RM1xx? lets say if it can last you 1 year before you need to change. that'll be like rm10 a month.

for all you know, you might even be changing your phone before the battery really dies on you.

so what's the big fuss about battery life not lasting for 4-5 days?
red-queen
post Aug 6 2009, 12:42 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 6 2009, 12:30 PM)
reply of the day thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif the most important thing is tat the phone get things done.. like now.. i jus rely on my e71 as my laptop jus got stolen.. lucky some of the important data of mine is in my phone.. guess hav to work from phone now..
thanks, but i really don't mean to insult anybody. just feel that this battery issue is being blown out of proportion.

same here, my phone is my work horse. alot of important data. hence i've made use of all the security features like sms lock etc. hehehe

but i was wondering, what if someone stole my phone, turn it off, took out my sim card, and replace it with theirs. will the sms lock still function?
red-queen
post Aug 6 2009, 03:40 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 6 2009, 02:26 PM)
I purely accept the point of view about the battery life issue, but there are reasons for some people who need the battery life to last. As for me i do travel offen, so if the battery lasting is 1-1.5 days it'll be abit trouble as i encounter my previous PDA which last me 12hrs or 1 day (max), so i'm in the car/plane travelling, the battery is out, communication gets hard for me.

So one of the reason i go for smartphone is the battery life last longer. so i dun get bump in the road / meeting without a phone to use.
Plus If 98% of E71 users claim the bat last 1 day is normal..then everyone accepts it, but there are some people could last for 4-5 days then it's a worth to try / find out what is the reasons to improve the experience of using the phone. So that's why we share here. cool2.gif
definitely agree with you that when you're on the move, battery life is a very important factor. but the prob here is, most of us are saying that our battery last anywhere between 1-2 days. maybe a few lucky ones lasting 4-5 days, yet again we don't know exactly how is their usage.

so since most of us here is getting pretty much the same battery life. i think it's safe to say that it's normal.

but if you still think that you should be getting more, then can try go to NSC and see if they manage to fix the prob. i'll be glad to know if there's a fix for it as well.
red-queen
post Aug 6 2009, 11:21 PM

1,310 posts

while i was free last night messing around with my phone before i went to bed. i found that tsrautostart.exe is running in my background via jbak taskman. so i killed it, charge my phone and went to bed.

unplug my phone charger and went to work at 10am this morning. use my phone like i usually do. now its 11.19pm, and my battery only dropped 1 bar. usually by this time of the day, my battery level is at least 50% used up.

so to those who think your battery is not lasting long enough, try checking if you have the garmin's tsrautostart.exe running on your background.

anyways, if you're really really concern with your battery consumption. just go download nokia's energy profiler and see what is the average consumption. from what i read on the net, on average it's about 0.05w - 0.07w. with tsrautostart.exe the average consumption is around 0.14w. this is double the usage already.

just install the energy profiler to see whats your average consumption. from there then you'll at least be able to find out what is causing the high energy consumption.

Added on August 7, 2009, 12:34 amok, so i downloaded Nokia Energy Profiler and did a few test to verify the actual power consumption and how long can the battery last.

Test 1:
To test what is the average power consumption WITHOUT tsrautostart.exe at background while phone is on standby.

Average Power consumption = 0.05w
Time before battery runs flat = 110 hours (while 1 bar down)

Test 2:
To test what is the average power consumption WITH tsrautostart.exe at background while phone is on standby.

Average Power consumption = 0.13w
Time before battery runs flat = 48 hours (while 1 bar down)

Conclusion:-
Due to the fact that my battery is not at 100%, so lets say if i were to add in another 12 hours to the results. that would mean 60 hours of standby time with tsrautostart.exe running and 122 hours of standby time without tsrautostart.exe running.

with backlight on, the power consumption can go as high as 0.35w. since we have to use our phone for calls, sms's, emails, etc. so lets deduct another 14 hours from the standby hours.

End result would be:
with tsrautostart.exe = +- 46 hours (2 days)
without tsrautostart.exe = +- 108 hours (4 days)

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 7 2009, 12:34 AM
red-queen
post Aug 7 2009, 02:03 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 7 2009, 01:51 AM)
Wat version of garmin r u currently using? Version 5.03 and above can disable from garmin it self lor.. My phone dont hav tsrautostart.exe running.. But i still get 1day and half.. Under very heavy usage tat is... On edge whole day long.. Using it as a modem.. For a good 1 to 2 hour daily... Muahaha.. 4 hour and half till battery flat if continuos using as modem..
this is what i thought....and then i check properly on the internet again. version 5 of garmin as long as you start using garmin, then tsrautostart.exe will start running. you will have to kill the process manually after each time you finish using garmin. disabling on garmin is just to disable it from auto running. but the momeny if you start garmin, the tsrautostart.exe will start as well.

anyways, try installing the nokia energy profiler and check whats your average power consumption. if your average power consumption is low and your battery don't last, then maybe you have a faulty battery.

at least verify if your phone is actually using alot of power or it's the faulty battery.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 7 2009, 02:04 AM
red-queen
post Aug 7 2009, 09:31 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 7 2009, 02:24 AM)
Well, thanks for all the feedback bro, atleast there's some testify on the solution. So if this works than it may really solve E71 owner with Garmin installed.

I'm trying the "disable" function on garmin and see how it last. If it's still not much changes then i think the "killing" process is needed..

Opt 2 that can try out : Deleting the cardrunner is what i heard will "permanently" stop the tsrautostart.exe as it's the file that cause the .exe file to start.
Not sure true or not..as i'm still a 2 week new user..so am picking up on issues and delails.
Q : Any one know how to install theme? cause i download quite some theme but when i install using phone / PC suite with the SIS file, it said sign expired or cert not certifity...something like that..so how can i install new downloaded theme from the net?

Appreciate help from u guys. tx
the disable function on garmin is just to stop the process from automatically starting by itself. it's the same as deleting the cardrunner file as earlier versions of garmin 5 does not have the disable function. doing this 2 steps only prevents tsrautostart.exe from automatically starting. but it does not prevent tsrautostart.exe from starting every time you use your garmin.

i've disabled the background process in garmin, i've deleted the cardrunner. whenever i start garmin, the tsrautostart.exe starts up as well. so when i finish using garmin, i'll have to use jbak taskman to kill the tsrautostart.exe

red-queen
post Aug 7 2009, 08:30 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(anzhsb @ Aug 7 2009, 01:39 PM)
thanks for the input ! I just check my z71 and yep .. the tsrautostart.exe really started. and it consume .018 and after I stop it it reduce to 0.11 . which is very good consider I am running seven for my push mail . I received about  20-40 emails per day and reply about 3-10 emails a day.
I'm glad to be of help. Now you'll realise how much better your battery will last. Had a very busy day today with lotsa calls and emails and sms's and browsing now with my phone. Down to 40%. This is my second day full day. So basically battery life is lasting one full day longer. I think with my usage, it'll be able to last another 1 day or slightly less which makes it to almost 3 days.

This is a great improvement from 1 day and a half.

Added on August 7, 2009, 8:56 pmIs there anyway to disable the 'Packet connection activated/deactivated' pop-up? getting kinda irritating that it pops up everytime I make a call

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 7 2009, 08:57 PM
red-queen
post Aug 7 2009, 09:20 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 7 2009, 09:12 PM)
Yeah bro, it'll be so much of a HAPPY owner of E71 when u can have more bat power.  rclxm9.gif and i seldom use garmin, so i think i can live with just the "disable" option  laugh.gif

But i noticed 1 thing, in the energy profiler, if u go to setting, there's a view of yr phone battery power at Full bar..mine is 600 + mAh only, ? i thought nokia battery is 1,500 on full charge? cause my battery consumption is average 0.15W and with 600 + mAh i only get a 18+ Hrs...
hmmm...really bad luck or i got a faulty battery? just looking for feedback to clarify. Thanks thumbup.gif
Bro, I think your battery is really faulty. Mine shows 1539mAh even when i'm less than half bar now. If nokia energy profile is showing 600 for yours. I think your battery really got problem that's why yours run flat so fast. maybe you can borrow a battery from a friend of yours and check what it shows.
red-queen
post Aug 8 2009, 01:31 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 8 2009, 12:08 AM)
Garmin version above 5.30 can turn off tsautostart.exe already
it can only turn it off from autostarting when garmin is not in use, but it will not pevent it from starting when you are using garmin.

i'm using garmin 5.4, and each time i start garmin, tsrautostart.exe starts up as well.

Added on August 8, 2009, 1:33 am
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:09 AM)
1k charge cycle nia la.. 5k charge cycle .. Ur battery already kong liao.. Well the nokia energy profiler is good i check both of my battery .. 1 is the 1 tat come with my ap set at 1439 mAh while another ori zitron de at 1548 mAh..so to those who suspect their battery is faulty is better to giv  the software a try to check out ur battery..

Added on August 8, 2009, 1:18 am
Funny though.. I check my e71 while running garmin.. And yes the tsrautostart.exe pop up.. But after i close the garmin so did the tsrautostart.exe... Was wondering again.. If i kill tis process will i still able to do searching for location??
this is weird, mine doesn't stop even when i close garmin. i have to manually kill the process after using garmin.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 8 2009, 01:33 AM
red-queen
post Aug 8 2009, 10:35 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Aug 8 2009, 09:27 AM)
aiseyy thought wrong already laaa... tongue.gif ..1K charge cycle still ok what? 1000/365=2.7yrs if i charge daily... don't think i'll use the phone more than 2 yrs anyway... E72 very tempting now... drool.gif

my battery 1558mAH smile.gif eh when the energy profiler running, there's the battery on the top right and a timer like "24:35" like that, that means my battery expected to last 24hrs 35minutes is it? it changes every second the battery timer, i guess depend on usage...hehe lazy to search google bout this. tongue.gif
yes, it's to tell you how many hours left. it fluctuates because you consumption fluctuates also smile.gif
red-queen
post Aug 9 2009, 10:56 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 9 2009, 12:16 AM)
Turn on tsautorun from setting and turn it off back for it to work

Tested on my E71
it's under Tools -> System -> Launch background service

is this right? i set it to disable already. but tsrautostart.exe still runs when i start my garmin.

mine is garmin 5.00.40s60.9

do i need to downgrade to garmin 5.00.30?

anyways, i just tested again. now whenever i turn off my garmin, tsrautostart.exe auto stops....geezzzz....i'm really puzzled now.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 9 2009, 11:05 AM
red-queen
post Aug 9 2009, 06:10 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 9 2009, 05:44 PM)
Well guess the reinforced ur status in the garmin work lor.. So ur problem solve lor..

Bgkeh:
Wat r u talking bout.. I hav a hard time figuring out wat u want.. Do u wan a phone browser? Or a app tat able to run sony E software? I thought sony E only run on java.. Wat else is in an sony E?
yeah, problem solved. hopefully it stays solved smile.gif

anyways, i tried searching on google for E71 performance tweaks. can't seem to find any.

was wondering can we like tweak the symbian registry's etc like how we tweak our windows OS hehehee
red-queen
post Aug 10 2009, 10:31 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 10 2009, 12:57 AM)
Hmm..act i not recomment in tweaking open source..as we aren't programmes. but just like u, never try never know. hmm.gif

So far i really wanto know is there any one encounter b4 that the Battery bar won't "decrease"??
and then after 2 days it shows low bat out of sudden

I'm really puzzled it's my phone problem or my bat ? rclxub.gif
your condition i think really got problem with either your phone and batt. why not send back for medical check up? your's is AP or original?
red-queen
post Aug 10 2009, 03:02 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 10 2009, 03:00 PM)
Mine is AP set, so that's y i'm so unlucky i guess. Can't sent to NSC if it's an AP set?

I'll try a few checking to determine my status. i think after the test i might have some conclusion of my phone / bat is the problem.

1) Look for an Ori set phone and install profiler to check the setting of mAh...if it reads near 1500 then i use the bat to my phone and check again with profiler. (If my phone profiler reads have drastic difference then i think it's "MY PHONE" have problem)

2) IF my phone also reads the same figure as the Ori, then i think definately the bat problem

that's my logic thinking so far about this case.
Will pray it's NOT my phone..which it'll be abit headache as it's an AP set.  doh.gif
yeah, i suppose this is what you can do to verify if the prob is with your phone or the batt.

good luck bro.
red-queen
post Aug 12 2009, 12:24 AM

1,310 posts

hey all,

i don't know why when i restart my phone with jbak taskman, or switch off the phone and turn it back on. the phone couldn't detect the applications that has been installed in my micro sd card. the phone can't detect the micro sd card as well.

i have to manually remove the micro sd card, and then insert the card back in before the phone detects the micro sd card, and all the software inside.

could it be that the memory card has been corrupted? i don't know if formatting the memory card will help?

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 12 2009, 12:28 AM
red-queen
post Aug 12 2009, 01:28 AM

1,310 posts

guess i'll just format the damn card tomorrow or something. since i only got 3 applications on it. might even move all of them to phone memory.
red-queen
post Aug 12 2009, 12:51 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 12 2009, 06:32 AM)
can put so many SMS/MMS? I thought maximum is 999 only?
yah wor....i also wanna know how to keep so many SMS/messages because i can only set maximum 999.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0222sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:18 AM