141 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Contact lens information, as requested by members

nubJeff
post Dec 25 2010, 01:21 AM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

Hey guys,I heard my friend said once you use the contact lens the eyes will look bigger?-,-",I'm so wondering about this lol..is it true?
TSjialat
post Dec 25 2010, 01:30 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Dec 25 2010, 01:21 AM)
Hey guys,I heard my friend said once you use the contact lens the eyes will look bigger?-,-",I'm so wondering about this lol..is it true?
hi, ur eye size is still the same, its just that when u put on a glasses with shortsighted power lens, ur eyes look minified. so without the glasses, ur eyes will seem bigger but they are actually the same size. thanks
chunho01
post Dec 25 2010, 02:43 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 24 2010, 07:33 PM)
hi, u got to make sure the sign of ur eye power, its very different between + and - sign. pls go for those free eye test using the 'machine' in optical shops and u will know its + or -. Asian eyes tend to have - sign as we are shortsighted. thanks
Ah, sorry, I made a mistake, supposed to be myopia, shortsighted. I just want to know if Bausch and Lomb PureVision provide the power suitable for high degree myopia. I am quite worried that I need to fork out extra money for custom made contact lens (sleep.gif)
nubJeff
post Dec 25 2010, 04:41 PM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 25 2010, 01:30 PM)
hi, ur eye size is still the same, its just that when u put on a glasses with shortsighted power lens, ur eyes look minified. so without the glasses, ur eyes will seem bigger but they are actually the same size. thanks
Oh I see..thanks for the information ,cheers~ notworthy.gif
TSjialat
post Dec 25 2010, 06:53 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(chunho01 @ Dec 25 2010, 02:43 PM)
Ah, sorry, I made a mistake, supposed to be myopia, shortsighted. I just want to know if Bausch and Lomb PureVision provide the power suitable for high degree myopia. I am quite worried that I need to fork out extra money for custom made contact lens (sleep.gif)
yes purevision has correction for myopia power up to -12.00. whats ur eye power?

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Dec 25 2010, 04:41 PM)
Oh I see..thanks for the information ,cheers~ notworthy.gif
welcome.
chunho01
post Dec 25 2010, 08:39 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 25 2010, 06:53 PM)
yes purevision has correction for myopia power up to -12.00. whats ur eye power?
welcome.
Um...too bad this is the information I'm confused of. Normally when I go for eye check, they told me in degrees (眼镜度数), which is 700 degrees. May I know how to convert this to the 'eye power' you mentioned?

This post has been edited by chunho01: Dec 25 2010, 08:39 PM
TSjialat
post Dec 26 2010, 02:29 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(chunho01 @ Dec 25 2010, 08:39 PM)
Um...too bad this is the information I'm confused of. Normally when I go for eye check, they told me in degrees (眼镜度数), which is 700 degrees. May I know how to convert this to the 'eye power' you mentioned?
hi, degree only applicable to axis of ur astigmatism power.

eye power should be in diopter.

if u translate directly from chinese or cantonese, then u might mistaken it for 'degree', but the person actually meant diopter.

seems like ur eye power is -7.00 diopter, pls ask the person for ur full eye power if u want to get contact lens, they usually keep a record of ur eye power. thanks
SUSmegarific
post Dec 26 2010, 05:54 PM

208 posts

i just started to wear contact lens for the first time,im trying air optix,but vision ok,but sometime it will become blur n i nid to blink my eye then become clear again,isit becoz my eye is dry?

This post has been edited by megarific: Dec 26 2010, 08:42 PM
chunho01
post Dec 26 2010, 09:00 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 26 2010, 02:29 PM)
hi, degree only applicable to axis of ur astigmatism power.

eye power should be in diopter.

if u translate directly from chinese or cantonese, then u might mistaken it for 'degree', but the person actually meant diopter.

seems like ur eye power is -7.00 diopter, pls ask the person for ur full eye power if u want to get contact lens, they usually keep a record of ur eye power. thanks
laugh.gif Thanks!! Now finally I'm clear on the differences between degree and diopter. Sure, I'll go for an eye check. But for first time buyer, it is recommended to get the lens from optical shop first, before buying myself online, right?

For first time wearer, which would you recommend among the following, (all monthly disposable)
SofLens 38, SofLens 59, PureVision
TSjialat
post Dec 27 2010, 01:09 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(megarific @ Dec 26 2010, 05:54 PM)
i just started to wear contact lens for the first time,im trying air optix,but vision ok,but sometime it will become blur n i nid to blink my eye then become clear again,isit becoz my eye is dry?
yes, from ur description, it seems like ur eyes are quite dry even for air optix. u will need eye drops or artificial tears. thanks

QUOTE(chunho01 @ Dec 26 2010, 09:00 PM)
laugh.gif Thanks!! Now finally I'm clear on the differences between degree and diopter. Sure, I'll go for an eye check. But for first time buyer, it is recommended to get the lens from optical shop first, before buying myself online, right?

For first time wearer, which would you recommend among the following, (all monthly disposable)
SofLens 38, SofLens 59, PureVision
yup, its best to do that, once u found the right lens, then u can just order it online.

1st timer, and among those 3 u listed, u should try purevision because its firmer so that u can handle the lens better, easier to insert and take out; and its made of silicone hydrogel which allows more oxygen to pass through. u can wear it for long hours too, and its cheap. thanks
SUSmegarific
post Dec 27 2010, 09:19 AM

208 posts

which eye drop for air optix aqua?
TSjialat
post Dec 27 2010, 04:10 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(megarific @ Dec 27 2010, 09:19 AM)
which eye drop for air optix aqua?
hi, u can try naturale tears II or B&L lubricating drops. I have no problem with either of them. thanks
chunho01
post Dec 27 2010, 08:19 PM

51 posts

I went for an eye check just now.

I was informed that my eyes are not suitable for contact lens as my eyes are prone to irritation. At most I can only wear for 4 hours, then I will start to feel uncomfortable. For the monthly disposable lens, I don't even need to think about them, as after two weeks, the lens will be too uncomfortable for my eyes. So they suggested that I sign up for three-days-trial lens, then only I decide if I want to get a box of contacts.

What is your opinion? Do you have any suitable product for such situation?
TSjialat
post Dec 27 2010, 08:51 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(chunho01 @ Dec 27 2010, 08:19 PM)
I went for an eye check just now.

I was informed that my eyes are not suitable for contact lens as my eyes are prone to irritation. At most I can only wear for 4 hours, then I will start to feel uncomfortable. For the monthly disposable lens, I don't even need to think about them, as after two weeks, the lens will be too uncomfortable for my eyes. So they suggested that I sign up for three-days-trial lens, then only I decide if I want to get a box of contacts.

What is your opinion? Do you have any suitable product for such situation?
hi, i really wonder what test they did on ur eyes to conclude that ur eyes are prone to irritation. are these people optometrist? or just optician?

the 3 days trial lens thingy is either acuvue moist or trueye, they are daily lens and those 2 are not for sensitive eyes. i seriously doubt their intention to find u a suitable lens, they are just trying to sell u the most expensive lens in market so they can rip more profit from u.

trueye is silicone hydrogel daily lens but these lens have been causing a lot of problem in oversea, johnson & johnson has recalled many of this lens, pls google for more information, just type trueye recall.

acuvue moist is 1 of the best daily lens in market but its not designed for sensitive eyes.

u should use acuvue oasys if u really have sensitive eyes, its 2-weekly lens and 1 of the most comfortable silicone hydrogel lens.
scarlion
post Dec 28 2010, 01:38 PM

102 posts

hi there,

astigmatism is like the image blur or?

i juz know shortsightedness is images far will appear blur.

but sometimes when i see far's thingy with my left eye i will feel like blurring abit

is it astigmatism or my shortsigted degree raised?

btw is there anything like cure shortsightedness(except spec)?

i am a guy who always play on9 game for many hours in a day cry.gif

so concern about that >_<

SUSmegarific
post Dec 28 2010, 02:09 PM

208 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTUaVfmgl_I
^is that a safe way to remove the contact lens? it looks easy

any tips to remove contact lens? it took me quite long sad.gif

This post has been edited by megarific: Dec 28 2010, 02:10 PM
TSjialat
post Dec 28 2010, 03:21 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(scarlion @ Dec 28 2010, 01:38 PM)
hi there,

astigmatism is like the image blur or?

i juz know shortsightedness is images far will appear blur.

but sometimes when i see far's thingy with my left eye i will feel like blurring abit

is it astigmatism or my shortsigted degree raised?

btw is there anything like cure shortsightedness(except spec)?

i am a guy who always play on9 game for many hours in a day  cry.gif

so concern about that >_<
best way to detect astigmatism is by looking at a light or alphabet, preferably round shaped, if u see starburst effect, it means u have astigmatism.

QUOTE(megarific @ Dec 28 2010, 02:09 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTUaVfmgl_I
^is that a safe way to remove the contact lens? it looks easy

any tips to remove contact lens? it took me quite long  sad.gif
i cant access youtube from hospital network, will need to see this video 1st. try asking ur friend or siblings who wear lens to get some real demonstration.

some lenses are difficult to take out, esp the focus dailies lens.
SUSmegarific
post Dec 28 2010, 03:30 PM

208 posts

my first time using air optix,took me 30-60 min to took them out...
TSjialat
post Dec 28 2010, 03:51 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(megarific @ Dec 28 2010, 03:30 PM)
my first time using air optix,took me 30-60 min to took them out...
ic ic, air optix center is harder to pinch, in that case, u will need a soft center lens, like softlens 38 or acuvue oasys, those 2 are very soft and easy to take out.
SUSmegarific
post Dec 28 2010, 04:12 PM

208 posts

but i already bought 4 boxes =.= becoz buy 3 free 1 n can wear for 14hours

This post has been edited by megarific: Dec 28 2010, 04:15 PM

141 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:43 AM