Motivation, What Motivates You?

TSkingkat
post Apr 13 2009, 12:26 AM, updated 17y ago

I live 10 minutes away from a good gym...actually i'm a member. My new years resolution was to go everyday. I went there on day one, two months ago...havent been back since.

Now that you've heard the lowest level of motivation...What Motivates You? How do you keep yourself on track? Heck, some of us get to the gym and its excuse after excuse, i remember seeing people just sitting around in that nice gym...How do you stay motivated once in the gym

I know its a bit vague this topic, but i need help and i'm sure some of the lazy guys from the gym are here too and we'd all like to hear from the guys(and gals) who are disciplined and dedicated, makin it a point to follow their schedules and following their diets.

JonYeap
post Apr 13 2009, 01:00 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

post ur pic if possible.
let us kutuk u properly.
then maybe will get u fired up to look better.

i have been going gym for 5-6 times a week probably 2-3 hours sometimes for the pass 2 months.
wat keeps me motivated is, i wanna be stronger, and look better.
simple as that...
u cant get stronger just by watching ppl workout... no point sitting around and expect to be stronger or more muscular.

get someone to motivate u...
thats a good way then. =.=

sengal_lor
post Apr 13 2009, 01:02 AM

83 posts

tits motivate n switch me on..
yaw el que tiene tienda que la atienda sino, sino , sino que la..
mcbarney666
post Apr 13 2009, 01:48 PM

405 posts

Three things motivate me:

1. The fact that I pay a lot for the damn gym fees.
2. I feel weird, agitated even, if I don't work out after some time.
3. I'm health-conscious, so exercising and eating right and leading a good life motivates me to lift 20kgs above my head.

Mind you, there are some days I think to myself, "Why the hell am I doing here? Why am I lifting 70kgs off the damn floor?" Then I shut up, do it and let the adrenaline rush take over me. One of the best feelings, ever.
iamyuanwu
post Apr 13 2009, 02:08 PM

2,425 posts

I'm sick of being a weakling.
I'm sick of being a skinny ba$tard.
That's more than enough motivation for me.

Lifting heavier and heavier each week gives me a sense of accomplishment. I look forward to each session to lift heavier.
Polaris
post Apr 13 2009, 04:42 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Are there sexy girls in your gym? If not then very hard to get motivated..
pedro
post Apr 13 2009, 06:07 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Apr 13 2009, 04:42 PM)
Are there sexy girls in your gym? If not then very hard to get motivated..
Speak for yourself.

Knowing how much weight i can move around motivates me best.
DEVICLOT
post Apr 13 2009, 07:57 PM

Wut?
1,000 posts

Thing that motivate me is my super big dummy =.=
pizzaboy
post Apr 13 2009, 08:00 PM

9,495 posts

It's this singlet.

That says "Malaysia" and at the back says "Elit Negara"

This is my motivation. TO be in the Olympics for Malaysia.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Apr 13 2009, 08:01 PM
DEVICLOT
post Apr 13 2009, 08:27 PM

Wut?
1,000 posts

Hope can see you in next olympic~
zuddean
post Apr 13 2009, 10:05 PM

177 posts

I'm sick of being a fat ass.
I'm pay a lot for gym membership.
I'm sick of my friends always joking around bout my big belly. mad.gif
Neek
post Apr 13 2009, 10:47 PM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

To be honest, i kinda lost motivation somewhat the past few weeks. but i'm still going consistently anyway.
Its more of a habit and lifestyle now.

I know the benefits of exercise so its not a bad lifestyle to adopt.
Its one of the positive things in life that helps to build the momentum for more positive things to come.
iamyuanwu
post Apr 13 2009, 11:10 PM

2,425 posts

Yeah, once it becomes a habit, you'll still drag yourself to the gym anyway.
wallpaper89
post Apr 13 2009, 11:41 PM

650 posts

The only thing that motivates me is that I've set a goal and I won't stop until I achieve it. Reading the posts in this thread is highly motivating as well! laugh.gif
Florian
post Apr 13 2009, 11:56 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

I don't need motivation, it has become a habit for me, like how we use to go to tuition during school times. The habit comes only when you have the interest and the dedication, otherwise forget it, you'll be just torturing yourself and wasting your time.

This post has been edited by Florian: Apr 14 2009, 12:35 AM
ZeroLeingod
post Apr 14 2009, 12:13 AM

112 posts

1. To be strong and huge, I dream of it ever since young and I might started late but now I'm achieving it.
2. The amount of time I spent working out, diet and the cost of gym membership, I'm not going to let my effort gone wasted.
3. Silly but true, I don't like to wear shirt. A habit from young but of course I still wear if I'm going out...

Everytime you stop/pause, your body don't wait. You could even lost all the effort you did for a week in a single day, what worst is we are getting old everyday.
But do rest if there's any injury to be recover. sweat.gif
bata
post Apr 14 2009, 12:56 AM

3,726 posts

1) watch scantily clad Jamie Koeppe
2) watch MV like this,

Chow
lambertlai
post Apr 14 2009, 01:25 AM

470 posts

Put this picture on your desktop it may motivate you wink.gif

DEVICLOT
post Apr 14 2009, 05:20 AM

Wut?
1,000 posts

QUOTE(zuddean @ Apr 13 2009, 10:05 PM)
I'm sick of being a fat ass.
I'm pay a lot for gym membership.
I'm sick of my friends always joking around bout my big belly.  mad.gif
Same with me doh.gif doh.gif
Disciple
post Apr 14 2009, 07:33 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

this motivates me...i feel like working out everytime i watch it

and

zeist
post Apr 14 2009, 09:56 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Wanna let those mofos in my list to STFU.
ClarkFann
post Apr 30 2009, 09:55 PM

377 posts

my motivation is myself
gym becomes my habit,i never feel lazy to workout
i feel excited to do exercise and tell myself one day i'll be like this

This post has been edited by ClarkFann: Apr 30 2009, 10:00 PM
yeah_guyz
post Apr 30 2009, 10:33 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(ClarkFann @ Apr 30 2009, 09:55 PM)
my motivation is myself
gym becomes my habit,i never feel lazy to workout
i feel excited to do exercise and tell myself one day i'll be like this

WOW, Omg Omg!! You rocks!! looks at the sexy abs and nice back thumbup.gif i think i love you wub.gif
ClarkFann
post Apr 30 2009, 11:56 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Apr 30 2009, 10:33 PM)
WOW, Omg Omg!! You rocks!! looks at the sexy abs and nice back thumbup.gif  i think i love you wub.gif
LOL!LOL!LOL!Calm down
it wasnt me,its my aim dude doh.gif tongue.gif
fearz
post May 1 2009, 12:26 AM

326 posts

motivation :
sick of being skinny
nothing better to do anyway, only takes <1 hour everyday biggrin.gif

soulchaser
post May 16 2009, 04:21 PM

the mindset that motivates me... i want a nicer body! and im paying for it!
i plan my exercise, on my ipod, get on the machines and do it..
look at mirrors often to see the improvement..
try to get a few gym buddies, i think that helps
iamyuanwu
post May 16 2009, 04:55 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Apr 30 2009, 10:33 PM)
WOW, Omg Omg!! You rocks!! looks at the sexy abs and nice back thumbup.gif  i think i love you wub.gif
Red Alert! Red alert!
Testosterone overload!
pedro
post May 16 2009, 04:58 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

"If you can't motivate yourself, you're never going to get results"- icon_rolleyes.gif
jackwylde
post May 16 2009, 07:11 PM

575 posts

well.. i paid a lot of money to buy whey, creatine, dumbells, etc..
so i got to keep on workout so i don`t waste it
dryll
post May 18 2009, 12:38 AM

171 posts

best thing is to have a friend who has the same goal. That will motivate the hell outta you. But, be warned, going to the gym with a guy can lead to other gay ppl thinking that you too are gay. Prepare to be approached by them asking for your number when your friend doesnt go...
diablokun
post May 19 2009, 01:03 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

not so many ppl in malaysia have a nice body...most of them boroi and boyak...I like to do what others don't even care to do...I like to be different...so, me = like.no.other ... LOL

EAT, LIFT, SLEEP, REPEAT ∞
jimmyian88
post May 19 2009, 11:15 AM

61 posts

hahaha.. diablokun is the perfect example of motivation.. if u see the progress he has made from then till now.. gogo diablo! raya coming around again! time to throw away the old baju's and get slick fitting ones!
diablokun
post May 19 2009, 12:26 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(jimmyian88 @ May 19 2009, 11:15 AM)
hahaha.. diablokun is the perfect example of motivation.. if u see the progress he has made from then till now.. gogo diablo! raya coming around again! time to throw away the old baju's and get slick fitting ones!

huhu baju melayu cannot wear fit fit one...look funny liao ~~ tongue.gif oi bro put your previous pictars inside your journal la...nice body you have there...and what motivates you ??
R. Colemon
post May 22 2009, 07:09 PM

59 posts

is it me, or anyone do feel the same? it do motivate me to workout when i see thos adult movie..

seeing how good peter north look nekid do motivate me to work more on my physique, to look, n perform better in my bed 4 my wife..

mayb d testosterone spike tho..
angrydog
post May 22 2009, 08:09 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

I want to be able to:
a) pick up heavy things, and
b) then put them down.

This post has been edited by angrydog: May 22 2009, 08:15 PM
Al@n2rock
post May 26 2009, 08:05 AM

349 posts

My motivations comes when i see WWE superstars in action,

mostly the animal Batista (happy.gif)

hahahahahahaahahaa

bomjangka2009
post Jun 1 2009, 02:48 AM

hmm, my motivation is myself... i wanna look great on bed while having ehem ehem with my partner... that can boost up your confidence
kaiserwulf
post Jun 5 2009, 03:07 PM

1,110 posts

Same here. Wanna look great in bed plus able to lift my partner up and down effortlessly for some wild ***. Also for her to snuggle up nicely... no point snuggling up to a bag of bones.
diablokun
post Jun 5 2009, 03:27 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

LOL all about bedtime ka ??
DWYWIcewolf
post Jun 11 2009, 11:15 AM

72 posts

I wanna be like Ryan Reynolds
Cool

John91
post Jun 11 2009, 10:58 PM

1,193 posts

Abs nice only... Other parts are unmatched, not that nice also.
Gr3yL3gion
post Jun 11 2009, 11:10 PM

468 posts

I wanna look like Tyler Durden.
NekoRacing
post Jun 12 2009, 09:17 AM

325 posts

When I first started out, it was all about physique, I just wanted to look cool and get all 'em chiqas.

During my journey it got more addictive, because I know that I can set goals and I'm able to accomplish in the gym. It feels good.

Now I train because I want to surpass the limits that my body can handle. I was born small sized. Knowing that I'm short at least having muscles not only make me feel good but I can beat the shit out of my friends when they say something stupid about me.

mrPOTATO
post Jun 12 2009, 09:39 AM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Jun 12 2009, 09:17 AM)
Knowing that I'm short at least having muscles not only make me feel good but I can beat the shit out of my friends when they say something stupid about me.
As for me, being tall & thin is just no fun. I wanna be big so that :-

No one cuts my queue ever again
No one calls me addict anymore
Nobody approaches me on the streets for money
I have better self-image
I don't have to wear big loose shirts & double layer clothes

And when my friends say "waa.. you got butts/biceps/etc now", that just motivates me even more !
diablokun
post Jun 12 2009, 09:47 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(DWYWIcewolf @ Jun 11 2009, 11:15 AM)
I wanna be like Ryan Reynolds
Cool

his physique in blade trinity was awesome
he is also tall about 6' 21/2"...here's his training regime...
SUSKLX213
post Jun 13 2009, 05:52 PM

86 posts

the word motivation is no longer exist for me. im just addicted.
DWYWIcewolf
post Jun 29 2009, 11:45 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Jun 12 2009, 09:47 AM)
his physique in blade trinity was awesome
he is also tall about 6' 21/2"...here's his training regime...
Gosh!!!
When can i get to the result??
need to triple up my workout hehehe!!!
jags
post Jun 29 2009, 04:04 PM

282 posts

poontang! hahahahhahahaahahah
bata
post Jun 29 2009, 04:20 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(DWYWIcewolf @ Jun 29 2009, 11:45 AM)
Gosh!!!
When can i get to the result??
need to triple up my workout hehehe!!!
if thats you in the avatar you already look like him sweat.gif

Chow
DWYWIcewolf
post Jun 29 2009, 04:35 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Jun 29 2009, 04:20 PM)
if thats you in the avatar you already look like him sweat.gif
Chow
nah....
i'm still not fit yet and my chest..... I NEED SQUARE ENOUGH!!!! flex.gif
bata
post Jun 29 2009, 04:50 PM

3,726 posts

u need upper chest, ripped abs and obliques.
thats it. size you're more or less already like him.

Chow
DWYWIcewolf
post Jun 30 2009, 10:57 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Jun 29 2009, 04:50 PM)
u need upper chest, ripped abs and obliques.
thats it. size you're more or less already like him.
Chow
ya i know....
hopefully i can make it ASAP hahaha!!!
bring it on man!!!
hakimz
post Jul 6 2009, 08:38 PM

259 posts

what motivates me is.. girl that i love.. i think she should serve better looking boyfriend than a fat belly jelly boyfriend
MrAlex?
post Jul 6 2009, 08:56 PM

63 posts

What motivates me is seriously very simple yet effective.

I always remind myself "No Pain No Gain".

I kept repeating that four little words in my head when I jog, especially when I am already at my limit.

I push myself further with that phrase.

and I move an inch further with every chant I make. It helps. smile.gif
pgboy_serdang
post Jul 17 2009, 12:25 AM

19 posts

i think "kiasuness" is my main motivation
haha...
wont want to lose to other guys in my course...
kakaka

0.0391sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:26 AM