9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Nokia E71 Thread V3, New firmware(v300.21.012) release on NSU

red-queen
post Aug 13 2009, 10:00 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(r33_abflug @ Aug 13 2009, 09:34 AM)
Just bougt ZITRON at RM1150 during hp fair in kelang last sunday.. icon_idea.gif

Added on August 13, 2009, 9:38 amGuys,
I have some problem for my MMS setting which didnt functioned.Tried MAXIS setting many times but still didnt worked.
I also tried to deactivate the APN CONTROL but the p/word 1234 seems didnt worked at all.Is there any other p/word to deactiavte the APN control?? cry.gif
did u try calling maxis? i think they will be in a better position to help. i remember my brother also had abit of problem with this last time.

called Maxis 123 and they were very helpful.
red-queen
post Aug 13 2009, 09:41 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(tuckker @ Aug 13 2009, 09:29 PM)
Question for E71 users:

On updating the device to 300.21.012 (Device is Nokia E71-1 (26) ), i found out tht the batteyr life can only last till 1 day or less.

I only have push email and occassion calling/sms.

Anybody experiencing the same issue?
do you have garmin installed? please refer back to older posts to check if your tsrautostart.exe is running or not.

install nokia energy profiler and see what is your average energy consumption in standby mode. ideally should be around 0.05w - 0.07w
red-queen
post Aug 14 2009, 03:19 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(static @ Aug 14 2009, 03:06 PM)
i'm just wondering, can i connect to my laptop through usb and go online using the laptop as an intermediate? cos my modem/router is not wireless sad.gif
u mean using the phone as a modem and plug it into your laptop via usb and use ur laptop to browse the internet?

yeah sure, why not. i've been doing this when i'm on site.
red-queen
post Aug 14 2009, 04:27 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(static @ Aug 14 2009, 04:22 PM)
hmm i mean is my laptop is already connecting to internet. now i want to use my phone connect to laptop so it could go online as well. any ideas?
nopes, cannot do it via the usb cable. you'll have to do it via the wireless network card.

configure your wireless network card for internet sharing in windows. then use your E71's phone to connect to your laptop's wireless network card.

how is your laptop connected to the internet now?

p/s: why would you wanna use your phone to go onto the internet when your laptop is just beside you?

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 14 2009, 04:27 PM
red-queen
post Aug 15 2009, 12:48 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(static @ Aug 14 2009, 04:42 PM)
currently connected thru LAN.

Oh cos i dont have mic on my laptop, hence using Fring/Nimbuzz to talk through skype  doh.gif
ok, so your laptop is connected to the router via the LAN, so you can set your wireless network card to connect to your E71 via adhoc. then you share the internet connection from your LAN to your wireless network card on your laptop. but i don't know if you can configure your E71 to use your wireless network card IP as the default gateway though.

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Aug 14 2009, 06:09 PM)
what browser is the best, i tried operamini, its good but cannot streem utube link
i'm using operamini for normal browsing. for youtube streaming, i prefer using youtube's application to stream. works flawlessly fine and fast.

you should have it when you flash to the latest firmware.

Added on August 15, 2009, 12:49 amhey all,

anyone knows where i can check version update for nokia email?

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 15 2009, 12:49 AM
red-queen
post Aug 19 2009, 06:12 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 19 2009, 05:20 PM)
yeah, and i heard E55 is even lasting rclxms.gif
in Nokia Energy Profiler. with my consumption at 0.06 it shows the countdown timer for battery is 120 hours. that means about 5 days.

if yours is 0.14, how does it last 6 days? if my tsrautostart.exe is running and my consumption at 0.14, the countdown timer for battery is around 50+ hours.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 19 2009, 06:15 PM
red-queen
post Aug 19 2009, 11:37 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(beycont @ Aug 19 2009, 11:35 PM)
Hi guys,

Got a question here, whenever i end a call the msg 'packet data connection active' comes up. Wondering what is it and is there a way to disable it? Thanks.
trust me, i know how irritating it gets. but theres no way to get rid of it. this only happens when u are below 3G, because you cannot have data and voice at the same time.

if you are on 3G and above, then you won't get this pop-up.

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(musclemass @ Aug 19 2009, 08:35 PM)
how do i set my wlan as my primary internet connection? whenever i click on email, it uses my 3g connection
just change your connection setting for your email.

you can either cahnge it to Always ask, or you can select whichever connection you want as your primary.

which email are you using? the built-in email app or Nokia Messaging, or emoze?

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 19 2009, 11:38 PM
red-queen
post Aug 19 2009, 11:52 PM

1,310 posts

[quote=Chester77,Aug 19 2009, 06:36 PM]I only come out an explaination like below:

1) The 0.14W consumption is when i check with energy profiler, the backlight is on, so i assume when in standby mode (backlight off with only breating light) it'll be like wht u said +- 0.05W.

2) The energy profiler is an "estimation" software where it changes with the software u opened.

3) Within the days i just made a few calls (5 min per call) plus sms (around 10), listen music 1-2times in total (30min), set alarm every day. (Tht's my usage after changing the bat)

4) My calculation of 6 days = Thursday morning 9AM unplug changer, last till Tuesday night 10pm 1time warning low bat then charge it. (Thursday - Tuesday = 6 days) but if u calculate in total of 24hrs = 1 day then it's 5 1/2 days
[/quote]

bro,

like this means your average consumption is not 0.14w la. you need to leave your Nokia Energy Profiler in standby mode and let it run for 5 minutes. then you can see your average consumption, should be 0.0x only. if mine with backlight on, already 0.17w - 0.20w, but in standby mode it's 0.05w - 0.07w

and yes, i know the energy profiler is an estimation. but if you're saying your average is 0.14w and the standby hours on my phone at 0.14w with yours is almost 3-4 days difference, then something is really wrong with nokia energy profiler's estimation.

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:54 pm[quote=beycont,Aug 19 2009, 11:40 PM]
[quote=red-queen,Aug 19 2009, 11:37 PM]
trust me, i know how irritating it gets. but theres no way to get rid of it. this only happens when u are below 3G, because you cannot have data and voice at the same time.

if you are on 3G and above, then you won't get this pop-up.

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:38 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. But is it doing anything in dont want it to when that msg comes up? I mean is it surfing the net or checking my email when i dont want it to? Dont want to get a heart attack when i get my phone bill at the end of the month. rclxub.gif

[/quote]

sorry, but i don't quite get what you're trying to ask.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Aug 19 2009, 11:54 PM
red-queen
post Aug 19 2009, 11:59 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(beycont @ Aug 19 2009, 11:55 PM)
Just wanna know if it is connected to the net in some way, or is it just a simple notification to inform me i am back on 3G or something like that.
ohhh....okok, actually it's not telling you that you are on the net or not. it's jsut telling you that, you're using voice call now so your data will not work.

once you finish talking on the phone, you will get another notification telling you that, you can now use your data connection.

Below 3G, you can only use voice or data at any one time. so if you don't want this irritating message to pop-up, what you can do is let your phone run on a 3G network, then this notification won't appear anymore because 3G network supports using voice and data concurrently.

but then, battery life goes down the drain if you enable Dual Mode or UMTS only.
red-queen
post Aug 20 2009, 12:28 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(musclemass @ Aug 20 2009, 12:20 AM)
I am using the built in email app. Is there a method for me the set wlan as the primary connection instead of 3g? Or do I have to set it manually for the web browser as well?
yes, you can set both the email and for your web browser independently.

just go change it in your email settings as well as your web browser settings. set it to whichever connection that you want as primary.
red-queen
post Aug 20 2009, 12:00 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 20 2009, 11:56 AM)
Oh..ok, cause i didn't let it standby for 5 min, i just quote the average with backlight when i start the profiler. a misunderstanding of evaluation. but i trust yrs will also last this long with my usage and 1548mAh.  nod.gif
yeah if my usage is like yours, defintiely i'll be able to last as long as you. but unfortunately, i have emails coming in and going out every other minute.

sms, calls etc. 2 days plus of usage is good enough for me. lasted double the time before i disabled the tsrautostart.exe
red-queen
post Aug 20 2009, 04:20 PM

1,310 posts

some themes in zedge's site is like that. probably not made specifically for E71.

try heading to E71fanatics blog. inside there you can find a few E71 specific themes, really nice. i'm using it.
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 01:12 AM

1,310 posts

i dropped my phone the other day, face 1st sad.gif

luckily nothing wrong with my phone and no scratches. only the cozip casing kena scratched.

red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 11:24 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 24 2009, 01:58 AM)
Wah damn lucky.. Can shoot some pic of the scratch cozip casing? Which time u using? I thought it jus protect the back and the front is pretty much bare naked..
thats why, quite lucky right?

only scratch the top edges of the cozip casing hehehe.
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 11:27 AM

1,310 posts

tonight if i'm free i'm gonna use the 3M di-noc film to wrap my cozip casing biggrin.gif
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 03:14 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 24 2009, 02:59 PM)
Wow, bet u have a shock of yr life when u droped it.. wink.gif  it's rare to see a user still precious the phone after buying it for a time..
My friend also experienced it when he bought the HP RW6828, not even a month drop it while running...the phone went like a skate board down hill...i see also heart break. Lucky for him, no damage, but scratches over the cover.
you cannot imagine how i felt when the phone dropped.

i was like f**k!!!!! please not let anything happen to my phone.
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 04:24 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 24 2009, 04:07 PM)
This case makes me think, if droped at least the phone is still with us. But how about if stolen or lost? i know can remote lock it or lock the sim or something..never really go thru the functions.

Anyone got subscibe to this function for their E71?
i've already configured it. now when i send a secret message via sms to my phone, it will lock the phone.

i don't know if it's possible to crack this locking mechanism though.
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 04:55 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 24 2009, 04:48 PM)
yes..y ur takda ah?

Added on August 24, 2009, 4:49 pm

wat software u use? telco one or self one?
it's the built-in feature with the E71.

i saw it on E71fanatics blog, so i tried and configured it myself smile.gif

tested as well and it works.
red-queen
post Aug 24 2009, 10:26 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 24 2009, 05:06 PM)
EH GOT KAH.. PAISEH didnt check it out b4.. wat the name and where is is located?
Tools -> Settings -> General -> Security -> Phone and Sim -> Allow Remote lock (set to Yes)
red-queen
post Aug 25 2009, 01:38 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 25 2009, 12:29 PM)
Ohhh...then just open a new one is better..

Added on August 25, 2009, 12:31 pm
Hmm..that features come build in..but i also checked got software online for more security.  hmm.gif
i didnt bother with the other softwares, since this funciton is built in. so i just use it only.

i mean, i pray that i don't lose my phone. but at least if touchwood i really do. i can lock it smile.gif

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0436sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:14 AM