Astro Widescreen?, Is is possible?

prasys
post Apr 2 2009, 02:50 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Apr 2 2009, 02:27 PM)
Your wait for ASTRO in HD is not far away..  biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=881532]

Astro is selecting people for testing out the Astro HD..
I wonder how they did get it

I wonder if I can be one of those lucky beta testers or not !
MyDevil
post Apr 2 2009, 02:57 PM

7,480 posts

I want to be the tester. No need to pay me one. Just give me the Astro HD decorder enough biggrin.gif
Jack28HT
post Apr 2 2009, 03:09 PM

150 posts

[attachmentid=881532]

Yes, I volunteer to be a trial user and tester as well. I believe my display and sound system is sufficent for the testing.

Anyone knows how to be selected or apply to be a tester? blink.gif
accs_centre
post Apr 2 2009, 09:23 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Apr 2 2009, 03:09 PM)
Yes, I volunteer to be a trial user and tester as well. I believe my display and sound system is sufficent for the testing.

Anyone knows how to be selected or apply to be a tester?  blink.gif
Still early to say that..
Now just their planning..

TSTHEALB10N
post Apr 4 2009, 07:18 PM

246 posts

Wow, my thread about changing BBC to widescreen has moved on quite a bit! smile.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 8 2009, 02:51 PM

1,715 posts

I volunteer oso tongue.gif

If they pick me I will go out and immediately buy a BlackMagic Intensity Pro for my HTPC! biggrin.gif

(because I really dunno any other video capture cards with component video in)

Willing to test connectivity to HTPC biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 8 2009, 02:53 PM
chemnz
post Jun 11 2009, 10:14 PM

181 posts

anyone tried using component cable?
attentional
post Jun 13 2009, 09:22 AM

358 posts

[attachmentid=881532]

Where did you get that from bro?
apexg2
post Jun 15 2009, 09:55 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

ya la...where did u get that??looks like ast*o e-mail..
zeli
post Sep 9 2009, 10:22 AM

104 posts

Hey guys.. Any updates on the HD content matter? Soo quiet lah. blink.gif
apexg2
post Sep 9 2009, 03:33 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

just yesterday got news in berita harian, maxis will supply for astro broadcast...they got the contract for astro..
viridium
post Sep 25 2009, 01:18 PM

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 16 2009, 03:12 PM)
i did that but barely any difference (on an LG HD ready lcd tv)

i reckon the most "efficient" way of watching HD content now is to download files from internet and watch thorugh a HD player (cost RM300-400) or through PS3 (need conversion, but quite easy).
HD content? on the internet?
But what sort?
where can I find decent Discovery/History/National geog. HD content ?

It grates me that Nat. Geo is promoting their HD content ... and we dont get ANY of it
thank you astro... grrrr

BTW .. is it true that singapore subscribers can get HD... eg History Channel HD

robertngo
post Oct 1 2009, 02:47 AM

4,027 posts

astro website is still boosting their superior image quality and reliability of their satelite receiver. doh.gif

Employing the high-powered Ku-band payload of the MEASAT (Malaysia East Asia Satellite) system, Astro is pioneering Direct-to-U (DtU) digital satellite broadcasting services in Malaysia and the South and East Asian region, a service once considered impractical in heavy rainfall areas.

Until the advent of Astro, the introduction of DtU services was hampered by signal attenuation due to heavy rainfall. As a result, only the less powerful C-band services were available off satellites - a service which requires the use of cumbersome two to four metre satellite dishes.

Astro was uniquely designed to meet the special needs of Ku-band transmission in high rainfall regions. By boosting the power of the payload, Astro is able to deliver satellite services direct to the user using a satellite dish as small as 60 cm in diameter with a 99.7 per cent service availability rate.

Using switchable Ku-band spot beams, Astro can also target specific markets in the region.

With a high payload capacity, Astro has the ability to reduce incidence of "outage". "Outage" is a term used to describe signal interference or loss in reception due particularly to rainfade. Solar outage may also occur twice a year when the sun blocks the satellite's path. However, solar outages are predictable and will only last for a few minutes each time.

At the ABC, the transmission power of the 13.2 metre uplink satellite dishes can be boosted to 2.2kW -its full capacity -during a thunderstorm, in order to overcome potential rainfade. The power required on a clear day is only 35W or just over 1.6% of the available capacity.

http://www.astro.com.my/aboutastro/tech_innovation.asp
DarkNite
post Oct 1 2009, 08:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Oct 1 2009, 02:47 AM)
astro website is still boosting their superior image quality and reliability of their satelite receiver.  doh.gif
http://www.astro.com.my/aboutastro/tech_innovation.asp
What to do? They do not have anything else to boost. Only have yesterday's primitive technology.
If not for Football and Disney channel I long time would have cancel already. All wide screen stuff I can get from the net.
If got competition, Asstro would have die long time ago, like what's happening in Indonesia, where they fail.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0207sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:02 AM