4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

feins
post Jul 5 2010, 04:01 PM

133 posts

Don't scare our fren lar. U may try ur luck here see if they still have any old stock or u may try go to machines or Mac city if they have any.
http://www.youbeli.com/software-mac-c-4_115.html

Added on July 5, 2010, 4:11 pmIf u need the box set amazon sell but not sure will ship international.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d.html/ref=red...11?a=B001AMLPYM

Last option u can buy direct from apple also. Just just head to apple Malaysia store.

This post has been edited by feins: Jul 5 2010, 04:11 PM
feins
post Jul 6 2010, 12:03 AM

133 posts

The best u may contact apple direct as ur new notebook come with 90days free support.
feins
post Jul 13 2010, 10:13 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jul 6 2010, 03:11 PM)
I've solved my ram problem. Turns out the 4 sticks of ram cannot work with each other, although all 4 are Kingston, DDR3, 1333MHz. In fact, 3 sticks are similar while the 4th which is also Kingston, but has a different hologram sticker. And if you say that's the odd one causing problem, well no. This is what I did:-

First two sticks coupled with another brand new set Corsair 2x2GB = it works, total 8GB shows up in bios and in activity monitor.

Second two sticks with the different hologram coupled with Corsair = it works too, 8GB in total.

But if you put all 4 sticks of Kingston together = it does not work, only 4GB ram.

Any one knows why? I sure don't.
Dear Sir,

If you are using a Hackintosh i dont think this thread are legally discussing for illegal setup. I would suggest you to go here http://www.insanelymac.com/ for all Hackintosh discussion.
feins
post Jul 15 2010, 11:05 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 15 2010, 11:01 AM)
I see that you all mention the Momentus XT a lot here, do you know where I can get my hands one retail in Malaysia? I went to check Digital Mall last weekend and couldn't find a store which carries it.
I heard that viewnet in lowyat have Seagate momentus XT selling for bout rm700 but I buy online from OWC rm548 plus shipment to Malaysia.
feins
post Jul 30 2010, 11:22 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Leokid @ Jul 30 2010, 11:06 PM)
I'm sorry, I have edited my post. Thank you for correcting my mistake.

I have look at the beginning of the thread, and it seems that there are different opinions on what kind of RAM is the best for upgrading.

The same goes with the HDD, I read that HDD with higher RPM can function better but will consume more power thus less battery usage. Does the battery usage differences so significant with the increase of RPM? Is it worth to trade one for another?

And about differences between this brand and that brand and so on, I know nothing. For me, it is as though all RAMs and all HDDs are same.

Therefore i admit, i'm a noob in this IT-thingy. That's why I'm asking for the expert's opinion here. Pardon me if I have not done enough research.

I think I have provided with a thorough information about my macbook and my usage trend, please inform me whatever more information you need to know in order to help me.
Increase RAM will improve on more application running the faster the HDD will improve on app loading and accessing the HDD to remove the HDD and RAM is quite easy actually. Need some Apple certified RAM i had and can provide u a very nice price if ur interest. For HDD you can get any HDD and swap it in.
feins
post Jul 31 2010, 12:16 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 31 2010, 12:09 AM)
you are correct: RAMs and HDDs (of the same spec) from different brands are supposed to be the same. but here's what we have collectively found out so far in this forum

RAM - a few users has been reporting incompatibility issues for kingston, and fewer for mushkin. corsair seems to be a safe bet. OWC and crucial is supposed to be the best, but they're not available locally.

note: u dont need 'certified for Macs' RAMs. they're normally standard overpriced RAMs.

HDD - before, our favourite here was the 500gb western digital scorpio blue, but a small number of forumers (including myself) has experience poor performance. seems like a good choice would be hitachi travelstar 5k500 or 7k500. if u have the money, seagate momentus xt is pretty fast. got even more money, splurge on an intel x25-m SSD

for ur usage, RAM is more important. try to google on how to determine if ur RAM is enough by using Activity Monitor (keep track of Page Out). also, make sure ur hdd isnt almost full...having about 30% free space should be fine to maintain the performance

but of course, upgrading RAM n HDD can only give so much performance. best way is of course to get a better machine smile.gif
Yes ideed from ur statement some are true.

Actually RAM certified a ate always better as it's 100% guaranty it will run on ur Mac. We have tested on some MBP 2008 unibody and those tuning on normal standard ram have issue on stability after tuning a few month but after replaced with certified ram the problem solve. Yes old days apple certified ram ate sky high in price but now it's just like rm50 different so it's a good investment for such guaranty.
feins
post Jul 31 2010, 12:35 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 31 2010, 12:26 AM)
i mean, they are basically the same thing. the difference is they are actually tested on a mac, thus it's the best bet smile.gif

feins is selling a 2x2gb KTA for rm460. i got my non-certified corsair 2x2gb for rm370. so it's really up to what rm90 means to a person. better assurance, or a nice tshirt lol
Yes indeed rm460 and it's nego.
feins
post Jul 31 2010, 09:32 AM

133 posts

The only thing u need to concent is the 0" philips screw driver which is very small in size. Removing the ram n hdd r very easy just pop out the battery n loosen the 3 screw from the side of the metal shield n there 2 small lash after u remove the shield. And yes DDR2 ram u can use any standard ram with speed 667 will do. I'm using Kingston KVR 2x2gb DDR2 and been used for over 2years without any problem.
feins
post Jul 31 2010, 03:02 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Choc @ Jul 31 2010, 10:18 AM)
So whatever DDR2 667MHz ram will do?

Added on July 31, 2010, 10:21 amAfter i insert the RAM, anything else i need to do for my software? Or just let it be like usual?
After install the ram that's it reboot n hope all work fine nothing more to do. Just enjoy.

Added on July 31, 2010, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 31 2010, 10:35 AM)
People usually get confused with the screws. I think if they are really lazy to know what screws to buy, mayb som1 can post the correct general name for that particular screw along with a clear picture. Solves the case of 10000000 question of how to open it up??? a link to youtube with credits to the owner of the video for showing how to open the damn thing.
Actually at apple home page actually got teach u how to replace ram n hdd.

Added on July 31, 2010, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(kalisair @ Jul 31 2010, 12:11 PM)
For screw driver set, you can get in Thye Huat either in Perai (opposite Giant Perai) or Bukit Jambul area.. Price just RM21.50 per set.. That day I bought 2 sets from Perai, left just one.. Got 30+ precision screws - all you need to open macbook or any type of handphone.. Really worth it..  rclxms.gif
I bought my precision screwdriver on eBay brand SATA come with lifetime warranty for RM90 a very hood n reliable brand. I did use those china screwdriver before n got a bad exp while it break n the tip stuck at my screw while servicing my GTX 280 n it really give me the headack to remove it. So I better stick with a good brand especially with those such small tips like size 0" or 00"

This post has been edited by feins: Jul 31 2010, 03:09 PM
feins
post Aug 1 2010, 02:54 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Choc @ Aug 1 2010, 02:13 PM)
Can i use 2gb ram instead of 2 x 1gb ram if i want 2gb ram for my macbook?
Yes u can u only lost the dual channel and run on single channel only mar.
feins
post Aug 6 2010, 07:27 PM

133 posts

I don't think there us any KTA ram with speed 1333. Unless ur mentioning for Mac pro 2009 model.
feins
post Aug 6 2010, 08:33 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 6 2010, 07:51 PM)
Why not...?

Kingston website is listing KTA-MB1333/4G for iMacs 2010....

And mind you, Mac Pro 2009 uses 1066 modules, not 1333...
Tq for the clarification cos I'm only updated to 2009.
feins
post Aug 8 2010, 01:42 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 01:26 PM)
upgraded my macbook to 4GB kingston for SC II, lol~
got it from pc fair at RM268 smile.gif  now running flawlessly.
Was in dilemma to get from Apple store or ciplak Kingston, luckily it works, save 60% of price.
Which spec of mbp u got there can it run in full detail? I order my sc2 sea ver for rm189 waiting for it to arrive.
feins
post Sep 20 2010, 07:10 PM

133 posts

Unless u have an intel processor as PowerPC don't support for snow leopard.
feins
post Sep 20 2010, 08:49 PM

133 posts

If it's intel processor then yes. U can upgrade to SL.
feins
post Oct 16 2010, 11:38 AM

133 posts

Hi max ram support is 8gb for iMac 9.1.
feins
post Dec 31 2010, 10:38 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 31 2010, 10:13 PM)
aaaaa~~ someone help me please sad.gif im still having problems with momentus xt. i had the same problem before (i brought it up here) but even after getting a replacement unit, i still get the same problem

basically, i cloned my system to the drive and it boots flawlessly over an external USB connection. after i swap it inside my macbook pro 5,1 it wont boot (? folder image). i tried a fresh OSX install, but somewhere about 10 mins during the installation i got an error (the report was very long, cant recall anything).

my 500gb momentus xt came with the SD23 firmware. i tried updating it to SD24 using the bootable ISO, but i got the error which goes something like model matched, but firmware not match or something like that. i tried the 'force install' method (typing some code at the DOS prompt, found it somewhere in macrumours) but it still didnt work

im on EFI 1.8. some reports suggests that downgrading to 1.6 would solve it but at a slight loss of speed. i just tried downgrading, but the Aluminum_MacBook_Pro_Recovery.dmg file probably only works to downgrade 1.7 to 1.6 but not 1.8 to 1.6 (i cant find anyyone mentioning it works for 1.8, only 1.7). after restoring the dmg to my flash drive, my mac could not boot the flash drive (gotten the circle with a slash icon)

since this is my 2nd unit i doubt that this is the drives's fault. any help?
Hi how you clone your drive are you using Carbon Copy to do the job?

As you mention during installation you got an error would it be that your internal DVD Rom degraded have you try using an external DVD Rom to test it out?

I have install a momentum XT on my MBP 5.1 and i was on the latest EFI without any issue so far.
feins
post Dec 31 2010, 11:04 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 31 2010, 10:50 PM)
for macbook air u need miniDisplayPort to *something*. *something* depends on the projector, but mostly use VGA
i used superduper.

i dont think there's any problem with my dvd and dvd drive. even if it does, it wont cause the cloned drive not to work, right?

good to know yours worked fine. which firmware? sd23 or sd24?
Try use Carbon Copy it never fail me before. my HDD firmware SD22 tongue.gif a bit old cos mine bought once it came out so its a bit old firmware.

When clone using Carbon Copy destination drive select drive bootable and it will make the drive destination drive bootable.

This post has been edited by feins: Dec 31 2010, 11:06 PM
feins
post Dec 31 2010, 11:19 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 31 2010, 11:18 PM)
i guess ill give it a try smile.gif thx
Ur most welcome. Oooh by the way Happy New Year my fren. biggrin.gif

Okie i've just update my Momentum XT to SD24 so far so good no smoke in my eye ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by feins: Dec 31 2010, 11:23 PM
feins
post Dec 31 2010, 11:31 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 31 2010, 11:27 PM)
happy new year to you too biggrin.gif

did u upgrade the firmware using the bootable ISO or the windows app?
Using bootable ISO my macbook pro dont have bootcamp. Burn to CD using Toast and reboot the MBP hold down "C" key until it boot from the CD. Select "L" to detect device and detected mine are in the list and then just upgrade the firmware and after complete hold Power button until it shut down and reboot now its on SD24.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0415sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:06 AM