7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

karhoe
post Dec 23 2009, 01:22 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(88XAVIERX88 @ Dec 23 2009, 10:01 AM)
i've just discussed this with my mom. she told me to try the ICAEW course. i told her that it is going to be super  hard to juggle between work n study.

guess what she said. be a man, man up to the challenge. =="  zzz 

will there be any difference in terms of sallary if i choose one qualification over the other? if the difference are minuate, i'd rather study ACCA coz i dun have to work first.  biggrin.gif

and i like your idea of experimenting with courses. that's the reason why i did not go n study straight after A levels coz i dun wanna study just for the sake of studying. eventhough i wasted 8 months not doing anything.

i wanna try out diff things first. haha coz seriously, even now,i still duno what i really want and the only way to find out is to do it lo.

i was attracted to ACCA because it offers me a whole new set of knowledge coz i was from a science stream education.
i dun mind working, i'm just scared that i cannot cope with the stress n studies during ICAEW that i'll quit half way.
but is the hardwork of aiming for super high marks worth it in terms of pay scale? will the employer pay more if your marks are higher?

i read in previous posts that qualification is not the only factor that determines your ability to climb the corporate ladder. then what do they look for? how can someone make himself get promoted faster compared to the others?more qualification or the ability to kiss your boss ass laugh.gif  JK JK. but i really wanna know from people who are working now.

thanks all for replying.
@to sukun, i only send my application to sunway for ACCA. but not sure can get a place or not coz it is very late dy. maybe they wont even process my application.
what you mean same case? from sabah or sunway also offer you ICAEW?

one more thing. i read that tony fernander became financial controler for virgin media after he graduated from uni with accoungitng n finance. can an ACCA graduate do it? what does one do in financial controling department?control the whole monetary transactions of the company?
Well, if you can score high, it will help to secure you a job, and also if you can score high, basically it means you understand what you learn, and could help you to perform better in your job, which indirectly leads you to a better job prospects, perhaps?

When you start working, your results won't matter much already, really it's how good you can finish jobs assigned to you. (or how good you can lick your line manager's shoes)
karhoe
post Dec 23 2009, 07:41 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(gnitney @ Dec 23 2009, 05:53 PM)
hi everyone....i am having a problem paying the annual subscription fee...this morning i tried to pay using both visa n master and both the transaction was clearly stated unsuccessful....but when this evening i want to try again i found out the transaction was successful so i called up the bank and ask...then bank said 3 transaction was successful with the same amount which is the annual subscription fee and 1 unsuccessful...
so i ask can i cancel..then bank said i muz ask the acca to cancel for me....is there anything i can do???i emailed them but there's no reply yet.....  sad.gif
Don't worry, you will have a credit balance in ACCA account, it will be used to offset your future payments - unless you care about the time value of money

Added on December 23, 2009, 8:19 pmGuys, I'm taking P1 P2 P3, can anyone give me some insights into these papers? What it requires and what is expected of the candidates?

This post has been edited by karhoe: Dec 23 2009, 09:32 PM
karhoe
post Dec 23 2009, 08:37 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(88XAVIERX88 @ Dec 23 2009, 08:22 PM)
thanks for the info. it's really helpful.

yea, i try to gather as many information as possible from people. so far it does not seem like a good choice coz alot claim that it is going to be very tough and risky. coz if i fail, i cannot quit coz bonded. so now still asking around for more opinion.

hopefully someone studying ICAEW right after A level can help out.haha
ICAEW used to be prestigious but some claimed that ACCA is just as tough and prestigious. coz now, ICAEW seems to be following what ACCA is doing to promote their qualification by relaxing their entry requirement.
so still not sure.

the main problem is,will i be able to secure a job with my A level results? coz even if i want to study ICAEW, it is still not confirmed that i can get it coz i have to secure a job first.

will the interviews be hard? what should i expect from the interview?

below are the list of ICAEW aproved employer that sunway gave me, which should i try to go for if i were to study for  ICAEW?

Abu Bakar Rajudin & Co
Maybank Investment Bank Berhad
BDO Binder

Boustead Holdings Berhad
Beh L H & Co
Peter Chong & Co
CIMB Group Sdn Bhd
Crest Builder Holdings Berhad
Deloitte
ECM Libra Avenue
Ernst & Young
Folks DFK & Co
HL Hong & Co
GHL Systems Bhd
Genting Malaysia Berhad
Hong Leong Group
KPMG
Peter I M Chieng & Co
Lee Teck Leong & Co
MustaphaRaj
MAA Assurance
PETRONAS
PricewaterhouseCoopers
Shamsir Jasani Grant Thornton
Tenaga Nasional Berhad
Suruhanjaya Sekuriti
UHY Diong
Sunway Group
like i said previously, i'm keeping my options open.

coz acca is just as good or some claimed to be better than ICAEW.

i still wanna weigh the pros n cons of both of them before choosing.

hope some of you here can help me with this.

i need more opinions.

Well, people say that ICAEW matters alot if you are in UK, but in Malaysia, ACCA is not far away from ICAEW. Like what some have said, you can always use your ACCA qualification to gain some exemptions on ICAEW
karhoe
post Dec 24 2009, 12:50 AM

6,238 posts

Guys, what if we lost the official results slip notification? Can I request ACCA to send another one? How much do they charge?

karhoe
post Dec 24 2009, 01:46 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(gnitney @ Dec 24 2009, 12:57 PM)
i have email-ed them yesterday but there was no reply so i email-ed them today again...i am afraid that since christmas is tomolo maybe they may have thier day off....
i had also called them but..too bad my english was so bad that i couldnt actually communicate with them...i could only tell them what i want and hopefully they get what i meant....  cry.gif
I called ACCA UK and they put me on hold for so long...
karhoe
post Dec 25 2009, 09:55 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(vin99 @ Dec 25 2009, 06:25 PM)
Hi... I want to ask about PER...
1. How to know whether the job I work have fulfill the PER?
2. I am jus start working as account assistant in Shipping company, can it use for complete the PER?
3. If yes, what should I do? (eg: ask my employer? get what from employer and pass to ACCA?)
4. I am still half way in ACCA exam, next sitting gonna take F9. Is it possible to complete PER without finish my exam?

Thanks in advance for any replies.. Appreciated so much...
I'm still studying but I'll try to answer based on what I know and what I've heard, please correct me if I'm wrong.

1) I think I heard like if you are working under ACCA approved employer, you do not need to submit your PER, else you need to
2) Whatever you are working as, you just have to see if it's in the TDM
3) Err... I guess fill up your qualification and ask someone who is ACCA qualified to certify for you?
4) Should be, that's what part time status is for.

Hope I have been of some kind of help.
karhoe
post Jan 6 2010, 12:45 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(semivalue @ Jan 5 2010, 03:11 PM)
Learning environment is better.
But the Sunway RM6,065 inclusive of your F7 course?
Because you are exempted for your F7 paper, if not mistaken, they require you to take F7.

If you have the purchasing power, why not considering Taylors? They have recruited those 'heavyweights' lecturers recently.

Kasturi has good lecturers too, and they are much cheaper, but they are good in certain subjects. Same goes to other KL colleges smile.gif
Wow, how did the figure of 6065 bloat up? I just called up Sunway to enquire about my fees and it's only 4615 for P1-P3 and the student resource fee.
karhoe
post Jan 11 2010, 11:14 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(backspace @ Jan 6 2010, 05:27 PM)
sry off topic..

hey anyone here from sunway who took the CAT --> ACCA here?.. wanna ask some questions regarding this.. you can pm me cuz its off topic
Well I did, you can PM me

QUOTE(vincent0122 @ Jan 6 2010, 08:30 PM)
I want to ask can we using debit card to pay annual subscription and examination fee?
No problem, it's not a matter of whether its debit card or credit card, but the fact that it is issued by Visa/MasterCard - through your banks

QUOTE(Georgina @ Jan 9 2010, 09:43 PM)
may I know what to focus / study for my CAT T1, T2 and T5 exam for 2010? thanks
T1 - double entries
T2 - Some IT stuffs, and a little on management information
T5 - theory, just memorize

QUOTE(backspace @ Jan 10 2010, 07:19 PM)
new CAT student here. is it a need/advisable to own a laptop in this course?
Hell no, unless you stay in hostel, it's such a liability to be carrying laptops around

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 11 2010, 11:16 PM
karhoe
post Jan 12 2010, 04:07 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(crystal123 @ Jan 12 2010, 10:54 AM)
hi, i'm interested in OBU degree. any recommendation for the mentor and the price??
I know of one, pm her

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=240087
karhoe
post Jan 13 2010, 07:25 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(crystal123 @ Jan 13 2010, 11:43 AM)
who is the name of the mentor n where the place? how much it charges?
also is it we must pass all the fundamental level b4 taking OBU degree, since i taking F paper last sitting and now is Professional level. If i fail any one of the F paper, can i taking the OBU??
when is the dateline of submission for this round?
1) Ms. Lam
2) RM3500
3) If you have just done ur F7 8 9 and now waiting for the result, you can do it now, and if you pass, you can submit it straight away, else wait for the next sem.

- call her to ask ...la
karhoe
post Jan 16 2010, 12:12 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 15 2010, 10:24 PM)
1) You get a degree aka passport to work so you could use the degree to apply to work while waiting for ACCA results
2) Gain exemption from CIA papers at Sunway - provided you are a Sunway student
3) Applying for PR/citizenship, having a degree add points, being ACCA does not add point, its a professional qualification, not degree.

cons
1) time
2) expensive

Added on January 16, 2010, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(88XAVIERX88 @ Jan 15 2010, 08:04 PM)
hi guys,

Just wanna post about my experience studying ACCA in one of the most exspensive college in Malaysia. Notice that I did not say "the most exspensive" but  "one of the most". this is because the latter statement is ambiguous in its nature and I do not pin point which college. LOLOLOLOL  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Why don't I mention the name of the college, coz it's written in the RULES AND REGULATION HANDBOOKwhistling.gif

students are not allowed to defame the college or its lecturers.

technically speaking, I am not refering to any particular institution. so i am not defaming anyone.

Jokes aside, the college really has a good study environment. the library is spacious and filled with really good books. the  only problem i have is that they do not have much kaplan books. coz i am new to ACCA and I prefer kaplan. it's simpler.

another good thing is that students here are very hardworking. everywhere u look u can see acca student studying non stop. which is good coz it makes u feel guilty if u slack. so it's a good motivator. now i understand what the seniors always say about the good environment here. u're reminded to score well all the time. but that carries with it the the burden of stress. coz u'll be studying long hours and not enuf sleep. so have to learn how to manage stress.
haha

lecturer wise, I have no comment. let's just say they do not live up to my expectation considering the hefty price they charge.

one lecturer just read directly from the text book. and the text book is NOT GTG. i'm not sure what brand they use coz i went to the library and GTG book is way better than the text book provided to us. correct me if I am wrong about the GTG part but that is what i observed. he spends more time talking stories than teaching. zzzzz instead of wasting 3 hours in the class, i could have covered the same amount of topic in less than an hour using kaplan.

another lecturer follows the textbook word by word. and she is still not so familiar with ACCA coz she always teach beyond what is required by the topic. nothing wrong with that method, just that she spends too much time just to go through 1 small point which I think is insignificant.

but i've got to admit. they have one really good lecturer for F2. simple explaination and he follows what is required by ACCA and not just follow the text book. in fact he rarely uses the textbook. he only used it for formality. he seems knowledgeable about the syllybus and what is required by ACCA.

anyway, that's just my exsperience. I am not defaming the college. i am merely stating my observation. so dun sue me. tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  i very very poor one. no money pay for lawyer.
like what all the seniors here have stated many many times. every college has its pros n cons.

choose what suits you. i wish i could go for the lecturers that i want but i am from sabah, i dun have the luxury of my own car or house in KL.

life's not perfect and we have to just suck it up and go through with it whether we like it o not. LOL
Ya, I have heard of stories of "the college" where really, some lecturers are not on par, maybe they are good in their knowledge, but not in conveying their knowledge perhaps

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 16 2010, 12:13 PM
karhoe
post Jan 16 2010, 03:39 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 16 2010, 01:45 PM)
Sadly, only a rare group can don't study hard and still pass at higher levels... so, I guess their hardworkingness has some use tongue.gif Perhaps it's something you'll learn one day, once you get to ACCA's F7-F9 and above biggrin.gif
Absolutely, textbook is almost irrelevant when you reach P level already. Even F5 requires some non-text book answers already
karhoe
post Jan 17 2010, 05:01 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(jANe87 @ Jan 17 2010, 04:52 PM)
Hi. Can I ask 1 question relating tax? If say one director claim his own expenses as reimbursement under his own company, will the reimbursement be treated as a deduction of allowable expenses under employment income?
The director and company should be treated as different entity, so director is really an employee under the company. Tax treatment should be just like any other employee except for certain areas under

Section 13(1)©
Section 13(1)(e) - regarding the exemption

My F6 knowledge may not be sharp anymore, but reimbursement is only applicable (to be tax exempted) if it relates to business expenditure, else the reimbursement will be treated as benefit convertible to cash under Section 13(1)(a) (and hence taxable).

Added on January 17, 2010, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(pcm123 @ Jan 17 2010, 03:00 AM)
lol , time flies , p lvl adi adui .
@xavier , nvm , its just f lvl . u still can self study XD .
later part where lecturer really matters ,thats when u will really whine haha .
Of course... you moved to other college because "the current lecturers are not so good" icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 17 2010, 05:04 PM
karhoe
post Jan 17 2010, 08:51 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(tennis4life @ Jan 17 2010, 05:47 PM)
Sales order is sent by a customer to a supplier or sent by supplier to a customer??
It doesn't matter, it depends on whose perspective you see it from.

Basically sales order is used to record all the sales item, like converting a telephone order to sales order, for customer to confirm, because it's a B&W document.

Usually sent from supplier to customer. But you see, a Purchase order which you typed out and send to the supplier, would become a sales order document (on the supplier perspective).

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 17 2010, 08:51 PM
karhoe
post Jan 19 2010, 06:37 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(eruannwen @ Jan 19 2010, 06:19 PM)
Hi everyone,
am currently searching for CAT T1 and T3 text books/notes from any lecturer, the more the better..

are any forumers wanting to release their notes or is there any forum i can go to obtain these materials?

any information is much appreciated.

thanks in advance!
Too bad for you, I just threw all my notes and textbook, but seriously you don't need one
karhoe
post Jan 20 2010, 12:02 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Pooh-Bear @ Jan 19 2010, 08:26 PM)
Orange is selling BPP. So far I only know KSA as the place to obtain Kaplan text, and unfortunately they do not sell to non-students.
Googled and found out that people buy it from Singapore.
(Ref: ACCA textbook
Where can I get Kaplan textbook in Malaysia)

It's really pricey to order from Singapore though, S$80 for the text and S$45 for the kit (Kaplan Singapore).

I have raised the matter to Kaplan, they replied that their office in Singapore supplies Kaplan material to Malaysia due to cost effectiveness (cost of shipping material from the UK).

Most of the colleges fail to update the library books, regardless of which publisher.
I know Sunway library update their BPP textbooks, at least once a year.
karhoe
post Jan 20 2010, 08:20 PM

6,238 posts

Rumours is that results day has been postponed to 24th, is it true?

Added on January 20, 2010, 8:39 pm
QUOTE(88XAVIERX88 @ Jan 20 2010, 03:25 PM)
sad thing is i dun use bpp. yet. maybe later on when i have mastered the basics i might use bpp.

but for now i am comfortable with kaplan. T_______T

btw, what is the old syllybus name for F1 F2 n F3? coz i wanna check out their past year. i know it has changed alot, but i would like to just see their questions. coz acca global have the old syllybus past year paper but i duno what the name is for those 3 papers.
sad thing is, i really duno what the lecturer is talking about in class. zzzz waste 6 hours today.  cry.gif  cry.gif

i was hoping that lecturers can guide or at least help me understand the topics a little bit more compared to study on my own. in the end i still have to depend on books.. cry.gif
You know what we call Kaplan? We call it Cap-palang. For certain papers, BPP is better, for certain papers cappalang is better, for the rest, there's GTG and lecturer's notes.

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 20 2010, 08:39 PM
karhoe
post Jan 21 2010, 12:07 AM

6,238 posts

[quote=emilydufleng,Jan 20 2010, 11:00 PM]hi newbie here. want to get some info for my daugther who wants to take CAT.

want to know the whole fees from CAT to ACCA in sunway college and also tarc. how much difference?

for sunway or tarc can my daughter apply ptptn loan? or any place offers ACCA and CAT too? can i know the price?

my daugther does not have any knowledge in accounting as she nvr take that subject in spm. can she catch up wif the existing students?

hope you all give me complete info.

from a worrying mother

[/quote]

1) Fees can't help, call Sunway to ask
2) Don't worry a SINGLE bit about that, what we learn in SPM is merely BOOK KEEPING and very little on the surface on accounting, just a little to catch up and after 1 month it's on the level playing field.

Added on January 21, 2010, 12:07 am[quote=HBK-reloaded,Jan 20 2010, 10:11 PM]
[quote=karhoe,Jan 20 2010, 08:20 PM]
Rumours is that results day has been postponed to 24th, is it true?

We will start to despatch exam results via email the week commencing Monday 22 February and you will also be able to access your results via myACCA opens in a new window

Exam results will be sent via post to all students from Wednesday 24 February.

[/quote]

Ya aware of that but heard some rumours that THAT has been postponed.

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 21 2010, 12:07 AM
karhoe
post Jan 25 2010, 12:31 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 25 2010, 12:05 AM)
PT(Progress Test) for F4 will be held on next week, 3 weeks right after I started on this totally foreign subject to me!

Any tips/focus area for this particular paper?
dude, progress test is a totally internal paper! Anyway based on Ms Pushpa style, I guess there will be alot of contract acts biggrin.gif

Added on January 25, 2010, 12:32 am
QUOTE(Mr Brightside @ Jan 23 2010, 07:12 PM)
yea.. but besides sunway, any other places 2 do it?
Yeap, can do outside which I am doing, my mentor is blardy good I dare say

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jan 25 2010, 12:32 AM
karhoe
post Jan 25 2010, 02:18 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(IliekIZ @ Jan 25 2010, 03:19 AM)
lol dude u guys from sunway also? din't expect to see the mention of ms pushpa lol
Ya, what about you? I'm doing P1 P2 P3. Cause here got alot of people from KL college.

Sunway students, majority once pay the fees, won't really bother about what's available outside. Because most of the ACCA students at Sunway who started from CAT are sort of 'loyal' and wants campus life, so they won't really move around whereas those at KL college are always on the look for cheaper and better options else where, and most of them are working already.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0494sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:03 AM