27 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

TSwei
post Mar 13 2017, 10:07 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(livesnextd00r @ Mar 13 2017, 09:53 AM)
Hello everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster in this thread.

So the universe had aligned itself against me. Whatever cosmic power that be, had cause my brand new iPhone 7 to fall out of my pocket and landed about 2 feet flat on the floor. Lo and behold, my tempered glass remained unscathed. The twist, the screen of the iPhone itself was not as lucky. Cracked all over. Now I didn't think this a big a deal. Cracks and iPhones are so
common, it's almost synonymous. Adds character I'd say. But thing is, its cracked in such a way that its impeding upon my typing ability. So much so it's become a nuisance.

So I'm wondering where can a fellow apple user go to have his screen repaired or exchanged in the Damansara/Petaling Jaya area without hopefully spending an arm and a leg? 

I was thinking apple centre but it'd be pricey and I have no idea regarding the warranty on this phone as I received it as a gift.

So please help a brother out! Any and all suggestions and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Thank you and cheers in advance.
Hi, firstly, this topic are for Mac, you might get better respond from the iPhone sub-forum.
There are plenty of places offer 3rd party iPhone repair. Be vary on the parts they using. Especially model with biometric sensor.
TSwei
post Mar 17 2017, 09:54 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(fusionnetx @ Mar 16 2017, 02:23 PM)
hi,

any website that is safe to download the previous version of mac osx? i'm looking for yosemite.

thanks for the reply.
Safest would be direct from Apple, you need a valid AppleID that previously downloaded the version before. Then you can re-download it from "Purchased" section of AppStore.
TSwei
post Apr 4 2017, 01:53 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(ssyy @ Apr 4 2017, 12:55 PM)
Hi, i am using MBP 13 inch Mid 2012. Having it since early 2013. Last year, due to hard disk problem, ive changed to SSD 512GB. Running smoothly until recently, whenever I move the laptop, it will freeze and restart. Sometimes, blue/white horizontal/vertical lines appear on the screen. Brought to third party shop, and they said its logic board prob. May I know how much is the usual cost to repair/replace the logic board?
You might want to send in for another check. And if the unit been dropped or any kind of big impact before. Repair or replacement depends what is wrong with the board itself.
TSwei
post Apr 20 2017, 04:38 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Apr 20 2017, 04:28 PM)
Hi Guru Wei,
My Mac Pro 3,1 year 2008 having Start Up problem recently (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4268972).

Google around, found some troubleshooting tips and messed around for a week, problem remained!

Issue: Powered On the Switch, click sound ring, then Graphic Card's Fan spin, after a second, Mac Pro turned Off!

Hope to receive your advices before send this Sumo to repair/diagnose.

Thanks for help!
It need to be diagnosed if you have already tried troubleshooting it yourself.
TSwei
post Apr 21 2017, 09:51 AM

6,496 posts

We are unsure what is wrong, that is the reason for diagnosis. Usually PSU failure the Mac would not even power on.
TSwei
post Apr 21 2017, 03:40 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Apr 21 2017, 11:10 AM)
Thanks Wei,  that was what I think so, it's Logic!
Then, only possibility is Logic Board now?
Could be GPU, Processor, Memory as well. Many reason for it to behave such.
TSwei
post Apr 21 2017, 04:09 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Apr 21 2017, 04:07 PM)
Oh... I see. As your view, 2008, worth to repair?
You can decide about that once we concluded the diagnosis next week.
TSwei
post May 12 2017, 11:57 PM

6,496 posts

Not charging can be other reason. Check the port. Check the charger. Try SMC reset. Lastly send somewhere to test with another battery
TSwei
post May 30 2017, 09:56 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(x3cream @ May 29 2017, 07:54 PM)
If my Macbook Pro battery status is service battery, how to fix it?
This is only a reminder, the notice will stay and soon change to "Replace Soon" and "Replace Now".
There are no need for battery replacement unless you facing battery performance issue or swollen.
TSwei
post Jun 12 2017, 09:15 AM

6,496 posts

Try different power cable (so long fuse no smaller 10A). And different wall plug.

You'll likely need to send to professional for take apart diagnosis.
TSwei
post Jun 22 2017, 08:56 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(KINTREX @ Jun 22 2017, 12:14 AM)
Hi there, how much to upgrade Mac mini 2015 hdd to ssd 256gb and the ori hdd as remain .thank
My ram is 8gb
Not the right place to ask. Will PM you instead
TSwei
post Jun 29 2017, 09:44 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(tviq @ Jun 29 2017, 06:22 AM)
caanot boot... mbp 2012. Only appear a folder w question mark on it.... whats the prob? is it the ssd or ribbon?
High chance is the cable
TSwei
post Jul 4 2017, 09:37 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jul 4 2017, 04:24 PM)
do you repair powermac g5 motherboard & power problem? or do you sell any powermac g5..
Err... This is not a personal topic ya. For such enquiry. You can look for our topic in tradezone.

Anyway we no longer have any PPC unit or parts available or to offer, apology. sweat.gif
TSwei
post Sep 8 2017, 08:51 AM

6,496 posts

You'll need data recovery. Normal disk repair won't work. Try google for such apps and try. If still can't you'll need to send to data recovery centers. Which they will charge a lot
TSwei
post Sep 15 2017, 09:54 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Sep 15 2017, 12:00 AM)
Hi guys. Don't know if this is the right place to post.

I recently upgraded my Late 2011 MBP's RAM, from 4GB to 16GB.

However after running Rember (a RAM testing/diagnostics tool) it reported some errors.

So I did further testing. I tested one RAM (lets call it "RAM A") on its own, and there are no errors no matter which slot I have it in. I then tested the other RAM (RAM B) and it gave me errors in BOTH slots.

So I brought it back to the shop, exchanged RAM B for a new RAM stick (let's call it RAM C) and this is where it gets weird.

RAM C gave me errors after testing when installed on the top slot, but on the bottom slot, it gave me zero errors. However, when I installed both RAM sticks (RAM A and RAM C), the diagnostic tool ends up giving me errors upon testing!

Any idea what this means? Incompatibility issues?
What memory are they? Are they the same spec? 2011 model should be using 1333MHz.
TSwei
post Sep 16 2017, 06:15 PM

6,496 posts

If they are KVR I suggest you try another brand and model. Some KVR are known to cause issue with Mac
TSwei
post Sep 18 2017, 12:57 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Sep 17 2017, 02:50 AM)
So this is likely a compatibility issue and not an issue with the RAM itself?
KVR is the issue here. Simple as that.
TSwei
post Oct 16 2017, 09:59 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(usingtea @ Oct 14 2017, 09:33 PM)
Also noted battery slightly expanded during checking. Asked me whether want to replace the battery (together with the whole keyboard lower clam section) costing rm1.5k. Is it really that expensive?
The reason why is the retina models' battery are glued onto the housing. Apple will only offer the replacement in form of complete assembly. Silly, yeah. That is why we offer battery only replacement to counter the issue.

https://www.facebook.com/maccores/photos/a....pe=3&permPage=1
TSwei
post Oct 20 2017, 10:20 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 20 2017, 09:22 AM)
Hey guys,

My MBP 15" Late 2014 have charging port and charging adapter issues.

- I tested out the charger on several macbooks and confirm the charger and charging port is at fault.
- The charger have been replaced.
- Want to fix the charging port next.
- I've tried pressing Shift+Control+Option+Power button for 5sec but it did not work
- I clean up the charging port but remain the same.

The thing is, I wish to save extra cash instead of sending it for repair. Because I've spent RM349 for a charger and it would take RM500-800 to repair the circuit board. I can pay but yea would want to save the money.

Any simple fix to solve this?
Nope. There's no simple fix for this without replacing hardware.
Take the cautionary steps to avoid using problematic/ torn/ deformed/ non-original charger in future.
TSwei
post Feb 6 2018, 08:46 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(blissd @ Feb 6 2018, 07:20 PM)
Any idea how I can clean my keyboard? Using the Macbook 12 and I think some of the keys don't really go all the way down... thanks...
You’ll have to be very very careful.
You can try a hand blower. Those they use to clean camera equipment. Avoid can-air or strong electric blower.

27 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:17 AM