1Ghz RAM shud be fine running leopard. i believe the minimum is 768mb
Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
Jun 26 2010, 11:16 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
1Ghz RAM shud be fine running leopard. i believe the minimum is 768mb
Jun 29 2010, 11:32 PM
u can use any hdd that's 9.5mm thick. currently the largest capacity is 750gb, but really hard to find. 500gb can find anywhere, and i recommend hitachi since me n a few other forumers didnt get good performance out of the WD scorpio blue
Jun 30 2010, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 30 2010, 12:28 AM) I assume you mean Hitachi 5K500...? If it's Hitachi 7K500, you'll be comparing apple and orange, as the latter is a 7,200rpm drive, while Scorpio Blue is only 5,400rpm... ah yes the 5k500. didnt realize i forgot to put the model name While WD only topped 320GB for Scorpio Black (7,200rpm), they've just launched the 500GB model, enough to compete with Hitachi's 7K500 and Seagate's Momentus 7200.4... |
Jul 3 2010, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(skool87 @ Jun 30 2010, 10:28 AM) hmm..it is truth the original buy from apple is samsung HD?if hitachi good enuf i buy hitachi lor..... i thought original is hitachi? my stock hdd is a hitachicurrently who still sell mushkin...i try to find mushkin ddr2 667mhz,but lot seller stop selling mushkin already |
Jul 4 2010, 05:23 PM
Jul 5 2010, 01:56 AM
step 1: buy 10.5 dvd
upgrading is pretty simple. lots of guides around the net, look for one that you're comfortable with This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jul 5 2010, 01:57 AM |
Jul 5 2010, 07:38 AM
SL can't be installed on a powerbook bro
Jul 15 2010, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(n8210 @ Jul 15 2010, 09:31 AM) Actually, be it legal or illegal... Apple is something very different from Windows (This was how I feel before trying it out). And users will not simply switch from Windows to Apple if there is no way to try it out, or if trying it out means spending double the money for a Windows machine. I couldn't afford it, and therefore there is no initiative to save money in order to get a real Apple machine. Now that I have tried it via OTHER MEANS, I would infact consider making effort to get myself an Apple. So it is not totally a negative thing for Apple (to consider about). before i had a choice between almost 4k asus notebook vs 8k MBP... double the price for almost the same spec. i went the hackintosh route n i was impressed by OSX, so i decided on the MBP QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 15 2010, 11:02 AM) well... part of Apple's ease of use & support is that they only use certain hardware specifications. this means that your experience with a Hackintosh is not 100% what Steve & Jony & Bertrand expect you to get... if someone wants to try out iOS... buy ipod touch 1st lar hehehe. most of my iphone user friends have an ipod touch before. if there's a relatively easy way to install iOS on nexus one, sure people will want to try it. but then spoil la, since what i hate most on android phones is the terrible touchscreen@n8210 if you wanted to buy a cellphone, how? cos there's no way to install iOS on a Nexus1 or Samsung Galaxy ...? |
Jul 30 2010, 02:23 PM
any hardware store should have the screwdrivers. sometimes they sell it in sets. just ask if you're not sure
Jul 30 2010, 10:35 PM
cut him some slack la.. maybe connection not good... or got error during the 1st post so he tried again... happened to me sometimes
someone go recommend him a place to buy ram n hdd in penang already |
Jul 31 2010, 12:09 AM
you are correct: RAMs and HDDs (of the same spec) from different brands are supposed to be the same. but here's what we have collectively found out so far in this forum
RAM - a few users has been reporting incompatibility issues for kingston, and fewer for mushkin. corsair seems to be a safe bet. OWC and crucial is supposed to be the best, but they're not available locally. note: u dont need 'certified for Macs' RAMs. they're normally standard overpriced RAMs. HDD - before, our favourite here was the 500gb western digital scorpio blue, but a small number of forumers (including myself) has experience poor performance. seems like a good choice would be hitachi travelstar 5k500 or 7k500. if u have the money, seagate momentus xt is pretty fast. got even more money, splurge on an intel x25-m SSD for ur usage, RAM is more important. try to google on how to determine if ur RAM is enough by using Activity Monitor (keep track of Page Out). also, make sure ur hdd isnt almost full...having about 30% free space should be fine to maintain the performance but of course, upgrading RAM n HDD can only give so much performance. best way is of course to get a better machine This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jul 31 2010, 12:11 AM |
Jul 31 2010, 12:26 AM
i mean, they are basically the same thing. the difference is they are actually tested on a mac, thus it's the best bet
feins is selling a 2x2gb KTA for rm460. i got my non-certified corsair 2x2gb for rm370. so it's really up to what rm90 means to a person. better assurance, or a nice tshirt lol |
Aug 1 2010, 03:13 PM
Aug 23 2010, 01:50 AM
of course no. upgrade if u want extra performance. the imacs with traditional hdds are pretty fast already
Aug 26 2010, 10:26 PM
^ nope, u cannot simply change the imacs processor like PC. the processor is soldered to the motherboard. if u wanna upgrade the proc, upgrade when u purchase it.
same goes to the GPU (no graphic card, juz the gpu chip). u can only upgrade the HDD n RAM, n even that is a bit of a hassle |
Sep 15 2010, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 14 2010, 11:54 PM) i need some advise, my macbook white is running out of hard disk space and i need a new hard disk that is fast and stable. Is it possible to get this hard disk in low yat plaze instead of Apple ? yes you can. any 2.5" SATA drive would work.What brand is compatible and im looking at around 500GB. I check mine is only 148GB . i need some technical assistant as well to transfer my existing apps and folders to the new hard disk as well.. Any shop recommendation that provide cheaper than Apple?thanks the seagate momentus XT 500gb as mentioned by andylhyap is a good choice. shud be around rm450-500. for something cheaper i'd recommend hitachi travelstar 7k500 (5k500 is good too) or WD scorpio black 500gb (make sure to get the BEKT version, not BEVT). scorpio blue got a few bad reviews around here despite recommendations from a lot of websites also bear in mind 500gb is actually ~460gb. that's why ur 160gb drive only shows 148gb. it'll only show up as 500gb if u're running snow leopard. im not that familiar with lowyat so i cant recommend any shops for you, but u might wanna try installing the new harddisk and also transferring ur stuff urself. it's very easy This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 15 2010, 12:37 AM |
Sep 15 2010, 01:18 PM
yeap, look for instructions at ifixit.com. juz make sure u get the correct screwdrivers. as for ur files, u can simply clone ur current HDD to the new one by using disk utility or carbon copy cloner
Oct 1 2010, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(M@Y @ Oct 1 2010, 05:21 PM) hey there. u have three choices 1) format ur drive in FAT32. the limitation here is u cant store files larger than 4gb. no problems with folders, but not files. 2) format to NTFS. then install a software named NTFS-3G. it lets u paste/delete files to ur external. limitation here is transfer speed is pretty slow. u can get tuxera NTFS or paragon NTFS, which is faster, but they're not free 3) format to Mac OS journaled HFS. limitation here, it wont work in windows |
Nov 1 2010, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(lordie @ Nov 1 2010, 01:38 PM) http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?opti...ask=view&id=525 i just ordered one myself Seagate Momentus-XT Solid State Hybrid Drive, anyone tried? i am thinking of upgrading the 320gb mbp to this 500gb drive. 1st i was thinking of SSD than the capacity issues. any problems working this on mac and the price is quite decent as well. |
Nov 2 2010, 12:15 AM
actually i would recommend getting corsair or mushkin. shud be about rm10-20 more expensive than KVR, but they have a better chance of working. im using corsair
| Change to: | 0.0418sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:30 PM |