5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/04 Man Utd v Aston Villa | 22:55 ESPN

TSalien2003
post Mar 16 2009, 05:28 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Mar 16 2009, 05:26 PM)
Anyway, I've already asked the guys in the Liverpool thread to stop the bickering and invasion of threads. Peace! smile.gif
Thanks for that AND the guys/gals from this thread shall do the same as well. Its about time to put an end on this and save the energy/bandwidth on something else?

TSalien2003
post Mar 17 2009, 05:22 PM

12,754 posts

You guys better make sure the next gathering is NOT at the jinx-ed Hartamas Square again since I think we had bad memories whenever you guys gathered there?

mad.gif
TSalien2003
post Mar 17 2009, 07:55 PM

12,754 posts

Bouncing back

Three days on and the weekend’s defeat to Liverpool still hurts. Fingers have been pointed, missed opportunites lamented and luck bemoaned. But now it’s time to move on and look ahead to this weekend's trip to Craven Cottage.

For an idea of how the Reds will react this Saturday, we’ve examined United’s response to the last six domestic defeats. It makes for encouraging reading…

Lost: 0-1 v Derby County (A)
Response: 3-0 v Chelsea (H)
United’s limp performance in the Carling Cup at Pride Park was hardly the best preparation ahead of a crunch league clash against Chelsea. But four days later the Reds, inspired by Ryan Giggs, produced a stunning performance to sweep aside Phil Scolari’s men courtesy of goals from Nemanja Vidic, Wayne Rooney and Dimitar Berbatov.

Lost: 1-2 v Arsenal (A)
Response: 1-0 v QPR (H)
The Reds simply didn’t turn up at the Emirates and only an injury-time winner from Rafael added any sort of respectability to the scoreline. Only Anderson was back in the team that faced QPR in the Carling Cup three days later, but the kids rallied to win 1-0 and continue the march towards Wembley. The next game, when seven of the side that played Arsenal returned to the starting XI, United romped to a 5-0 victory against Stoke City.

Lost: 1-2 v Liverpool (A)
Response: 0-0 v Villarreal (H), 1-1 v Chelsea (A)
Four days after losing at Anfield earlier this season United welcomed Villarreal to Old Trafford on Champions League Matchday 1. Given the history between the two sides – all four meetings over the years have ended goalless – it was always going to end 0-0 but the Reds did dominate proceedings on Ronaldo’s return after a lengthy injury layoff. As for United’s next domestic outing, Sir Alex’s men achieved a credible 1-1 draw at “fortress” Stamford Bridge.

Lost: 1-2 v Chelsea (A)
Response: 1-0 v Barcelona (H)
What better way to bounce back from a late defeat at Chelsea than by booking a place in the Champions League final? Into Old Trafford’s theatre strode the flair of Messi, Henry and Eto’o, but it was no-nonsense Paul Scholes that struck an early United winner to seal a famous victory. And don’t forget the job Rio and co. did at the back, either: from the moment Scholesy’s shot hit the back of the net it was backs to the wall stuff.

Lost: 0-1 v Portsmouth (H)
Response: 1-0 v Derby County (A)
After an FA Cup tie that will be remembered as much for Sir Alex’s post-match assessment of referee Martin Atkinson as Sully Muntari’s winning penalty, United made the short trip to Pride Park to resume battle in the league. The Reds were made to work for the win (a narrow 1-0 thanks to Ronaldo’s 76th-minute strike) and showed spades of character in the face of the Rams’ dogged resistance. It wasn’t the greatest United performance, but three points is three points and a return to winning ways.

Lost: 1-2 v Manchester City (H)
Response: 4-0 v Arsenal (H)
The closest match to the 50th anniversary of the Munich air disaster sadly turned out to be one to forget. Thankfully, however, the defeat seemed to rouse the Reds into action and the next weekend it was Arsenal who felt the full force of United’s fury. Sir Alex’s men were 2-0 up inside 20 minutes courtesy of headers from Rooney and Fletcher. By half-time it was 3-0 as Nani got in on the act, before Fletcher completed the rout in the second-half as the Reds breezed into the FA Cup sixth round.

How the Reds respond

In matches following United's last six domestic defeats, Sir Alex's men have...

Played: 6
Won: 5
Drawn: 1
Lost: 0

Goals For: 10
Goals Against: 0

Verdict: United typically bounce back well from defeat. Indeed, the Reds haven't lost consecutive domestic matches since the end of the 2006/07 season (West Ham, Chelsea).

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6629106

Fergie hails United attitude

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5062162,00.html

"I hate telling a player that, although he has perhaps just delivered a top-class performance, I will not be using him in the next match.

Tevez got this the most I guess icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 17 2009, 08:00 PM
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 01:57 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Mar 18 2009, 01:45 PM)
So, can I ask how is THIS (post 315) has anything to do with united? It was merely building chaos and flame war yet alien2003 didn't do anything to it.I'm not blaming alien for anything.All I m trying to say is, there are much more flamebaiting posts regarding us was made in your thread, so why so bother about a little post of us that posted A YEAR AGO and BROUGHT THIS UP FOR DISCUSSION?
It was merely building chaos and flame war yet alien2003 didn't do anything to it

I can tell you that without those "clean ups" that I did in here, it will be worse than we are reading now and that's a big NO for me.

So let's just carry on with each other's business/discussion in the respective thread/place shall we?
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 02:14 PM

12,754 posts

You all better stop with the personal insults/attack when posting (eg: prick, dog & etc). Its not tolerated by the R&R of LYN.
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 03:09 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 18 2009, 02:51 PM)
dun think it's a great idea, SAF will make sure 3 points in d bag. it's vital to have a gud win after such humble defeat by our fiercest rivals.  smile.gif
Craven Cottage is never an easy place to go to so underestimate them and we shall pay the price for it.

For full XI for me (X since Vidic is suspended sad.gif )

VDS
JOS - Rio - Evans - Evra
CR - Scholes/Giggs - Fletcher - Park
Berbatov - Rooney

Might want to give Carrick a little breather/break since his performances for last few games has not been on par with what he is capable of?

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 18 2009, 03:20 PM
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 05:40 PM

12,754 posts

Can't everyone just STOP once and for all instead of dragging this issue further? It has been on going since the afternoon while I was at work and now I am back home and its still on going?

When I say stop, it means:

1. No more NEW reply from anyone regarding this issue

2. No more quoting of any existing posts/replies and post a new reply on this issue

Its not hard to co-operate and stop this, no?

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 18 2009, 05:42 PM
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 05:56 PM

12,754 posts

Fergie poised to strike again

James Robson
March 18, 2009

KARIM Benzema may have ruled out a summer move to United - but Sir Alex Ferguson has still been tipped to splash the cash on his forward line.

Even with Danny Welbeck emerging as an exciting talent at Old Trafford, United legend Andy Cole expects Ferguson to continue his love affair with strikers.

Cole is convinced Welbeck has the talent to become the rarest of species at United - a home-grown centre forward. But he knows from experience that an embarrassment of riches up front is not enough to dissuade Ferguson from scouring the globe for the best attacking talent.

"He loves a centre forward because he was one," said Cole. "Centre forwards win you football matches and if you get a top one your chances of winning are greater. He looks at it that way and if he wants to buy one he will look for the right one for Manchester United."

Despite having a £90m strike force of Wayne Rooney, Dimitar Berbatov and Carlos Tevez at his disposal, Ferguson is a known admirer of Benzema, who would cost around £30m from Lyon.

Targets

The French international - dubbed the new Zinedine Zidane - was among United's top targets this summer. But this week the 21-year-old insisted he would remain at Lyon for another year at least, which could open the door to a permanent move for Tevez.

The Argentine's two-year loan deal, which has cost United £6m so far, expires at the end of the season. But the extra £26m Tevez' owners, MSI, want to make the deal permanent has so far proved a stumbling block.

The emergence of Welbeck this season may also colour Ferguson's thoughts, with the 19-year-old making an impressive impact in his breakthrough season.

But while Cole believes the exciting teenager - who has sparked a three-way tug of war between England, Nigeria and Scotland for his international loyalties - can become the first home-grown striker to graduate at Old Trafford under Ferguson's rule, he still expects the United manager to spend.

Cole believes Welbeck can buck that trend. "I like him and I think he has definitely got a chance," said Cole. "He is hungry. I've spoken to him and he is definitely hungry.

"But United have always bought a centre forward. That is this football club's history.

"United have got a history of bringing through midfield players and defenders but historically they've spent big money on a centre forward.

"I'm not saying Danny Welbeck won't make it - I think he will make it."

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...to_strike_again

Rafael reveals scout approach

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_5066481,00.html

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 18 2009, 06:00 PM
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 06:32 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Mar 18 2009, 06:30 PM)
Hahahaha that was a sincere remark!

Really, I'm liking the quality BPL has right now, and keeping Ronaldo will definitely sustain it smile.gif
It might not last long [quality of BPL] if Platini keep pursuing the 6+5 system rclxub.gif
TSalien2003
post Mar 18 2009, 07:00 PM

12,754 posts

Fabio's hattrick in the reserves biggrin.gif

TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 08:07 AM

12,754 posts

Manchester United keeper Edwin van der Sar has turned down a request from Dutch manager Bert van Marwijk to come out of international retirement.

Van der Sar, 38, did agree to a similar request in October 2008 and played in wins over Iceland and Norway.

But, with Van Marwijk again hit by a keeper injury crisis, Van der Sar has refused this time around.

"I knew beforehand what the answer would be, but I called him anyway," Van Marwijk told a Dutch newspaper.

Van der Sar quit the international set-up after Euro 2008 and is the most capped Dutch footballer of all time with 130 appearances.

Van Marwijk said he asked him to play in upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Scotland on 28 March and Macedonia on 1 April "against my better judgment".

He will name his squad on Friday and he is likely to have to pick a starter from keepers Maarten Stekelenburg, Henk Timmer and Michel Vorm.

Stekelenburg is the most likely candidate, even though he has only just returned from injury and has failed to force his way back into the Ajax team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/t...utd/7951247.stm

Draw: Any one from seven

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6629167

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 19 2009, 08:52 AM
TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 09:57 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Mar 19 2009, 09:51 AM)
The UCL draw will be at 7pm tomorrow. I think we will get Liverpool.  biggrin.gif
As long as NOT Villarreal! blink.gif

Villarreal (33/1) Group E runners-up, beat Panathinaikos 3-2 on aggregate in last 16; UCL top scorer 08/09 (yes, they have scored) - Joseba Llorente (4); Reds’ head-to-head in Europe: P4 W0 D4 L0 F0 A0

TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 10:26 AM

12,754 posts

As long as the price is lower, not a bad squad player to have (Valencia). Can backup CR while let Park/Nani/Tosic fight for the LW role.

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 19 2009, 10:26 AM
TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 01:56 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Mar 19 2009, 01:11 PM)
Sir Alex, legend. What a dream...what a dream...
Cool stuff, SAF!! Let's try that this weekend!! laugh.gif Wait, Rafael still injured so got to put it on hold biggrin.gif

QUOTE(onepack @ Mar 19 2009, 01:20 PM)
english team will hardly meet each other..
Tell that to both Liverpool & Chelsea. I lost how many times they met in last few seasons! blink.gif
TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 05:35 PM

12,754 posts

Fergie dismisses quintuple

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has dismissed his side's chances of winning an unprecedented quintuple this season.

The Red Devils have already won the Fifa Club World Cup and the Carling Cup, while the Premier League champions hold a four-point lead in the defence of their crown.

United are also in the FA Cup semi-finals and the UEFA Champions League quarter-finals, making glory on five fronts a possibility.

But while Ferguson has reiterated that his current squad is the best in his time at Old Trafford, the Scot has played down the chances of a historic campaign.

He told the New Statesman: "The thing about cup football is you need to be the best but you also need a lot of luck and I think it's asking too much for all the games to go your way.

"The one thing I will say is, this squad is the best I have ever had. Every game we play, I feel confident.

"At the moment, every attack fears our defence and every defence fears our midfield and attack. That gives you confidence but it is too tough a call."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5070560,00.html

At the moment, every attack fears our defence

IF the back four is not having an off day sweat.gif sweat.gif

Ferguson's drive remains

Sir Alex Ferguson has no plans to call time on his Manchester United career in the immediate future.

The Scot, widely recognised as one of the game's greatest ever managers, has been at the helm of the Old Trafford outfit since November 1986.

In his 22 years in charge he has accumulated an astonishing haul of domestic and continental silverware for the Red Devils and, despite his advancing years, he will not be leaving the dug-out just yet.

United have already claimed the Fifa Club World Cup and Carling Cup this season and remain hot favourites to retain the Premier League crown.

An FA Cup semi-final meeting with Everton awaits with the North West giants also in the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions League.

And while Ferguson has dismissed his side's chances of claiming an unprecedented quintuple, his passion for the game has not dimmed.

Tingle

When asked if he was planning to retire, he told The Guardian: "Not for a while. I'm 67 now. My health's good.

"I still have the drive and the energy. I've been here more than 22 years, but I still get a buzz arriving at the training ground.

"I still get that tingle of excitement when the team bus draws up at an away ground before a big match."

When asked if that meant in another year or two, he added: "That kind of area. We'll see."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5070782,00.html
TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 07:40 PM

12,754 posts

Chelsea risk Fergie fury with swoop for starlet Gorre

Chelsea are risking the wrath of Sir Alex Ferguson during the title run-in by trying to prise away one of Manchester United's brightest young talents.

Sportsmail can reveal that Chelsea sporting director Frank Arnesen is making inroads into signing Kenji Gorre, the 15-year-old son of Southampton's assistant first-team coach Dean Gorre, from United this summer.

Gorre is recognised as one of the best young players coming through the academy and has recently been called into the England youth set-up as he has dual nationality with Holland under his father's citizenship.

Despite concerns over Arnesen's future role at Chelsea, the club's sporting director is still committed to recruiting the best young players in the world.

He has a long-standing friendship with Dean Gorre - they played for Ajax during separate spells - and has made a discreet inquiry about his talented son.

Chelsea are prepared to pay a transfer fee for the right midfielder, but Ferguson will be reluctant to allow one his most promising players to leave.

United initially signed him from Manchester City's academy, sparking similarities with the way Ryan Giggs joined from their rivals, and have no intention letting him leave.

Although his father still officially lives in Manchester, Dean spends most of his time on the south coast as Southampton fight relegation to League One. He may move permanently if Southampton stay up and that may prove pivotal when Chelsea step up their attempts to sign Kenji.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...rlet-Gorre.html

Lightning Bolt takes on Ronaldo

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/new...akes_on_ronaldo
TSalien2003
post Mar 19 2009, 10:30 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(jsnhlc @ Mar 19 2009, 09:43 PM)
test my Signature
Signature Rules
- Should not exceed 15 lines of 10px text (images, graphics and text included).
- Images should not distort forum templates viewed at a 1024x768 resolution.
- Total maximum file size of all images in your signature must not exceed 70KB.
- Examples and further explanation on signature rules can be found in the FAQ.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=faq&article=7

p/s: File size > 1MB, siggy nuked.
TSalien2003
post Mar 20 2009, 02:42 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Mar 20 2009, 02:07 PM)
lol , i dont know why even Man Utd won lots of match , their still humble with their opinion and speech. Liverpool just recently starts their form and they already had their nose high. IMO , no wonder they couldnt reach far.
Put yourself in their shoes. A thrashing on your fierce rival at their own backyard? Its the bragging right that follows.

As for ourselves, we are starting to get complacent with all these quintuples talks when nothing is certain yet. We have some tricky league games coming while we need some luck to go our way in both cup competitions (UCL & FA Cup).

So its best to stay humble, take a step at a time and see where it bring us by the May 2009.
TSalien2003
post Mar 20 2009, 04:04 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 20 2009, 03:59 PM)
It will be Liverpool v Man Utd.
Let's have a joint viewing party laugh.gif
No way! tongue.gif Will hope for the annual LIV v CHE again! laugh.gif

@ corez, pretty much agreed on that team/lineup nod.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 20 2009, 04:06 PM
TSalien2003
post Mar 20 2009, 06:26 PM

12,754 posts

Welcome back, skipper

United fans could witness the return of Gary Neville when the Reds take on Fulham at Craven Cottage on Saturday afternoon.

The club captain hasn't featured since the last day of January when United beat Everton 1-0 at Old Trafford. Since then, however, the Reds have had to play their last 10 fixtures without Neville's services.

"Gary's had a groin injury," Sir Alex told media at his pre-match press conference on Friday morning. "He could be in the squad for Fulham. He's done a full week's training, coupled with a 10-day remedial programme he completed before that.

"He's done very well and hopefully that's him back now."

Of course, Neville isn't the only right-back who's been out of action recently. Wes Brown has made just two substitute appearances since the end of October, while Brazilian teenager Rafael da Silva injured his foot against Blackburn Rovers last month.

"Rafael is now on the 10-day remedial course Gary was on and we hope he can join in with full training towards the end of next week. Unfortunately Wes still isn't near that stage."

Otherwise, United are almost at full strength for the visit to Craven Cottage, with Jonny Evans expected to take Nemanja Vidic's spot in the heart of defence. Vidic will serve the first of a two-match ban after receiving a red card in last weekend's 4-1 defeat at the hands of Liverpool.

It's a result Sir Alex hopes his side can bounce back from, at a ground on which United haven't lost since 1964.

"You have to recover form a defeat," the manager said. "Fulham presents a challenge to us but the training's been very good all week – there's been a nice edge to it. Hopefully that benefits us."

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6629285

Kuszczak wants to clear the air

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...o_clear_the_air

This post has been edited by alien2003: Mar 20 2009, 06:31 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0265sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:23 PM