LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V2~, come come join small lil devil in here~

tommi88
post Dec 6 2010, 08:04 PM

275 posts

if engine then definitely kenari and kelisa is more fuel saving.
tommi88
post Dec 6 2010, 10:07 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Dec 6 2010, 08:16 PM)
yes i agree. dvvt engines generally is more fuel saving.
dvvt is only on viva,myvi and alza. kenari and kelisa dont have dvvt. but the technology on the engine is much more better than L2s. besides, look at the year L2s was manufactured.
tommi88
post Dec 6 2010, 11:11 PM

275 posts

izzit?! i didnt know bout that.
tommi88
post Dec 8 2010, 05:02 PM

275 posts

sifu has arrived! xD
tommi88
post Dec 10 2010, 12:35 AM

275 posts

how much did the radiator cost u? im not sure whether auto and manual transmission shares the same type of radiator anot.

to your questions :

1) might be its time to change your engine mountings already. or idle timing too low. try checking the idle timing and engine mounting. usually either this 2 are the cause for engine vibrations.

2) noisy as in u rev it very high? i guess its normal the engine is noisy. even mine is noisy.

3) probably ur disc brakes are uneven already. take it to ur usual mechanic and ask him to skim it. but make sure before u skim the disc brake is thick enough. if its too thin, better to replace a new disc.

4) i think its time to replace the disc pads as well. wont cost u much. the normal ones will cost u around rm35 only. safety first bro!

5) speed meter cable putus dy kot. wont cost u much to replace it either.
tommi88
post Dec 13 2010, 02:20 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(kop @ Dec 11 2010, 02:35 PM)
Thanks fluffy biggrin.gif Not consider turbo right now as I'm tight on budget. Afraid got many things to maintain later

If I buy kelisa/L5 NA engine with wiring and ECU only, would that be suitable to put into Kancil 850 body? Do I need to change/modify gearbox as well? (manual).

Thinking of getting kelisa/myvi 1.0 engine and slam it into kancil tongue.gif
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Dec 13 2010, 01:20 PM)
myvi 1.0 engine can fit into a kancil???
you can put kelisa/kenari engine into a kancil body. no problem. mountings are not an issue but gearbox and driveshaft, not too sure. i have seen a kancil even fitted with myvi 1000cc engine. owner claims that everything is plug and play. =S
tommi88
post Dec 13 2010, 07:20 PM

275 posts

definitely EF-RL bro. parts are easier to source and cheaper as well. JB-JL is a smoother engine but parts and maintenance is quite high. parts are harder to source too.
tommi88
post Jan 1 2011, 11:19 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(JasonB @ Dec 31 2010, 03:34 PM)
Guys!
Some updates. Workshop busy with another car till New Year.
Postponed till January for transplant.

Mech sold last EF-RL & JB-JL. I was 1 day late. sad.gif

But he has a EF-JL (L500 Single Cam)
L500s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo

According to mech. parts all like L2/Kancil.
Not too sure about this as I am unfamiliar with this engine.
Any of you sifus using L500 Single Cam?
yea, most of the parts share the same with kancil/L2. can consider this engine also. only difference is fuel injection.
tommi88
post Jan 24 2011, 10:21 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Jan 23 2011, 11:27 PM)
Hi, I am new here. Can i ask some question on my kancil car that had converted to L5?
yeah, what questions do you have?

QUOTE(silentser @ Jan 24 2011, 10:07 PM)
i need some help, i try to search the location of the drain plug, where is it acutally? i want to do coolant replacement

i search both of the kancil thread and all over the google,

all info i have is at the bottom left of the radiator? does that mean i have to go under the car? anyone got any picture for me to have a rough idea where is it?

much appreciated, thank you.
its at the bottom left. i recommend u to jack ur car up abit, then crawl under, then you can see clearly. i have done coolant replacement myself. =D
tommi88
post Jan 25 2011, 12:58 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Jan 24 2011, 11:27 PM)
thanks dude, at first i am thinking i am not welcome here. lately i had converted my kancil 850 auto to L5 (4 cylinder 16v) engine. I do face some problem on my car. The turbo does not functioning well, rotor disk is not so good, break disk and the drive shaft plus during driving my car especially over 80 km my car will shake.

I am very sad while facing so many problem on it. I do hope i can make my car in good condition, but i had spend so much money here.

I am wondering where i can meet some people here or friends also in Kancil club here can teach me what to do?

At first , i wanted to changed my car engine into Kelisa but someone cheated me that Kancil car cannot fit the kelisa engine while the dashboard wiring will be bad.

Last week i found out that my car turbo is not working well, i suspect my turbo, and pipe is old as well. I need to do something here.
Please help me what shall i do?
where i can get parts for my L5? I am from Johor Bahru.

man, i feel bad for you. i totally get your feeling. after spending so much you expect it to work fine but it turns out that you are facing alot of problems.

ok, one at a time now.

Turbo - Check on the turbo piping everything. if the piping has not been replaced, maybe its just leaky pipe which leads to boost leak. thats why you dont feel the power.

Brakes - Probably just a rough surface of disc rotor. you can skim the disc rotor. but before skimming see the thickness of the rotor whether is safe to skim it or not. if its too thin, better replace it with a new rotor. safety is more important than saving money. and check on your brake pads as well. the shaking problem, maybe you can try balancing all 4 wheels on your car first. if this doesnt solve the shaking problem, then you might have bigger headache. probably a worn out drive shaft or something.

Kancil can definitely fit in kelisa engine in it. i have seen few transplants done on a kancil with kelisa/kenari engine in it. but things like driveshaft all i think can use back kancil one. not too sure bout this. dashboard you can use back L2 or L5 one. dont need to use kelisa one.

hope this info help bro.

and also, sorry for the late reply. not that we dont welcome you, is just that most of us in here are busy working, thats why replies will be slow at times. cheers man. =D
tommi88
post Jan 31 2011, 09:17 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Jan 30 2011, 05:40 PM)
brother tommi88,

I had already check the price for the turbo and it will cost Rm 650 which i do not know how cheap is the cost?

However, i was told that i can send my turbine for service, but do not know how is the total cost of the servicing? I am going to do it after the CNY.
Just want to know where i can find the turbo piping? I wish i can change it.

About my rotor i found the disk (both side) does have many scars. I do not feel good at all sad.gif

I am thinking to get a brand new one, instead of re grinding it. I do feel it will not last.

I had done the balancing already as I do know or noticed that my tires are not in good condition,

I am using Kenari sport rims and i can see there are some alter on my rims that i  think they done some modifications so can fit into my L5 disk rotor!!

I do not know what is the size of my disk rotor as so far i know it is original L5 rotor disk as the whole thing. I suspect they did not change the lower parts of my drives shaft . I can hear some sound while i an u turning. I am not sure am i right? but i was told that maybe the lower parts of the driveshaft maybe kaput or maybe others as what you suspecting.
hrmmmm...you can always ask how much does it cost to service your turbine rather than replacing a new one. if its cheaper and the mechanic knows what is he doing, then it should run well after servicing the turbine.

as for the piping, it can be easily sourced around. or maybe its time to change to silicone hose for future heavier mods. brows.gif brows.gif

L5 parts are abit hard to sourced for compared to L2 parts. if you really want to replace your discs, maybe you can look for it at the halfcut shops. but even if you buy from there, probably you still need to skim it. im not sure whether there are new parts for L5. should ask around those spareparts shop. dont mix halfcut shops and spareparts shop. spareparts shop are those selling new parts at those shoplots one.

when was the last time u did your balancing? maybe you should do it again.

about your rims, they have re-drilled the holes to fit into L5 disc rotor. original kenari rim PCD is 100 whereas L2/L5 are PCD 110. therefore maybe this is causing you to feel the huge vibration when you go pass certain speed. maybe they have done a bad re-drill work. you should really get your balancing done again.

your driveshaft gone case already. its time to replace. coz you said when doing U-turn will have sound. so the driveshaft gone case already.
tommi88
post Feb 25 2011, 09:22 AM

275 posts

4 speed the revs wont be as high as 3 speed gearbox. or you want to be on the safe side, you can hunt for 850cc 4 speed gearbox rather than finding a 660 4 speed auto gearbox.
tommi88
post Feb 25 2011, 04:42 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Feb 25 2011, 12:33 PM)
Guys .. need advice here..

I used to drive UNSER .. Now change car with my wife and I travel alone ( outstation ) . with me now my wife KANCIL EX850 2002 manual , standard. just changed seat to L2 .

I want to do some modification to suit me . I'm 5'11'' ( long legs ) . I drive to various parts of malaysia for works... 500km one way as I lives in Terengganu.

my questions :

1. what is the best suspension to put in ?
2. what type of Rims and tyres to make it more stable ?
3. Anything I can do with engine ? other than change the engine
4. Any other ideas ?

If I cannot make it comfortable for long drive then I have to get Triton la.
hi there,

if you're travelling alot, i suggest you use back original springs but get a better absorbers like APM sport absorbers.

i think 13" with 165 width will fit the job better. also, if you want to increase stability of the car, add front strut bar, rear anti-roll bar, and front fender bar. it helps in stability.

you can improve the performance of the engine by changing the block of the engine and convert it to EFI. but the amount u spend on it can already transplant a better engine like L5 turbo which is better suited for highway driving.

if you have a budget to get a bigger car, i suggest you go for it. our kancils are meant to be driven on the highway for such long distance.
tommi88
post Feb 26 2011, 09:53 AM

275 posts

GEEZ! now only i realize i made a typo. the post where i said about kancil meant for highway driving, i missed out the ARE NOT meant to be driven on highway especially on such long distances. sorry guys.

btw, i know 850cc 4 speed auto gearbox is rare, but who knows, luck might be on your side when you're hunting it. =P

turbo kong? time to throw in bigger snail already. turbo kong means cant satisfy you already. always boosting here & there. its a sign bro. TD04, bigger injector, FMIC, ECU Remap, Open Pod, 1000cc block, 4E pistons, twin plate clutch, LSD gearbox. drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

btw, im looking for L502 rims with tyres now. anyone want to sell them?
tommi88
post Feb 26 2011, 02:44 PM

275 posts

yes, you can put TD04 into mira engine. provided you have the cash and able to find a good and reliable mechanic to do the modification for you.

probably your engine piston ring has worn out. thats why your engine is consuming alot of engine oil.
tommi88
post Feb 27 2011, 01:52 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 26 2011, 03:01 PM)
tommi88,
haha I know it was a typo. we commented on long distance driving with kancil somewhere last year...

im going for normal boost so no need for the entire mod package. dun have the cash la. ya ya i know i know TD04 normal boost wasted la. but wat to do no $$$  sweat.gif

haha looks like your 12in tyres almost need to change tats why you hunting for 13in rims now.  brows.gif
if u use normal boost, i think u will face quite huge turbo lag. definitely need to increase boost pressure. so if you think of modding, mod the whole thing instead of changing just the turbine. money more well spent.

tyres are bolding quite badly. had a teribble hydroplant that day. so now starting to hunt for L5 rims with tyres. woooohooo!

QUOTE(sfotsy @ Feb 26 2011, 04:27 PM)
wah so serious  shocking.gif

At first i am thinking it is because it is time for changing my black oil here.

Well, i am using a Mira L5 (16 Vaule ) engine so where i can get it?
errrrrrr, i think sparepart shop will have those part available. have to scout around for it.
tommi88
post Feb 28 2011, 08:18 PM

275 posts

if you want the best all rounder, TD025 is the best so far. no need major mods on it. you can use back the top mount intercooler. but remap is a must for this kind of modifications.
tommi88
post Jun 28 2011, 01:10 PM

275 posts

hi guys, i want to sell off my white face L2s meter manual version. anybody interested with this item? PM me if you are. =D
tommi88
post Sep 14 2011, 10:40 PM

275 posts

Guys, i have a White Face L200s Meter For Sale. Item is in good condition. Please click Here! Thank you. =D

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0464sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:13 PM