Toys G.I. Joes, COOOOBBBRRAAAAAA!!!

kerberos09
post Jan 2 2011, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 12:28 AM)
Happy New Year 2011 everyone. tongue.gif

Inspired by the ancient Roman warfare, testudo formation. (actually is more on the movie Troy during the Greek attack on Trojan beach)
This is the Alley Viper version, for urban warfare.

i have to say, that's a lot AVs u hv there~~~ impressive crimson army, bro thumbup.gif

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 2 2011, 12:37 AM)
good haul there  rclxms.gif ,couple a' 25th ladies ,exclusive TRU BBQ and Charbroil.
so now your AVs are up to what ,8?
and where did you bought 'em fine looking goodies?evilbay?
yeah got it frm ebay. hmmm shud be around 10, i suppose (lost count, lol).

hmm anybody doing customs these days?

dequadin
post Jan 2 2011, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 12:28 AM)
Happy New Year 2011 everyone. tongue.gif

Inspired by the ancient Roman warfare, testudo formation. (actually is more on the movie Troy during the Greek attack on Trojan beach)
This is the Alley Viper version, for urban warfare.

LOL...just hope the joes don't bring their grenades.... tongue.gif
nice post though..
cranx
post Jan 2 2011, 12:59 PM

1,360 posts

thanks guys.

those are ballistic shields, good against grenade shrapnel..if I am not mistaken it is supposed to guard against even the .50 caliber rounds. drool.gif
think I am done with the Alley Vipers, next up will be the Shock Troopers.

one more before my next spam. tongue.gif

darkshadow
post Jan 2 2011, 01:36 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Jan 2 2011, 10:39 AM)
i have to say, that's a lot AVs u hv there~~~ impressive crimson army, bro  thumbup.gif
yeah got it frm ebay. hmmm shud be around 10, i suppose (lost count, lol).

hmm anybody doing customs these days?
Although there's been complaints earlier on by LYN Joe collectors about how it's hard to troop build AVs ,you and cranx have managed to increase your collection substantially ,which is awesome . thumbup.gif

I'm on the finishing touches step for my new custom .Will post it soon.

Added on January 2, 2011, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 12:59 PM)
thanks guys.

those are ballistic shields, good against grenade shrapnel..if I am not mistaken it is supposed to guard against even the .50 caliber rounds. drool.gif
think I am done with the Alley Vipers, next up will be the Shock Troopers.

one more before my next spam.  tongue.gif

Dead serious ,man .15 or more AVs . notworthy.gif Bought 'em loose?
Sure u have enuf of em?
And where did you buy your ST?

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Jan 2 2011, 01:39 PM
kerberos09
post Jan 2 2011, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 12:59 PM)
wow! how many AVs, to be exact, that u hv bro? impressive~~~ n yes, AVs pairing with STs are nice indeed thumbup.gif

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 2 2011, 01:36 PM)
Although there's been complaints earlier on by LYN Joe collectors about how it's hard to troop build AVs ,you and cranx have managed to increase your collection substantially ,which is awesome . thumbup.gif

lol, mine is not as many as cranx, he pawns us all sweat.gif owh2, i'm working on sum customs too (making my own team actually). need to finalise each paintings 1st b4 can share~
darkshadow
post Jan 2 2011, 06:00 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Jan 2 2011, 05:00 PM)
wow! how many AVs, to be exact, that u hv bro? impressive~~~ n yes, AVs pairing with STs are nice indeed  thumbup.gif
lol, mine is not as many as cranx, he pawns us all  sweat.gif  owh2, i'm working on sum customs too (making my own team actually). need to finalise each paintings 1st b4 can share~
indeed ,but the pwning is probably momentary before another LYN AV collector becomes the new pwner.
now could it be bro Odinn or tsg who is /are secretly amassing an army of AVs? hmm.gif
probably you , kerberos09. brows.gif

speaking of whom ,Odinn where's your wave 3 haul?do tempt us with some shots ,man...

oh ,do share ur customs with us ,kerberos..
cranx
post Jan 2 2011, 07:36 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 2 2011, 01:36 PM)

Added on January 2, 2011, 1:39 pm

Dead serious ,man .15 or more AVs . notworthy.gif Bought 'em loose?
Sure  u have enuf of em?
And where did you buy your ST?
Bought some loose, some carded. paid a premium for my army but totally worth it!
my favourite cobra figure as a kid. Now with a better color scheme, better articulation..I am addicted. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Jan 2 2011, 05:00 PM)
wow! how many AVs, to be exact, that u hv bro? impressive~~~ n yes, AVs pairing with STs are nice indeed  thumbup.gif
lol, mine is not as many as cranx, he pawns us all  sweat.gif  owh2, i'm working on sum customs too (making my own team actually). need to finalise each paintings 1st b4 can share~
total number.. brows.gif

Odinn
post Jan 2 2011, 10:28 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 2 2011, 06:00 PM)
indeed ,but the pwning is probably momentary before another LYN AV collector becomes the new pwner.
now could it be bro Odinn or tsg who is /are secretly amassing an army of AVs? hmm.gif
probably you , kerberos09.  brows.gif

speaking of whom ,Odinn where's your wave 3 haul?do tempt us with some shots ,man...

oh ,do share ur customs with us ,kerberos..
I've managed to get me some wave 3 SE (3, 1 will be kept MIB) and some other figs but still waiting on my WoW figure to be available then will have it sent over..hopefully before CNY holiday cry.gif
Right now, can only drool over cranxs' AV army brows.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Odinn: Jan 2 2011, 10:29 PM
kerberos09
post Jan 3 2011, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 07:36 PM)
Bought some loose, some carded. paid a premium for my army but totally worth it!
my favourite cobra figure as a kid. Now with a better color scheme, better articulation..I am addicted. tongue.gif
total number.. brows.gif

hohohoh... now that's what i call an army of AVs. This is truly a "monster kill!" drool.gif

darkshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 05:16 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Jan 2 2011, 10:28 PM)
I've managed to get me some wave 3 SE (3, 1 will be kept MIB) and some other figs but still waiting on my WoW figure to be available then will have it sent over..hopefully before CNY holiday  cry.gif
Right now, can only drool over cranxs' AV army  brows.gif  notworthy.gif
That's great.Do post 'em loose, will ya?
My stuff will only arrive after CNY.sigh.

Added on January 4, 2011, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 2 2011, 07:36 PM)
total number.. brows.gif

Hot dayum ,cranx. You are making the rest of us salivating with jealousy. drool.gif
Seriously though ,that is one outstanding ,truly outstanding AV army ,man. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Jan 4 2011, 05:19 PM
darkshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 05:25 PM

36 posts

Here's my new custom for the new year.
May I present the Crimson Guard zombie.

I love zombies ,the gorier they are ,the better.
Anyway ,I've been wanting to do a zombie custom for a while now .
I had fun doing this that I'm gonna dig into my spare parts pile and find my next to be zombified figure . brows.gif

kerberos09
post Jan 4 2011, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 4 2011, 05:25 PM)
Here's my new custom for the new year.
May I present the Crimson Guard zombie.

I love zombies ,the gorier they are ,the better.
Anyway ,I've been wanting to do a zombie custom for a while now .
I had fun doing this that I'm gonna dig into my spare parts pile and find my next to be zombified figure .  brows.gif

wow, that's impressive! it's not just swapping heads & changing body parts, but u did 'modified' it too. care to share some tips & tricks on how u 'zombified' ur figures? (i guess u burn them a bit eh?) brows.gif

an army of zombies versus an army of AVs & STs... owh my, that would be nice too... lol
darkshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 06:03 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Jan 4 2011, 05:50 PM)
wow, that's impressive! it's not just swapping heads & changing body parts, but u did 'modified' it too. care to share some tips & tricks on how u 'zombified' ur figures? (i guess u burn them a bit eh?) brows.gif

an army of zombies versus an army of AVs & STs... owh my, that would be nice too... lol
thanks. yeah ,this custom involves more than part swapping. in fact, there's no part swapping.
but there's lots of carving, cutting, painting and sanding involved.and no, i didnt burn it at all.

i agree, an army of zombies would be great.hmm, better get started with the next zombie.heh.

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Jan 4 2011, 06:05 PM
cranx
post Jan 4 2011, 08:30 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 4 2011, 06:03 PM)
thanks. yeah ,this custom involves more than part swapping. in fact, there's no part swapping.
but there's lots of carving, cutting, painting and sanding involved.and no, i didnt burn it at all.

i agree, an army of zombies would be great.hmm, better get started with the next zombie.heh.
nice custom there! gruesome exposed guts, brain and bones.
what happened to this crimson guard? some secret cobra experiment gone wrong? tongue.gif

by the way, where can I get some nice ready made diorama building in 1/18th scale? I know 21st century toys produced some destroyed buildings for WW2 diorama, but discontinued long time ago and impossible to find. Power Team Elite also got a huge one but not available in our local toy shops. doh.gif

planing to do an urban battle scene but not enough skills to make one from scratch.

This post has been edited by cranx: Jan 4 2011, 08:33 PM
cranx
post Jan 4 2011, 08:34 PM

1,360 posts

Cobra is acquiring some 1/18th accessories while waiting for the Shock Troopers to join their ranks.

dzirhan
post Jan 5 2011, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 4 2011, 08:30 PM)

by the way, where can I get some nice ready made diorama building in 1/18th scale? I know 21st century toys produced some destroyed buildings for WW2 diorama, but discontinued long time ago and impossible to find. Power Team Elite also got a huge one but not available in our local toy shops.  doh.gif

planing to do an urban battle scene but not enough skills to make one from scratch.
Only buildings here that might work would be possibly Playmobile (lot of customizing required), maybe sylvanian families (Pricy and doors likely underscale) or the Chap Mei Police Station. Think you're largely out of luck on that one for ready made stuff.

The only thing I can suggest is to check around souvenir stores for possible buildings that might work and hardware stores for shelves, containers, boxes that could easily be transformed into buildings.

Don't be too discouraged from building your own stuff, plenty of tips from guys here on how tos
http://www.joedios.com/forum/forumdisplay....20&daysprune=-1
darkshadow
post Jan 5 2011, 01:11 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Jan 4 2011, 08:30 PM)
nice custom there! gruesome exposed guts, brain and bones.
what happened to this crimson guard? some secret cobra experiment gone wrong?  tongue.gif

by the way, where can I get some nice ready made diorama building in 1/18th scale? I know 21st century toys produced some destroyed buildings for WW2 diorama, but discontinued long time ago and impossible to find. Power Team Elite also got a huge one but not available in our local toy shops.  doh.gif

Thanks.yeah rather gruesome but that's the beauty of it.
The CG happens to be one that i bought loose, sans helmet and accesories and I was gonna dump him inside my discarded box.Watched The Walking Dead pilot few days ago and I remembered about getting a zombie custom done.
Hence ,complete zombified CG is born. biggrin.gif

For dios ,it's best to DIY .It can be cheaper ,depending on what material you'll be using but it'll probably be time consuming, again depending on the scale and complexity of the dio.
Like dzirhan suggested, you can mostly find what you need from hardware stores and also from stationery shops.

kerberos09
post Jan 5 2011, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(dzirhan @ Jan 5 2011, 12:34 AM)
Only buildings here that might work would be possibly Playmobile (lot of customizing required), maybe sylvanian families (Pricy and doors likely underscale) or the Chap Mei Police Station. Think you're largely out of luck on that one for ready made stuff.

The only thing I can suggest is to check around souvenir stores for possible buildings that might work and hardware stores for shelves, containers, boxes that could easily be transformed into buildings.

Don't be too discouraged from building your own stuff, plenty of tips from guys here on how tos
http://www.joedios.com/forum/forumdisplay....20&daysprune=-1
QUOTE(darkshadow @ Jan 5 2011, 01:11 AM)
Thanks.yeah rather gruesome but that's the beauty of it.
The CG happens to be one that i bought loose, sans helmet and accesories and I was gonna dump him inside my discarded box.Watched The Walking Dead pilot few days ago and I remembered about getting a zombie custom done.
Hence ,complete zombified CG is born.  biggrin.gif

For dios ,it's best to DIY .It can be cheaper ,depending on what material you'll be using but it'll probably be time consuming, again depending on the scale and complexity of the dio.
Like dzirhan suggested, you can mostly find what you need from hardware stores and also from stationery shops.
Maybe some of the items/equipments/accessories u can buy separately… but as a base dio, it’s better to do it ourselves. just need to plan properly & spend some time in doing it la. do a lil bit of sketching just to get the idea of how the diorama would look like when it’s done, how detail would it be… U can always buy raw materials from stationary shops. I think a friend of mine (interior architect) used to buy stuff from there to create model of houses, buildings & landscapes for housing projects in KL…

Lol… am thinking of doing a diorama for myself, but got no time meh. Even weekend also got other plans~

tsg
post Jan 5 2011, 08:47 AM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Jan 5 2011, 08:45 AM)
Maybe some of the items/equipments/accessories u can buy separately… but as a base dio, it’s better to do it ourselves. just need to plan properly & spend some time in doing it la. do a lil bit of sketching just to get the idea of how the diorama would look like when it’s done, how detail would it be… U can always buy raw materials from stationary shops. I think a friend of mine (interior architect) used to buy stuff from there to create model of houses, buildings & landscapes for housing projects in KL…

Lol… am thinking of doing a diorama for myself, but got no time meh. Even weekend also got other plans~
bro u still single....so grab the time! dont malas2 sigh
darkshadow
post Jan 5 2011, 03:49 PM

36 posts

Is this cool or what? SE and Helix tag-teaming . thumbup.gif
I love Atkins' artwork ,a lot!Possibly the best Joe artist to date.

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Jan 5 2011, 03:51 PM

126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:27 AM