even my area can get full HSDPA (5 bar) from my modem.. but still encounter error while surfing.. donno y..
Celcom Prepaid Broadband, Anyone got futher info??
Apr 30 2009, 09:50 AM
699 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kajang / K.L |
even my area can get full HSDPA (5 bar) from my modem.. but still encounter error while surfing.. donno y..
Apr 30 2009, 10:13 AM
3,158 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: -Butterworth, Penang- |
@amiranna
same with my fren place.... CBB really dispointed la... if not CBB has coverage at my wife house..i wont go try it also... wan to gaming also cannot |
Apr 30 2009, 06:02 PM
225 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
ya, that is one main issue with wireless broadband. it is dependent on location too.
amiranna, stevenlee.. both of yer using CBP? or Celcom3g/Xpax3g? |
Apr 30 2009, 06:38 PM
3 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(cardin @ Apr 29 2009, 08:11 PM) it's at betong, sarawak...but isnt GPRS like very expensive? bcoz i use it to surf with my hp and 5 min cost me like rm10 QUOTE(fat16 @ Apr 30 2009, 07:57 AM) where are u ? how u know u place no 3g coverage ? betong, sarawak...i check the 3G coverage map from here http://www.celcom.com.my/cep/xresources/Ce...html/index.htmlonly GPRS available... here is the snapshot... ![]() but celcom broadband (register) works fine at that place bcoz there is one person subscribe to it...i dun hav money to pay the monthly bill so i cant afford it.. This post has been edited by unknown solution: Apr 30 2009, 06:46 PM |
Apr 30 2009, 06:50 PM
1,256 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: <--airporT city--> |
QUOTE(unknown solution @ Apr 30 2009, 06:38 PM) it's at betong, sarawak...but isnt GPRS like very expensive? bcoz i use it to surf with my hp and 5 min cost me like rm10 it is because u r paying under "pay per use" package...it is da same thing whether u use GPRS,EDGE,UMTS or HSDPA it wil cost u 10cents/10kB...to avoid diz u nid 2 subscribe 2 broadband daily/weekly unlimited... betong, sarawak...i check the 3G coverage map from here http://www.celcom.com.my/cep/xresources/Ce...html/index.html only GPRS available... here is the snapshot... ![]() |
Apr 30 2009, 06:51 PM
Apr 30 2009, 07:57 PM
915 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
i'm just using celcom broadband prepaid for almost a week...seem i'm not encounter any major problem,just connection suddenly dc..other than that,no problem to open any website..btw im at bukit jambul area,penang . im using my SE k850i as modem..the speed is constant at 460.8kbps
This post has been edited by k@|i0s: Apr 30 2009, 08:18 PM |
Apr 30 2009, 10:15 PM
699 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kajang / K.L |
QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 30 2009, 06:02 PM) ya, that is one main issue with wireless broadband. it is dependent on location too. i use Xpax3g last night, i only use celcom temporary before my umobile simcard activated. but very dissapointed with the connection.amiranna, stevenlee.. both of yer using CBP? or Celcom3g/Xpax3g? |
Apr 30 2009, 10:33 PM
Well, as i stated before, personally, i find that CBP is more stable than CB@XPx. CBP has less dc issues with constant claimed speed.
But then again, stevenlee faced some problems with his CBP. I am on DGBroadband and CBP. Used Celcom3gBlue too but wasnt happy with its constant DCs and error code issues, thus, i am now back with my CBP. The draw back using CBP is, you wont get bonus points topping up your credit. lol. But, Ahhh all i need is a stable connection more than bonus point. This post has been edited by talrasha: May 1 2009, 12:04 AM |
Apr 30 2009, 10:43 PM
1,256 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: <--airporT city--> |
QUOTE(k@|i0s @ Apr 30 2009, 07:57 PM) i'm just using celcom broadband prepaid for almost a week...seem i'm not encounter any major problem,just connection suddenly dc..other than that,no problem to open any website..btw im at bukit jambul area,penang . im using my SE k850i as modem..the speed is constant at 460.8kbps guyz ..wonder how all of u manage to get speed above 384kbps on CBP... |
Apr 30 2009, 11:56 PM
so far, been subscribing twice on CBP. Both on weekly unlimited.
Constant speed at 384kbps with occasionally above 400kbps. How i manage to get speed above 384kbps, i have no idea. And have no idea too on how my friend did get 400+ at his wangsa maju. lol. This post has been edited by talrasha: May 1 2009, 12:02 AM |
May 1 2009, 12:01 AM
766 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Terengganu, Malaysia |
ah ha.....celcom sucks for connection quality but good in widest coverage.....
does celcom upgrade their HSDPA ah? maxis does...i have connected to 7.2Mbps and max speed what i get from maxis is ~5.2Mbps...... |
May 1 2009, 12:39 AM
Another question arise? lol
CBP better than C3GB/CXPx.. this is only thru observations, and is not based on facts Weekly better than daily? (like how d98 is better than d68 in terms of stability based on words of mouth too) lol. mochachoke, aint sure about that Celcom hsdpa upgrade since we are on Celcom Prepaid Broadband with only max 3g speed allowed. yeah those developed countries have better speed for sure. |
May 1 2009, 07:22 AM
i got 1 important question
does latency affect the speed... i keep get latecy very high around 200-700ms i never get below 100ms |
May 1 2009, 09:58 AM
May 1 2009, 10:02 AM
guy...
i have very high latency around 200-500ms how to lower it??? will it cause lag in gaming like dota? |
May 1 2009, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 1 2009, 10:02 AM) guy... Frankly, it is the characteristic of wireless. I doubt you can get below 100. 200+ should be okay.i have very high latency around 200-500ms how to lower it??? will it cause lag in gaming like dota? so far i notice, all wireless will have a starting number of 200+. 200+ 300+ should be okay. Speed test with CBP on weekly unlimited always gives 200+. Only get 100+ with my digi broadband. Playing left 4 dead, i know one person using P1 also 200+ and he s not lagging, In fact his team won. lol. So far 200 - 300+ playing l4d , no lag what soever. I see lots of ppl with 200+ 400+ too playing with no lag what so ever.. Joined TF2 with 20+ people using celcom prepaid broadband. No problem too. But then again, sometimes, ppl may kick you since they worry you may lag ( if this is based on Coop Multi Player) Highest i have played is 500+ using Celcom Broadband Advance Unlimited Power tools. But mostly, on celcom, digi and P1, 200+ is a good norm. There are times, just when entering, you ll have a lag spike of 1600, then will lower to 1400, 1200 1000, 700 500 400 200+. Takes few seconds though to get stabilize. Just wait for a couple of seconds. If scenario remains, just move n find another server. I dont play dota, so i am not sure how it will react. Mine is based on Left 4 Dead ( with max 8 people per game) and Team Fortress 2 ( with max of 25 on two teams). Ohhh Happy Labourer Day ya Ppl Added on May 1, 2009, 11:55 am QUOTE(k@|i0s @ May 1 2009, 09:58 AM) ehhh, do we get bonus points too for topping up on CBP. No right?This post has been edited by talrasha: May 1 2009, 11:55 AM |
May 1 2009, 12:47 PM
May 1 2009, 03:40 PM
ok just finish few game in dota
ping now around 100-200 ... i would say is normal now cos i din encouter lag at all currently i would say CBP still a good package... but just duno why my fren house so suck... |
May 1 2009, 04:24 PM
wah...CBP can play dota without lagging? nice ler
| Change to: | 0.0295sec