Contact lens information, as requested by members

TSjialat
post Feb 2 2012, 09:31 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Feb 1 2012, 09:11 PM)
just want to get some views

i have been wearing specs for more than 15 years, now trying to go for contacts.

current eyewear lens specs

Right -6.50SPH, -0.50CYL
Left   -4.50SPH, -1.50CYL

Whats the appropriate contac lens specs that i should be getting?
Hi, u can use normal lens for right side while ur left will need toric lens. Since u r 1st timer user, its best u buy a pair to try 1st than getting box. Pls pm me if u interested. Thanks

Added on February 2, 2012, 9:33 am
QUOTE(steward911 @ Feb 2 2012, 01:09 AM)
Change brand
It wont solve the problem by just changing brand if he practice the wrong method of taking out the lens from eyes. Thanks

Added on February 2, 2012, 9:38 am
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 2 2012, 08:25 AM)
Is contact lens safe for suana usage? Can we wear them for steamboat/bbq? heard horror story before..
Not safe to use in Sauna, lens will get dry and drop out.

Steamboat and bbq no problem as long as u dont go near to fire. The story circulated online about lens melting on eyes when bbq is just bullshit and some said its the korean color lens but till today, there is no confirmation of that case. U can get a piece of contact lens and go near to bbq fire and it will not melt, i have tried it myself by holding the lens on my finger just few cm above the fire. Thanks

This post has been edited by jialat: Feb 2 2012, 09:38 AM
Sky.Live
post Feb 2 2012, 05:25 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 2 2012, 09:31 AM)
Hi, u can use normal lens for right side while ur left will need toric lens. Since u r 1st timer user, its best u buy a pair to try 1st than getting box. Pls pm me if u interested. Thanks

Added on February 2, 2012, 9:33 am

It wont solve the problem by just changing brand if he practice the wrong method of taking out the lens from eyes. Thanks

Added on February 2, 2012, 9:38 am

Not safe to use in Sauna, lens will get dry and drop out.

Steamboat and bbq no problem as long as u dont go near to fire. The story circulated online about lens melting on eyes when bbq is just bullshit and some said its the korean color lens but till today, there is no confirmation of that case. U can get a piece of contact lens and go near to bbq fire and it will not melt, i have tried it myself by holding the lens on my finger just few cm above the fire. Thanks
Good to hear that, thank you for your advice
tyr87
post Feb 7 2012, 10:28 AM

42 posts

hi if i wear contact lense and my eyes become red, is it sensitive? it happens this week.i already wear it around 2 years. i change from bausch n lomb to biomedic yesterday as i found bausch n lom irritated my eyes in the afternoon. i also not sure if biomedic is a good choice. does this mean my eyes start to get sensitive or should i try air optix?
TSjialat
post Feb 7 2012, 03:01 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(tyr87 @ Feb 7 2012, 10:28 AM)
hi if i wear contact lense and my eyes become red, is it sensitive? it happens this week.i already wear it around 2 years. i change from bausch n lomb to biomedic yesterday as i found bausch n lom irritated my eyes in the afternoon. i also not sure if biomedic is a good choice. does this mean my eyes start to get sensitive or should i try air optix?
Are u interested to try the acuvue oasys? Very comfortable and healthy lens to use. I can sell u a pair to try 1st. Thanks
tyr87
post Feb 8 2012, 03:21 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 7 2012, 03:01 PM)
Are u interested to try the acuvue oasys? Very comfortable and healthy lens to use. I can sell u a pair to try 1st. Thanks
oh i thought u will recommend air optix?
TSjialat
post Feb 9 2012, 10:18 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(tyr87 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:21 PM)
oh i thought u will recommend air optix?
Since u have used lens before, u can handle a softer lens better, then u can upgrade straight to oasys. If u r new to contact lens, then better use air optix. Easier to handle and more durable too. Thanks
Sarah Angelina
post Feb 11 2012, 04:22 PM

413 posts

hey jialat, having some problem here. After tried the purevision2, I always have problem with red eyes and sometimes sore eyes right after wearing the contact for about 1-2 hours? Please advice what is possibly wrong here
TSjialat
post Feb 11 2012, 07:22 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Feb 11 2012, 04:22 PM)
hey jialat, having some problem here. After tried the purevision2, I always have problem with red eyes and sometimes sore eyes right after wearing the contact for about 1-2 hours? Please advice what is possibly wrong here
1st time using purevision 2 or have used a few before but no problem? Pls give more info as its hard for me to understand the whole situation. Thanks
Sarah Angelina
post Feb 11 2012, 08:42 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 11 2012, 07:22 PM)
1st time using purevision 2 or have used a few before but no problem? Pls give more info as its hard for me to understand the whole situation. Thanks
previously only used purevision, after first time use purevision2 then got problem liao sad.gif
and now when i switch back to purevision also same problem sad.gif
TSjialat
post Feb 11 2012, 09:03 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Feb 11 2012, 08:42 PM)
previously only used purevision, after first time use purevision2 then got problem liao sad.gif
and now when i switch back to purevision also same problem sad.gif
please lay off contact lens for 3 days to see if there is any improvement after that. if it turns much better, then most likely your eyes have papillary conjunctivitis, which usually happen in chronic contact lens user, esp those thick lens like purevision. thanks
Sarah Angelina
post Feb 20 2012, 10:40 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 11 2012, 09:03 PM)
please lay off contact lens for 3 days to see if there is any improvement after that. if it turns much better, then most likely your eyes have papillary conjunctivitis, which usually happen in chronic contact lens user, esp those thick lens like purevision. thanks
It improved, but it came back after the second day. After stopped using for about a week, I wore for about 2-3 hours then no problem, then the following day I wore for longer hours close to 6 hours and one of my eyes became red again sad.gif

any recommendation?
TSjialat
post Feb 21 2012, 12:13 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Feb 20 2012, 10:40 PM)
It improved, but it came back after the second day. After stopped using for about a week, I wore for about 2-3 hours then no problem, then the following day I wore for longer hours close to 6 hours and one of my eyes became red again  sad.gif

any recommendation?
the same eye that turns red or different eye now?

if its due to the lens, then better stop using it. U will need to use a much thinner lens than purevision if u want to wear lens for long hours. thanks
Sarah Angelina
post Feb 21 2012, 07:41 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 21 2012, 12:13 AM)
the same eye that turns red or different eye now?

if its due to the lens, then better stop using it. U will need to use a much thinner lens than purevision if u want to wear lens for long hours. thanks
Same eye. Any recommendation for a thinner lens that might not give me the same problem?
snow_xueli
post Feb 21 2012, 10:39 AM

265 posts

Bausch & Lomb (B&L) Softlens 59. 1 box has 6 pieces.
B&L Softlens 38 monthly lens. 1 box has 6 pieces.

thest two which one better for dry eye?

how much postage to penang?

This post has been edited by snow_xueli: Feb 21 2012, 10:42 AM
TSjialat
post Feb 21 2012, 11:21 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Feb 21 2012, 07:41 AM)
Same eye. Any recommendation for a thinner lens that might not give me the same problem?
If u dont mind, pls see my optometrist 1st to make sure, then they will recommend the most suitable lens for u. I will ask them to charge u at the same cheap price i m selling. I believe the eye that turns red all time requires a very delicate lens or its anatomical feature (curvature) is very different. I will pm u the referral center name and address. Thanks

QUOTE(snow_xueli @ Feb 21 2012, 10:39 AM)
Bausch & Lomb (B&L) Softlens 59. 1 box has 6 pieces.
B&L Softlens 38 monthly lens. 1 box has 6 pieces.

thest two which one better for dry eye?

how much postage to penang?
Hi, softlens 38 is the better for dry eyes. Pos laju Rm 6. thanks
Sarah Angelina
post Feb 21 2012, 03:14 PM

413 posts

Please, and if possible somewhere subang tongue.gif
silentz
post Feb 21 2012, 03:42 PM

292 posts

hi,
would like you to recommend on toric lens
m wearing B+L toric now, feel a bit uncomfortable, dry maybe.

wats differences between Biomedic & Biofinity?

thx.

This post has been edited by silentz: Feb 21 2012, 03:44 PM
TSjialat
post Feb 21 2012, 05:15 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Feb 21 2012, 03:14 PM)
Please, and if possible somewhere subang tongue.gif
Yes, its in subang area. Will pm u the address and telephone number.

QUOTE(silentz @ Feb 21 2012, 03:42 PM)
hi,
would like you to recommend on toric lens
m wearing B+L toric now, feel a bit uncomfortable, dry maybe.

wats differences between Biomedic & Biofinity?

thx.
biomedic toric is just a normal material lens, slightly better than softlens toric.

biofinity toric is silicone hydrogel lens, more oxygen can pass through it, thus its much healthier lens.

U can try air optix toric also, its silicone hydrogel lens.
silentz
post Feb 21 2012, 05:29 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Feb 21 2012, 05:15 PM)
biomedic toric is just a normal material lens, slightly better than softlens toric.

biofinity toric is silicone hydrogel lens, more oxygen can pass through it, thus its much healthier lens.

U can try air optix toric also, its silicone hydrogel lens.
soflens toric is normal material too?
TSjialat
post Feb 21 2012, 07:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(silentz @ Feb 21 2012, 05:29 PM)
soflens toric is normal material too?
yes, normal hydrogel material with high water content, so not suitable for dry eyes. thanks

141 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 PM