TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 02:30 PM, updated 16y ago

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Mac Purchase Guide

This thread is to facilitate the ease of choosing which mac that suits your budget and usage.

Here are the breakdown as follows:

Section A: MacPro
Section B: iMac
Section C: Mac Mini
Section D: Macbook
Section E: Macbook Pro
Section F: MacBook Air
Section G: Purchasing from Resellers and Online Store (Installment etc)
Section H: Warranty, AppleCare etc

For price comparison, please refer to Apple Price List.

New To Mac?

 Which Mac is Better: http://www.apple.com/getamac/
 Migrating over from Windows platform, here's the "Switch 101" guide to getting the most out of your Mac.
 New to Mac, here's the "Mac101" guide to using a Mac effectively and efficiently.
 Runs Windows Operating System on Mac : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/979861
 Speed Tips n' Tricks: http://www.mactricksandtips.com/2008/08/99...rmance-mac.html

This thread will be updated as and when there's updates.

Thank you.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 14 2010, 08:13 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 02:32 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section A: Mac Pro

The fastest Mac ever.

The Mac Pro is a force to be reckoned with. With the Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” processor and powerful AMD and NVIDIA graphics, it's nearly two times faster than the previous generation. Designed for easier expansion, every system supports up to two 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Displays, along with millions of configuration possibilities.

Tech Spec: http://www.apple.com/my/macpro/specs.html

Pros: The most powerful, customizable and upgradable Mac ever. 4 HDD tray, 4 PCI-E slots, 8x RAM slots (or 4 for single proc model), 2 optical drive bay. Sturdy build, trusted machine, a true work-horse.
Cons: Lack of choices for graphic cards. Big power consumption (electricity bill). Heavy and bulky. No Apple Remote support, Airport is not included.
(credit to wei)

Usage: Music Productions/Post Production/Recording Studios, Audio/Video/Graphic/3D Production House and more.

Budget: RM 9xxx above

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Aug 10 2010, 03:38 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 02:34 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section B: iMac

The New iMac

21.5-inch and 27-inch displays.

The new iMac has come a long way from the first 15-inch iMac. Take one look and you’ll see just how far. A 21.5-inch or 27-inch display, quad-core Intel Core i5 or Core i7 with edge-to-edge glass covers nearly the entire front of the enclosure. When all you see is the display, nothing gets between you and what’s onscreen. Movies, TV shows, websites, photos — everything looks stunning on the new 16:9 widescreen iMac display.

Come with the new Wireless Keyboard and Mouse : http://www.apple.com/imac/features.html#mouse

Tech specs: http://www.apple.com/imac/specs.html

Budget: RM 4xxx above

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Aug 10 2010, 03:51 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 03:12 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section C: iMac

The smallest, most affordable Mac.

Because Mac mini is small, elegant, and unassuming, it fits in anywhere. From the living room to the car and beyond, adventurous Mac users have taken Mac mini to places even Apple may not have imagined. (One Mac mini owner even made his into a robot.) With Mac mini, inspiration runs tiny.

Tech Specs: http://www.apple.com/my/macmini/specs.html

Pros: Most affordable and portable desktop Mac ever.
Cons: Non of the internal parts are user upgradable, external power adapter (you can't use the mini if you miss-placed your adapter), doesn't come with keyboard, mouse & Apple Remote. Mini display port adapter not included. Slow hardware revision by Apple.
(credit to wei)

Usage: Web browsing, Word documents, Office/college/home work etc.

Budget: Rm 2xxx above

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Mar 30 2009, 01:49 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 03:35 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section D: Macbook

The next-generation MacBook.

The new MacBook has something for everyone. New Intel Core i5 and Core i7 processors. The 13, 15 and 17-inch MacBook Pro feature the fastest dual-core processors available, which boost performance up to 50 percent.

Less than an inch thin and 4.5 pounds, it fits your backpack (and your mobile lifestyle). It offers great integrated graphics performance for playing 3D games or creating photo books in iPhoto and making movies in iMovie.

Tech Specs: http://www.apple.com/macbook/specs.html

Pros: Unibody design. Multi-Touch glass trackpad. Standalone graphic processor. LCD display with LED backlit.
Cons: Shared graphic memory with main memory. Expensive battery replacement. No mini display port adapter & Apple Remote included. No firewire port.
(credit to wei)

Usage: Office/College/School work, games, make your own movies, web browsing, bloggers/copywriters and more.

Budget: RM 3xxx above

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Aug 10 2010, 03:46 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 03:55 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section E: Macbook Pro

The ultimate mobile powerhouse.

It’s all about performance. If you want desktop-class graphics and a bigger display, you want the all-new MacBook Pro. With a double graphics punch — both integrated and discrete NVIDIA graphics processors — the 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro models are fast enough to run the most graphics-intensive games and professional applications, but portable enough to come along for the ride.

New features:

- New Intel Core i5 and Core i7 processors. The 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro feature the fastest dual-core processors available, which boost performance up to 50%.
- Next-generation NVIDIA graphics. With faster graphics than ever, MacBook Pro brings high performance to everything from photos and videos to 3D games.
- Up to 10 hours of battery life. The battery in the 13-inch MacBook Pro lasts up to 10 hours (8-9 hours on the 15- and 17-inch models) on a single charge

Tech Specs: http://www.apple.com/asia/macbookpro/specs-compare.html

15-inch Macbook Pro
New Intel Core i5 and Core i7 processors. Unibody design. Large LCD panel with LED backlit. Multi-Touch glass trackpad.

17-inch Macbook Pro
New Intel Core Core i5 processors. Thinness of it's kind. Huge LCD panel with LED backlit. Multi-Touch glass trackpad. Fastest Mac laptop ever.

Usage: Use music applications for live concerts/events, Video Presentation, Office/College Studies, Designers and mostly business or artistic oriented buyers.

Budget: RM 3xxx above

----

The New MacBookPro

13" Macbook Pro

13-inch: 2.4GHz: RM 3899
13-inch: 2.66GHz: RM 4899

http://www.apple.com/asia/macbookpro/specs-13inch.html

15" Macbook Pro

15-inch: 2.4GHz Intel Core i5: RM 5899
15-inch: 2.53GHz Intel Core i5: RM 6499
15-inch: 2.66GHz Intel Core i7: RM 7199

http://www.apple.com/asia/macbookpro/specs.html

17" Macbook Pro

17-inch: 2.53GHz Intel Core i5: RM 7499

http://www.apple.com/asia/macbookpro/specs-17inch.html

Link: Apple Malaysia [New Macbook Pro]

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Apr 14 2010, 12:16 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 04:36 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section F: Macbook Air

The world’s thinnest notebook.

MacBook Air travels light. At just 3 pounds, it sets a new standard for mobile computing — without scrimping on features. With more power, advanced NVIDIA integrated graphics, a 13.3-inch screen, a full-size keyboard, and breakthrough wireless innovations, MacBook Air is engineered to take on the wireless world.

Tech Specs: http://www.apple.com/my/macbookair/specs.html

Pros: Lightest most portable Mac laptop ever. Full size keyboard. LCD panel with LED backlit.
Cons: Lack of ports & optical drive. No mini display port adapter & Apple Remote included. No user upgradable inner parts. Expensive battery replacement.
(credit to wei)

Usage: For users who travels alot, Bloggers/Copywriter, web browsing, email, entertainment on the go and more.

Budget: RM 6xxx above

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Mar 30 2009, 01:51 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 28 2009, 04:41 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section G: Purchasing from Resellers and Online Store

http://channelprograms.apple.com/channel/

http://www.apple.com/my/buy/reseller/

*Below is just a simple guideline to help understand the different Resellers.

Apple Authorized Reseller(AAR):

- Sells Apple computers.
- Send faulty hardware to Apple Authorized (Gold) Reseller for service or claim hardware parts.
- There are creditcard surcharges as they need to earn more as they are always giving out freebies.
- Less offerings in terms of product ranges
- Dont have an in-house service centre
- Dont sell iphones on behalf of maxis.
- No workshop provided

Apple Authorized (Gold) Reseller(AAR):

- Deals in Service/Diagnostic.
- Claim spare/faulty hardwares from Apple. Apple sends parts within 24hrs and dependant on stock availability.
- All Apple computers are taken from distributors like Servex, Avix Computer, Planet Technology etc.
- Meet the minimum annual purchase requirement.

Apple Premium Reseller(APR): [MacStudio, EpicCentre, Machines, Switch]

- Usually in shopping malls with high traffic crowd/audience.
- Apple will decide the structure/layout of the shop.
- Order direct from Apple Inc.
- Meet the annual purchase requirement ($100,000)
- Provide Services/Diagnostics/Waranty Claims.
- Gives you more financial assistance (installment) in terms of 0% interest free payment.
- More ranges of product and services
- Normally have their own service centre
- Sell iphones on behalf of Maxis
- Provides workshops

(credit to nimrod323)
---

A big thank you to ahblu3 for taking time in explaining the difference on Reseller and Online Store. Cheers

1. Reseller:

Basically you get the following advantages from Apple Reseller:

2. Online Store:

Malaysia Apple Online Store. While there are a lot of critics regarding Reseller in Malaysia and the lack of official Apple Store in Malaysia, Apple breaks the ground and introduce the Apple Online Store in Malaysia.

The main advantages of getting your beloved Macs from the Online Store:

3. Price Comparison:

Ok, actually things are simple here. The advantages of one, are the disadvantages of another.
Here I only discuss about everybody's main concern: PRICE.
Previously I had misunderstood the true meaning of education discount offered by the online store.
I thought that only the Mac itself is entitled to the discount.
But the real thing is, most of the products (exclude iPods and accessories) do have discount but with different rates! Including optional customizing parts!

For instance, I make 2 examples of the Education Discount:

4. Personal Experience:

More info @ http://store.apple.com/my/help

------------

Users review on buying thru Apple Online Store

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/842060/

By nimrod323: i just purchased one thru edu pricing yesterday,my experience is never use bank transfer it'll be awfully slow,you cant use maybank debit card either cause its only meant for physical swipes not for online purchase. i used public bank debit card, it works normally the item should be arriving by 4-5 days make sure you purchase before 3 to allow for on the spot processing. Use CC also.

By boundaries: bought my 24" imac last month from apple store... was great on it. is like it know what it does for me. just like i can do everything with it except playing my games that is built for windows. *sigh* back to the experience i got from purchasing from the online store is that they use DHL (Dua Hari Lambat) and the funny thing is that the order is from malaysia to singapore but the item was delivered from shang hai and the expected delivery date was late for 2 days... sigh... DHL claims it got stuck in customs n bla bla. call up to apple store, they give me a RM65 refund due to it's late and the best part, i went to pickup my imac from DHL warehouse in Glenmarie at 3am! but i still love my mac now.. hahahha

By friends: I'm not sure about Mac products shipment. But lately I ordered iPod, it was came from SuZhou, China. When you check the DHL shipment Tracking (login your Apple account), you will know where your order is coming from.

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 14 2009, 12:54 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Mar 29 2009, 01:51 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section H: Warranty, AppleCare etc

1. Online Service Assistance Warranty Check

Apple offers International Warranty. To check if your Mac is under warranty, use the link below to check your warranty information and repair options for your product/location.

https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do

*Apple will honor the warranty of any new Mac purchased from Apple Authorized Reseller or Apple Premium Seller.

For those of you who are planning to buy Apple Computers or already bought from non Apple Resellers from Low Yat, Digital Mall etc outlets, you're eligible to claim warranty aswell.

More info: http://images.apple.com/legal/warranty/

Take Note: There's not international warranty for iPhone, Apple TV.

2. AppleCare
http://www.apple.com/nz/support/products/faqs.html

It has never been a policy of apple to sell ACPP to any distributor or reseller without the original packaging that contains the TechToolsDelux,Enrollment Number,Guide and the box. Even at Apple Stores,they too like resellers and online store sell you the ACPP with original packaging and ask you to use the enrollment number within to register either via web or telephone.

This practice of just selling the enrollment number or activation code stems from the usage of auto generator softwares that has been tuned to Apple's ACPP algorithm, this is to enable them to come up with codes that Apple typically ships inside their ACPP boxes.

How does it affects you? Well sellers tend to sell it at a cheaper price and you tend to think its a steal,however beware that once you activate the code and Apple think that theres something fishy about it,they'd ring you up and ask you for the box's serial number,every ACPP box comes with its serial number,this is to match inventory list on Apple's side. So since you are not given the box by the seller, Apple will nullify your applecare service and terminate it indefinitely.

If you are looking for a cheaper deal, you a free to do so but always remember to purchase the ACPP with its original packaging, though the price could a bit more than those sellers that sell activation code only. There are cases where the activation codes are successful, but what if suddenly someone bought a legitimate ACPP in Australia for example and they happen to have the same code as your mac is registered to? Apple will not give you any warning,termination is something to be expected.

The sellers of the activation code will always say, "oh i just sell the activation code,to conserve mother nature","Nevermind the boxla,i give you cheap price", these are just selling tactics never fall for them, be a smart buyer know your rights,theres always something fishy when things are too cheap. And by the way,apple's boxes are made of recyclable items,you are still conserving mother nature through purchasing it and dropping it in the paper bin. [credit: nimrod323]

3. Malaysia Service Provider

http://www.apple.com/asia/buy/locator/svcindex.html

4. Any advantage buying from Mac City or Machines?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/861168

5. Apple Service Centre in Malaysia

[http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/364508

6.  General Mac Upgrade Discussion 

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/990177

7. Cleaning Macbook/Macbook Aluminium
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/982117

8. Apple Merchandise
http://www.apple.com/companystore/

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 21 2010, 02:38 PM
TSdavidgary73
post May 23 2009, 06:53 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ May 23 2009, 05:22 PM)
hi,
need some opinion from you guys. i'm using ibook G4 (last 12 inch model) almost 4 years and planning to upgrade my mac. interested to an alu and mac mini. the question is, do i have to sell my ibook and buy a new alu or just stick with it and buy a mac mini? icon_question.gif  hmm.gif
Depends on your usage at the end of the day. Do read the first few post on this thread and see which Mac fits you better.

Keeping your iBook is entirely up to you. My current Mac is a MacPro but i still have my PowerBook G4 titanium series and it's still kickin'.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: May 23 2009, 06:57 PM
TSdavidgary73
post May 23 2009, 07:52 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(pgf501 @ May 23 2009, 07:38 PM)
yeah, thank's. already read your 1st page about apple product. maybe i will let go my ibook. can you give me a thread to sell my ibook?
Do post your sales @ http://forum.lowyat.net/FullSystemsCPUMoth...ardsCasingsPSUs

Cheers

TSdavidgary73
post Jun 9 2009, 09:38 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(bruncit @ Jun 8 2009, 10:31 PM)
hi guys..
can anybody tell me how to buy apple stuff through the online.
i have no experience on buying online
thinking about wire transfer but dunnow how.....
Do read this post as there's an explanation on buying Online: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24697124

and http://store.apple.com/my/help for more infos.

------

The new Macbook Pro lineup is up on the thread below with pricing available via Apple Store Malaysia.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24696419

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 9 2009, 09:39 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Jun 14 2009, 12:56 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(Tisa5856 @ Jun 14 2009, 12:29 PM)
Hi guys...
Im looking forward to buy MAC laptop by installment.
I'm not sure where to buy.
Please advice me.
Thank You.
Please refer to this post for more infos: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24697124

Thank you

0.0375sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:17 AM