4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Original Xbox360 games, what's the benefit?

TSmaxZibel
post Mar 4 2009, 08:18 PM, updated 17y ago

140 posts

alrite, i've got a question here. i just got my xbox360, maybe bout a month ago. and its modded alrite. okay fine.
so here it is that my birthday is coming up, and i've been contemplating whenever or not, to ask my brother to buy the original Star Ocean 4.

but the thing is, what's the benefit of these original games if i already have a modded console? since i can't go online to get all the goodies. so tell me.

the only thing i could think of, is that it could be for collection.

i still remember, when i was form2 that i bought my ps2, for my birthday i got myself an original Final Fantasy X. eventhough i've already gotten the lanun version and have already finished the game. felt proud of myself for owning an original one.

anyways,
please enlighten me. thankies.
Mr Ez
post Mar 4 2009, 08:27 PM

Super Cool
700 posts

I think you pretty much answered yourself in the last paragraph.

Ori games = nice packaging & good for collection.

During the PS2 era, even though piracy ruled, I still felt like buying ori games for collection, for example MGS2 and Shadow of the Colosus, ori games looks nice on my shelf biggrin.gif
BroSP
post Mar 4 2009, 08:37 PM

53 posts

ori games better cos we can play until it finished cos we pay with higher price.
but pirated games just play for syok2 n for sure not finished.
holy_devil113
post Mar 4 2009, 08:39 PM

546 posts

Ori or not its the same for me.
Unless the ori one is collector's edition or special edition, then i would feel proud.
Hisyam91
post Mar 4 2009, 08:53 PM

55 posts

You;
1.Become one of the proud owner of Original Star Ocean 4 games.
2.Support the game industry.
3.Get better Casing.
4.Help them to create more JRPG games..
trogdor1oh1
post Mar 4 2009, 09:07 PM

101 posts

1.DLC
2.Online play
3.Support to the gaming industry
4.Supporting original in Malaysia
5.Pretty packaging
6.Special edition stuff(DVDs and the likes)
7.Online community.Xbox Live,PSN,the likes.
8.Guilt-free conscience
9.Better control over buying multiple games
10.DON'T COPY THAT FLOPPY!!
gnome
post Mar 4 2009, 09:33 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

No benefit, buying pirated game better. Its cheaper to buy so you can save money to get PS3 which is a better consoles overall.
trogdor1oh1
post Mar 4 2009, 09:36 PM

101 posts

GET OUT OF THE XBOX FORUMS GNOME MAN >:(
msn83235502
post Mar 4 2009, 09:41 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:07 PM)
1.DLC
2.Online play
3.Support to the gaming industry
4.Supporting original in Malaysia
5.Pretty packaging
6.Special edition stuff(DVDs and the likes)
7.Online community.Xbox Live,PSN,the likes.
8.Guilt-free conscience
9.Better control over buying multiple games
10.DON'T COPY THAT FLOPPY!!
he's not gonna play online dude.
TSmaxZibel
post Mar 4 2009, 09:49 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(BroSP @ Mar 4 2009, 08:37 PM)
ori games better cos we can play until it finished cos we pay with higher price.
but pirated games just play for syok2 n for sure not finished.
well, that's subjective, i've seen people whom have original games, but finished none of them.
and i've finished a couple of games myself.

This post has been edited by maxZibel: Mar 4 2009, 10:52 PM
used2bcow
post Mar 4 2009, 10:35 PM

121 posts

Do the right thing. Go Ori. Maybe if enuff ppl buy ori, then maybe MS might consider officially launching Xbox 720 in Malaysia when come out tongue.gif.
navigator
post Mar 4 2009, 10:36 PM

375 posts

Well, it's a morale to buy originals.
Buying original shows your support to the game developer.
Buying Pirated copy means you're stealing developer's hardwork.

Choose yourself on the brightside or dark side.

For me, if you said you got no $ to buy ori, then better don't play them....Stealing is shameful.... =_="
TSmaxZibel
post Mar 4 2009, 10:48 PM

140 posts

bout the guilt-free conscience point, the guilt, i seriously feel none whatsoever, reason being that it's so common in malaysia. the developers are rich enough even without my money. not that money is really a problem. but why not save, also i really don't see the benefit in it for me.

another thing is, i see most of the lowyat forumers seem to play original unmodded consoles. it makes me feel inferior. this inferiority seems to bother me a little.

This post has been edited by maxZibel: Mar 4 2009, 10:54 PM
used2bcow
post Mar 4 2009, 11:25 PM

121 posts

Dude, do u kno how many developers have closed down dy becoz of piracy? The one who profits are the publishers not the developers. But the point is to support these developers so that they would continue to make the games u have come to enjoy. Not close down and stop making those games....case in point, Ensemble with classics like Age of Empire, Halo War.

It isn't so much as ur benefit but more of the right thing to do. Bottom line is...it's stealing.

We play original unmodded because we acknowledge the hard work the developers have done to give us great games to play. Not to make anyone feel inferior. If u feel like dat then u miss the point.
rhoyo
post Mar 4 2009, 11:44 PM

-
2,800 posts

original games ada buku kecil . pirate games tiada buku kecil
GEN0314
post Mar 5 2009, 12:04 AM

Dude, do u kno how many developers have closed down dy becoz of piracy? The one who profits are the publishers not the developers. But the point is to support these developers so that they would continue to make the games u have come to enjoy. Not close down and stop making those games....case in point, Ensemble with classics like Age of Empire, Halo War.

It isn't so much as ur benefit but more of the right thing to do. Bottom line is...it's stealing.

Dude totally agree wif u rclxms.gif
I'm not sure about KL, but in PG due to large amount of jack sparrow version demand, shopkeeper seldom keep any ori in store. everytime I look for Xbox 360 game, i hav 2 order n wait for shipping, waiting is killing man. rclxub.gif
TSmaxZibel
post Mar 5 2009, 12:05 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Mar 4 2009, 11:25 PM)

We play original unmodded because we acknowledge the hard work the developers have done to give us great games to play. Not to make anyone feel inferior. If u feel like dat then u miss the point.
i so totally knew you were gonna say this point, it's not that we don't know these things, we often see this reasoning everywhere, not just pirated games, a lot of other pirated stuff. i'm just saying we aren't ignorant. yes it is stealing. i do agree with you.

another thing, regarding the malaysian currency exchange rate, or whatchacallit, if you compare with other countries, say western countries, they don't feel a thing whenever they buy a game, know why, because it's considered reasonable. even in singapore, i don't see my cousin complaining bout the games being expensive. say, around 70 dollars. if i'm earning in their currency, i would probably say the same thing.

heh, you're probably gonna shoot me saying that, if that's the case, i shouldn't be buying any of the games or the consoles. yeah, i know i know.

yeah, bottom line, no benefit. And speaking of the right thing to do, since everywhere in malaysia people are doing it, it's like a social norm, so i don't feel a thing, whether right or wrong.

well, back to my Star Ocean 4, don't worry, i've already decided to get an original copy. it matter's not whether there's benefit or not. just that, in the future, i would be thinking twice whether or not i wanna get another one. i'm thinking of getting a PS3 too.
used2bcow
post Mar 5 2009, 02:18 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Mar 5 2009, 12:05 PM)
i so totally knew you were gonna say this point, it's not that we don't know these things, we often see this reasoning everywhere, not just pirated games, a lot of other pirated stuff. i'm just saying we aren't ignorant. yes it is stealing. i do agree with you.

another thing, regarding the malaysian currency exchange rate, or whatchacallit, if you compare with other countries, say western countries, they don't feel a thing whenever they buy a game, know why, because it's considered reasonable. even in singapore, i don't see my cousin complaining bout the games being expensive. say, around 70 dollars. if i'm earning in their currency, i would probably say the same thing.

heh, you're probably gonna shoot me saying that, if that's the case, i shouldn't be buying any of the games or the consoles. yeah, i know i know.

yeah, bottom line, no benefit. And speaking of the right thing to do, since everywhere in malaysia people are doing it, it's like a social norm, so i don't feel a thing, whether right or wrong.

well, back to my Star Ocean 4, don't worry, i've already decided to get an original copy. it matter's not whether there's benefit or not. just that, in the future, i would be thinking twice whether or not i wanna get another one. i'm thinking of getting a PS3 too.
No not really. I'm going to say that u have already made up your mind on the issue so there is no point in trying to convince u.
tuntung
post Mar 5 2009, 03:37 PM

Hopefully when the time come for all of Jack Sparrows to come to their senses and return to the right path, so will M$ to produce/make a console as sturdy and reliable as a PS3, and not some box that cant stand heat and give us 3ROD and balik-balik got a lot of version, zepher la, xenon la, itu la ini la ... aiyaaaa

but i still like xbox, games are superb, but the console. aiyaaaa ... aiyaaaa ....
need to say again ka? aiyaaaaaaaaaaaaa ....

If u buy all the ori Games .. but cant play on the console cause its dead ... so wut happens ? u look me .. i look u back ka?

This post has been edited by tuntung: Mar 5 2009, 03:39 PM
flipacoin2k
post Mar 5 2009, 04:14 PM

136 posts

My point of view is: in whatever industry, if a publisher/ developer / author do not get incentive for their own product of hard work, they won't get the fund to keep their business going, the pirate kings do on the other hand.

When they do not get the fund, they lack the foundation to move forward, improve in term of tech and expand.

That is why to date here in our Boleh Land we do not have a solid label company, game studio, film production company, entertainment firms. Look now - Where is our great talents in such industries? They are mostly in oversea sadly to say. (probably due to biased policy too, imo) hmm.gif

Gaming wise: For what I have to say in contradict tho, is that the root cause is still being the high price of original software VS general average income. Bear in mind a lot of us here are casual gamers, the spending-vs-income ratio are not in line with western/Jap countries, yet. Maybe they should release games in our region at a more competent prices.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:03 AM