My email to TM...haihz...last resort, dono wherelse to go...hope u guys like it xD
To: peering@tm.net.my; routing@tm.net.my; hirule@tm.net.my; anieayop@tm.net.my; ceo@tm.net.my; ainols@tm.net.my
Subject: Streamyx Problem(s)! Urgent attention needed!
Date: Wed, 22 Apr 2009 21:48:00 +0800
I have been a user of TM Net Streamyx for a few years, does TM know that different IP addresses that are assigned to the customers have different quality. And does TM know that an office 1Mbps line with 60.50 ip address and a home line with 60.50 is way different?
there are several issues i have to bring up, please read this email in detail. let me go to the ip address issue first.
For example, the IP address that starts with 118.XXX was so called the worst IP address in this country, and IP range 60.49 / 60.48 is the best. I'm not only saying this based on personal experience, but also through words of many others, my friends, or people who post this info at blogs of forums. this are some links to expressions of TM's Streamyx.
http://www.bolehvpn.net/forum/index.php?PH...ac&topic=2622.0http://www.bolehvpn.net/forum/index.php?PH...ac&topic=1697.0http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/990708/+1120http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/990708/+1060http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1007387http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000516http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1005987http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/965026http://www.ahyap.com/blog/streamyx-219-218-60.phpmost importantly are this links, which have more technical info
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=23943086http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=23942854http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=23942134many users have resulted in restarting / disconnecting and reconnecting their streamyx to have a better IP address that suits in their area. However, recently it seems at ALL ip address ranges are affected.
My hopes are for TM to rectify this issue or at least improve the condition, as the speed between the IP ranges vary too much, and the difference between an office line and a home package with same bandwith is so much. I hope that TM brings attention to this matter. As many users are already thinking of switching if there is an alternative in their area. Some have even resulted to try to contact our dear Prime Minister through his blog about this matter. What will be next? Visiting or calling the Prime Ministers's Office/Department? A Riot infront of TM headquarters?
It is understandable if TM wants to give more priority for office users, as they paid more, however it should be a balanced distribution, not to a point where a home user trying to browse a normal international web page is such a pain in the ass. IT IS OBVIOUS TM IS PRIORITISING OFFICE USERS, same ip address, same speed package in an office just below my condominium is so much different than at home.
TM really has an issue with its international link for home users, i dont know why but it just seems to affect home users only. Speedtests to local servers give maximum speeds, however, speedtest to anywhere outside malaysia shows very high ping times, very slow download rates, less than 30% of package speed, which is ridiculous. It looks like TM is having MAJOR ROUTING ISSUES too...
Surprised how a normal rakyat like me can know so much about IP addresses, ping times, routing etc etc. Let me tell u that the new generation of Malaysia is not kampung style anymore, we know what we pay for, we know what we should be getting in return, we probably know more about the internet than that office boy u have in your office right now. What u are doing is going to cost the Barisan National Government alot of lost in votes, as it seems that the government doesnt care about the wellfare of the rakyat by letting a government related company, TM, to cheat its customers. Trust me, alot of young voters out there will count in this aspects.
TM should consider upgrading its backbone/ do a fair distribution of bandwidth as it seems really congested in peak hours, TM just returned billions to its investors, is it really that hard to upgrade its bandwith capacity?
Not only that, some IP addresses have very high packet lost which is bad for gaming. If TM does some research on online forums or surveys or even cybercafes, u will find that many think they are being cheated by TM. Dont u think that you are being used if u paid for a 1Mbps line and yet wait 30 seconds for FACEBOOK sosial networking site to load, youtube to keep buffering videos, international sites to load so slowly.
I really hope TM takes their resposibilities more seriously and not being described as being run by "kampung boys". I hope TM can reply me on this issue and inform me wether a fix is in progress? What is the cause of this? As i believe many others are curious to know too...
I'm going to post this e-mail on online forums, blogs, and so on, and i will post the reply to this e-mail. The people of Malaysia have the rights to know what is going on. IF there is no reply, it just shows that TM is just a profit making company that doesnt care about the wellfare of its users, and trust me, TM will lose its current subcribers. Also, dont give a very short and un-informative reply.
As i said earlier in this email, many people do know more about DSL technologies than that office boy in your office. So please, inform me about the situation, why? why is every ip address different? why is the routing to international sites so bad? why are office accounts so much faster than home accounts? etc etc, please reply informatively to this whole email.... And lastly when will all those issues it be resolved?
----------------
what do u guys think? i send this email already, lets see what happens....