Wireless Broadband Gamers, HSDPA & 3G online gaming
Amras of Nargothrond
Sep 24 2009, 05:21 PM
I am using Maxis Wireless Broadband, and I always get NAT2. So far playing Sacred 2 as Host, not much lagging, unless the maxis connection down... Anyway, I am looking to increase the Maxis Wireless Connection, right now it seem like the speed is not up to 3.6Mbps, not even 1Mbps as well, is there anyway to speed it?
If I using a router to connect with maxis modem, will the speed increase?
If yes, any recommended router to use with maxis modem and PS3?
bigostoo
Sep 29 2009, 01:49 AM

been trying the last 4 hours to get my PS3 Nat Type 2 but failed.
i'm on wimax with level 1 wbr 3408 wireless router. cant seem to get Type 2 at all.
any sifu can help? thx in advance
aaron_15ryderz
Sep 29 2009, 08:15 AM

if use celcom D98 package, can get Type 2 or not? currently using D68 package and got Type 3 only... izit the internet speed that makes us get Type 2?..
Noysan
Sep 29 2009, 08:38 AM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Sep 29 2009, 08:15 AM) if use celcom D98 package, can get Type 2 or not? currently using D68 package and got Type 3 only... izit the internet speed that makes us get Type 2?.. I'm not sure if it's the speed.. I'm using Celcom prepaid with router and I can get NAT2. My router is port forwarded. But there's a time when I'm getting NAT failure so I just reset my 3G router together with USB dongle then it comes back to NAT2 again...really weird....
aaron_15ryderz
Sep 29 2009, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 29 2009, 08:38 AM) I'm not sure if it's the speed.. I'm using Celcom prepaid with router and I can get NAT2. My router is port forwarded. But there's a time when I'm getting NAT failure so I just reset my 3G router together with USB dongle then it comes back to NAT2 again...really weird.... wat package u use and wat type of router?
bigostoo
Sep 29 2009, 09:06 AM

does anyone here using P1 for on9 gaming? i have no problem with torrent and my area coverage/speed is good. but not able to get Nat Type 2 with my ps3. do i need to change router model?
i'm on P1 2.4mb package.
Noysan
Sep 29 2009, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Sep 29 2009, 09:00 AM) wat package u use and wat type of router?  It just the prepaid one, RM20/week unlimited. Bought my own USB dongle. Router is Aztech HW550 3G.
wandiana
Sep 29 2009, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(bigostoo @ Sep 29 2009, 09:06 AM) does anyone here using P1 for on9 gaming? i have no problem with torrent and my area coverage/speed is good. but not able to get Nat Type 2 with my ps3. do i need to change router model? i'm on P1 2.4mb package. ur using cable or wireless bro?
bigostoo
Sep 29 2009, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(wandiana @ Sep 29 2009, 09:56 AM) ur using cable or wireless bro? wireless la
aaron_15ryderz
Sep 29 2009, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 29 2009, 09:10 AM) It just the prepaid one, RM20/week unlimited. Bought my own USB dongle. Router is Aztech HW550 3G. ow...isnt the speed same as D68 package?
Noysan
Sep 29 2009, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Sep 29 2009, 11:57 AM) ow...isnt the speed same as D68 package?  Not really sure what's the speed of D68 package. Here's the speedtest. I'm using it at work now. When I'm home, the speed is basically the same except the ping is around 150ms
aaron_15ryderz
Sep 29 2009, 01:33 PM

ow...guess maybe router help u to get NAT Type 2..
Noysan
Sep 29 2009, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Sep 29 2009, 01:33 PM) ow...guess maybe router help u to get NAT Type 2.. It all comes down to router I guess. I tried Maxis prepaid BB one day pass for RM8/day just for curiosity. Speed is definitely faster DL/UL than celcom but I can't join or host a game on PS3 even though I get NAT2...
aaron_15ryderz
Oct 2 2009, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 29 2009, 01:59 PM) It all comes down to router I guess. I tried Maxis prepaid BB one day pass for RM8/day just for curiosity. Speed is definitely faster DL/UL than celcom but I can't join or host a game on PS3 even though I get NAT2...  how bout laggyness especially shooting games, got any lag?
Noysan
Oct 3 2009, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Oct 2 2009, 04:06 PM) how bout laggyness especially shooting games, got any lag?  Never tried shooting games. Most of the time I played NBA2K9.. There is lag but it is still playable..
xaierin
Oct 5 2009, 01:08 AM
how to connect using macbook? can anybody teach me the settings for macbook? i understand the connection from laptop to ps3 using cable but the setting dlm laptop mcmn plak? thank u ...
p/s : i'm using the E220 maxis broadband
ledfoot
Oct 6 2009, 11:56 AM

Is it possible to connect my Izzipro direct to my ps3 or does it have to be via my pc?
Added on October 7, 2009, 5:19 pmAnybody still visit this thread?
Added on October 9, 2009, 12:12 pmHello?
This post has been edited by ledfoot: Oct 9 2009, 12:12 PM
aaron_15ryderz
Oct 9 2009, 06:07 PM

i dun think so.. u still need a router to connect from usb modem to ps3..
ledfoot
Oct 14 2009, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ Oct 9 2009, 06:07 PM) i dun think so.. u still need a router to connect from usb modem to ps3.. So either I sit my pc right next to the ps3 and tv or I have to start a wireless network at home?