Contact lens information, as requested by members

chunho01
post Dec 24 2010, 10:36 AM

51 posts

Hi, I'm new in contact lens, spectacles field.

If I have a farsightedness of around 700 degrees both eyes, what is the contact lens power? I am not familiar with the +- lens power units
chunho01
post Dec 25 2010, 02:43 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 24 2010, 07:33 PM)
hi, u got to make sure the sign of ur eye power, its very different between + and - sign. pls go for those free eye test using the 'machine' in optical shops and u will know its + or -. Asian eyes tend to have - sign as we are shortsighted. thanks
Ah, sorry, I made a mistake, supposed to be myopia, shortsighted. I just want to know if Bausch and Lomb PureVision provide the power suitable for high degree myopia. I am quite worried that I need to fork out extra money for custom made contact lens (sleep.gif)
chunho01
post Dec 25 2010, 08:39 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 25 2010, 06:53 PM)
yes purevision has correction for myopia power up to -12.00. whats ur eye power?
welcome.
Um...too bad this is the information I'm confused of. Normally when I go for eye check, they told me in degrees (眼镜度数), which is 700 degrees. May I know how to convert this to the 'eye power' you mentioned?

This post has been edited by chunho01: Dec 25 2010, 08:39 PM
chunho01
post Dec 26 2010, 09:00 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 26 2010, 02:29 PM)
hi, degree only applicable to axis of ur astigmatism power.

eye power should be in diopter.

if u translate directly from chinese or cantonese, then u might mistaken it for 'degree', but the person actually meant diopter.

seems like ur eye power is -7.00 diopter, pls ask the person for ur full eye power if u want to get contact lens, they usually keep a record of ur eye power. thanks
laugh.gif Thanks!! Now finally I'm clear on the differences between degree and diopter. Sure, I'll go for an eye check. But for first time buyer, it is recommended to get the lens from optical shop first, before buying myself online, right?

For first time wearer, which would you recommend among the following, (all monthly disposable)
SofLens 38, SofLens 59, PureVision
chunho01
post Dec 27 2010, 08:19 PM

51 posts

I went for an eye check just now.

I was informed that my eyes are not suitable for contact lens as my eyes are prone to irritation. At most I can only wear for 4 hours, then I will start to feel uncomfortable. For the monthly disposable lens, I don't even need to think about them, as after two weeks, the lens will be too uncomfortable for my eyes. So they suggested that I sign up for three-days-trial lens, then only I decide if I want to get a box of contacts.

What is your opinion? Do you have any suitable product for such situation?
chunho01
post Dec 28 2010, 10:08 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 27 2010, 08:51 PM)
hi, i really wonder what test they did on ur eyes to conclude that ur eyes are prone to irritation. are these people optometrist? or just optician?

the 3 days trial lens thingy is either acuvue moist or trueye, they are daily lens and those 2 are not for sensitive eyes. i seriously doubt their intention to find u a suitable lens, they are just trying to sell u the most expensive lens in market so they can rip more profit from u.

trueye is silicone hydrogel daily lens but these lens have been causing a lot of problem in oversea, johnson & johnson has recalled many of this lens, pls google for more information, just type trueye recall.

acuvue moist is 1 of the best daily lens in market but its not designed for sensitive eyes.

u should use acuvue oasys if u really have sensitive eyes, its 2-weekly lens and 1 of the most comfortable silicone hydrogel lens.
I'm pretty sure she's an optometrist, not those sales-girls/sales-men. But I'm quite worried also, cause not just you, another friend of mine said J&J is not a good contact lens manufacturer. My friend strongly advice me to go for Bausch + Lomb.

Do B+L make lenses for sensitive eyes? And albeit the negative news, I can still try out the free 3 days lenses right (They'll give 3pairs/6lenses or just 3 lenses)?

0.0571sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:58 AM