7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

karhoe
post Aug 17 2009, 11:19 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(elviratkh @ Aug 17 2009, 10:13 PM)
lol, let me guess, you're in Shanta's class today? XD
Lol, yar.... so we're classmates?
karhoe
post Aug 27 2009, 10:54 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 26 2009, 03:52 PM)
In audit there is an unofficial rule which is called the "fundamental error".
Make this mistake your chance of passing will be very low no matter how well you performed overall.
In audit you dont have to understand anything at all but you need to show to the marker how well you can structured your answer.
Technique is everything in audit, you need to format your answer based on examiner style. Even if you answered correctly but in wrong presentation still get 0.

Thats why you will see a lot of people failed audit again & again and always around 45 - 49 marks range.
In audit, we rarely looks at positive answer but negative answer is always prevalent. Instead of asking how to pass F8, you should asked yourself how to minimize risk of failure in F8.
My lecturer has mentioned about this, saying that the examiner team has clarified that this 'fundamental error' would not be penalized as they understand that a student only has 3 hours to complete the questions where in practical, there are more times, and their audit working papers would be reviewed by seniors.
karhoe
post Aug 27 2009, 03:28 PM

6,238 posts

Guys, seems like Monash University is now a dedicated exam center on its own with its exam center.

Btw, I just made my exam fees payment and I got this message

Students wishing to join the BSc in Accounting offered in conjunction with Oxford Brookes University must be opted into the degree programme prior to passing paper F7, F8 and F9. If you attempt any of these papers this session, you must opt into the programme by selecting to register on https://portal.accaglobal.com prior to 15 October 2009 in order to maintain your eligibility to the degree programme.

I plan to do OBU, so must I contact ACCA? How do I opt myself in? I know I have asked again but ACCA is kinda contradicting.

One one hand they mentioned the above, but when I clicked on OBU in myACCA, I see this

If you intend to undertake the Oxford Brookes research and analysis project from September 2008 you must first have completed the Professional Ethics module. This applies to all students irrespective of their date of registration with ACCA.

So now what?
karhoe
post Sep 8 2009, 07:53 PM

6,238 posts

Mirror for Sept 09 SA, SA website is damn slow

http://rapidshare.com/files/277209370/75736.pdf
karhoe
post Sep 28 2009, 11:27 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Sep 26 2009, 11:39 AM)
Few hundred ringgit!!!  sweat.gif
Then I think this F8 seminar which costs me only RM30 is a must, hehe, RM30 include refreshment somemore. The one you mentioned which costs few hundred, I think it got buffet style sort of refreshment? Wondering...  tongue.gif

Added on September 26, 2009, 11:52 am
Menara Hap Seng is just beside the car distributor, Mercz if not mistaken, is the previously MUI Plaza, opposite of beach club, hope it helps smile.gif
I did enquire ACCA, it's RM30 only
karhoe
post Oct 31 2009, 07:30 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(gnutnuhc @ Oct 28 2009, 11:06 AM)
Hey guys,

I've heard that your choices of optional papers (p4,p5,p6,p7) will affect your future in a way.(not sure how and in what ways) but how true is that? Some seniors told me p5 is not so useful and not many students actually chose p5 as their optional paper. Can you guys enlighten me on this issue?

Thanks a bunch!
They say that if you are strong in F5, P5 won't be that difficult, and hence people take that paper just for the sake of graduating. They say that there's not much application except if you plan to work in manufacturing industry.

QUOTE(jactval @ Oct 28 2009, 01:05 PM)
Can't really understand some of the F8 audit terms and its application as following:

1) qualified report?
2) material and pervasive?
3) material but not pervasive?

Perhaps someone can explain these terms for me in simple English terms and provide me with any other example/guidance to give me a better understanding smile.gif

Your kindness will be much appreciated smile.gif
1) Qualified report - An 'unqualified' report means the report is the same as that provided by ISA 700 ( I think so ). An unqualified report means the FS shows a true and fair view, a qualification means it doesn't present a true and fair view/

2) Material and pervasive, there are some errors or disagreements in the FS, material meaning the error/disagreements exceed a certain threshold (materiality level), pervasive meaning the error/disagreement is so substantial, it extends to the whole financial statement. For instance, disagreement in inventory valuation is not only substantial but could result in a net loss reported instead of net profit.

3) Material but not pervasive, means that only a particular part of FS is affected by the error/disagreement, for instance not creating provisions for doubtful debt, only the receivable figures does not present T&F view, but others are ok

Please correct me if i'm wrong, i'm taking my F8 this time round as well

Added on October 31, 2009, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(tachioka90 @ Oct 30 2009, 12:41 AM)
Hi, I just finished my CAT and will be going for ACCA course starting Jan 2010. Can anyone advise me on which lecturer for paper F4 and paper F5 ? I'm not so good in my english writing, so I think I'm going to struggle for my F4.

After reading off the net, I've come out with :

F4 - Sanjeetha ( KSA ) , Viknes ( KB )
F5 - Ian Lim ( McO ) , Andrew Pang ( KSA ), Low Chin Ann ( KB )

Pls advise me smile.gif Espcially for paper F5.

Thx all sifus for reading this biggrin.gif
Won't struggle one, as long as you can churn out the case laws and the sections, you don't need Shakespeare's English for that

This post has been edited by karhoe: Oct 31 2009, 07:33 PM
karhoe
post Nov 5 2009, 11:16 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 3 2009, 10:38 PM)
Need help with F6 paper.

Q : Can the husband apply for wife relief if he has divorce his wife in the YA?

Because in Alan Yeo's book, it says that he can't, but in the example he gave, the husband did include wife relief in his calculation. So which is correct?

Page 192, Alan Yeo's book, 2009 edition.
Can still claim for the year, next year cannot claim already. I'm pretty sure about this, only for child relief, it's mentioned 'never been married before', so if married during the year, no more relief.

QUOTE(`twinkles @ Nov 5 2009, 03:02 PM)
Help for Paper F6:

For cost of food provided to employee's spouse, is this a 50% or 100% NOT allowable entertainment expenses?
You are talking about leave passage right? On individual perspective? If local leave passage, everything can deduct smile.gif , but if overseas, then food cannot deduct, only leave passage

I can't really remember, I passed my F6 last sem tongue.gif
karhoe
post Nov 8 2009, 09:31 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(IT Tan @ Nov 7 2009, 10:52 PM)
ummm... what's wrong with that link? You sounded like it's somekind of danger clicking on that link. Perhaps you could elaborate your advice.

Here's the link to the e-book:
The Insider's Guide to Getting Hired with the Big 4 Public Accounting Firm

The link goes to a page where you could buy an e-book on how to get into the Big 4 Accounting Firm.

Read the preview, buy it if you like it, or else, just move on. It's not a scam, no worries.   icon_rolleyes.gif
We are trained to have professional skeptism, your link looks dangerous

or in /k/ style

duwan clk, sked virus

This post has been edited by karhoe: Nov 8 2009, 09:33 PM
karhoe
post Nov 8 2009, 09:59 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ Nov 8 2009, 09:51 PM)
I think you'll do well in F8 this round  biggrin.gif
Thanks for your wish, I'm actually struggling a little for F9 and F7, God please give me the strength and perseverance in this remaining month smile.gif

All the best to those taking the exam this time round as well.
karhoe
post Nov 15 2009, 11:12 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ Nov 14 2009, 12:44 AM)
Anyone know whats the different with Contract For Service with Contract of Service?
Contract FOR service, means you are working FOR someone, your contract is FOR your service.

F6 perspective - S4(b) Employment income
F4 perspective - employee

Contract of Service on the other hand,

F6 perspective - S4(a) Business income
F4 perspective - employer
karhoe
post Nov 24 2009, 11:12 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Jessicacwp @ Nov 24 2009, 06:13 PM)
F9 help..
Do F9 got ratio chapter like in F7? mix-up with F7 ratio chapter  tongue.gif
Thanks for reply  smile.gif
Basically they expect you to use your T6 ratios la, simple ones like gearing, interest cover, etc
karhoe
post Nov 26 2009, 09:12 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(gecodine @ Nov 25 2009, 09:07 PM)
Pencil, fountain pens, gel pens, roller ball pens, metallic effect pens, glitter pens and
other colours of pen (including highlighter pens) will not be picked up by the scanning technology and could
result in questions not being marked correctly.

I din quite understand this... Can anyone clarify to me.. What type of pen we can use?
Normal ball point pen
karhoe
post Nov 30 2009, 11:48 PM

6,238 posts

I have some questions on F9, it's about WACC calculation.

There's this question saying that the company is planning to expand and diversify, launching 2 new projects which will be financed by 11% debenture and rights issue.

Then the question asked if 15% is the appropriate discount factor to appraise the project.

The answer shows that, because the 11% debenture and rights issue does not alter the financial structure of the company, hence the WACC calculation is calculated based on that 2 source of finance only, instead of taking all other existing finance, such as another debenture shown in the BS.

I'll upload the question later
karhoe
post Dec 2 2009, 12:48 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(arktoh91 @ Dec 2 2009, 12:13 AM)
Here's the question , can we start our answer sheet with other question instead of question 1? Will we get penalized for not following the question sequence?

Sorry if the my problem sounds silly but i really want to make sure that i din do anything wrong during the exam.

p.s i am a newbie to this forum , nice to meet you all XD
Of course can
karhoe
post Dec 2 2009, 11:16 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(fastandfurious @ Dec 2 2009, 04:07 PM)
Any current F6 or P6 students here can help me- In order to determine the total sales value chargeable to tax , usually we include freight charges, insurance, cost of purchase of the material and import duty. Is processing cost included ?? according to my old F6 textbook it shld not be included but the notes by my lecturer includes it. pls update me on this appreciate much!
Whose processing cost? Usually all costs will be included in the total cost, then we just take the selling price x tax rate right?

Added on December 3, 2009, 10:32 amGuys, I have an F9 question regarding WACC.

Say that we have a current capital structure of 60% debt and 40% equity, say that means we have some 12% debentures as existing debt.

Then we have a new project, which will be financed by raising 11% debentures and retained earnings, in the same 60:40 proportion, how do we appraise this project? What discount rate do we use? Do we just take the new 11% and retained earnings? or we have to include our current 12% debentures?

What if as per the scenario above, but the proportion is different, perhaps now 50% debenture, 50% retained earnings, how do we caluclate the WACC?

How do we know if the question is asking for overall corporate WACC or project specific WACC?

Cheers

This post has been edited by karhoe: Dec 3 2009, 11:06 AM
karhoe
post Dec 3 2009, 11:34 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(MmxZero @ Dec 3 2009, 07:38 PM)
Your question is not in F9 syllabus but p4. I might be wrong unless I'm able to see the full question.

Since they are raising new finance, basically your finance risk has change. Now the 2nd question you must ask is does your biz risk change. If it does then you have to use APV method if not and the biz risk is still the same then you have to use MCC.
Ya, it's P4 question, but recently Mr Head wrote about this in his latest Cost of Capital article, that means F9 syllabus will only ask to calculate overall WACC and never project specific WACC?

This post has been edited by karhoe: Dec 3 2009, 11:35 PM
karhoe
post Dec 8 2009, 10:01 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 8 2009, 01:50 AM)
I thought this round F6 is even easier than last round.At least that's my opinion.

Q1 Partnership was pretty easy

Q2 Business Taxation only until Total Income(No dividends,other business source and all the hard stuff).I'm pretty sure there's mistakes for me here and there but overall it's pretty ok.

Q3 Q4 Q5 was pretty ok too.
LOL really? Last round paper was considered easy already tongue.gif
karhoe
post Dec 10 2009, 07:20 PM

6,238 posts

Wow, F9 was challenging, and tricky.

Like how the examiner combine forex with TERP calculation, and he includes right issue costs as well.

And Q3, 9 marks question was a killer.

Apart from that, I screwed up a very simple NPV calculation, put one expenses a year later, for the next 4 years, would I be penalized for wrong Net cash flow, wrong Present value and wrong NPV?
karhoe
post Dec 10 2009, 07:40 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Dec 10 2009, 07:36 PM)
but the calculations are quite easy tis time. especially Q1 & Q2.
but Question 1's requirement is very confusing.
i was confused by part (a) n part (b). cos the term used is the same, like part (a) buy or lease, part (b) oso the same, buy the technology using NPV method.
wat the heck, i did (a) n (b) adversely, luckily when i read the question carefully, i managed to identify the differences, n then put the NPV as part (b) in 1st page n then buy or lease as (b) in 2nd page.

besides, not enough time to finish the paper! i left 3 marks blankly in Q1, and 12 marks blankly in Q4. other 2 questions, managed to finished all.
doh.gif
Ya, I was seriously confused also, for part A and B, LOL

I had 15 mins left for the last 12 marks, wasted alot of time trying to balance the SOFP LOL, so the last 12 marks wasn't well attempted.
karhoe
post Dec 10 2009, 07:48 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Dec 10 2009, 07:44 PM)
i din even try to balance the SOFP. state down the figure and the workings n then back to 9 marks of hedging approach.
besides, tats damn tricky.
our time is reli tight in the exam, n the examiner keeps on fooling around with us!

can u even finish the whole paper?
Sort of, I rushed through the last 12 marks in 15 minutes, panic already, couldn't even remember definition of aggresive WC policy at first LOL

Added on December 10, 2009, 9:12 pm
QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Dec 10 2009, 12:00 AM)
this paper is totally out of alan lewin's style.
a lot of knowledge questions appeared.
anyway, u have done ur best, the rest, leave it to God, keep up with the paper leftover.

lol, internal control in the kitchen, i wrote mgmt should adopt the policy of cleanliness and command every worker to follow.
and the way to make sure it is satisfied, visit the premise's kitchen, and ensure tat the policies and controls are put in place.
i dunno tis correct or not.
Aiya, internal control in kitchen, don't need F8 knowledge to answer that, just tell all the crews and staffs to maintain high standard of hygiene and personal cleanliness, that is also a control.

This post has been edited by karhoe: Dec 10 2009, 09:12 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0545sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:00 PM