11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

dvlzplayground
post Apr 3 2010, 03:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Mar 31 2010, 04:32 PM)
Went on google and found a couple article but dunno if it's the cause or not.

thanks for sharing. i never heard the clicking sound before, but this might be the same problem. i'll try this one day. tq!

Added on April 3, 2010, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Apr 3 2010, 02:03 PM)
hi guys, i've a question.
If 3GB of RAM with 1x1GB + 1x2GB.
Will increase the speed? or both of it muz be same size oni can perform well?
AFAIK yes it will increase the speed, but not by much. might as well get 2x2gb

obviously it will juz let ur macbook to do more stuff simultaneously la with less performance drop, not exactly making it faster

shud be 6GB RAM

Although Apple officially only supports 4 GB of RAM, third-party tests from site sponsor Other World Computing and the always excellent BareFeats  have confirmed that these model are capable of supporting 6 GB  of RAM with one 2 GB module and one 4 GB module.

Apple likewise formally recommends that "for best performance, fill both memory slots, installing an equal memory module in each slot."

However, after real-world testing with one 2 GB module and one 4 GB module, BareFeats found:

The difference ranged from -.5% to +1.7% or an average difference of +.28% or less than 1/3 of one percent. I call that negligible. Or, in other words, you should have no worries about a speed penalty imposed by non-matching memory modules and loss of interleaving.

The full results of the 6 GB testing -- as well as the results of testing with 8 GB of RAM (which did not work properly) -- should be read for the complete perspective provided by the author.

DDR3 2GB sodimms should cost about RM170 a pop. if u're planning to get local, i recommend corsair or mushkin brand

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Apr 3 2010, 03:37 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 6 2010, 04:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 6 2010, 02:22 AM)
Latest CZone price list shows a 4gb stick of DDR3 Kingston notebook ram selling at rm650. Anyone seen cheaper?
kingston is a gamble, ok for some people, bad for some. try corsair or mushkin, less complaints
dvlzplayground
post May 6 2010, 05:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 6 2010, 04:50 PM)
I'm using Kingston in my PowerMac G5 n it's been great. The Apple shop oso recommended Kingston. Need to find cheaper rammmmmm. DDR3 8gb kit really can die, so expensive. My PC's 8gb of high performance ram so cheap, Apple 1, normal type of ram oso cost a bomb.  sweat.gif
sorry, i mean for the current range. my 1st gen mbp ran fine with kingstons too smile.gif not sure why, but i noticed more people get compatibility issues with kingston rather than corsair n mushkin. an apple reseller also seem to agree with me.
dvlzplayground
post May 6 2010, 10:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 6 2010, 05:35 PM)
BD = can get it on Amazon smile.gif
SSD = any recommendations? Some say Intel's best, some say OSZ...
i dunno which is better, but from what i read it's best to stick with intel for now
dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 03:43 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(toiletduck @ May 7 2010, 03:01 AM)
dear sifu,

i have bought a macbook early 2008 with below spec:-

Intel Core Duo 1.83Ghz; 60gb 5400-rpm hard drive; DVD Combo

if i wish to upgrade the hard drive & dvd combo, what is the recommendation model of hard drive & dvd drive. For the hard drive, what's the capacity can support?

as far as i know, there's no limit on HDD size, as long as it's a 2.5", 9mm-thick SATA. biggest right now shud be 640gb. i can confirm with u 250gb can support la tongue.gif

dvd drive i dun think can easily upgrade. but i suppose if u can find an old macbook superdrive, can get someone with experience to install for you
dvlzplayground
post May 7 2010, 02:31 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ yes it's the 2006 model..i think he meant he bought it in early 2008 tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 8 2010, 12:57 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 8 2010, 12:23 AM)
I'm planning to update my Leopard to Snow Leopard. Would there be a significant noticeable improvement or am i just wasting my money? and also I'm using an IMAC what is the maximum amount of RAM it can sustain?
i didnt notice much performance improvements apart from time machine backups, but the tidier expose is nice tongue.gif also, openCL and grand central is still not big right now, so there's not much benefit of upgrading to SL.

Which imac do u have? Different models have different maximum RAM
dvlzplayground
post May 8 2010, 11:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(minievo @ May 8 2010, 01:11 AM)
Thanks for the swift reply, it's a Imac Core 2 duo, 2 Ghz
mmmm i asked which imac... which year punya model? d white one or the aluminium one?

if C2D 2.0Ghz i think only got two. if the white imac, max 3gb. aluminium imac max 4gb. not sure if got other versions or not

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 8 2010, 08:37 PM)
Macbook Pro 13" Mid 2010
Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 2.4Ghz
4GB DDR3 Ram

Original Hard Disk : Seagate Momentous 5400 250GB

Upgraded Hard Disk : Hitachi TravelStar 5400 B version 500GB Hard Disk

Before upgrading, went to Machines, Max Studio, asking about the upgrade. Most inane answer came from MacStudio. Best answer came from machines.

Bought Philips #0 Screwdriver RM6.80

Bought Torx T6 Screwdriver RM14.80 (Comes in one set)

Bought the HDD RM230

Testing it out now. Upgrading not that difficult.
kudos to u for self-upgrade! biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2010, 11:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ i think he upgraded to the 500gb WD scorpio blue but it doesnt perform well. i got the same problem too. even after i RMA also didnt get smooth performance from it after a few weeks of usage as my internal hdd. im using it as external now, no problem. not sure why sad.gif

so he was wondering if the 640gb got this issue or not
dvlzplayground
post May 24 2010, 08:57 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i agree with feins. while it's certainly possible to remove the glass panel urself, it's very risky. better let the pros do it
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 07:57 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2010, 11:02 AM)
Complaints have ranged from drawing too much power because of frequent throttling, parking and conflict with Mac OS X SMS (Sudden Motion Sensor). One side says everything's fine, the other side says got problem, go get the seagate.

On the Macbook 2010, funning thing is the max negotiated SATA link speed is 1.5Gb, although the controller reported that the max speed it could run was 3Gps (Those having NVIDIA MCP89 ACHI chipsets). The drive was super quiet, a customized seagate drive I presumed.

Went shopping in lowyat, but it seemed that everyone there was selling WD's until I actually found one shop that sells hitachi 5k500 B's. Its a Travelstar 500GB hard drive, with some good review, and some mac forums are recommending the drive over the WD's, and even Seagates. (Comes from the IBM dna i suppose, the Hitachi Storage Technology actually is a marriage between IBM and Hitachi's storage technology).
about the sudden motion sensor. this doesnt affect scorpio blue, only the earlier versions of the scorpio black (if im not mistaken, the BEKT models are fine). also, a forumer posted here on how to fix the parking problem on scorpio blue HDDs, but i've yet to try it myself.

while reviews generally claim the scorpio blue performs better, i'd have to agree with u that the hitachi seems to be the more reliable choice, adding to the fact that mac stock drives are hitachi. but then it's quite hard to find hitachi hdd around.

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 25 2010, 02:25 PM)
yes your right. I was doing much research on it past few days. A lot of care has to be done, but not entirely impossible.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif Still I do not have the "sucker" so cant remove the front glass.
Agreed.
=) I dont think we have those in Kuching. Or maybe have, I have no idea. Switch can upgrade for me ?
Initially I got the Invalid node structure, and Invalid sibling link error. Found via Disk Utility (boot from DVD). Then I could not select / mount / access the HDD. After much dismay I loaded DiscWarrior which found heaps of errors and tried to repair, and gave me result saying could not save due to hardware error.  shocking.gif I was like, is this for real ? Maybe it was failing and I manage to provoke it.  sweat.gif

So I moved out some data which I still have not back up to my external drives via Preview. Then Rebooted again to OSX DVD. Back to Disk Utility and found that I can click the HDD again (no more grey out) ! So quickly I formatted it, and remounted it.  hmm.gif

Did another reboot, just in case and loaded the 10.6 DVD =) (I was still on 10.5 before the Invalid's came along) By the time I was done installing it was 3.40 am this morning. So far.. So good. Did few more disc utility test. and it says the drive is healthy and functioning properly.  rclxms.gif

Anyways I'll be monitoring the HDD for now, hopefully its not an hardware error, else I really need to do surgery on it. Lucky I have my MBP to entertain me when my Imac was out!
u can send to ITfusion at green heights mall. they have a lot of experience smile.gif IINM switch doesnt do repairs on-the-spot. might take a while for them do repair

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2010, 03:28 PM)
If that's the case, WD must really make lousy hard drives that only clicks on macbook pro's.
go look around any non-mac forums. the only valid 'problem' u are talking about is with the shock protection, because it clashes with apple's own technology
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 09:13 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 25 2010, 08:33 PM)
@dvlzplayground
I did post the hdapm workaround last time but dare not try myself as it change the Apple Power Management and make the HD spins and spins. I'm afraid it will cause more problem than solving it.

@tarvalslain87
Wahhh just 2 month only bought ... already mau kaput ka? Not all clicking sound means HD want to kaput. There are type of clicking that indicate the HD want to kaput. This 'click' is the sound when the HD head is parked. It affect a bit on the HD performance when the 'click' happens. Infact, from my previous googling on this, I found mix reaction from MB/MBP user that use WD Scorpio Blue. Some will have the 'clicks' and some don't. Dunno why that happens but from wht I've read here ... dvlzplayground, me and another forumer (that tried the hdapm) did encounter this 'clicking' issue.

Since there's other alternatives to WD and SG, might try it later and see if it solve this problem. Mmmm ... now going to have another external HD for me to use. smile.gif

Last time i've always trust IBM travelstar. I think hitachi already taken over the travelstar HD. I still have 2 IBM travelstar thats already reaching 10 years, taken from my very old laptop (RIP) and still can be used up till today.
oh it was you? hehe sorry i forgot. yeaa the fix sounds very risky...i didnt get the clicking sound but definitely the parking problem lah. luckily im doing fine after downgraded to my stock 250gb hitachi. even if my scorpio blue was a let down...i still end up buying another WD (mybook studio) drive anyway hahah.

i guess im gonna start recommending hitachi after this. anyone know where got sell in kuching/miri? seldom see them around
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 09:35 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2010, 09:19 PM)
Aisey, now Seagate has already come out with hybrid drives already. The Momentus XT. 4GB SSD + Hard drive spinning at 7200RPM. Think it'll be good for our macs?

As for the most reliable drives list for macs, I think...

1. Hitachi
2. Seagate / Toshiba
5. WD (Most problematic)
u also have to remember that WD is the most problematic also because it's the most widely available. kinda like why there are more ppl complaining about streamyx rather than P1 ;p

any experiences with samsung drives?
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 03:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i'll wait until SSDs are at least rm2 per GB smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 11:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(feins @ May 26 2010, 11:21 PM)
Yes enof for a few month but Windows partition will definitely grow especially the page file size. So its best allocate more for windows it self i never put any appl on my windows partition. like mine i allocate 120Gb for windows it slef and now it only left 71Gb of free space. Cos im doing quite a number of Video encoding and some application will cache it temp data in the windows partition until the project completed.
looking at ur sig...why the hell are you doing video encoding on ur MBW? tongue.gif

assuming u're talking about bootcamp lah
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2010, 02:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ i've always thought water cooling is scary sad.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jun 11 2010, 01:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

technically it's okay. not recommended, but then running 2+1 is also not recommended tongue.gif

u might be able to run 4gb though, even though apple said 3gb is the limit

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-not...am-upgrade.html

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jun 11 2010, 01:08 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 12 2010, 12:29 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

2gb ram should be around rm170 for both ddr2-800 and ddr3-1066. which MBP are u referring to? make sure u get the right one. if possible, go for corsair or mushkin, instead of kingston.

about the 1TB hdd, bear in mind u have to get the 9.5mm version. WD and toshiba ones are 12.5mm. i dont know where to find 9.5mm version (not sure if it's available or not), n also dunno the price. 1tb WD 12.5" is around rm580

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jun 12 2010, 12:31 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 12 2010, 09:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 12 2010, 08:31 PM)
Hey i plan to upgrade my macbook alu HDD..
I'm looking at the Hitachi 5k500.b?
Any other recommendations? I'm looking for a 500GB HDD..
that's probably the best choice for 500gb smile.gif

anyway guys, i found out that OWC is claiming that 12.5mm drivers will work on all unibody MBPs. http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Western%20Digital/WD10TPVT/

so is it safe enough to serve as a confirmation?
dvlzplayground
post Jun 15 2010, 03:44 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 13 2010, 12:20 AM)
why 1TB that's even slower than 5400rpm for a startup drive...? You can get a 500GB 7200rpm drive as startup and get a 1TB as external for storage...
lol i didnt realize it's only 5200 rpm tongue.gif

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0585sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:45 PM