11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

dvlzplayground
post Nov 7 2009, 12:29 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

I stand corrected. after googling around I found out that the unibody MBPs can accept 12.5mm hard drives, but its not official from Apple.

for the previous gen MBP (non-unibody), only the 17" can accept the taller drive
dvlzplayground
post Nov 8 2009, 06:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(arctura @ Nov 8 2009, 03:40 PM)
Will it be more expensive if buy from internet??
I'm not sure about Mac price cause I'm still consider new to Mac.
But my company bought 1 piece 2GB from internet and I actually found that it is MYR40 cheaper if buy at lowyat.
So, not sure Mac if I buy from internet will it be expensive than buy from lowyat.
why dont u go to the website n look at their prices? normally buying local is cheaper since no need to pay for shipping. unless you wanna go for brands like OWC, Crucial, then have to get online since they dont sell it in malaysia AFAIK

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Nov 8 2009, 05:39 PM)
i think now is RM150 per piece
i buy in SG cost me $65 for each
yeah, all the shops i see sell rm150-160

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Nov 8 2009, 06:04 PM)
can upgrade the LCD? how to do that?
he said wanna upgrade external LCD... juz buy new one n plug-n-play lor.. hehe
dvlzplayground
post Nov 10 2009, 11:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Nov 10 2009, 10:17 AM)
hi guys,

is there any of you upgraded your Mac to a crucial RAM?

just got my macbook late 09 a week ago and want to upgrade my RAM (:

i'm planning to get this for my macbook : http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.as...8CAEA65A5CA7304

any thoughts or suggestions?
those are really good pair of RAMs smile.gif i want to get it too but shipping would be expensive. i wonder if whether we can share the shipping cost?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 11 2009, 10:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Nov 10 2009, 11:14 PM)
tumpang?
is it even possible? im not sure myself haha
dvlzplayground
post Nov 26 2009, 03:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

TS do us a favour will u? launch the apps u've mentioned n try playing said video in realplayer. then launch Activity Monitor (use spotlight). on the top section sort by RSIZE, then at the bottom pick System Memory. take a screenshot n post it up here smile.gif maybe we can try to determine ur problem

page out depends on the page in. but looking at ur apps i believe u have enough RAM and free HDD space so they shouldnt be a problem.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 28 2009, 07:03 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 28 2009, 04:44 PM)
weird, when i try launch back the system that i mentioned.
The page out become 16.7MB instead of 170+mb that i said previously. wtf..
will be observe for a while more. If something goes weird i ll post the screen shot out.
hehe.
page in n page out doesnt stay the same. it depends on what the computer is doing. dun worry about that. also, a high page out is okay if its significantly less than page in. if page out is almost as big as page in, then u shud think abt upgrading ur RAM.

no need to wait until things go weird. as long as u're experiencing bad performance, take a screen shot. we wanna see what's happening when ur mac is slow. if its running fine, n u take the screenshot, it wouldnt help
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Nov 29 2009, 09:04 AM)
dayum. why dont that just put the freakin hdmi into it instead of using their own standard
displayport is VESA standard... only the mini-DP is apple's. which is now VESA's as well if i remember correctly. problem with HDMI is that the port takes up more space than miniDP n u know how apple likes thin products.

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Nov 29 2009, 10:45 AM)
cos HDMI is a TV standard, and Apple is looking at the future... HDMI can't power up the 30" Cinema display, and AFAIK, you can't take a HDMI cable and attach to most projectors...
that's new to me smile.gif. how come eh? i dont mean the ports, but do u mean HDMI tech can't output to a 30" monitor unless it's a tv?

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 29 2009, 04:08 PM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 06:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ibrick @ Dec 3 2009, 01:37 PM)

Just want to ask few stuff regarding iMac 24.

1. Can the graphic been upgraded? (send to service center perhaps!)
2. What is the best RAM for iMac?

btw, this is my spec:

Processor 2.66 Ghz Interl Core 2 Duo
Memory 4GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
Graphic NVIDIA GeForce 9400 256MB

your help are highly appreciated! Tq2 laugh.gif
1. cannot upgrade the graphics. even service center cannot help u. the GPU is soldered to the motherboard..meaning if u wanna change the GPU u have to change the whole motherboard...including the CPU n such. dats y u should get AppleCare Protection Plan, cuz if GPU rosak, the whole thing have to change

2. i would recommend the brand Crucial but its very hard to get in malaysia. those normal kingston KVR, mushkin, corsair works as well. just make sure its this spec: DDR3, 1066 (or 1067) Mhz, SODIMM.

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Dec 3 2009, 06:06 PM)
hey guys i'm planning to get an MBP 13", im wondering which hdd's are compatible with it since the 160 GB hdd is too small. also what are the price range?

thanks.
most notebook hdd's in the market are compatible. make sure its 2.5" SATA, 9mm (most under 500gb are 9mm btw...if u're buying >500gb better check 1st). price range uhh depends on how big u want ofcoz... 160gb is around rm170 and 500gb around rm280. as u can see 500gb has a very good value now... 56 cents per gb smile.gif

for 500gb i'd recommend WD scorpio blue and hitachi 5k500. for 320gb, u can consider the faster 7200rpm models
dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 08:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

320gb... for 5400rpm around rm190... 7200rpm around rm230
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:04 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(JasonKid @ Dec 3 2009, 09:38 PM)
Last time I just help my friend change his harddisk to 7200RPM 320GB ~
Surprise!! The harddisk can't get use, it's 15" MBP ~
It show cannot allocate the memory, can't even format ~

BUT

My Macbook white can use @@

BTW, the harddisk brand is Hitachi, taken out from his previous DELL Studio notebook.
some 7200rpm drives got this extra feature to protect the HDD...something like shock protection. the MBP already has this built-in called Sudden Motion Sensor. so SMS will clash with the HDD's shock protection, making the HDD useless.

if i recall correctly there's already a fix for this, that's y u can use now
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:51 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i think its this one

http://www.macrumors.com/2009/08/19/apple-...d-drive-issues/
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 11:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Dec 10 2009, 11:14 PM)
Can someone recommend me a good, compatible RAM for my iMac?

Mac : iMac, 1.83GHz Intel Core Duo, Currently have 512MB, 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM. (Maximum memory = 2GB).

I checked out crucial, and the price is $60. Anything cheaper?
i used 2x1gb kingston RAMs for my old MBP (2.0 Core Duo, ddr2 667)

according to c-zone pricelist they're selling 1GB DDR2-667 for rm85
dvlzplayground
post Dec 20 2009, 04:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mattyc246 @ Dec 19 2009, 06:51 PM)
Hi people, im wanting to upgrade my macbook in the near future for the more recent model or even maybe going to the 13" pro. I use windows on my mac as well as snow leopard so i use a lot of my drive space. I was just wondering if anyone knows the price it is to upgrade from the 250GB to the 500GB option. Im on a strict budget to precise values would be greatly helpful. Thanks.
from the apple online store, u have to ad rm551 to upgrade to 500GB drive hehe. so u're better off buying a hard drive from the forums or any computer shop around u. for 500gb most of us here are using Western Digital Scorpio Blue. Hitachi Travelstar 5k500 is a good choice too. both should be around RM270. buy the 500gb hard drive, clone it (read below) and swap it into ur MBP. the stock 250gb u can use as external HDD so u might wanna get a good enclosure for it smile.gif u can also buy external drives that comes with a casing like WD passport (which has the scorpio blue inside) for around RM350, then open it up to get the actual hdd.

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Dec 19 2009, 07:37 PM)
if u're on a tight budget, i would suggest u just buy the cheapest MBP, then upgrade to 500gb urself. cost of 500gb i think around rm400 lah..nor sure the price.
rm400 is too much ;p

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 20 2009, 12:19 PM)
Hey guys , I would like to know . I want to upgrade my HDD to 500GB (Internal) .

But before that , I would like to backup my data . But what is INCLUDED the backup and what is not ? I guess I have to use Time Machine to backup my data . Correct me if I'm wrong .

I definitely need to backup my musics , movies , Programs like Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Office , Adium , and Photos.

Is it advisable to copy the programs into a USB drive 1 by 1 or just back it up using Time Machine ?

Can the program still run if I were to just copy the folder into a USB and paste it into my new HDD when it's ready ?

How much is a Snow Leopard Pack in Malaysia ? For a Single User.
time machine backs up everything unless u tell it not to. u're not wrong, but it isn't the ONLY way to do it. u can make a bootable clone of ur hard drive in disk utility. juz plug it in, "Restore" it from ur internal hdd, then swap. u can also swap 1st, boot from the OSX dvd n Restore the 500gb from ur stock hdd. obviously u'll need a casing for this
dvlzplayground
post Dec 20 2009, 08:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 20 2009, 05:28 PM)
The other alternative sounds more complicated . So I can use time machine for pretty much everything ? Including the folders of my own ? So just backup using time machine from the old hdd then restore the content in the new hdd . Correct ?
Anyone in low yat plaza helps people to change hardware and also sell them ? Mac compatible that is.
correct biggrin.gif

i think any computer technician can do it..if they dunno how they can just google how (if they even bother lah). but i wont trust them tongue.gif bttr stick with apple resellers
dvlzplayground
post Dec 21 2009, 12:05 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 20 2009, 09:35 PM)
What DVD ?

You mean just change my HDD first , Then start the restoring process right ? Kinda confusing ~.~ Sorry
yes, open up ur mac, take out the stock HDD and put in ur new HDD.

boot ur mac from the SL DVD (turn on, press n hold C), and plug in the time machine HDD in the USB/FW port. u'll reach a screen where it'll ask if u want to Restore ur mac from time machine.

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 20 2009, 11:40 PM)
sorry to ask noob question:

can any laptop DDR3 can be used in MBP 09?

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-VSA4GSDSKIT1...0/ref=de_a_smtd

example like this?

how about any SSD as well?

mmm theoretically any DDR3 SODIMM works..but there are some incompatibility issues. i know got one forumer using that corsair RAM and it worked flawlessly from him/her

intel SSD works... not sure about other brands
dvlzplayground
post Dec 25 2009, 08:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Dec 23 2009, 11:31 AM)
are you referring to this?
Sonnet Firewire 800 to 400 adapter
http://www.mackingdomain.com/play/apple/ac..._id=16&vmcchk=1
i got a firewire 400-to-800 cable from Belkin for rm69. i dun like the 'adapter' look tongue.gif

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Dec 23 2009, 12:11 PM)
The Problem is , I'm using Leopard now . I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard ... What I don't know is to upgrade into the new HDD first or restore from backup then upgrade ?
this is what i did. clone the old HDD to the new one ('Restore' from disk utility), swap the new one into the Mac, then upgrade to SL. dont disturb the old HDD for two weeks or so...until u're really confident that u didn't lose anything cuz of the upgrade.

im glad i did this, bcuz i found out my 3g modem doesnt work in SL...so i just Restore the my new hdd from the old one and im back in leopard hehe
dvlzplayground
post Dec 27 2009, 09:45 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 27 2009, 12:08 AM)
been using my upgraded 4G kingston CL7 DDR3....happy with it...so letting go my 2GB DDR3 for MBP smile.gif
i think very hard to sell that since that's the minimum.. no one is going to upgrade TO 2gb ddr3 tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 28 2009, 02:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 28 2009, 09:18 AM)
Then your plug at FW400 is 6 or 4 pins?
6-pin
dvlzplayground
post Dec 28 2009, 09:04 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 28 2009, 05:42 PM)
Then i got problems with my DV cam which using 4pins.
So the adapter is most suited, coz can connect back to my 6 pins-4 pins cable.
oic. yeah i agree smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jan 13 2010, 11:59 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Sevenfold @ Jan 13 2010, 10:10 AM)
im wanna upgrade my Macbook Alu HD, anyone have any HD to recommend ?
Western Digital 500GB Scorpio Blue, or

Hitachi TravelStar 5k500

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0541sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:16 AM