7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only

dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 06:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Dec 3 2009, 02:47 AM)
Sigh, maybe will install back Windows XP bah..
I thought it supposed to be fully compatible ady, coz never hear this problem from other forumer..
actually quite a lot complaining abt win7 tongue.gif havent got full support by apple... they say be4 the end of the year, SL will fully support win7. new drivers!
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 02:58 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 4 2009, 12:17 AM)
Can you create an adhoc network connection on Win 7 via bootcamp ?
i never tried (only tried in xp), but should be able to. i dun see why not unless got driver problem with airport
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

no problem. it'll work juz like any other windows machine

juz remember a Mac running in bootcamp is the exact same thing as a normal windows PC. i have never encountered anything that can be done on a PC but not in bootcamp. apart from overclocking lah wink.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 4 2009, 03:17 PM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 5 2009, 02:23 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Dec 4 2009, 08:11 PM)
sigh, means now i have to start learning how to format my win 7 and install XP..  rclxub.gif
no lah, juz wait a few weeks. hopefully apple will keep their promise smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 5 2009, 05:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 5 2009, 04:57 PM)
Guys i was following this thread and get to know that Parallel 4.0 is one of the best software to use.

I have a few questions:
1) How does this Parallel uses the resources of my current ram n proc? (Alu MBP 2.26Ghz with 4GB Ram)
2) Am i able to use Parallel to do p2p?
3) Let say i install p2p software at my Ext Hdd and uses Parallel to run is it ok?
4) Will Parallel slow down my overall system performance? / Increase the heat issue?
5) Does Parallel able to play some simple "Online Games"
6) From Apple website many ppl giving negative feedback on Parallel UI and the messy files and applications. Is this true?

From all the questions above, does bootcamp serve my need better or i should stick with Parallel?

Main usage: p2p and Online games that will not hang/slow down my system

Thanks!
1) u can choose how much RAM the VM can use. maybe u can assign 2gb for it since u have 4gb RAM. for proc u can choose 1 core or 2 core, but honestly i dont know how it works tongue.gif
2) i didnt use p2p 4 a long time, but should be fine. can specify what p2p? can help try 4 u 1st
3) also not sure about p2p, but i managed to run some portable apps from a USB drive. when connecting a USB drive, parallels will ask u want to connect to Mac or VM. even u connect to Mac, u can easily connect it to the VM later on without ejecting it. what i normally do for drives is to juz connect to Mac, because u can actually browse to the drive from the VM. pretty neat smile.gif
4) system slow down is confirm got one la ;p but u have 4gb ram it wont be too bad for winxp or win7. as for heat, i didnt check my temperature but my fan doesnt suddenly spin loudly.
5) u mean flash games? yes. if u mean like 3d games, only a few can run smoothly.
6) i think those messy stuff they mentioned is like when u right click and Open with a file in OSX...even windows programs are listed as well, n u can even set certain files to defaultly open in a windows app. for example, i can set .DOCX files to open in office2007. so when i doubleclick it, parallels will auto launch, then launch office07 to open my file. but i prefer to do this myself.

obviously running 2 OS is definitely going to slow down any system a bit. but i think u're better of with parallels cuz of p2p. if u p2p in bootcamp...then u cant access OSX at all without disrupting ur download, so u're stuck in windows until ur download completes..which kinda defeats the purpose of buying a mac in the 1st place. better let it download while u're in OSX.

but for ur online games..can specify what game? anyway i think its best 4 u to download a trial. its fully featured, runs exactly is how it'd be if u bought one. then u can test everything u want smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 6 2009, 02:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 5 2009, 10:07 PM)
Hi dvlzplayground,

I just though some extra questions and u have answered for me!  biggrin.gif
First of all, i would not like to share p2p issue is illegal  blush.gif but thanks for helping..

Hence while i was thinking the same prob ( the cheapest way) of bootcamp, coz if i would use p2p i will not access OSX while downloading therefore i might sacrifice my purpose of getting Mac Machine.

Regarding online games, is call http://eco.runup.com.my/en/05-download/05-01-01.php and Maple story just to join the crowd

Another things is when booting OS X does my resources e.g. processor and RAM goes back to default settings? or is already partition 1 core and 2GB RAM for Parallel?
the emil chronicle game.. suggested specs for graphics is 7300gt or radeon 9660... those are mid-range directX 9 days.. should run fine smile.gif maple story im not sure, but if i remember right the graphics is 2d?

yes the proc n RAM will go back to default settings after u quit parallels. also, i think p2p is not necessarily illegal...even microsoft use p2p to spread win7 beta few months ago smile.gif

go download the trial!
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 09:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i need microsoft word 07, excel 07 n autocad tongue.gif

but now using Fusion 3...seem more or less the same as PD5... but much better than PD 4 i was upgrading from
dvlzplayground
post Dec 8 2009, 12:44 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(razr_sped @ Dec 8 2009, 12:07 AM)
hi guys..jus a Q..m migrating to MBP after christmas..
as my company has volume licensing for XP n office, will need it for my work

i understood it will run well in PD..
lets say i bootcamp de xp, will i be able to access it via PD? (cant seems to find ans in this thread, not sure other)
or i still need another installation? a.k.a. 1 for bootcamp n 1 for PD
reason is i still play valve game, l4d n l4d2..that is best with bootcamp
but i jus need PD for my work

thx
looks like u've done ur homework. kudos smile.gif

its ur choice. u can make a separate windows installation in PD, or u can tell PD to make a virtual machine based on ur boot camp partition (in this case, obviously u have to boot camp 1st). if separate, it will be a brand new installation and have nothing to do at all with ur boot camp partition. legally u need 2 windows license for this. the advantage of this is u wont have to specify how big the windows partition is since no partitioning is involved.

if u make VM from boot camp, it'll be exactly like ur bootcamp partition with all the programs u installed. also, whatever changes u make when running windows in PD, it will show up in boot camp. and vice versa. u'll only need 1 windows license here, n save disk space as well. but once u set how big the windows/bootcamp partition is, u cant change it (from what i know, maybe there are methods to do this).

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 8 2009, 12:45 AM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 8 2009, 02:53 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(SIWIS @ Dec 8 2009, 10:01 AM)
I have PD on my new macbook which only have 2gb ram. Kinda feel lag after open Autocad program under Windows 7.
What about if  i reformat to Windows XP? Can reduce lag?
autocad on WinXP feels faster to me compared to win7. the MINIMUM ram requirement for windows7 is already 1gb. if winxp, 256mb also no problem

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Dec 8 2009, 02:37 PM)
I'm on Mac OS X 10.4.11 (Tiger), and I would love to have Linux on my system alongside OSX. How would I go about doing it? As for the distro, don't know if it matters, but Ubuntu maybe?
google these two softwares: Parallels Desktop 5, and VMware Fusion 3. those are virtualization apps that let u run other OS within OSX. both website are very helpful in showcasing what u can do with the apps, and u can also download a trial. just pick either PD or Fusion (both are very good) and install ubuntu

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Dec 8 2009, 02:47 PM)
Does bootcamp support 7 yet?
not officially, but possible
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 04:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(SIWIS @ Dec 10 2009, 08:55 AM)
How can I change to windows xp if I already install Win7 on PD? How to reformat?
just create new virtual machine to install windows xp and delete the win7 VM. u dont 'format' a virtual machine..its VIRTUAL
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 06:34 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Dec 10 2009, 04:50 PM)
just wondering can we run VMware for the new Left 4 Dead 2???
I tried last night but when the game is loading halfway it just bounce back to windows..
Sorry for the noobie question as I'm still new with this VMware..
eventhough VMware supports up to directX 9.0c and shader model 3.0 (which l4d2 uses), dont bet on it. fusion3 can't even run 3dmark06 tongue.gif

i'd say dont bother gaming in virtualization...u cant be sure which games will run and which wont. u also wont have enough graphics power modern games demand. for programs like office, autocad etc still ok...but gaming, no
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 09:38 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

got L4D for mac??? biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 10:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

bootcamp had this problem since version 1.0

last i tried, even in 3.0 still got
dvlzplayground
post Dec 13 2009, 01:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(shdwkillr @ Dec 13 2009, 11:52 AM)
Have anyone of you encountered this problem where the time shown under Mac OS was not the proper time after restarted and switched back to Mac OS from bootcamp?
that's a common problem with boot camp, dont worry. i think everyone has the same problem

Added on December 13, 2009, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Dec 13 2009, 12:30 PM)
i tried to install via bootcamp, after installing window i can't boot it.
mind to teach me?
sorry ya, newbie here sad.gif
care to further explain 'cant boot'? at what screen u got stuck?

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 13 2009, 01:51 PM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 15 2009, 12:18 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 15 2009, 06:59 AM)
after reading this thread (first few page and straight jump to here), can i say that running windows using bootcamp is exactly like using a windows on a PC? so do i still need to install anti virus on my windows partition to prevent virus infection? I just ordered a macbook white. so i am new to mac.
well, yes and no... u still need to install antivirus to protect ur XP partition. but the virus wont affect OSX so there u go. so if u're like me, where my boot camp partition is only for gaming...i didnt install any antivirus. if virus come in, juz reformat ;p

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 15 2009, 07:59 AM)
Hie guys is better to install XP or Win7 on bootcamp was weighting on which run smoother and better?

Btw do i need to SL UTD to install the necessarily software or the original Mac sotfware provided when u purchase the Mac?
every software from the SL disc is already installed when u purchase ur Mac except for the developer tools. u can install it if u need it.
dvlzplayground
post Dec 15 2009, 02:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 15 2009, 12:28 PM)
cool thanks guess later im going to try bootcamp n see....and get some games n try it out n see...
Heard the volume abit mild...any software to tweak for this.?

How much disk space i need to partition for Win?

Thanks a lot!
disk space u decide hehe. for me 30gb is just nice

oh ya i forgot in Bootcamp 3.0 can access OSX partition. not sure if virus can go in the OSX partition or not :S
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 07:44 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Dec 16 2009, 10:25 AM)
anyone got any link to download the latest PD5 ah?
coz i install version 4 cant install their win 7 hardware driver, so i need version 5 to try it. anyone ?
BUT THEN...parallels desktop 4 can install win7 lah. u need to update, it works on all 'editions'
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 10:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(truss @ Dec 16 2009, 10:13 PM)
having trouble installing Windows 7 on my Mac. After setting the time zone, it reboots then failed to load after that. it will stuck at press any key to boot from DVD. What did I do wrong? I've tried several times and i'm worried that my hdd will have problem later due to the repartitioning done..
IMO, 'failing to boot from DVD' does not indicate HDD problem at all

maybe the DVD got prob? u can always merge the partition back and then partition again...juz hope u wont get the 'files cannot be moved' error
dvlzplayground
post Dec 17 2009, 12:40 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(truss @ Dec 16 2009, 10:36 PM)
it should not be booting from DVD anymore what isn't it? it should boot into the hdd isn't it??
ohh sorry i misread..i thought it cant boot after u press 'any key' ;p

maybe partition problem, but only for the windows one. can u boot into OSX?

QUOTE(lil twist @ Dec 16 2009, 10:41 PM)
im having this problem with parallels 5 for mac.

i have install ver 4 and upgraded it to 5 free, and i tried installing win xp but it cant load/detect my xp cd, it showed failed to boot from disc... sad.gif

i have burnt several cds and tried loading it from various pc and it works perfectly but it cant detect in parallels... :star:

what is the problem with it? anyone can assist me on this issue? notworthy.gif

or any recommendation on which OS should i go? smile.gif

thank you in advance... notworthy.gif

**off-topic issue: how to create an .iso file? what software (freeware) to use? sweat.gif
actually its not off topic issue...i wanted to suggest u to install using .iso as well tongue.gif

no need to download anything, juz launch Disk Utility. put in the XP CD, go to File > New > Disk Image from (the XP cd). save it somewhere. then open parallels and direct it to install from the ISO u created
dvlzplayground
post Dec 20 2009, 11:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 20 2009, 10:06 PM)
guys i follow the instruction to install bootcamp...
but after successfully installed Vista i inserted my SL UTD stated "Upgrade DVD" that vista can't recognize the disk while the DVD writer having some glitter sound and pop out.

What is this suppose to mean?
can u try opening the disk in OSX? i notice superdrives are very picky with dvds. my 'applications dvd' and ACPP techtool dvd got ejected right out after i inserted it

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:51 PM