4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 28 2009, 09:20 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Mar 27 2009, 11:02 PM)
Whats the difference as in the university as a whole or u mean d campus?
campus as in ur compare diff places in d campus... as a whole means u r comparing with other unis campuses or other place like shopping complex

QUOTE(baoz @ Mar 27 2009, 11:14 PM)
Oh just go to the 3rd floor, 4th floor and 5th floor. The moment you step out of the lift you'll see some tables and chairs.
recommended areas

SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2009, 01:46 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(playoff90 @ Mar 30 2009, 01:07 PM)
i feel hot in library T_T
from looking at pretty girl? whistling.gif

QUOTE(stevenchang @ Mar 31 2009, 12:01 AM)
Monash Malaysia got offer twinning degree programme? Like study in Malaysia first then go to Australia?
yes, u can transfer anytime u want..

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ Mar 31 2009, 12:15 AM)
nono twining
cuma ada credit transfer
got ler. doh.gif
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2009, 11:23 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ Mar 31 2009, 01:47 AM)
huh twining?
ye ker, applies to some courses oni izzit?
what's offered in msia is offered in aus... so u can transfer there anytime.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2009, 02:02 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ Mar 31 2009, 12:20 PM)
oo
go opis tanya tanya sikit
heard sum fren say nid avg 70 oni can transfer
so i was liek ah 3 years in msia lol
although msian standards in general is higher than those in aus, but it is to ensure those that transfer can cope in a diff/new environment. sometimes being in a new place pose a lot of challenges.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2009, 03:32 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ Mar 31 2009, 03:26 PM)
yeah true
been to monash for my unker graduation ceremony
cant imagine how i gonna wake up to class/lect during cold times lol
how cold is cold? dun complain ler... aus is not that cold, but it is freaking hot!
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2009, 09:39 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Mar 31 2009, 03:52 PM)
Haha not true, only half right  smile.gif
When it's hot it is freaking hot.
When it's cold, it can be super cold too sometimes.
Now waiting to embrace winter haha ........
how around 40... lol... no snow is not counted cold lar.. u wanna know what's cold u come 2 my uni ler

QUOTE(stevenchang @ Mar 31 2009, 05:57 PM)
How sure are you? =)
very sure lar doh.gif dude, look who started the thread, i am not some noob doh.gif

QUOTE(Axuel @ Mar 31 2009, 09:34 PM)
There's a twinning program. From what i know, if transferring to Clayton/Claufield, require avg 70 marks. To Berwick is about 60 marks if not mistaken.

For business students, u can go either after 1 year in msia or after 1 and half year. For engineer, medicine etc, not sure tongue.gif
no twinning, msia campus is a full campus, it is call transfer not twinning, twinning are for those con job colleges that cant offer degrees.

business students can even go during their 1st year.. just register there. for engineering & d rest is anytime, but if u want the aus degree cert at least 2 years must be there. as for med, they keep changing the system as they are new, dun think there's transfer.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 1 2009, 02:14 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Axuel @ Apr 1 2009, 02:07 AM)
Ah ya, sry for the mistakes smile.gif  All the while i thought transferring = twinning. So let me get this clear, twinning is from uni A to uni B (Both of them have pre-agreements and ties is it?) E.g. Taylor & UniSA. While transfer is like monash msia to au?
yes, u got it right. 1+3, 2+2, 3+1 all those bs are twinning. in monash u can just transfer around as u like as long as u meet the requirements and also if the other campus offers the subject. u can even go africa if u want.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 1 2009, 09:11 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Axuel @ Apr 1 2009, 09:08 PM)
Ah icic, thx for clarifying for me. Lol, i prefer malaysia > Africa. More used to the environment here. tongue.gif
no harm going there to explore the world right? one of my indon friend went there for a year.. ^^
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2009, 03:56 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 1 2009, 11:07 PM)
Any comments abt Nutrition and Dietetics in Monash, Aus?
I was thinking to apply for this course...but not sure how is the situation for this course in Monash...since not much universities in Malaysia that offer this course...Wat i mean is...izit competitive? lecturers are good? or maybe any good/bad comments about it?
I hope u guys can help me...unsure.gif
u sure u wanna do that in aus?... because demand is not very high in msia... why not do it in NZ?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2009, 12:58 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 2 2009, 10:45 AM)
Thank you for ur reply.
U mean new zealand? I din thought of it before...
why are u recommending nz for me? the universities better? or demand for dietitians higher?
since nz and aus are so near to each other, is there any difference btw study in aus and nz?
aiks.. ignore my earlier statement... i thought it was food science... nvm, monash aus is good thumbup.gif but u sure u want that line of job?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2009, 01:50 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 2 2009, 01:17 PM)
hey guys, when you guys apply as an undergraduate at monash Malaysia campus right, the SPM slip must be in english one ar? how to do that ar? If can I wanna send today cuz if send to the lembaga peperiksaan later late come out.  heard some ppl type of themselves then wat?
u need ur pre-u results to enter... however if they want u to submit ur spm, u can always submit it originally... dont need translate or anything..

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 2 2009, 01:38 PM)
haha..nt really very sure...but i kinda interested in health science...
do u mean demand for dietitians in aus is low?
generally demand for dietitians is low everywhere, it is kinda a specific field, not that there wont be demand jsut that it will be less.

i see, then go monash then since health sc, if food science then mayb nz
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2009, 05:29 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 2 2009, 02:03 PM)
oo~ thank you so much...
so..if food science, nz is better..
health science, monash is better lar...
any other uni u can recommend me?
heard of newcastle? hw izit?
newcastle? no...

either u enter anu/uni melb/monash/unsw/uts if u r opting for aus
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 11 2009, 11:25 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 11 2009, 06:43 PM)
hello hwui88. I'm applying for Business at Monash Malaysia, Finance & economics major is my target. How is the business school there so far if ur at the malaysian campus that is?
business school is great ^^

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 11 2009, 10:38 PM)
Anyone applying to Monash thru Credit transfer? Considering joining Monash after my diploma..Any minimum CGPA requirements?
usually transfer they will see ur pre-u/spm... then how many credit points will depend on ur diploma
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 12:37 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(hwui88 @ Apr 12 2009, 12:11 AM)
I think it's a great sch. So far I don't have any unsatisfactory with it.. Although we have many assignments to do. But if you compared to the science students, we are considered very lucky.. coz their workload is much heavier than us. Hmm.. so far so good. I would say that you need to join some clubs, so that you have other activities and meet more new friends besides studying. It will make your uni life more fun.. :-)
u r in business school?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 08:19 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Xero @ Apr 12 2009, 02:04 AM)
hows the quality of students there? lol
much higher than most other colleges in msia

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 12 2009, 02:08 AM)
what kind of clubs do they have there?
drop by musa's website... which i think is down eversince i left.. lol
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 11:09 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(hwui88 @ Apr 12 2009, 10:59 AM)
Here is the website for clubs and societies in monash
http://www.musa.monash.edu.my/cns.html

quality of students... no comment coz i duno.. lol

yea i m a business student..
lol.. they r running on monash server

added u to the front list
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 05:10 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 12 2009, 03:22 PM)
I doubt that. public universities in malaysia are most selective, means the crappy students won't get in even though they are rich and have loads of money, unlike private universities in malaysia where most you can get in if you have money no matter how bad or good you are because that is one of the purpose of their existence, which is for people in malaysia to get education when they can't enter public unis nor go overseas. I'm not saying Monash is bad, just that Monash Uni in australia is considered as a public university, and it is a very reputable public university in aus, which is i think should be quite selective and not based on getting profit. But in Malaysia Monash is considered as a private university as it doesn't run with the government of Malaysia, and for a Private University to run, especially because it needs money and Monash Malaysia is still new so it needs to survive, means the crappy students with crappy marks that are rich also can get in, so you can imagine what kind of people is inside there. That's why I do doubt the quality of students there. If you're saying they are better than other PRIVATE colleges in malaysia, then you're probably right, but then still, private universities is about who has the money to go in, not really marks, cuz marks as long as you meet minimum requirements 2.0-2.5 and you have loads of money you can get in already, and that's quite low, that won't happen at public universities though, 2.0-2.5 cgpa don't guarantee you an admission at reputable public universities in Malaysia. The only difference is that public universities in malaysia have excellent students from different social classes, so you have the kampung girl who got straight As, a guy from rempit family who turned smart and got a scholarship, some chinese pasar malam tauke's son who managed to score himself in, some indian farmer's son who studied hard to get in...means you'll see different types of social behavior and attitude that probably makes you go "Eww..." and think the quality of students there are low standard, but think about it, smart people don't always come from rich families and those people are not as lucky as everyone else.  The standard of students at Monash Malaysia will never be as good as any high-ranking public universities in Malaysia until Monash Msia become really selective in their admission and don't let people below 3.0 cgpa to get in easily, which is never gonna happen, in current time because Monash Msia seriously do not have the application essay requirement like US universities to see how smart these 2.0-2.5 cgpa or below 3.0cgpa students really are and the university still needs to survive its early years here in Malaysia.

Added on April 12, 2009, 3:39 pmI've seen the list of clubs thanks guys.

Btw, No ice hockey club? lol. Monash sunway is near sunway pyramid and they have an ice hockey club there where they train and play at pyramid ice rink. Would be cool if Monash can have one since Australia is an ang moh country and ang moh country usually got ice hockey lolz.
1st of all... if u r talking about straight As student... most of them are already filtered out with scholarships (petronas/jpa) during their spm/stpm

2nd... in general, well off kids (middle and upper class) do better in their studies... of course top 20% percentile of poor kids would be on par with top 50% of better off kids... whether u like it or not, well off kids have more advantages

3rd, what makes u think these poor kids wont opt for private unis' scholarships n instead attend public Unis?

4th, public unis are diluted by matriculation stuednts and we all know the standards of these kids

5th, u think monash in msia is easy? yea.. easy to enter... after they suck ur $$$ during the 1st 2 years n if u cant cope they will still kick u out.. that's their method.. win win situation for them..

6th? excellent students? come on ... u gotta be kidding me... if u r talking about the top 10% public uni students.. then yes, these kids will do well no matter what they do.. d rest?

SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 06:56 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 12 2009, 06:28 PM)
1. Well here's the thing, you never say your statement clearly, so I probably didn't have the motivation to either, but here goes man, be ready for it, there are also those whom are 4As - 9As that don't get those scholarships and are considered excellent students and some of them may have excellent extra-curricular background as well and some might be state and national athletes too. Especially those that are non-bumiputra because the scholarships are given a little more emphasis to bumiputra, so there will be some non-bumi and a few bumi that don't get it. Whats most important is that those 3As to No-A-at-all students don't get in public universities.

we are not just talking about gov or glv scholarships... we r talking about scholarships in general.. there's asean scholarship, fulbright.. so many others that dont discriminate on race... if they allow their extra curricular activities to affect their studies, i dont consider them excellent.. they might be a excellent fballer like rooney, but not as an academician. look at nicol david, frank lampard... these are examples of ppl that do well in studies n their activities. go to any private coll, with 9A1s u r ensured of a scholarship.

2. Looks like you showed how selfish you are, just because you're rich you are now discriminating poor kids. Poor kids have a harder life and it is even harder for them to score in their studies because they need to help their family to get money for food and shelter while you stick your butt at home playing dota and have everything spoon-fed at you until you become a guy that think he is the best people in the world and not realizing it is because he was BORN rich which made it easier for him to get success.

whether u like it or not, that's the way it is. poor students have disadvantages and many can't work through this challenge. those that can will do well and hopefully move their family ur the social class. i didnt discriminate at all, i am just talking facts. not all rich kids waste their time, usually rich parents wants their kids to stay rich therefore providing more useful activities and because poor parents are most of the time preoccupied making $$$, their children are neglected. read books from syed akbar ali, and u will know more.

3. Haha, here's the thing man, you contradicted yourself there. First you said poor kids don't do good in their studies because they're poor, now you're saying what makes me think poor kids don't get scholarships? Well, since majority of poor kids don't do well, not all of them will get scholarships. Think about those who get 10Cs for SPM.

we are talking about percentage like the bell stats graph u learn in form 5. i am talking talking about absolute. and i am not contradicting myself. poor kids in 'general' dont do as well, meaning mayb the lower 75% of the poor kids and well off kids meaning the top 40% of the well off kids.

4. Again, you say things out of thin-air, just like in the other thread about MMU vs Swinburne, and people are already complaining about you. What is the proof that matriculation students have some kind of standard that you're talking about? For what I know they don't accept everybody inside the matrics, only the good ones. My friend got 7As for SPM and he needed to APPEAL to get into matrics, and he is a malay, imagine that, not that easy. My sister used to be a matriculation student as well and now she is a doctor, graduated from an overseas university, people at the hospital are praising her for her work.

then why segregate and give a short cut to certain ppl just because of their race? even if it is though, everything is not transparent at all. it is all internal markings, why cant they just have a standardize exam? why the seperation? ppl can say all they want, i believe in freedon of speech.

5. Dude, in public universities, for like courses like medic and engineering, you need to get 4.0 to confirmed to STAY in and not get kicked out. Even 3.8 is dangerous already and you might get kicked out. Other than that, what you're saying about monash isn't true and out of thin-air, just as usual, you know why? you wanna know why? because monash still needs to money no matter what, so they won't kick students that easily. Public universities don't need any profit from students, so they can kick the lousy ones anytime. My dad is an education officer dude so I know, take that.

what education officer? lol... kick out? have u been reading the newspaper? local public u phd students taking more than 6 years to get their phds and not to mention even of the super low numbers. have they been kick out? no, they have been fed with the tax payers $$$ to enjoy their stay in western countries. if other unis, more than 5 years you will be out and your grants will run dry already.

6. Public universities are very very selective in the process of admitting students, especially those high ranking ones, one, because there's not much space for everyone here, so they need to get only the best people. So whatever it is, I have already said it, at least public universities won't have all those Fail students or C/D grade students getting in just because they're rich.

high ranking? err.. what ranking? they are not even ranked in the top 100 unis in the world. we are talking about percentile here, i am not saying all of the students are bad, but the standard is much lower. maybe you have not been out of the country before to compare the standards of unis.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 08:49 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Apr 12 2009, 08:06 PM)
Universiti Darul Iman? Haha, thats why I never mention UDM, remember, I only talk about those high-ranking public universities, go read again. if you know which are the high-ranking ones anyway. Private Universities have a lot of these too type of lousy works too.

i agree.. not all private insituitions r good, some are just degree factories

Added on April 12, 2009, 8:12 pm

Asean scholarships, fullbright scholarships and every other scholarships as well are looking for only top students, 10 straight As AND they don't give out their scholarships to many students as well, some are like 1 or 2 people only , max would be around 20 people, they don't have much funds, unlike Mara, JPA, Petronas and Khazanah that can give out scholarships to like 40 people that is going to UK alone, my friend got a scholarship from JPA to go to US and the JPA guy told him about it. It doesn't make a difference though, still What will happen to those who got 4As to 9A1s?They will go to to public universities if they don't have money. That's a lot of people you know, because 4As to 9As ,it's Average achievement.

what r u talking about? u r fumbling... of course i know there's mara jpa blah blah blah thats why i even mention more if u dont know so to let u know there's a lot of scholarships if u r bright and those that can't get it arent considered the top. so many of ur friends can get it, why not others? there's a reason why they didnt get it. those that didnt do to well can still sit stpm if they dont have $$$ and still apply scholarship if they do well in stpm. if they dont do well in spm n stpm they are still considered worthy of a scholarship? no right? then where they end up? public unis.

You don't think sports achievement is an achievement? Then you're challenging the American Ivy League Universities. They give easier admissions for athletes. My friend's friend who is a Malaysian Athlete got into MIT massachusets institute of technology without getting a high SAT score.Take that.

once again u r fumbling.. i already said that those that do well in sports n acadenically are the top..  and those only doing well in sports are not the top... take that what? i am sure ur friend at least have some results academically, u think they will let any tom d*** n harry enter just because he can throw balls better?

Duh, I didn't say whether I like it or not. That kind of fact is already obvious man, and you're repeating what I said about those poor kids , what the heck? haha. You're discriminating indirectly by stating that you think Monash students are better off because they're rich kids, means you see poor kids as trash that have no hopes.
Yeah so that means most of the poor kids that gets 4As to 9As that couldn't get any scholarship because most scholarships would only want 10As students would go to the public universities and unable to go to monash university because of their expensive fees. And this is according to your percentile, thank you very much. Same goes to the well-off kids.

i am not saying that monash kids are better off because they are rich... monash have poor kids like me as well but in general, rich kids do better. what's is there to discriminate? i didnt say they are trash, dont put words in my mouth. when u dont do too well academically there's skill based polythenics around. i am not saying ALL pub uni students are bad, i am saying in general majority.

Haha, you follow the typical Malaysian wannabe American type of individual. Dude I do business with american people, think you're the only one who work with Americans? But anyway this is easy to beat. with only one word. READ MALAYSIAN HISTORY AND AMERICAN HISTORY. The people that segragated us in the first place are the British people. They also did not give proper education to the malays because they do not want them to fight back. The chinese people were here to earn money as british tin mine workers for a low pay. And the British were using the chinese to steal Malaysia's resources like tin mines and all. Now the country they build in the UK is from the resources that came from the Malaysian soil itself, they stole our resources man. Remember those train tracks they build? haha. And they left us being poor with only a sum of money JUST ENOUGH for all the races. Remember the Reid Commission? During the reed commission tunku abdul rahman asked for equal rights for all Malaysians. Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Alliances agreed suggested that

- “in an independent Malaya all nationals should be accorded equal rights, privileges and opportunities and there must not be discrimination on grounds of race and creed….”

“to eliminate Communalism as a force in the political and economic life of the country.”

(Lim Kit Siang quoted this in his website hahahaha)

But you know what happened after that? the socio-economy was so unbalanced because the british divide-and-rule us according to race, that we HAD to balance it out. And just like the poor kids being poor, the Malays and the Indians were poor as well while the chinese being the richest, the purpose of the New Economic Policy after the 13 may riot was to balance out the unequality. Means the gov had already had tried to give equal opportunities for the first 13 years of our young nation in the first place but found out that the damage done by the british was too great.

Here's something for your surprise, The United States only started to implement their equal rights policy in the 1960. and their independence was in 1776. They only started to implement equal rights 200 YEARS after their independence. Not to mention the blacks became slaves before that and faced dangerous discrimination. People die there. Go check it out yourself.
haha, I don't care whatever you say about newspapers, you said the same nonsense at the MMU vs Swinburne and you don't even have proof yet. People are already complaining about you. What I advise you is to just stop lying and making up stories.

well if u wanna justify racial massacre go do it in RWI, we have no place for racism here. clearly ppl like you have no place in an academic world. what has happen doesnt mean it should be. i have never mention of american before and i dont see the significants of both countries. well ppl have their views, just because they dont agree doesnt mean i cant have my own views. if u r an academician, you will justify ur stand and just not ask ppl to shut up like most msians like to. if u behave like that, until now we should still think the world is flat and we can change gold from lead.

Monash Malaysia isn't in the world ranking at all. What's in the world ranking is Monash Australia only. Public Universities like UM, UKM, UPM and USM are at number 230-300+ and that's already quite good because there are 2000+ american universities in the US ALONE, not counting the world yet, take a look at the ranking and see how many american and japanese universities malaysia have beaten. --> http://www.topuniversities.com/university_...s/fullrankings/

But anyway, right now we're talking about Monash Malaysia, why do you suddenly go to Monash australia? can't get anymore ideas? haha. if you wanna use percentile, then Public universities like UM, UKM, UPM and USM are very selective, so they have more good students inside from all social classes. While Monash Malaysia, being the most expensive university to get into, and it is the most expensive, I talked to the external relations guy at Monash, not all the smart kids could afford Monash Malaysia. So thats left Monash being a Rich kids university with all kinds of grades inside haha.

well, if u didnt already know, all monash msia's research are achieved under monash uni as a whole. we have 7-8 campuses and we dont seperate our research because all are deemed equal standard. i am not going to monash aus mind u, i had already grad a long time ago. if u didnt know, 10% of our students are from jpa n petronas, another 5% is from mara, nearly the whole medical school and a big percentage of the engineering school are all from gov sponsors. only the best are send here. if u worship local unis then so be it, u decide urself. already said, if they are smart somehow or another they would already gotten scholarships n i dont wanna repeat the whole argument again. if u got a problem with ppl being rich, that's ur problem and blame urself or ur parents. ps: apartheid is not the way, merit is.

SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 12 2009, 11:17 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

lowering doesnt mean they are failed students... do u have their results or r u quoting based on an article? n the site u quote from is just like an blog. no names ntg. it is a site with no academic value. well, u might just be jealous of ur friend, he might not get super high SAT results, but are urs higher than his? what's ur friends name? or u r just saying baseless statements.

what US is doing doesnt mean it is right, they attack iraq doesnt mean it is right, they jail ppl in guantanamo doesnt mean it is right.

and what MIT is doing is to diversify their students, unlike MARA/ or any public unis which gives short cuts to certain ppl because of their skin colour.

they are allowing minorities not just because of their skin colour but also their results. u think just because ur skin is darker u can enter? think twice. they are allowing the cream of the crop of each community to enter.

i am not saying that lower class dont have the opportunity to move up, just that they have to work harder. if everything is based on merit and not skin colour, the world would be a better place. jpa takes in account of family income, and this provides opportunity for the good and poor students to excel. if u dont get good results, u expect the ppl to give u fundings just because u r poor? u only have urself to blame if u dont do well.

you have ur rights, and you can say what u want, i shall let other ppl judge me and u. and dont u try to belittle me just because u spoke to some american. i live among them for 3 years and will be going back next week.

btw, do u get confused because u dont understand what am i posting or is it your english instead? i wonder...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0440sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:27 PM