123 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

firedauz
post Jul 2 2009, 04:05 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(ch0c0l@tie @ Jul 2 2009, 03:41 PM)
The living cost i mean is accomodation, food and transport . JUst the basic neeed to live there for student.

According to clemong, its only 100 000 yen to live in tokyo and I find that cheaper than claimed by many sources. Usually they say tokyo is very expensive and will need at least 200 000 to get by.

Is it the accomodation the most expensive? So finidng a cheap accomodation will save a lot since will be living by yourself.
I live in Tokyo. I either cook or just go to the 100 Yen shop tongue.gif
If you know the places, Tokyo is just like KL biggrin.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 2 2009, 04:20 PM

115 posts

Yes, a fair chunk of your budget will be going to your accommodation.
For example; a normal 1 room (average 30m² ) with attached personal bathroom and kitchen sink will set you back easily 50-70k (depending on location, age of building).

You can generally cut that down by half if you share rental with others (eg getting a 3 LDK and sharing with 3-5 others) or can bear staying in older buildings.

Another large chunk of your budget will go towards food. You'll save more if you cook yourself as compared to eating out.

200k yen is a comfortable budget for 1 person in my opinion.
Just FYI, I personally spend between 150-180k/month which is pretty decent for me; here's an estimated breakdown-

Rental - 70,000
Utilities bill (power, phone, gas, water, Internet) - 15,000
Mobile phone - 10,000
Food - 50,000
Transportation (just for leisure as all work related transport is paid by the company) - 5,000
Entertainment (usual night out with colleagues) - varies but average 20,000/month

I'm working btw... not a student and this is just my budget... which might be very different from the rest so YMMV.
TStanoshi
post Jul 2 2009, 04:23 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 2 2009, 06:20 PM)
For example; a normal 1 room (average 30m² ) with attached personal bathroom and kitchen sink will set you back easily 50-70k (depending on location, age of building).

You can generally cut that down by half if you share rental with others (eg getting a 3 LDK and sharing with 3-5 others) or can bear staying in older buildings.

Another large chunk of your budget will go towards food. You'll save more if you cook yourself as compared to eating out.

Just FYI, I personally spend between 150-180k/month which is pretty decent for me; here's an estimated breakdown-

Rental - 70,000
Mobile phone - 10,000
Food - 50,000
Transportation (just for leisure as all work related transport is paid by the company) - 5,000
Entertainment (usual night out with colleagues) - varies but average 20,000/month

I'm working btw... not a student and this is just my budget... which might be very different from the rest so YMMV.
This what we call, LELAKI BEKERJA DI KOTA TOKYO hait hait notworthy.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 2 2009, 04:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jul 2 2009, 04:23 PM)
This what we call, LELAKI BEKERJA DI KOTA TOKYO hait hait  notworthy.gif
amboi~ cepatnye~ bro Tanoshi reply. haha... tongue.gif
TStanoshi
post Jul 2 2009, 05:15 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 2 2009, 06:32 PM)
amboi~ cepatnye~ bro Tanoshi reply. haha...  tongue.gif
hehehe just back home..
Let others know lah bro..
This is what the Tokyo Metropolitan guys budget hehehe...thats what do you spend...huh..how bout the saving? of coz same figure right?
So..whats your plan to bring back which favourite car? rclxms.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 2 2009, 05:39 PM

115 posts

Haha.. well, that's really just a rough estimate of my budget ... sometimes I spend more, sometimes I spend less. About savings... it's ok ok la bro tongue.gif

TStanoshi
post Jul 2 2009, 08:41 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 2 2009, 07:39 PM)
Haha.. well, that's really just a rough estimate of my budget ... sometimes I spend more, sometimes I spend less. About savings... it's ok ok la bro tongue.gif
So what kind of car da ya wanna bring home? hmm.gif GTR? hehehe
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 2 2009, 09:52 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jul 2 2009, 08:41 PM)
So what kind of car da ya wanna bring home? hmm.gif  GTR? hehehe
Still too early to say... haha... but GT-R out of my price range la~ blush.gif
SUSch0c0l@tie
post Jul 2 2009, 10:29 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jul 2 2009, 04:05 PM)
I live in Tokyo. I either cook or just go to the 100 Yen shop tongue.gif
If you know the places, Tokyo is just like KL biggrin.gif
Wow just like kl.. but earn 3 times kl... i jeles

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 2 2009, 04:20 PM)

Rental - 70,000
Mobile phone - 10,000
Food - 50,000

your budget is consider very leggang right.. just spend on whatever u like but not excessive.. so if want to save can spend less than that?
Your rental 70000 is own house with everything included?

RegentCid
post Jul 2 2009, 10:53 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Cheap Accmodation mean you rent a Room only. But you still need pay Water , electrical ,tel , gas bil.....cheapest also need 100k - 150k

tokyo is look like Kl ...k#just look like...Like example in HK everythibg is need add 7 times....like HK a single lowest class patrol Police earn 1 month is 25k HK dollar exchange to malaysia is RM12.5k ...wah you look is perfect...because Hk living cost is 7 times higher than malaysia so is 12.5k / 7 = RM1785 Only...

So in HK earning 25,000 HK dollar is like RM1750 in malaysia only. Because in Malaysia one wantan mee is RM4..in HK is 60 Dollar .....Everything is 7 times expansive.

If i no worng Japan living cost is 9 times higher than malaysia

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jul 2 2009, 11:00 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 3 2009, 08:24 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ch0c0l@tie @ Jul 2 2009, 10:29 PM)
Wow just like kl.. but earn 3 times kl... i jeles
your budget is consider very leggang right.. just spend on whatever u like but not excessive.. so if want to save can spend less than that?
Your rental 70000 is own house with everything included?
I'm already putting aside for savings monthly but yeah, you can say that if I want to save more; I can spend less monthly.
My 70k rental is an empty 'mansion' (1 room with separate kitchen+bathroom). I think it's not very common to find fully furnished place for rent on long term basis unless special conditions etc... student housing or company's provided accommodation.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 2 2009, 10:53 PM)
Cheap Accmodation mean you rent a Room only. But you still need pay Water , electrical ,tel , gas bil.....cheapest also need 100k - 150k

tokyo is look like Kl ...k#just look like...Like example in HK everythibg is need add 7 times....like HK a single lowest class patrol Police earn 1 month is 25k HK dollar exchange to malaysia is RM12.5k ...wah you look is perfect...because Hk living cost is 7 times higher than malaysia so is 12.5k / 7 = RM1785 Only...

So in HK earning 25,000 HK dollar is like RM1750 in malaysia only.  Because in Malaysia one wantan mee is RM4..in HK is 60 Dollar .....Everything is 7 times expansive.
If i no worng Japan living cost is 9 times higher than malaysia
While it's quite true that living cost is pretty high... but if you earn here and live here... it's quite okay.

Plus, take your own example of Patrol Police in HK ... even after dividing by 7 and it works out to be RM1.7k; do you know back in Malaysia - what's the starting pay of a constable in the Police force? You'll be surprised it's no more than RM1k (starting pay).
firedauz
post Jul 3 2009, 08:45 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 3 2009, 08:24 AM)
My 70k rental is an empty 'mansion'

Back when I first started here, my parents were like shocking.gif when I mentioned that I stayed at a mansion laugh.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 3 2009, 08:54 AM

115 posts

Hahaha... 'mansion' sounds better than 'aparto' right? Although an apartment is bigger. tongue.gif
TStanoshi
post Jul 3 2009, 10:19 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 3 2009, 10:54 AM)
Hahaha... 'mansion' sounds better than 'aparto' right? Although an apartment is bigger. tongue.gif
yah yah...I wah also shock like Fire too...

my apato is 3 times smaller than my condo in Msia, yeah 3 times smaller after my wife calculate the MtrSquare of my apato..and also 2 times expensive than our condo if rental! gila kan duduk kat Tokyo ni hahahah rclxub.gif
SUSch0c0l@tie
post Jul 3 2009, 11:20 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jul 3 2009, 08:24 AM)
I'm already putting aside for savings monthly but yeah, you can say that if I want to save more; I can spend less monthly.
My 70k rental is an empty 'mansion' (1 room with separate kitchen+bathroom). I think it's not very common to find fully furnished place for rent on long term basis unless special conditions etc... student housing or company's provided accommodation.
While it's quite true that living cost is pretty high... but if you earn here and live here... it's quite okay.

Plus, take your own example of Patrol Police in HK ... even after dividing by 7 and it works out to be RM1.7k; do you know back in Malaysia - what's the starting pay of a constable in the Police force? You'll be surprised it's no more than RM1k (starting pay).
If you live alone, why do u spend so much on a mansion? You dont need such a big space right and u can rent smaller place and use the excess money for other leisure? Care to share why?
So you mean earning and living in tokyo is the same as earning and living in kl if compared between lifestyle expenditure?

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jul 3 2009, 10:19 AM)
yah yah...I wah also shock like Fire too...

my apato is 3 times smaller than my condo in Msia, yeah 3 times smaller after my wife calculate the MtrSquare of my apato..and also 2 times expensive than our condo if rental! gila kan duduk kat Tokyo ni hahahah rclxub.gif
So Tanoshi-sama, hows your expenditure? ABout the same as psych?

RegentCid
post Jul 3 2009, 11:52 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(ch0c0l@tie @ Jul 3 2009, 10:20 AM)

So you mean earning and living in tokyo is the same as earning and living in kl if compared between lifestyle expenditure?

I can tell you Ya..is almost same. At Japan you earn like example a office worker...one month gaji 200,000 Yen...after reducing all bill like
Rental - 70,000
Mobile phone - 10,000
Food - 50,000

How much you left?

PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 3 2009, 12:14 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ch0c0l@tie @ Jul 3 2009, 11:20 AM)
If you live alone, why do u spend so much on a mansion? You dont need such a big space right and u can rent smaller place and use the excess money for other leisure? Care to share why?
To me, my personal comfort is always my top priority. After working and all... I want to get home to a nice and comfortable environment where I can just relax and unwind. After all, if you live well and rest well, then your life and job productivity will increase as well right? smile.gif

And btw, 70k doesn't really get you a huge space... granted that it's a bit larger than the average mansion that I usually see.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 3 2009, 11:52 AM)
I can tell you Ya..is almost same.  At Japan you earn like example a office worker...one month gaji 200,000 Yen...after reducing all bill like 
Rental - 70,000
Mobile phone - 10,000
Food - 50,000

How much you left?
That's quite an assumption you're making but like I said earlier - my budget doesn't necessary reflect on what others is earning & spending so YMMV.
RegentCid
post Jul 3 2009, 12:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

heh depent personal usage......GG I kuat spent duit kind..i go tokyo 3 days can spent RM25k is my record brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Overall is same la...

Tokyo earn high but living cost high = Zero
KL earn less (compare to tokyo) but Living cost low (compare to Tokyo ) = Zero also

OMG...firedauz got new chick pic update on his avarta!!!!

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jul 3 2009, 12:56 PM
clemong_888
post Jul 3 2009, 04:22 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

let me tell u how i spent 100,000yen a month

RENT:40,000
food:30,000(plus all my alcoholic nights out) can reduce to one if i cook everyday
utilities-10,000
phonebill-8000(which is way high for me)
the rest is for entertainment/transport

psyhzz is a working person and im a student, hence the difference in cost.im quite sure he eats out most of the time tongue.gif and my rent is cheaper cos im sharing but its definitely possible to find 40,000yen rent if u live just slightly outside yamanote area. hope it helps.
aichiban
post Jul 3 2009, 04:27 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jul 1 2009, 02:27 PM)
A reminder to everyone here: Seishun 18 Kippu is BACK! biggrin.gif

Sales start TODAY; I'm gonna head SOUTH this summer rclxms.gif

Link: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2362.html
Should I get this, or the JR rail pass if im going to Japan 7 days tour?
2 days Kyoto, 1 day in btwn Kyoto n Tokyo, 3 days in Tokyo?

123 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:37 PM